DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 18/412,113 on August 25, 2025. Please note Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. ( US 2016/0085319 A1 ) in view of Liu ( US 2022/0248160 A1 ).
Kim teaches in Claim 1:
An electronic device ( Figure 1, [0035] discloses a mobile terminal 100 ) comprising:
a housing structure ( Figure 2F(b), 2G, [0120] discloses a housing structure and this is also disclosed in various other figures as well ) comprising:
a hinge ( Figure 2G, [0142] discloses a hinge 202 with first and second bodies 201a and 201b. Please note Figure 18A/18B which shows a similar layout );
a first housing connected to the hinge ( Figure 18A, [0246] disclose a first display region 151a (read as part of the first housing) and this is one side of the hinge. [0109] discloses aspects of the display region folding relative to the hinge structure );
a first surface and a second surface oriented in a direction opposite to the first surface ( Figure 18A shows the first display region 151a (read as a first surface). Also, please note there is clearly a rear/backside surface of the first display region (read as a second surface) and these are on opposite sides of the substrate. As an illustrative example, please note Figure 2H which shows the rear surface );
a second housing connected to the hinge, the second housing comprising a third surface and a fourth surface oriented in a direction opposite to the third surface ( Figure 18A shows the second display region 151b (read as a third surface). Also, please note there is clearly a rear/backside surface of the second display region (read as a fourth surface) and these are on opposite sides of the substrate. As an illustrative example, please note Figure 2H which shows the rear surface ),
the first surface facing the third surface in a folded state ( Figure 2F(b), 2H, for example, shows 151a and 151b facing each other when folded ), and the first surface and the third surface being oriented in a same direction in an unfolded state ( Figure 2F(a), for example, shows 151 and 151b oriented in the same direction when unfolded );
a first display provided over the first surface and the third surface ( Figure 18A shows the interpreted first and third surfaces having display aspects );
a sensor ( [0169] discloses a bend sensor 145 ); and
a processor operatively connected to the sensor ( [0045] discloses a controller 180 control overall operations of the mobile terminal, including the sensor data ),
wherein the processor is configured to:
detect an unfolding operation or a folding operation of the first housing and the second housing through the sensor ( [0040] disclose the bend sensor which converts information on a folded or bent position into an electrical signal ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach “while an angle between the first housing and the second housing is continuously changed and a providing of a multimedia notification is maintained, adjust at least one characteristic of the multimedia notification based on at least one of a size of a folding angle, an angle interval in which the folding angle is included, or a folding angular speed corresponding to an angular speed of the folding angle”.
Initially, Kim teaches: Figures 18A/18B, [0246] discloses a preset limit folding angle 18-1 and determining if the unfolding/folding operation is similar to this angle. In general, the folding angle may be determined and compared to this. [0246]-[0247] discloses comparing the folding angle information to a preset limit folding angle 18-1. To clarify, it is the amount of the folding, i.e. size, which Kim is concerned with. As for a multimedia notification: [0247] discloses outputting an alarm sound when the folding angle is equal to the preset limit folding angle 18-1 (read the alarm sound as a multimedia notification). Again, please note the alternative claim language in the preceding limitation.
However, Kim does not teach of a continuous angle change and adjusting a characteristic of the multimedia notification, in particular.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches of a device 100 with a first screen 104 and a second screen 105 and a folding angle that can be rotated between them, ( Liu, Figure 4B, [0197] ). As for the folding angle, Liu teaches in [0173] of a plurality of sound configuration parameter groups, such as a first and second sound configuration groups and as the folding angle changes, the particular group may be dynamically adapted/switched. To clarify, as the folding angle between the screens changes (read as while an angle between the first housing and the second housing is continuously change and a providing of a multimedia notification is maintained, i.e. audio sounds), the sound effect (read as a characteristic of a multimedia notification) can be changed based on the particular folding angle between the two screens (read as a size of a folding angle or an angle interval, notably as [0173] discloses one sound configuration parameter group may correspond to one or more angles, meaning another group corresponds to another set of one or more angles). Please note the alternative and reasonable interpretation of these limitations). As combined with Kim, who also teaches of a folding angle, the dynamic sound effects as the folding angle changes can be incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the dynamic change of sound effects as the folding angle changes, as taught by Liu, with the motivation that a better audio experience can be achieved, ( Liu, [0173] ).
Kim teaches in Claim 12:
A method of providing a multimedia notification by an electronic device ( Figure 1, [0035] discloses a mobile terminal 100 ) comprising a first housing ( Figure 18A, [0246] disclose a first display region 151a (read as part of the first housing) and this is one side of the hinge ) and a second housing connected to be mutually folded or unfolded ( Figure 18A, [0246] discloses a second display region 151b (read as part of the second housing) and this is one the other side of the hinge. [0109] discloses aspects of the display region folding relative to the hinge structure ), the method comprising:
detecting an unfolding operation or a folding operation of the first housing and the second housing ( [0040] disclose the bend sensor which converts information on a folded or bent position into an electrical signal ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach “while an angle between the first housing and the second housing is continuously changed and a providing of a multimedia notification is maintained, adjusting at least one characteristic of the multimedia notification based on at least one of a size of a folding angle, an angle interval in which the folding angle is included, or a folding angular speed corresponding to an angular speed of the folding angle”.
Initially, Kim teaches: Figures 18A/18B, [0246] discloses a preset limit folding angle 18-1 and determining if the unfolding/folding operation is similar to this angle. In general, the folding angle may be determined and compared to this. [0246]-[0247] discloses comparing the folding angle information to a preset limit folding angle 18-1. To clarify, it is the amount of the folding, i.e. size, which Kim is concerned with. As for a multimedia notification: [0247] discloses outputting an alarm sound when the folding angle is equal to the preset limit folding angle 18-1 (read the alarm sound as a multimedia notification). Again, please note the alternative claim language in the preceding limitation.
However, Kim does not teach of a continuous angle change and adjusting a characteristic of the multimedia notification, in particular.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches of a device 100 with a first screen 104 and a second screen 105 and a folding angle that can be rotated between them, ( Liu, Figure 4B, [0197] ). As for the folding angle, Liu teaches in [0173] of a plurality of sound configuration parameter groups, such as a first and second sound configuration groups and as the folding angle changes, the particular group may be dynamically adapted/switched. To clarify, as the folding angle between the screens changes (read as while an angle between the first housing and the second housing is continuously change and a providing of a multimedia notification is maintained, i.e. audio sounds), the sound effect (read as a characteristic of a multimedia notification) can be changed based on the particular folding angle between the two screens (read as a size of a folding angle or an angle interval, notably as [0173] discloses one sound configuration parameter group may correspond to one or more angles, meaning another group corresponds to another set of one or more angles). Please note the alternative and reasonable interpretation of these limitations). As combined with Kim, who also teaches of a folding angle, the dynamic sound effects as the folding angle changes can be incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the dynamic change of sound effects as the folding angle changes, as taught by Liu, with the motivation that a better audio experience can be achieved, ( Liu, [0173] ).
7. Claim 3-8 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. ( US 2016/0085319 A1 ) and Liu ( US 2022/0248160 A1 ), as applied to Claims 1 and 12, further in view of Seo et al. ( US 2014/0049463 A1 ).
Kim teaches in Claim 3:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the multimedia notification comprises a sound notification ( [0247] disclose an alarm sound ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the processor is further configured to provide, through the sound notification, a sound comprising a note corresponding to the angle interval in which the folding angle is included.”
However, Kim teaches: [0247] discloses the alarm sound which the folding angle is similar to or equal to the preset limit folding angle, i.e. corresponding to an angle interval including said preset limit folding angle.
In the same field of endeavor, bendable displays, Seo teaches of device which can determine a degree of bending, ( Seo, [0068] ). Notably, a degree of bending can correspond to multiple threshold values which can be divided into first, second and third levels. According to the levels, different sounds may be provided. To clarify, for different degrees of bending, i.e. different angle intervals, corresponding sound or sound notes can be provided.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the vibration characteristics, with the motivation that the user experience can be dynamically adjusted based on the bending interaction with the device, ( Seo, [0070] ).
Kim and Seo teaches in Claim 4:
The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the processor is further configured to adjust a tempo the sound notification, the corresponding note at a tempo corresponding to the angular speed at which the folding angle changes. ( Seo, [0125], [0251] disclose a bending speed (read an angular speed) is analyzed and the appropriate feedback/operation is performed. Furthermore, Seo teaches in [0060] of warning sounds can be changed in interval (tempo) based on the degree of bending )
Seo teaches in Claim 5:
The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the processor is further configured to identify an output order of a note included in the sound notification, based on a direction in which the folding angle changes. ( Seo, [0060] discloses that based on the degree of bending (in a particular direction, as is clear), the tempo or volume (examples of output order) can be increased )
As per Claim 6:
Kim may not explicitly teach “wherein the multimedia notification comprises an image provided through the first display, and wherein the processor is further configured to provide the image to at least a partial area of the first display comprising an area corresponding to the size of the folding angle.”
However, Kim teaches: Figure 3, [0170] discloses dividing a screen of the flexible display based on the folded position of the display unit, i.e. corresponding to a size of the folding angle. Figure 14A/14B, [0227] disclose an example of adjusting the display content according to the changed folding angle.
In the same field of endeavor, bendable displays, Seo teaches of device which can determine a degree of bending, ( Seo, [0068] ). Seo also teaches in [0055] a display form of the screen can be varied according to the bending degree. In general, characteristics of the screen visual feedback can be determined. The relationship between the degree of bending and the image content is emphasized here and as combined with Kim, based on the degree of bending, image content can be adjusted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the vibration characteristics, with the motivation that the user experience can be dynamically adjusted based on the bending interaction with the device, ( Seo, [0070] ).
Kim and Seo teach in Claim 7:
The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the image comprises a video image, and
wherein the processor is further configured to adjust a reproduction speed of the video image corresponding to an angular speed of the folding angle. ( Seo, [0125], [0251] disclose a bending speed (read an angular speed) is analyzed and the appropriate feedback/operation is performed. Seo further teaches of [0055] in which the degree of bending can affect the image content. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize the image content can be modified based on these factors. Furthermore, Examiner asserts Official Notice to the well known change of display content in response to flipping speed, akin to bending degrees )
Kim teaches in Claim 8:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the multimedia notification comprises a haptic notification comprising a vibration output ( [0024] discloses a vibration motor when a folding angle is similar to or equal to a preset limit folding angle ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein the processor is further configured to change at least one of a strength, a speed, or a duration of the vibration output, based on a folding information.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, bendable displays, Seo teaches of device which can determine a degree of bending, ( Seo, [0068] ). Notably, a degree of bending can correspond to multiple threshold values which can be divided into first, second and third levels. According to the levels, haptic feedback having a different vibration interval or different vibration intensity may be provided. As combined, different characteristics of vibration can be implemented, as well as multiple folding angles of interest.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the vibration characteristics, with the motivation that the user experience can be dynamically adjusted based on the bending interaction with the device, ( Seo, [0070] ).
Kim teaches in Claim 14:
The method of claim 12, wherein the multimedia notification comprises a sound notification ( [0247] disclose an alarm sound ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein providing of the multimedia notification comprises providing, through the sound notification, a sound comprising a note corresponding to the angle interval in which the folding angle is included.”
However, Kim teaches: [0247] discloses the alarm sound which the folding angle is similar to or equal to the preset limit folding angle, i.e. corresponding to an angle interval including said preset limit folding angle.
In the same field of endeavor, bendable displays, Seo teaches of device which can determine a degree of bending, ( Seo, [0068] ). Notably, a degree of bending can correspond to multiple threshold values which can be divided into first, second and third levels. According to the levels, different sounds may be provided. To clarify, for different degrees of bending, i.e. different angle intervals, corresponding sound or sound notes can be provided.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the vibration characteristics, with the motivation that the user experience can be dynamically adjusted based on the bending interaction with the device, ( Seo, [0070] ).
Kim teaches in Claim 15:
The method of claim 14, the method further comprising identifying an output order of a note included in the sound notification, based on a direction in which the folding angle changes. ( Seo, [0060] discloses that based on the degree of bending (in a particular direction, as is clear), the tempo or volume (examples of output order) can be increased )
As per Claim 16:
Kim may not explicitly teach “wherein the multimedia notification comprises an image provided through a first display, and wherein providing of the multimedia notification comprises providing the image to at least a partial area of the first display comprising an area corresponding to the size of the folding angle.”
However, Kim teaches: Figure 3, [0170] discloses dividing a screen of the flexible display based on the folded position of the display unit, i.e. corresponding to a size of the folding angle. Figure 14A/14B, [0227] disclose an example of adjusting the display content according to the changed folding angle.
In the same field of endeavor, bendable displays, Seo teaches of device which can determine a degree of bending, ( Seo, [0068] ). Seo also teaches in [0055] a display form of the screen can be varied according to the bending degree. In general, characteristics of the screen visual feedback can be determined. The relationship between the degree of bending and the image content is emphasized here and as combined with Kim, based on the degree of bending, image content can be adjusted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the vibration characteristics, with the motivation that the user experience can be dynamically adjusted based on the bending interaction with the device, ( Seo, [0070] ).
Kim and Seo teach in Claim 17:
The method of claim 16, wherein the image comprises a video image, and
wherein adjusting a reproduction speed the video image corresponding to an angular speed of the folding angle. ( Seo, [0125], [0251] disclose a bending speed (read an angular speed) is analyzed and the appropriate feedback/operation is performed. Seo further teaches of [0055] in which the degree of bending can affect the image content. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize the image content can be modified based on these factors. Furthermore, Examiner asserts Official Notice to the well known change of display content in response to flipping speed, akin to bending degrees )
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection(s).
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments, notably a reliance on Liu. As a result, Applicant’s augments, directed to Kim, are moot at this time.
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621