DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 6/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Clams 2 and 12 are cancelled.
Claims 6-10, and 16-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1,3-11, and 13-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3-5,11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As amended, claims 1 and 11 recite: in case that the handover is successfully performed, identifying whether a T311 timer is running before entering the cell without a cell selection; and in case that the T311 timer is not running before entering the cell without the cell selection, storing link failure information to a variable of a RLF report.
After carefully examining the instant disclosure, the examiner respectfully submits that support for this amendment is lacking and the addition of said limitation is new matter. The specification does not disclose (i) in case that the handover is successfully performed, identifying whether a T311 timer is running before entering the cell without a cell selection; and (ii) in case that the T311 timer is not running before entering the cell without the cell selection, storing link failure information to a variable of a RLF report. Regarding (i) the T311 timer is associated with handover failure and thus the specification does not disclose identifying a T311 timer when handover is successful. Regarding (ii), the specification only discloses stopping a T311 timer after selection has been performed and thus the specification does not disclose the timer T311 is not running before entering the cell without the cell selection.
Claims 3-5 and 13-15 are rejected because they depend from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-5,11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi (US 20240430967).
Re claim 1:
Choi discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: identifying whether a radio link failure (RLF) for a cell is detected (Para.[0273] radio link failure is detected);
in case that the RLF for the cell is detected, identifying whether a handover from a previous cell to the cell is successfully performed (Para.[0273] 3> if the last executed RRCReconfiguration message including the reconfigurationWithSync concerned an intra NR handover and it was received while connected to the previous PCell to which the UE was connected before connecting to the PCell where radio link failure is detected); and
in case that the handover is successfully performed, identifying whether a T311 timer is running before entering the cell without a cell selection (Para.[0274] 3> if the PCell in which the radio link failure was detected was a result of cell selection and the T311 was not running at the time of PCell selection); and
in case that the T311 timer is not running before entering the cell without the cell selection, storing link failure information to a variable of a RLF report (Para.[0275] 4> include the nrPreviousCell in previousPCellId and set it to the global cell identity and the tracking area code of the PCell where the last executed RRCReconfiguration message including reconfigurationWithSync was received and Para.[0268] 1> else if the failure is detected due to radio link failure, set the fields in VarRLF-report as follows).
Re claim 3:
Choi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the storing the link failure information comprises: including information on the previous cell in a field for the previous cell; and setting the information on the previous cell to a global cell identity and a tracking area code of the previous cell (Para.[0275] 4> include the nrPreviousCell in previousPCellId and set it to the global cell identity and the tracking area code of the PCell where the last executed RRCReconfiguration message including reconfigurationWithSync was received).
Re claim 4:
Choi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the storing the link failure information comprises: identifying whether handover is a dual active protocol stack (DAPS) handover; and in case that the handover is the DAPS handover, setting a field for a last handover type to DAPS (Para. [0277] reconfigurationWithSync was concerning a DAPS handover and Para. [0278] 5> set lastHO-Type to daps);
identifying whether handover is a CHO handover; in case that the handover is the CHO handover, setting the field for the last handover type to CHO (Para. [0279] 4> else if the last executed RRCReconfiguration message including reconfigurationWithSync was concerning a conditional handover and Para. [0280] 5> set lastHO-Type to cho); and
setting a field for a time to an elapsed time since the handover is successfully performed until the RLF for the cell is detected (Para.[0281] 4> set the timeConnFailure to the elapsed time since the execution of the last RRCReconfiguration message including the reconfiguration WithSync).
Re claim 5:
Choi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising performing a radio resource control (RRC) connection re-establishment procedure (Para. [0312] In step S1107, if the network is able to find and verify a valid UE context, the UE may receive RRCReestablishment message from the network).
Re claim 11: Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1. A transceiver and at least one processor are inherent components in a UE.
Re claim 13: Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Re claim 14: Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Re claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471