DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on 1/12/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-12, 14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 20200120596 (hereinafter referred to as Yu).
Consider claim 1, Yu teaches a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, first configuration information from a network device, wherein the first configuration information indicates one DRX configuration (see at least ¶ [0160], Fig. 4, “…terminal device receives the N DRX configurations sent by the network device…”);
performing, by the terminal device, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring based on the one DRX configuration (see at least ¶ [0166], “…the DRX status of the terminal device is the active state, if the M groups of carriers in the N groups of carriers are activated carriers, the terminal device monitors the physical downlink control channel on the specified carrier based on the M DRX configurations corresponding to the M groups of carriers…”).
Consider claim 12, Yu teaches a terminal device (see at least ¶ [0251], Fig. 12, “…terminal device 1200…”), comprising:
a processor (see at least ¶ [0251], Fig. 12, “…processor 1201…”) and a memory for storing a computer program (see at least ¶ [0257], Fig. 12, “…The memory 1202 is configured to store an operation program, code, or an instruction used for processing a DRX configuration…”), wherein the processor implements the computer program to cause the terminal device at least to:
receive first configuration information from a network device, wherein the first configuration information indicates one DRX configuration (see at least ¶ [0160], Fig. 4, “…terminal device receives the N DRX configurations sent by the network device…”); and
perform physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring based on the one DRX configuration (see at least ¶ [0166], “…the DRX status of the terminal device is the active state, if the M groups of carriers in the N groups of carriers are activated carriers, the terminal device monitors the physical downlink control channel on the specified carrier based on the M DRX configurations corresponding to the M groups of carriers…”).
Consider claim 14, Yu teaches a network device (see at least ¶ [0227], Fig. 10, “…network device 1000…”), comprising:
a processor (see at least ¶ [0229], Fig. 10, “…processor 1001…”) and a memory for storing a computer program (see at least ¶ [0233], Fig. 10, “…The memory 1002 is configured to store an operation program, code, or an instruction used for processing a DRX configuration…”), wherein the processor implements the computer program to cause the network device at least to:
transmit first configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the first configuration information indicates one DRX configuration (see at least ¶ [0160], Fig. 4, “…terminal device receives the N DRX configurations sent by the network device…”), and the one DRX configuration is used for performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring by the terminal device (see at least ¶ [0166], “…the DRX status of the terminal device is the active state, if the M groups of carriers in the N groups of carriers are activated carriers, the terminal device monitors the physical downlink control channel on the specified carrier based on the M DRX configurations corresponding to the M groups of carriers…”).
Consider claim 7 (depends on at least claim 1), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein the first configuration information is further used to determine a plurality of sets of parameters (see at least ¶ [0136], “…the network device configures parameters in the N DRX configurations. A parameter configured in each of the N configured DRX configurations includes at least one of the following items: an on duration timer, a DRX cycle, a DRX-inactivity timer, a DRX-retransmission timer, and a DRX start location offset value…”).
Consider claim 8 (depends on at least claim 1), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein each of the plurality of sets of parameters is used to indicate at least one of: a DRX long cycle offset, a DRX short cycle offset, a starting time of a long DRX cycle or a starting time of a short DRX cycle (see at least ¶ [0144], “…when two types of cycles, that is, the short DRX cycle and the long DRX cycle, are set in each DRX configuration, a DRX short cycle timer (DRX short cycle timer) is correspondingly set, which may be understood as a life cycle of a short cycle. After the DRX short cycle timer expires, a long cycle needs to be used…”).
Consider claim 9 (depends on at least claim 1), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein values of the plurality of sets of parameters are determined by the network device based on first information (see at least ¶ [0241], “…the DRX-inactivity timer, and the DRX-retransmission timer is in a running state, it is determined that the DRX status of the terminal device 1100 is the active state…”).
Consider claim 10 (depends on at least claim 1), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a service packet transmission cycle, a service packet arrival time, an earliest service packet arrival time, a latest service packet arrival time, a jitter of the service packet, a jitter range of the service packet, a service arrival time or a service arrival time pattern (see at least ¶ [0026], “…the physical resource use attribute includes at least one of the following items: a resource cycle, a transmission time interval, a subcarrier spacing, and a coding scheme…”).
Consider claim 11 (depends on at least claim 1), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein the DRX configuration comprises configuration information for at least one parameter, the at least one parameter comprising at least one of the following: a first parameter for indicating a long DRX cycle; a second parameter for indicating a short DRX cycle; a third parameter for indicating a DRX long cycle offset or a starting time of the DRX long cycle; or a fourth parameter for indicating a DRX short cycle offset or a starting time of the short DRX cycle (see at least ¶ [0108], “…A length of the long DRX cycle (long drx-cycle) is an integral multiple of a length of the short DRX cycle (short drx-cycle). FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a long DRX cycle and a short DRX cycle…”).
Consider claim 16 (depends on at least claim 14), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 14 as applied to claim rejection 14 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein the first configuration information is further used to determine a plurality of sets of parameters (see at least ¶ [0136], “…the network device configures parameters in the N DRX configurations. A parameter configured in each of the N configured DRX configurations includes at least one of the following items: an on duration timer, a DRX cycle, a DRX-inactivity timer, a DRX-retransmission timer, and a DRX start location offset value…”).
Consider claim 17 (depends on at least claim 16), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 16 as applied to claim rejection 16 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein each of the plurality of sets of parameters is used to indicate at least one of: a DRX long cycle offset, a DRX short cycle offset, a starting time of a long DRX cycle or a starting time of a short DRX cycle (see at least ¶ [0144], “…when two types of cycles, that is, the short DRX cycle and the long DRX cycle, are set in each DRX configuration, a DRX short cycle timer (DRX short cycle timer) is correspondingly set, which may be understood as a life cycle of a short cycle. After the DRX short cycle timer expires, a long cycle needs to be used…”).
Consider claim 18 (depends on at least claim 16), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 16 as applied to claim rejection 16 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein values of the plurality of sets of parameters are determined by the network device based on first information (see at least ¶ [0241], “…the DRX-inactivity timer, and the DRX-retransmission timer is in a running state, it is determined that the DRX status of the terminal device 1100 is the active state…”).
Consider claim 19 (depends on at least claim 18), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 18 as applied to claim rejection 18 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a service packet transmission cycle, a service packet arrival time, an earliest service packet arrival time, a latest service packet arrival time, a jitter of the service packet, a jitter range of the service packet, a service arrival time or a service arrival time pattern (see at least ¶ [0026], “…the physical resource use attribute includes at least one of the following items: a resource cycle, a transmission time interval, a subcarrier spacing, and a coding scheme…”).
Consider claim 20 (depends on at least claim 14), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 14 as applied to claim rejection 14 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein the DRX configuration comprises configuration information for at least one parameter, the at least one parameter comprising at least one of the following: a first parameter for indicating a long DRX cycle; a second parameter for indicating a short DRX cycle; a third parameter for indicating a DRX long cycle offset or a starting time of the long DRX cycle; or a fourth parameter for indicating a DRX short cycle offset or a starting time of the short DRX cycle (see at least ¶ [0108], “…A length of the long DRX cycle (long drx-cycle) is an integral multiple of a length of the short DRX cycle (short drx-cycle). FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a long DRX cycle and a short DRX cycle…”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20200120596 (hereinafter referred to as Yu) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20200389933 (hereinafter referred to as Ang).
Consider claim 2 (depends on at least claim 1), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Yu disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Yu does not particularly disclose wherein a value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Ang, which teaches wherein a value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value (see Ang, at least ¶ [0100], “…a DRX configuration may support non-integer millisecond DRX cycle durations as a rational number…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Yu disclosed invention, and have wherein a value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value, as taught by Ang, thereby, to provide a wireless communications system may include a number of base stations or network access nodes, each simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, which may be otherwise known as user equipment (UE), as discussed by Ang, (see at least ¶ [0004]).
Consider claim 3 (depends on at least claim 2), Yu in view Ang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches further comprising: determining, by the terminal device based on the DRX configuration, at least one of: a DRX ON time, or a starting time of a DRX related timer (see at least ¶ [0080], “…the processing unit is configured to configure that an on duration timer, a DRX-inactivity timer, and a DRX-retransmission timer in each DRX configuration have different parameter values…”).
Consider claim 4 (depends on at least claim 3), Yu in view Ang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Yu teaches wherein the method further comprises at least one of: edge-aligning, by the terminal device, a starting time of the DRX ON time; edge-aligning, by the terminal device, a starting time of the DRX related timer; or rounding, by the terminal device, the starting time of the DRX related timer, and determining, by the terminal device, a time domain position corresponding to a running time of the DRX related timer based on a rounded value (see at least ¶ [0080], “…the processing unit is configured to configure that an on duration timer, a DRX-inactivity timer, and a DRX-retransmission timer in each DRX configuration have different parameter values…”).
Consider claim 13 (depends on at least claim 12), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 12 as applied to claim rejection 12 above and further discloses:
Yu disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Yu does not particularly disclose wherein a value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value; wherein the processor further causes the terminal device to: determine, based on the DRX configuration, at least one of: a DRX ON time, or a starting time of a DRX related timer. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Ang, which teaches wherein a value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value; wherein the processor further causes the terminal device to: determine, based on the DRX configuration, at least one of: a DRX ON time, or a starting time of a DRX related timer (see Ang, at least ¶ [0100], “…a DRX configuration may support non-integer millisecond DRX cycle durations as a rational number…” and see at least ¶ [0101], “…the DRX activity timer may be first based on an absolute time relative to the ON-duration…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Yu disclosed invention, and have wherein a value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value; wherein the processor further causes the terminal device to: determine, based on the DRX configuration, at least one of: a DRX ON time, or a starting time of a DRX related timer, as taught by Ang, thereby, to provide a wireless communications system may include a number of base stations or network access nodes, each simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, which may be otherwise known as user equipment (UE), as discussed by Ang, (see at least ¶ [0004]).
Consider claim 15 (depends on at least claim 14), Yu discloses the limitations of claim 14 as applied to claim rejection 14 above and further discloses:
Yu disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Yu does not particularly disclose wherein a value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Ang, which teaches wherein a value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value (see Ang, at least ¶ [0100], “…a DRX configuration may support non-integer millisecond DRX cycle durations as a rational number…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Yu disclosed invention, and have wherein a value of at least one parameter in the one DRX configuration is a non-integer numerical value, as taught by Ang, thereby, to provide a wireless communications system may include a number of base stations or network access nodes, each simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, which may be otherwise known as user equipment (UE), as discussed by Ang, (see at least ¶ [0004]).
Claims 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20200120596 (hereinafter referred to as Yu) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20200389933 (hereinafter referred to as Ang) and further in view of CN Patent Application Publication 02110502448 (hereinafter referred to as Xue).
Consider claim 5 (depends on at least claim 4), Yu in view of Ang discloses the limitations of claim 4 as applied to claim rejection 4 above and further discloses:
Yu in view of Ang disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Yu in view of Ang does not particularly disclose wherein the rounding is rounding down. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Xue, which teaches wherein the rounding is rounding down (see Xue, at least Page 5, Para. 4, “…function is used for rounding down the parameter x, n represents the index value of the second DRX period, u is the parameter corresponding to the sub-carrier interval, and D is determined according to the first configuration information …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Yu in view of Ang disclosed invention, and have wherein the rounding is rounding down, as taught by Xue, thereby, to provide a network device can flexibly configure the corresponding DRX configuration information for the terminal device, so as to make the on Duration period of DRX period to match or approximately match the arrival time of the data packet, reducing the delay of data transmission, as discussed by Xue, (see at least page 3, Para. 4).
Consider claim 6 (depends on at least claim 4), Yu in view of Ang discloses the limitations of claim 4 as applied to claim rejection 4 above and further discloses:
Yu in view of Ang disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Yu in view of Ang does not particularly disclose wherein the edge-aligning is for at least one of a sub-frame boundary or a slot boundary. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Xue, which teaches wherein the edge-aligning is for at least one of a sub-frame boundary or a slot boundary (see Xue, at least Page 16, Para. 2, “…the arrival time of the data packet … aligned with the time slot boundary, so that the on Duration period … aligned with the arrival time of the data packet…” and see at least Page 17, Para. 2, “…the DRX period or the on Duration starting position of the DRX period described in the embodiment of the present application can specifically refer to the starting time slot, that is, the first time slot at the start of the DRX period …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Yu in view of Ang disclosed invention, and have wherein the edge-aligning is for at least one of a sub-frame boundary or a slot boundary, as taught by Xue, thereby, to provide a network device can flexibly configure the corresponding DRX configuration information for the terminal device, so as to make the on Duration period of DRX period to match or approximately match the arrival time of the data packet, reducing the delay of data transmission, as discussed by Xue, (see at least page 3, Para. 4).
Conclusion
/CHUONG A NGO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645