DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claims 2, 6 and 9 are objected to.
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
Priority
This US application 18/412,092 (01/12/2024) is a is a CON of PCT/JP2022/027638 (07/14/2022), which claims foreign priority from JP2021117018 (07/15/2021) and JP2021177736 (10/29/2021), as reflected in the filing receipt mailed on 04/04/2024. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged and the effective filing date of claims 1-11 is 07/15/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2024, 04/07/2026, 04/20/2026, 05/07/2026, 06/08/2026 and 07/24/2026 were considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 05/13/2025 and 01/29/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion – required for IDSs on or after 01/19/2025. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
No drawings have been filed herein.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in [0031] and [0065]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5-6, 9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: the recited “the cell” should read “the specific cell” for proper claim agreement.
In claim 5, the recited semicolon at the end of line 4 should be a colon. Colons should begin lists in which list elements are separated by newlines. See 37 CPR 1.75.
In claim 11, the recited “sorting out a cell that satisfy” should read “sorting out a cell that satisfies” for proper grammar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter the invention. Dependent claims are rejected similarly, unless otherwise noted below. The following issues cause the respective claims to be rejected under 112(b) as indefinite:
In claim 5, the recited “the coefficient of correlation or the coefficient of determination” is indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis. Claim 5 depends on claim 1 and “a coefficient of correlation or a coefficient of determination” is introduced in claim 2. To overcome this rejection, claim 5 may be amended to depend on claim 2.
In claim 5, the recited “carrying out processing for a missing value, which is for a gene of which an expression level cannot be measured, according to the following expression: read count of each gene + (1 × gene length/average of gene lengths)” is indefinite because the relationship between the expression and the missing value is not set forth in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to one or more Judicial Exceptions (JEs) without significantly more. Regarding JEs, "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas..., natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 §I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
101 background
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below. MPEP 2106 and the following USPTO website provide further explanation and case law citations: uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Analysis of instant claims
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The instant claims are directed to a method (claims 1-11); which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter. [Step 1: claims 1-11: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Background
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Analysis of instant claims
With respect to the instant claims, under the Step 2A, Prong One evaluation, the claims found to recite abstract ideas that can fall into the grouping of mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) and mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information). The identified grouping(s) for this instant claims are as follows:
Mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) include:
• "read count of each gene + (1 × gene length/average of gene lengths)" (claim 5).
The claims identified above read on math. The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation and determined each element performed by mathematical operation. The step directed to “adding each gene to perform a count” requires mathematical techniques as the only supported embodiments because it describes a mathematical technique (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) pertains). Further support for the mathematical techniques used in the claims is provided in the specification at [0037], which discloses an algorithm implemented for the read count of each gene as output result. Thus, the recited terms correspond to verbal equivalents of mathematical concepts because they constitute actions executed by a group of mathematical steps in a form of a mathematical algorithm; thus mathematical concepts (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). A mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because "words used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula." In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 837 and n.1, 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1826 and n.1 (Fed. Cir. 1989). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) pertains.
Mental processes, defined as concepts or steps practically performed in the human mind such as steps of observations, evaluations, judgments, analysis, opinions or organizing information include:
• "evaluating a correlation relationship between an expression pattern of a gene group obtained by measuring an expression state of a related gene group that is characteristic of the specific cell and an expression pattern that serves as a reference" (independent claim 1);
• "determining the cell to be usable in a case where the correlation relationship is equal to or higher than a certain level" (independent claim 1);
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind (i.e. concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) or because the method only requires a user to manually determine action based on an added number. Under the BRI, the recited limitations are mental processes because a human mind is also sufficiently capable of evaluating data values to make a determinations, obtaining data by reading it from a source and evaluating data to define if a reference is satisfied.
Dependent claims 2-10 recite further steps that limit the judicial exceptions in independent claim 1 and, as such, also are directed to those abstract ideas. For example, claims 2 and 5 recite further details about the determining step; claims 3-4 recite further details about the related gene group; and claims 6-10 recite further details about the cell.
[Step 2A Prong One: claims 1-11: Yes ]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Background
MPEP 2106.04(d).I lists the following example considerations for evaluating whether a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application:
An improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or another technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
Analysis of instant claims
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2).
Instant claim 11 recites additional elements that are not abstract ideas:
• "obtaining a cell population including a candidate of a specific cell” (claim 11) and
• "sorting out a cell that satisfy a reference from the cell population with the method according to claim 1” (claim 11).
Considerations under Step 2A, Prong Two
The recited "obtaining a cell population including a candidate of a specific cell” (claim 11) read on data gathering activities; not amounting to a practical application. The type of data doesn’t change that it is mere data gathering.
There are no additional limitations to indicate details of exactly how the judicial exception is being integrated by the additional elements. The recited "sorting out a cell that satisfy a reference from the cell population with the method according to claim 1” (claim 11) reads on an apply it step because there is no evidence to indicate that the output of the identified judicial exceptions is being realized in a practical application.
Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore the claims do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; 2106.05(f); and 2106.05(g)).
In Step 2A, Prong One above, claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more judicial exceptions (JEs).
In this Step 2A, Prong Two immediately above claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more additional elements. Additional elements are further discussed in Step 2B below.
Here in Step 2A, Prong Two, no additional step or element clearly demonstrates integration of the JE(s) into a practical application.
[Step 2A Prong Two: claims 1-11: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
According to analysis so far, the additional elements described above do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. A determination of whether additional elements provide significantly more also rests on whether the additional elements or a combination of elements represents other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Conventionality is a question of fact and may be evidenced as: a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during examination that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
With respect to the instant claims, the prior art review to Carey (“Developments in label‐free microfluidic methods for single‐cell analysis and sorting." Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Nanomedicine and Nanobiotechnology 11.1 (2019): e1529 (2019); newly cited) discloses that using a method that applies a sorting step to cell population analysis is routine, well-understood and conventional in the art. Said portions of the prior art are, for example, pg. 27 Table 1.
When the claims are considered as a whole, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; they do not confine the use of the abstract idea to a particular technology; they do not solve a problem rooted in or arising from the use of a particular technology; they do not improve a technology by allowing the technology to perform a function that it previously was not capable of performing; and they do not provide any limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a broad technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(a) and 2106.05(h).
The instant claims constitute insignificant extra solution activity, and when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Hence, these elements, when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
[Step 2B: claims 1-11: No]
Conclusion: Instant claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter
For the reasons above, the claims in this instant application, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept not clearly anything significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(l) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale,
or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Kanter ("CHETAH: a selective, hierarchical cell type identification method for single-cell RNA sequencing." Nucleic acids research 47.16:e95-e95 (2019)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 1 recites:
evaluating a correlation relationship between an expression pattern of a gene group obtained by measuring an expression state of a related gene group that is characteristic of the specific cell and an expression pattern that serves as a reference; and
determining the cell to be usable in a case where the correlation relationship is equal to or higher than a certain level
• DeKanter teaches an algorithmic method - CHETAH - that explicitly allows the assignment of cells to an intermediate or unassigned type, which are inferred using a tree that is constructed from the reference data that guides the classification (pg. 2 col. 1 para. 3); wherein, to classify input cells, CHETAH requires single-cell RNA sequencing (scRNA-seq) reference data along with cell type labels for each reference cell (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 2) which is created as a reference profile for each cell type in the set of reference cells by averaging, for each cell type, the logged gene expression over all cells of that type (i.e. expression pattern of a gene group obtained by measuring an expression state of a related gene group that is characteristic of the specific cell and an expression pattern that serves as a reference) (pg. 4 col. 1 para. 2); wherein the input cell correlation to a reference cell type is compared to the distribution of correlations of the reference cells (i.e. evaluating a correlation relationship) to assess whether there is enough evidence to allow this cell to take the next step and, if the confidence threshold is not passed, further classification of the cell stops and it is marked as unassigned (i.e. here the lack of assignment for a cell inherently makes said cell not usable regarding a specific cell type if the confidence threshold is not passed – reading on determining the cell to be usable in a case where the correlation relationship is equal to or higher than a certain level) (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 1).
Claim 3 recites:
wherein the related gene group that is characteristic of the specific cell is composed of 10 to 2,000 genes
• DeKanter teaches that CHETAH selectable parameters include the choice of discriminatory gene set selection for each cell type defaulted to 200 genes with largest absolute expression difference between reference cell type under consideration and all reference cell types in the opposite branch) (pg. 5 col. 2 para. 2).
Claim 4 recites:
wherein the related gene group that is characteristic of the specific cell is selected from at least one or more among an immunity-related gene group, an inflammation-related gene group, an angiogenesis-related gene group, a neuranagenesis-related gene group, a chondrogenesis-related gene group, an osteogenesis-related gene group, an adipogenesis-related gene group, a fibrosis-related gene group, an immunogenicity-related gene group, a migration-related gene group, an adhesion-related gene group, a senescence-related gene group, a mesenchymal stem cell marker-related gene group, a surface marker-related gene group, a growth factor-related gene group, and a chemokine- or cytokine-related gene group
• DeKanter teaches that the reference dataset used consisted of a combination of datasets of colorectal, breast, melanoma and head-neck tumors discussing the T cells in terms of their CD4+, CD8+ and T-reg subtypes (i.e. an immunity-related gene group) (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
A. Claims 2, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over DeKanter as applied to claim 1 in the 102 rejection above, further in view of in view of Hou ("scMatch: a single-cell gene expression profile annotation tool using reference datasets." Bioinformatics 35.22:4688-4695 (2019)); as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 2 recites:
wherein the cell is determined to be usable in a case where a coefficient of correlation or a coefficient of determination between the expression pattern of the gene group obtained by measuring the expression state of the related gene group that is characteristic of the specific cell and the expression pattern that serves as the reference, or the coefficient of correlation and the coefficient of determination are evaluated, and the coefficient of correlation or the coefficient of determination is equal to or higher than a certain level
• DeKanter teaches that, to classify input cells, CHETAH requires single-cell RNA sequencing (scRNA-seq) reference data along with cell type labels for each reference cell (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 2) which is created as a reference profile for each cell type in the set of reference cells by averaging, for each cell type, the logged gene expression over all cells of that type (i.e. expression pattern of the gene group obtained by measuring the expression state of the related gene group that is characteristic of the specific cell and the expression pattern that serves as the reference) (pg. 4 col. 1 para. 2); wherein the input cell correlation to a reference cell type is compared to the distribution of correlations of the reference cells (i.e. evaluating a correlation relationship) to assess whether there is enough evidence to allow this cell to take the next step and, if the confidence threshold is not passed, further classification of the cell stops and it is marked as unassigned (i.e. here the lack of assignment for a cell inherently makes said cell not usable regarding a specific cell type if the confidence threshold is not passed – reading on determining correlation determination being equal to or higher than a certain level) (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 1); wherein a classification tree is computed from these reference profiles using Spearman correlation and average linkage (pg. 3 col. 2 para. 1).
• DeKanter does not teach “a coefficient of correlation or a coefficient of determination.” However, Hou teaches an algorithmic method that annotates single cells (i.e. assign a cell type to an unidentified cell) by identifying their closest match in large reference datasets (pg. 4688 Abstract); wherein Pearson’s correlation coefficients and Spearman’s correlation coefficients were assigned to gene groups of 93655 Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells (pg. 4692 Table 3) to determine the level of recall rate and accuracy of cell annotations (pg. 4693 col. 2 para. 3).
Claim 6 recites:
wherein the cell is at least one kind of cell selected from the group consisting of a somatic stem cell, an induced pluripotent stem cell, an embryonic stem cell, a differentiated cell derived from a somatic stem cell, a differentiated cell derived from an induced pluripotent stem cell, and a differentiated cell derived from an embryonic stem cell
• DeKanter does not teach the recitation above. However, Hou teaches an algorithmic method that annotates single cells (i.e. assign a cell type to an unidentified cell) by identifying their closest match in large reference datasets (pg. 4688 Abstract); wherein said method is applied to human embryonic stem cell scRNA-seq data (pg. 4691 col. 1 para. 1).
Claim 11 recites:
A method of producing a specific cell comprising:
obtaining a cell population including a candidate of a specific cell; and
sorting out a cell that satisfy a reference from the cell population with the method according to claim 1
• DeKanter teaches the recitations in claim 1 as an algorithmic method - CHETAH - that explicitly allows the assignment of cells to an intermediate or unassigned type, which are inferred using a tree that is constructed from the reference data that guides the classification (pg. 2 col. 1 para. 3); wherein, to classify input cells, CHETAH requires single-cell RNA sequencing (scRNA-seq) reference data along with cell type labels for each reference cell (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 2) which is created as a reference profile for each cell type in the set of reference cells by averaging, for each cell type, the logged gene expression over all cells of that type (i.e. expression pattern of a gene group obtained by measuring an expression state of a related gene group that is characteristic of the specific cell and an expression pattern that serves as a reference) (pg. 4 col. 1 para. 2); wherein the input cell correlation to a reference cell type is compared to the distribution of correlations of the reference cells (i.e. evaluating a correlation relationship) to assess whether there is enough evidence to allow this cell to take the next step and, if the confidence threshold is not passed, further classification of the cell stops and it is marked as unassigned (i.e. here the lack of assignment for a cell inherently makes said cell not usable regarding a specific cell type if the confidence threshold is not passed – reading on determining the cell to be usable in a case where the correlation relationship is equal to or higher than a certain level) (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 1).
• DeKanter does not teach “obtaining a cell population including a candidate of a specific cell; and sorting out a cell that satisfy a reference from the cell population.” However, Hou teaches an algorithmic method that annotates single cells (i.e. assign a cell type to an unidentified cell) by identifying their closest match in large reference datasets (pg. 4688 Abstract); wherein the aim of the method is to subdivide the cells into separate clusters that represent biologically meaningful sub-populations (i.e. obtaining a cell population including a candidate of a specific cell; and sorting out a cell that satisfy a reference from the cell population) (pg. 4689 col. 1 para. 2).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 2, 6 and 11, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of DeKanter in view of Hou because all references disclose methods for investigating biological cell properties. The motivation would have been to systematically compared the accuracy of the cell annotations using different similarity measures (Pearson’s and Spearman’s correlation coefficients), different gene lists (all genes, cell type-specific genes and highly expressed genes) and with single-cell data at different sequencing depths (pg. 4693 col. 2 para. 3 Hou) and to identify cell populations in any complex tissue with the desired precision (pg. 4688 Abstract Hou).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the investigation of biological cells of DeKanter to the methods by Hou because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for investigating biological cell properties.
B. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over DeKanter as applied to claim 1 in the 102 rejection above further in view of in view of Zhang ("ZIAQ: a quantile regression method for differential expression analysis of single-cell RNA-seq data." Bioinformatics 36.10:3124-3130 (2020)); as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 5 recites:
wherein in a case where the coefficient of correlation or the coefficient of determination is evaluated, the coefficient of correlation or the coefficient of determination is calculated by carrying out any one of; (i) replacing a missing value, which is for a gene of which an expression level cannot be measured, with a lower limit value of measurement, (ii) replacing a missing value, which is for a gene of which an expression level cannot be measured, with a minimum value among measured values, or (iii) carrying out processing for a missing value, which is for a gene of which an expression level cannot be measured, according to the following expression: read count of each gene + (1 × gene length/average of gene lengths).
• DeKanter does not teach the limitation above. However, Zhang teaches a zero-inflation-adjusted quantile (ZIAQ) regression method for the differential expression analysis in scRNA-seq, which considers both zero measurements and multimodal data distribution simultaneously (pg. 3125 col. 1 para. 2); wherein the method assumes that the expression value at dropout event is lower than the observed expression value ( reading on (i) replacing a missing value, which is for a gene of which an expression level cannot be measured, with a lower limit value of measurement) (pg. 3125 col. 2 para. 2).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 5, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of DeKanter in view of Zhang because all references disclose methods for investigating biological cell properties. The motivation would have been to account for the large proportion of expressed genes with zero or low read counts (’dropout’ events) in scRNA-seq and improve sensitivity and specificity of single-cell differential expression analysis (pg. 3124 Abstract Zhang).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the investigation of biological cells of DeKanter to the methods by Zhang because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for investigating biological cell properties.
C. Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over DeKanter as applied to claim 1 in the 102 rejection above further in view of in view of Zhou ("Single-cell profiles and clinically useful properties of human mesenchymal stem cells of adipose and bone marrow origin." The American journal of sports medicine 47.7:1722-1733 (2019)); as cited on the attached Form PTO-892. Claims 8-9 are additionally evidenced by Dequeker ("The history of osteoarthritis-osteoarthrosis." Annals of the rheumatic diseases 67.1:5-10 (2008)).
Claim 7 recites:
wherein the specific cell is a mesenchymal stem cell
Claim 8 recites:
wherein the specific cell is a cell that is used as a therapeutic drug for arthrosis
Claim 9 recites:
wherein the cell is a cell that is used as a therapeutic drug for a meniscus or a therapeutic drug for osteoarthritis
• DeKanter does not teach the recitation above. However, Zhou teaches a single-cell RNA sequencing analysis method to investigate the transcriptomic heterogeneity of mesenchymal stem cells (i.e. as in claim 7) (pg. 1722 Abstract); wherein meta-analysis of clinical trials was performed to compare the clinical therapeutic effects in osteoarthritis treatment (i.e. as in claims 8-9) (pg. 1722 Abstract). Here, the teachings by Zhou read on “therapeutic drug for arthrosis” and “therapeutic drug for osteoarthritis” since arthrosis is a general class that encompasses osteoarthritis – as evidenced by Dequeker (pg. 5 col. 1 para. 1).
Claim 10 recites:
wherein the cell is a cell for drug discovery
• DeKanter does not teach the recitation above. However, Zhou teaches a single-cell RNA sequencing analysis method to investigate the transcriptomic heterogeneity of mesenchymal stem cells (pg. 1722 Abstract); wherein, for cell therapies utilizing mesenchymal stem cells as drugs, it is only required that MSCs for clinical application be produced according to good manufacturing practice and have an approved investigational new drug application from the Food and Drug Administration (pg. 1722 col. 1 para. 1).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 7-10, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of DeKanter in view of Zhou because all references disclose methods for investigating biological cell properties. The motivation would have been to incorporate a more precise clinical application of single cell profiles (pg. 1722 Abstract Zhou).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the investigation of biological cells of DeKanter to the methods by Zhou because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for investigating biological cell properties.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-6 and 10-15 of copending Application No 18/410,502. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
• Reference claim 4 teaches instant claim 1.
• Reference claim 5 teaches instant claim 2.
• Reference claim 2 teaches instant claim 3.
• Reference claim 3 teaches instant claim 4.
• Reference claim 6 teaches instant claim 5.
• Reference claim 10 teaches instant claim 6.
• Reference claim 11 teaches instant claim 7.
• Reference claim 12 teaches instant claim 8.
• Reference claim 13 teaches instant claim 9
• Reference claim 14 teaches instant claim 10.
• Reference claim 15 teaches instant claim 11.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/F.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/JANNA NICOLE SCHULTZHAUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1685