DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohi (US 20240204863) in view of Sundberg (US 20220030456).
Re claim 1:
Sohi discloses a method implemented by a telecommunications network, comprising: detecting, by one or more components of the telecommunications network, impact at a cell site on designated spectrum by a neighboring (Fig.9 ref. 902 Determine band used by satellite of non-terrestrial network in geographical region in which terrestrial cell is located and ref. 904 Determine interference characteristics(s) for terrestrial cell, such as out of band emissions of terrestrial and/or non-terrestrial network); and
in response to the detecting, blanking, by a base station at the cell site, physical resource blocks (PRBs) associated with the designated spectrum (Fig.9 ref. 906 Determine spectrum blanking range(s) corresponding to signal quality indicator value(s)).
As shown above, Sohi discloses detecting impact between a different network in a neighboring region. Sohi does not explicitly disclose the neighboring region is a neighboring country. spectrum by a neighboring country.
Sundberg discloses spectrum by a neighboring county UE (Para.[0090] The first UE 10 may according to embodiments herein be configured to measure in one or more time and frequency resource(s) to assist the network node 12 in detecting UE-to-UE interference, where the interfering second UE 10′ belongs to a neighbouring operator, operating in the same geographical area as the serving operator. The allocated spectrum of the two operators can either be the same (co-channel interference (CCI) is caused by the UE), or different (adjacent channel interference (ACI) is caused by the UE), see. FIG. 3. The two possibilities will be referred to as CCI and ACI operation. The CCI scenario may for instance arise from two operators being assigned the same or partially overlapping frequency band in neighbouring countries, i.e. due to inter-border interference (as a spectrum band within a country typically is assigned to a single operator) while the ACI scenario corresponds to a typical inter-operator coexistence scenario within a country's spectrum allocation).
Sohi and Sundberg are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sohi to include spectrum by a neighboring country as taught by Sundberg in order to improve performance of the communication network (Sundberg Para.[0026]).
Re claim 2:
Sohi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting that the designated spectrum is no longer impacted by the neighboring country UE (Fig.9 ref. 904 Determine interference characteristics(s) for terrestrial cell, such as out of band emissions of terrestrial and/or non-terrestrial network and Para.[0126] For example, if the signal quality indicator value indicates that the cell reception is poor for the client device 106, the scheduler 108 may assign a relatively large blanking range to the client device 106. Similarly, if the cell reception is good for the scheduler 108 may assign a relatively small blanking range to the client device 106. Accordingly, the scheduler 108 may intelligently prevent the client device 106 from being assigned frequencies/channels that are more likely to receive or cause interference from a non-terrestrial signal – Examiner Note: Sundberg discloses neighboring country as shown in the parent claim rejection);
ceasing to blank the PRBs associated with the designated spectrum (Para.[0120] For example, FIG. 9 may adaptively, and intelligently blank regions of an electromagnetic spectrum based on satellite/non-terrestrial network bands and/or signal quality indicator values and Para.[0125] It should be noted that the definition of blanking or assignable frequency ranges, bands, blocks (e.g., physical resource blocks), or channels, may be defined positively or negatively the by the scheduler 108. For example, in some implementations, the scheduler 108 may define blanking ranges in which frequencies are not assigned/used for communication. Additionally, or alternatively, the scheduler 108 may positively determine frequency ranges that may be assigned for communication. For instance, a positively determined assignable frequency range may be the inverse of a blanking frequency range); and
transmitting over the designated spectrum (Para.[0164] Data may be transmitted between these devices via the networks).
As shown above, Sohi discloses adaptively blanking spectrum based on a determined impact. Sohi does not explicitly disclose ceasing to blank; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in a dynamic system, such as Sohi, blanking would cease on a spectrum that is no longer determined to interfere in order to maximize the usable spectrum (Sohi Para.[0006]).
Re claim 3:
Sohi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more components include at least one of a probe collocated at the cell site with the base station or radio hardware of the base station (Para.[0028] The ground node(s) 116 (e.g., gNB or Next Generation NodeB, or other cell hardware and/or software) may include one or more antennas, masts, amplifiers, broadcast systems, computing systems, filters, power supplies, and/or other devices at or serving one or more cell sites, which provide cellular communication via electromagnetic waves covering a certain geographic area or location, which may be referred to as a cell.).
Re claim 4:
As discussed above, Sohi in view of Sundberg meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Sohi does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the detecting is based at least in part on information from an operator of the different telecommunications network.
Sundberg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the detecting is based at least in part on information from an operator of the different telecommunications network (Para.[0074] Action 211. The first network node 12 may obtain knowledge of TDD configuration of the second network node 13. E.g. the network nodes may exchange information regarding used TDD configurations and Para.[0075] Action 212. The first network node 12 initiates a measurement of interference from the second network node 13 of the second network node 13 towards the first network node 12, wherein the measurement is based on the knowledge of TDD configuration of the second network node and Fig.3 shows different networks).
Sohi and Sundberg are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sohi to include information from another network as taught by Sundberg in order to improve performance of the communication network (Sundberg Para.[0026]).
Re claim 5:
Sohi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the detecting includes receiving a baseline for detecting the impact on the designated spectrum and a configuration designating the designated spectrum (Para.[0073] As described below, such as in reference to FIG. 10, the spectrum blanking range or thresholds thereof may be larger or offset by a larger amount for lower signal quality indicator values, while the spectrum blanking range or thresholds may be smaller or offset by a smaller amount for higher signal quality indicator values and Para.[0131] The various factors affecting assignable or blanking ranges may act together or against each other constructively or destructively and may have varying levels of impact on the sizes of the ranges. For instance, the scheduler 108 may know the out-of-band requirements of the network and/or devices and use the requirements, along with measured, user defined, or other out-of-band emissions to define the sizes, thresholds, and/or offsets of spectrum blanking ranges. The relative weights of each of the factors may be defined by an administrator or determined by the scheduler 108).
Re claim 6:
Sohi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the detecting includes: identifying starting and stopping frequencies that are experiencing the impact; and comparing the starting and stopping frequencies to information from a database of network operators to identify a frequency range to perform the blanking on (Para.[0070] In some implementations, the scheduler 108 may retrieve data from a database 128, which stores a table outlining satellite 142 attributes, satellite 142 locations, bands used by satellites 142, bands used by a non-terrestrial network in a certain geographic region, and/or non-terrestrial bands associated with a cell/ground node(s) 116, as noted above. For instance, based on the identified location of the cell, the scheduler 108 may retrieve data from the database 128 identifying the band used by the non-terrestrial network in that location, although other implementations are possible and Para.[0131] This initial set of blanking ranges may be used across cells/ground node(s) 116 in a terrestrial cell network. The initial set of blanking ranges may then be adjusted for specific cells based on other factors, such as elevation angle, distance to a satellite 142, bands used by satellites 142 for the geographic region of the cell and/or ground node(s) 116, and/or other factors. In some implementations, the scheduler 108 may determine the initial set of blanking ranges and then modify the blanking ranges based on satellite 142 elevation angle. In some implementations, the scheduler 108 may also or alternatively modify the blanking ranges based on the band(s) used by the satellite 142 in the geographic region corresponding to the cell/cell tower. The various factors affecting assignable or blanking ranges may act together or against each other constructively or destructively and may have varying levels of impact on the sizes of the ranges. For instance, the scheduler 108 may know the out-of-band requirements of the network and/or devices and use the requirements, along with measured, user defined, or other out-of-band emissions to define the sizes, thresholds, and/or offsets of spectrum blanking ranges. The relative weights of each of the factors may be defined by an administrator or determined by the scheduler 108).
Re claim 7:
Sohi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the blanking includes determining which PRBs to blank based at least in part on machine learning (Para.[0131] For instance, the scheduler 108 may know the out-of-band requirements of the network and/or devices and use the requirements, along with measured, user defined, or other out-of-band emissions to define the sizes, thresholds, and/or offsets of spectrum blanking ranges. The relative weights of each of the factors may be defined by an administrator or determined by the scheduler 108, for example, using measurements of the interference applied to train the weights in a machine learning model).
Re claim 8:
Sohi discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, while blanking the PRBs, moving, by a scheduler of the base station, UEs of the telecommunications network to other usable regions of spectrum (Para.[0106] The regions 702 and/or assignment of bands 704 may be static over a time period, continuously, or may be dynamically assigned or reassigned periodically, continuously, etc – Examiner Note: reassigning is “moving”).
Re claim 9: Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Re claim 10: Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 11:
As discussed above, Sohi in view of Sundberg meets all the limitations of the parent claim.
Sohi does not explicitly disclose the cell site of claim 9, further comprising: a spectrum access system (SAS) function configured to be operated by a processor of the cell site to exchange information with an operator of the different telecommunications network about spectrum being used, wherein the probe is further configured to detect the impact on the designated spectrum based at least in part on the information received from the operator.
Sundberg discloses the cell site of claim 9, further comprising: a spectrum access system (SAS) function configured to be operated by a processor of the cell site to exchange information with an operator of the different telecommunications network about spectrum being used (Para.[0005] In case of paired spectrum, the downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) directions are separated in frequency, called Frequency Division Duplex (FDD). In case of unpaired spectrum, the DL and UL use the same spectrum, same frequency, called Time Division Duplex (TDD) and Para.[0074] Action 211. The first network node 12 may obtain knowledge of TDD configuration of the second network node 13. E.g. the network nodes may exchange information regarding used TDD configurations),
wherein the probe is further configured to detect the impact on the designated spectrum based at least in part on the information received from the operator (Para.[0075] Action 212. The first network node 12 initiates a measurement of interference from the second network node 13 of the second network node 13 towards the first network node 12, wherein the measurement is based on the knowledge of TDD configuration of the second network node and Fig.3 shows different networks).
Sohi and Sundberg are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sohi to include information from another network as taught by Sundberg in order to improve performance of the communication network (Sundberg Para.[0026]).
Re claim 12:
Sohi discloses the cell site of claim 9, wherein the probe is further configured to detect the impact based at least in part on a baseline for the detecting and on a configuration designating the designated spectrum (Para.[0073] As described below, such as in reference to FIG. 10, the spectrum blanking range or thresholds thereof may be larger or offset by a larger amount for lower signal quality indicator values, while the spectrum blanking range or thresholds may be smaller or offset by a smaller amount for higher signal quality indicator values and Para.[0131] The various factors affecting assignable or blanking ranges may act together or against each other constructively or destructively and may have varying levels of impact on the sizes of the ranges. For instance, the scheduler 108 may know the out-of-band requirements of the network and/or devices and use the requirements, along with measured, user defined, or other out-of-band emissions to define the sizes, thresholds, and/or offsets of spectrum blanking ranges. The relative weights of each of the factors may be defined by an administrator or determined by the scheduler 108),
wherein the probe is configured to receive the baseline and the configuration from an operational support server of the telecommunications network (Para.[0037] For example, the network server 122 may be provided by a terrestrial wireless service provider and/or a non-terrestrial service provider. In some implementations, multiple network servers 122 may be used by a single or multiple communication services providers, for example, to communicate via and/or configure satellites 142 and a ground node(s) 116).
Re claim 13: Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Re claim 14: Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Re claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Re claim 16: Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Re claim 17: Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 18: Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Re claim 19: Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Re claim 20: Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Anchala (US 20230188200) shows PRB blanking between different networks.
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471