DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-6, 7 and 11-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 7 and 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11877322. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the patented claims are part of the corresponding claims of the instant application..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin)(US 2022/0225433 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a method performed by a terminal for a wireless communication system, the method comprising: identifying whether a random access type is switched from a 2-step random access to a 4-step random access(abstract; P[0020, 0179], terminal device can determine whether it is allowed to switch from the two-step random access to four-step random access); identifying whether preambles group e and configuration for random access preambles group associated with the PUSCH resource configuration, in case that the random access preambles group corresponding to preamble group B… selects the four-step random access from the preamble group B; P[0091], transmitted on PUSCH channel; [0111] For example, the network device configures Preamble group A and Preamble group B in the two-step random access parameter configuration, and similarly, the network device may also configure Preamble group A and Preamble group B in the four-step random access parameter configuration. Specifically, the terminal device selects the Preamble from the Preamble group A during the two-step random access procedure, and after switching from the two-step random access to the four-step random access, the terminal device may also select the Preamble from the Preamble group A for the four-step random access); and performing a random access preamble transmission for the 4-step random access procedure based on the selected random access preambles group(P[00908], perform the four step random access).
Regarding claim 2, Lin teaches the method of claim[[s]] 1, further comprising: selecting a random access preambles group for the 4-step random access procedure same as selected for the 2-step random access procedure, in case that the random access preambles group
Regarding claim 3, Lin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in case that the PUSCH resource configuration for the 2-step random access procedure corresponds to a random access preambles group B, the random access preambles group B is selected for the random access preambles group for the 4-step random access procedure(P[0140-0144]; P[0091], transmitted on PUSCH channel).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in case that the PUSCH resource configuration for the 2-step random access procedure corresponds to a random access preambles group A, the random access preambles group A is selected for the random access preambles group for the 4-step random access procedure(P[0140, 0145-0147]; P[0091], transmitted on PUSCH channel).
Claims 7-10 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-4 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin)(US 2022/0225433 A1) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen)(US 2020/0146069).
Regarding claim 5, Lin teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a random access response window for the 2-step random access procedure. However, Chen teaches in an analogous art wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a random access response window for the 2-step random access procedure(P[0012], RA response time window expires). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a random access response window for the 2-step random access procedure in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, Lin teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a contention resolution timer for the 2-step random access procedure. However, Chen teaches in an analogous art wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a contention resolution timer for the 2-step random access procedure (P[0053], contention resolution timer expires). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a contention resolution timer for the 2-step random access procedure in order to have improved efficiency.
Claims 11-12 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 5-6 respectively.
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647