DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tutinen et al. (hereinafter Tutinen)(US 2023/0070545 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tutinen teaches a method performed by a terminal for a wireless communication system, the method comprising: identifying whether a random access type is switched from a 2-step random access to a 4- step random access(P[0064], 2-step RA procedure switch to 4-step RA);
in case that the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4- step random access, identifying whether a random access preambles group was selected during a 2-step random access procedure(P[0064], group of preambles that is configured; select preambles from group of preambles; group of preambles for a 2-step RA type may be Random access preambles group A);
in case that the random access preambles group was not selected during the 2-step random access procedure, selecting a random access preambles group for a 4-step random access procedure based on physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource configuration for the 2- step random access procedure and configuration for random access preambles group associated with the PUSCH resource configuration(P[0064], 2-step procedure is not successfully completed; switch to 4-step; RA preambles group A or RA preambles group B for a 4-step RA; P[0063], PUSCH);
in case that the random access preambles group was selected during the 2-step random access procedure, selecting a random access preambles group for the 4-step random access procedure the same as selected for the 2-step random access procedure(P[0048], groups of preambles for the 2-step RA and the same selecting selection method as used in the 4-step RA); and
performing a random access preamble transmission for the 4-step random access procedure based on the selected random access preambles group(P[0046], perform a RA procedure; select a preamble for transmission; in the 4-step RA).
Regarding claim 3, Tutinen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in case that the PUSCH resource configuration for the 2-step random access procedure corresponds to a random access preambles group B, the random access preambles group B is selected for the random access preambles group for the 4-step random access procedure(P[0046], 4-step RA procedure; select between random access preambles group A and group B based on condition based on the size of service data; P[0064], the first group of preambles with the matched TB size may be either Random Access Preambles group A or Random Access Preambles group B for a 2-step RA type and the group of preambles that is corresponding with the first group of preambles for a 2-step RA type may be either Random Access Preambles group A or Random Access Preambles group B for a 4-step RA, respectively).
Regarding claim 4, Tutinen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, in case that the PUSCH resource configuration for the 2-step random access procedure corresponds to a random access preambles group A, the random access preambles group A is selected for the random access preambles group for the 4-step random access procedure(P[0046], 4-step RA procedure; select between random access preambles group A and group B based on condition based on the size of service data; P[0064], the first group of preambles with the matched TB size may be either Random Access Preambles group A or Random Access Preambles group B for a 2-step RA type and the group of preambles that is corresponding with the first group of preambles for a 2-step RA type may be either Random Access Preambles group A or Random Access Preambles group B for a 4-step RA, respectively).
Regarding claim 5, Tutinen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a random access response window for the 2-step random access procedure(Table 3; Response window size expires; 2-step RA; 4-step RA).
Claims 7, 9-11 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 2--5 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin)(US 2022/0225433 A1) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen)(US 2020/0146069).
Regarding claim 6, Lin teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a contention resolution timer for the 2-step random access procedure. However, Chen teaches in an analogous art wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a contention resolution timer for the 2-step random access procedure (P[0053], contention resolution timer expires). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the random access type is switched from the 2-step random access to the 4-step random access based on an expiration of a contention resolution timer for the 2-step random access procedure in order to have improved efficiency.
Claims 12 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 5-6 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647