DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( as being anticipated by Peyton et al. (US 20210214562).
Per claim 1, Peyton teaches a heat exchanger, comprising:
a heat exchanger core (10); and
an integral slurper circuit, comprising:
multiple slurper bars (12) integrally formed with the heat exchanger core as a single, monolithic body (see figure 1), each of the multiple slurper bars comprising a hollow shell (12), the hollow shell being elongate in a longitudinal dimension thereof, which is aligned with a direction of flow of humid air exiting the heat exchanger core and which defines a longitudinal end of the hollow shell (see figure 1),
the hollow shell having an upper surface (see annotated figure below), a lower surface (see annotated figure below) and an end surface (see annotated figure below) extending between the upper surface and the lower surface at only the longitudinal end,
the upper surface (see annotated figure below) and the lower surface (see annotated figure below) and the end surface (see annotated figure below) being formed to define an interior (see annotated figure below), and
the upper surface (see annotated figure below) being formed to define plural holes (26) arranged along a length of the hollow shell (12) (see figure 2 showing the holes arranged along a length of the hollow shell), which is defined along the longitudinal dimension, by which water that is condensed out of the humid air is drawn into the interior (“The slurper bars 12 collect moisture from passing air and wick the moisture away from an air flow stream through the heat exchanger 10 to prevent condensation and formation of water droplets. The slurper bars 12 are in fluid communication with a vacuum source 18 that is connected to the heat exchanger 10 through a vacuum port 20 in a known manner…the slurper bars 12 each include openings 26 that fluidly connect a passage 28 to the passing air flow stream. The vacuum source 18 (FIG. 1) evacuates the passage 28”,para. 0027-0028).
Per claim 2, Peyton meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Petyon teaches wherein the multiple slurper bars (12) are arranged in parallel with one another (see figure 1).
Per claim 3, Peyton meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Petyon teaches wherein the multiple slurper bars (12) all have a common configuration (see figure 1).
Per claim 4, Peyton meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Petyon teaches wherein the hollow shell of each of the multiple slurper bars comprises parallel ridges extending perpendicularly with respect to the longitudinal dimension (see annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peyton et al. (US 20210214562) in view of Haydt et al. (US 20240118047).
Per claim 5, Peyton meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Petyon teaches the hollow shell of each of the multiple slurper bars (12) fails to explicitly teach wherein the slurper bars comprise offset angled ridges extending diagonally with respect to the longitudinal dimension.
However, Haydt teaches system a slurper bar (200) comprising offset angled ridges (226a) extending diagonally with respect to a longitudinal dimension (A2; see figure 3) (to clarify, the ridges are three dimensional structures and extend in all directions including diagonally with respect to the longitudinal dimension) for efficient separation of water from air (para. 0056). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a slurper bar comprising parallel ridges and channels extending perpendicularly with respect to a longitudinal dimension and ridged baffles extending in parallel with respect to the longitudinal dimension, as taught by Haydt in the invention of Peyton, in order to advantageously efficiently separate water from air (para. 0056), thereby reducing energy consumption (para. 0056).
Per claim 6, Peyton meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Petyon teaches the hollow shell of each of the multiple slurper bars (12) fails to explicitly teach wherein the slurper bars comprise parallel ridges and channels extending perpendicularly with respect to the longitudinal dimension and ridged baffles extending in parallel with respect to the longitudinal dimension.
However, Haydt teaches system a slurper bar (200) comprising parallel ridges (parallel adjacent elements of 226a shown in figure 3) and channels (space between parallel adjacent elements of 226a shown in figure 3) extending perpendicularly with respect to a longitudinal dimension and ridged baffles (228b) extending in parallel with respect to the longitudinal dimension (to clarify, the ridges, channels and baffles are three dimensional zones/structures and extend in all directions including perpendicular/parallel with respect to the longitudinal dimension) efficient separation of water from air (para. 0056). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a slurper bar comprising parallel ridges and channels extending perpendicularly with respect to a longitudinal dimension and ridged baffles extending in parallel with respect to the longitudinal dimension, as taught by Haydt in the invention of Peyton, in order to advantageously efficiently separate water from air (para. 0056), thereby reducing energy consumption (para. 0056).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763