DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment dated July 28, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 10, and 19 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1-20, under Step 1, the claims recite a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Under Step 2A claims 1-20 recite a judicial exception (abstract idea) that is not integrated into a practical application and does not provide significantly more.
Under Step 2A (prong 1), and taking claim 1 as representative, claim 1 recites: A registrar system have at least one processor and at least one non-transitory computer storage medium, and communicatively connected by a network to a registration controller and a client device, the registrar system configured to: receive, from the client device, a first domain request, wherein the first domain request includes a request to register a domain name on behalf of at least one entity; send, electronically and via the network, to the registration controller, information associated with the first domain request, wherein the registration controller establishes one or more registration requirements for the first domain request based on one or more assessments associated with a domain name, wherein the one or more registration requirements is or are based at least in part on a parameter for one or more constituent strings of the domain name on the network, wherein the parameter is based on a frequency of requests to register or resolve one or more domain names containing at least one string of the one or more constituent strings of the domain name on the network; receive, electronically and via the network, from the registration controller, an offer to register the domain name, wherein the offer includes the one or more registration requirements; receive user input via the client device to accept or satisfy the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request for the at least one entity; and send, electronically and via the network, to the registration controller, positive feedback to the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request, wherein, after receipt of the positive feedback to the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request, the registration controller registers the domain name.
The above limitations that set forth a procedure for organizing human activity, such as by performing commercial interactions including marketing activity and business relations. This is because the claim recites the steps performed in order to establish and adjust registration requirements (Specification ¶0002). Accordingly, under step 2A (prong 1) the claim recites an abstract idea because the claim recites limitations that fall within the “Certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
Under Step 2A (prong 2), the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recites additional elements, including at least one processor, at least one non-transitory computer storage medium, a client device, a network, and a registration controller.
These additional elements are not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. This is because the additional elements of claim 1 are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than the mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on generic computing hardware (or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea). Further, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computers or computing networks).
Secondly, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to (i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, (ii) implement the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, (iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or (iv) apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
In view of the above, under Step 2A (prong 2), claim 1 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application.
Under Step 2B, examiners should evaluate additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself). In this case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Taken individually or as a whole the additional elements of claim 1 do not provide an inventive concept (i.e. they do not amount to “significantly more” than the exception itself). As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed process amount to no more than the mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and/or no more than a general link to a technological environment.
In view of the above, representative claim 1 does not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and is therefore ineligible for patenting.
Dependent claims 2-9 recite limitations which are similarly directed to and elaborate on the judicial exception (abstract idea) of claim 1. Thus, each of claims 2-9 are held to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A (prong 1) for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Furthermore, claims 2-9 do not set forth further additional elements. Considered both individually and as a whole, claims 2-9 do not integrate the recited exception into a practical application for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Lastly, under step 2B, dependent claims 2-9 do not provide an inventive concept (i.e. they do not amount to “significantly more” than the exception itself). This is again because the claims merely apply the exception on generic computing hardware, generally link the exception to a technological environment, and specified at a high level of generality.
Claims 10-20 are parallel, i.e. recite similar concepts and elements, to claims 1-9, analyzed above, and the same rationale is applied.
In view of the above, claims 1-20 do not provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”) under Step 2B, and are therefore ineligible for patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levac et al., US PG Pub 2015/0100507 A1 (hereafter “Levac”), previously cited, in view of Main et al., US PG Pub 2016/0301680 A1 (hereafter “Main”), previously cited, in further view of Nicks et al., US Patent 8,909,558 B1 (hereafter “Nicks”), previously cited.
Regarding claim 1, Levac teaches a registrar system having at least one processor and at least one non-transitory computer storage medium, and communicatively connected by a network to a registration controller and a client device (¶¶0012-0014, 0027, and 0035), the registrar system configured to:
receive, from the client device, a first domain request, wherein the first domain request includes a request to register a domain name on behalf of at least one entity (¶¶0030-0035);
send, electronically and via the network, to the registration controller, information associated with the first domain request, wherein the registration controller establishes one or more registration requirements for the first domain request based on one or more assessments associated with a domain name (¶¶0026-0027 and 0051-0056);
receive, electronically and via the network, from the registration controller, an offer to register the domain name, wherein the offer includes the one or more registration requirements (¶¶0024 and 0042);
receive user input via the client device to accept or satisfy the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request for the at least one entity (¶¶0032-0036, 0042, 0047, and 0072).
Levac teaches registering the domain name (¶¶0023-0028) but does not teach to send, electronically and via the network, to the registration controller, positive feedback to the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request, wherein, after receipt of the positive feedback to the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request. Main teaches managed domains and configuration control including the known techniques to send, electronically and via the network, to the registration controller, positive feedback to the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request, wherein, after receipt of the positive feedback to the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request (¶¶0068-0080). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Levac, to include feedback as taught by Main, in order to “capture the interest of consumers,” as suggested by Main (¶0003).
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Main, the results of the combination were predictable.
Main does not teach wherein the one or more registration requirements is or are based at least in part on a parameter for one or more constituent strings of the domain name on the network. Nicks teaches appraising a domain name using keyword data including the known technique wherein the one or more registration requirements is or are based at least in part on a parameter for one or more constituent strings of the domain name on the network, wherein the parameter is based on a frequency of requests to register or resolve one or more domain names containing at least one string of the one or more constituent strings of the domain name on the network (col. 9 ln 32 col. 10 ln 25, col. 38 ln 14 – col. 40 ln 2, and col. 42 ln 19 – col. 45 ln 11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Main, to include basing the registration requirements on string parameters as taught by Nicks, in order to “then identify a keyword within the domain name and determine if one or more matching data records wherein said text string matches said keyword exist within the database,” as suggested by Nicks (col. 1 lns 54-57).
Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements in a similar field of endeavor, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given the existing technical ability to combine the elements as evidenced by Nicks, the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Levac in view of Main and Nicks teaches the system of claim 1, wherein a registry for the domain name comprises the registration controller, wherein the one or more registration requirements are variable registration requirements (Levac ¶¶0027-0030).
Regarding claim 3, Levac in view of Main and Nicks teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the positive feedback comprises: an acceptance of the offer for the first domain request (Levac ¶0032).
Regarding claim 4, Levac in view of Main and Nicks teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the offer comprises an offer price for the domain name (Levac ¶¶0042-0049).
Regarding claim 5, Levac in view of Main and Nicks teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the positive feedback comprises: a satisfaction of the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request (Levac ¶¶0026-0027).
Regarding claim 6, Levac in view of Main and Nicks teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the satisfaction of the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request included with the offer comprise: a required accreditation, or a signed statement attesting to the required accreditation (Levac ¶¶0026 and 0055).
Regarding claim 7, Levac in view of Main and Nicks teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the positive feedback comprises: a completion of a registration request for the domain name (Levac ¶¶0031-0034).
Regarding claim 8, Levac in view of Main and Nicks teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more registration requirements for the first domain request include: an offer period of time for which the offer is valid, a whitelist of entities eligible for the offer price, a blacklist of entities ineligible for the offer price, and/or an entity eligibility requirement (Levac ¶¶0026-0030).
Regarding claim 9, Levac in view of Main and Nicks teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more assessments by the registration controller comprise: tokenizing a domain name into one or more constituent strings (Levac ¶¶0024-0025), analyzing the domain name and the constituent strings to obtain the one or more assessments associated with the constituent strings (Levac ¶¶0027-0035), establishing the one or more registration requirements based on the one or more assessments associated (Levac ¶¶0030-0035 and 0054), tracking a feedback responsive to the one or more registration requirements, and calibrating the one or more registration requirements based on the feedback (Main ¶¶0078-0084).
Regarding claims 10-20, all of the limitations in claims 10-20 are closely parallel to the limitations of system claims 1-9, analyzed above, and are rejected on the same bases.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments regarding the §101 rejection (Remarks pp. 9-13), the examiner disagrees. Applicant argues that the claims provide a technical solution to the problem of “bad actors initiat[ing] Internet scams” by registration requirements being based at least in part on a parameter for one or more constituent strings of the domain name on the network. This problem is abstract and not technical. The alleged solution is similarly abstract. The requirements, parameters, and constituent strings are merely words and characters and can be performed mentally and by hand. The claims are not integrated into a practical application for the reasons stated above.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding the prior art (Remarks pp. 13-15), the examiner disagrees. Applicant argues that Nicks is silent regarding a frequency of requests to register domain names. The examiner notes that the primary reference is directed to registering domain names and utilizing a known technique from Nicks does not negate this. However, Nicks also teaches registering domain names, e.g. via a GODADDY auction. As cited above, the technique taught by Nicks involves evaluating the keyword frequency count to appraise the value of the string or domain name. For example, “If the query result, for any variation of the query parameters used in the query, contains the one or more matching data records, the domain name appraisal module 2420 may identify the keyword frequency count 2416 referred to above. The keyword frequency count 2416 may be a number of the matching data records contained in the query result where the text string 2411 in the matching data records matches the keyword. The domain name appraisal module 2420 may also identify, in each of the matching data records contained in the query result, a monetary value 2412 associated with the text string 2411. The domain name appraisal module may then identify a keyword monetary value 2415 for the keyword by calculating a sum of the monetary value 2412 for all of the matching data records contained in the query result. Once the keyword frequency count 2416 and the keyword monetary value 2415 are identified for the keyword, the domain name appraisal module 2420 may generate a keyword appraisal value for the keyword. This keyword appraisal value may be a quotient calculated by dividing the keyword monetary value 2415 by the keyword frequency count 2416. In various embodiments described herein, the keyword frequency count 2416 and the keyword monetary value 2415 may be weighted according to variations in the number of query parameters used in the query and/or the popularity of a sold domain name keyword as determined by the age and/or use of the sold domain name keyword. In these embodiments, the domain name appraisal module 2420 may generate a keyword appraisal value by determining whether the keyword frequency count 2416 is 1 or greater. If the keyword frequency count 2416 is less than 1, the domain name appraisal module 2420 may generate the keyword appraisal value for the keyword by multiplying, rather than dividing, the keyword monetary value 2415 by the keyword frequency count 2416. Once the keyword frequency count 2416 and the keyword monetary value 2415 are generated, the domain name appraisal module 2420 may write them to the database 2400. In other embodiments, at a conclusion of a sale of the sold domain name 2430 in the domain name aftermarket, the aftermarket sales information may be moved into a queue on the server(s) 210 and flagged to be processed and stored to said database 2400 immediately, or at a future time, depending on the queue within the server(s) 210. In these embodiments, the aftermarket sales information may be processed and stored as described herein according to the steps executed by the keyword record generating module 2425.” As such, Nicks teaches the amended limitation as cited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Raciborski et al., US PG Pub 2010/0100629 A1, teaches a domain name service resolver.
Kaliski et al., US PG Pub 2014/0123301 A1, teaches privacy preserving registry browsing.
Non-patent literature Halvorson, Tristan teaches registration intent in the domain name market.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER B SEIBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688