DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the user matching" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 11 should be dependent upon claim 10 to provide proper antecedent basis.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the user matching" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 also depends upon claim 13 which is improper.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the user matching" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13 also depends upon itself which is improper.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the one or more user profiles" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 recites a “second device configured for: establishing a network connection with the second device”. It seems it should read “establishing a network connection with the first device”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the one of more devices" in line 8 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lor et al., US Patent Number 9,055,390 (hereinafter Lor).
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Lor discloses a method programmed in a non-transitory memory of a device comprising: detecting one or more nearby devices [col. 3: lines 37-38]; generating a network [col. 3: lines 38-40]; and establishing a network connection with the one or more devices by detecting an indication of a desire to join the network on the one or more devices, wherein establishing the network connection with the one or more devices is based on proximity or one or more shared interests [col. 3: lines 40-49].
Regarding claim 2, Lor discloses wherein establishing the network connection with the one or more devices is by detecting a wireless signal [col. 3: lines 38-44].
Regarding claim 4, Lor discloses wherein the network is generated manually [col. 4: lines 30-32].
Regarding claim 16, Lor discloses employing machine learning to parse a group of people into smaller groups of people based on factors including: demographics, preferences, location data, or spin actions [col. 5: lines 4-14].
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lochan et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0166195 (hereinafter Lochan).
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Lochan discloses a method programmed in a non-transitory memory of a device comprising: detecting one or more nearby devices; generating a network; and establishing a network connection with the one or more devices by detecting an indication of a desire to join the network on the one or more devices, wherein establishing the network connection with the one or more devices is based on proximity or one or more shared interests [paragraphs 0007, 0079].
Regarding claim 2, Lochan discloses wherein establishing the network connection with the one or more devices is by detecting a wireless signal [paragraph 0007].
Regarding claim 6, Lochan discloses enabling targeted advertising and personalized content delivery within the network [paragraph 0040].
Regarding claim 15, Lochan discloses implementing artificial intelligence to provide recommendations to a user [paragraphs 0040, 0083].
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-14, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schilit et al., US Patent Number 9,215,286 (hereinafter Schilit).
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Schilit discloses a method programmed in a non-transitory memory of a device comprising: detecting one or more nearby devices; generating a network; and establishing a network connection with the one or more devices by detecting an indication of a desire to join the network on the one or more devices, wherein establishing the network connection with the one or more devices is based on proximity or one or more shared interests [col. 12: lines 28-46].
Regarding claim 2, Schilit discloses wherein establishing the network connection with the one or more devices is by detecting a wireless signal [col. 2: lines 27-31].
Regarding claim 3, Schilit discloses wherein establishing the network connection with the one or more devices is by detecting a wave/spin action, wherein the wave/spin action of the device includes a movement of the one or more devices including displaying a graphic on the one or more devices [col. 11: lines 9-15].
Regarding claim 4, Schilit discloses wherein the network is generated manually [col. 11: line 64 – col. 12: line 14]
Regarding claim 5, Schilit discloses wherein the network is generated automatically using artificial intelligence based on user preferences, behaviors or location [col. 12: lines 38-41].
Regarding claim 8, Schilit suggests utilizing satellite communication to establish the network connection [col 8: line 61 – col. 9: line 5 wherein various communication modalities are disclosed].
Regarding claim 9, Schilit discloses implementing privacy settings, wherein the privacy settings take into account a number of people on the network [col. 16: lines 27-39].
Regarding claim 10, Schilit discloses implementing artificial intelligence to perform user matching, including adding a matched user to the network [col. 6: lines 10-22, 38-46].
Regarding claim 11, Schilit discloses wherein the user matching is based on interests, compatible personalities, contextual personas and identities within an application [col. 6: lines 43-46; col. 16: lines 12-39].
Regarding claim 12, Schilit discloses the user matching is based on user mindset [col. 6: lines 43-46; col. 16: lines 12-39].
Regarding claim 13, Schilit discloses wherein the user matching combines personality matching and contextual matching [col. 6: lines 43-46; col. 16: lines 12-39].
Regarding claim 14, Schilit discloses managing one or more user personas enabling a user to switch between one or more user profiles [col. 16: lines 27-39; col. 18: lines 37-39].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lor in view of Domangue et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/198755 (hereinafter Domangue).
Regarding claim 7, Lor does not specifically disclose wherein generating the network comprises drawing a boundary on a map, wherein only devices within the boundary are able to connect to the network.
However, Domangue teaches this limitation [paragraph 0605]. Further, the boundary automatically becoming a circular boundary based on the drawn boundary is an obvious modification in order to generate a succinct geofence with a constant radius. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lor to include the teaching of Domangue. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lor in view of Wright, US Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0334525(hereinafter Wright).
Regarding claim 17, Lor does not specifically disclose generating a pop up store based on a current location of the device. However, Wright teaches this limitation [paragraph 0101]. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lor to include the teaching of Wright. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lor in view of Tetreault et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0257329 (hereinafter Tetreault).
Regarding claim 18, Lor does not specifically disclose implementing artificial intelligence for detection and moderation of hate speech, dangerous drugs, human trafficking and bullying. However, Tetreault teaches this limitation [paragraph 0036]. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lor to include the teaching of Tetreault. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carter et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0056536, disclose a short range communication enabled object for facilitating proximity based interaction with at least one electronic device.
/EAW/
February 4, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644