DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “counter connector” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 1-12. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (JP 4604694 per IDS record).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a connector unit comprising:
a connector portion (5) to be fitted with a counter connector (6);
a connector housing (7) retaining the connector portion and having an opening portion (8) for inserting the counter connector in a fitting process with the counter connector; and
a cap (3) that is attached to the connector housing and openably and closably covers the opening portion, wherein the connector housing includes a front plate portion (at 8) that is provided with the opening portion, and a cap attachment hole penetrating the front plate portion and communicating with an inside of the connector housing, the cap includes a lid portion (3a) having a back surface facing the front plate portion, and an L-shaped arm joined to the lid portion and made of an elastic material, the L-shaped arm includes a support portion (3b) projecting and extending in a direction intersecting the back surface of the lid portion, a bent portion (3c) formed at a tip of the support portion, and a hook portion (a portion of 3c) extending from the bent portion in a direction intersecting the support portion, the cap is retained by the connector housing with the hook portion being accommodated inside the connector housing and the support portion being passed through the cap attachment hole, and
when viewed in a direction perpendicular to a plane including the support portion, a maximum dimension of the bent portion is larger than the dimension of the cap attachment hole, and the hook portion has a length dimension larger than the dimension of the cap attachment hole.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Maximum dimension)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Cap attachment hole)]
Kimura substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the thickness size of the bent portion, and the hook portion, the support portion and the hook portion each have a thickness dimension smaller than a dimension of the cap attachment hole.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the thickness size of the bent portion, the hook portion and the support portion for optimum performance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura substantially disclosed the claimed invention except size of a cross-sectional area when the bent portion is cut by a cross section perpendicular to the plane including the support portion, the bent portion, and the hook portion is larger than an area of the cap attachment hole.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the size of the cross-section area for optimum performance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, Kimura discloses the bent portion of the cap has a thin-wall part.
Regarding claim 4, Kimura discloses the bent portion has a cutout (3d).
Regarding claim 5, Kimura discloses the cutout is disposed at a middle part of the bent portion in a direction perpendicular to the plane including the support portion, the bent portion, and the hook portion and extends in parallel to the plane.
Regarding claim 6, Kimura substantially disclosed the claimed invention except a second L-shaped arms being identical to the L-shaped arm, and a second cap attachment hole being identical to the cap attachment hole.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the L-shaped arm and the cap attachment hole, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 7, Kimura discloses the support portion of the cap is disposed in the back surface of the lid portion at a position shifted in an opposite direction from a direction in which the hook portion extends from the bent portion, and the cap attachment hole of the connector housing is disposed in the front plate portion at a position shifted from the opening portion in an opposite direction from the direction in which the hook portion extends from the bent portion.
Regarding claims 10-12, these claims also rejected for the same rational as the rejected claims 1-7.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (JP 4604694 per IDS record) in view of Lopez et al. (US 2022/0169189).
Kimura substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the drain holes.
Lopez et al. teach drain holes (72).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the drain holes into Kimura’s cap, as taught by Lopez for draining water or moisture.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834