Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: each of claims 3 and 4 recites “each” snap structure (implying more than one), whereas claim 2 recites “a” snap structure (implying only one). In claim 6 “from” should be – form --. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roldan et al 10,811,795.
Regarding claim 1, Roldan et al (front page) discloses a board assembly comprising: a body portion 110 configured to maintain an electrical circuit thereon; and at least one engagement mechanism 133,135 at a periphery of the body portion, wherein the engagement mechanism is configured to mechanically engage an external component 120, and provide electrical connection between the electrical circuit and the external component.
Regarding claim 2, Roldan et al discloses the engagement mechanism comprises a snap structure 133,135.
Regarding claim 3, Roldan et al discloses each snap structure comprises: a set of arm portions 132,134 extending from a side of the body portion 110; and a set of snap portions 133,135, the snap portions formed on ends of the arm portions 132,134.
Regarding claim 6, Roldan et al discloses the body portion 110, the set of arm portions 132,134, and the set of snap portions 133,135 form an integrated body.
Regarding claim 7, Roldan et al discloses the integrated body has a laminated sandwich structure including at least one insulating layer, and the body portion 110; and the set of arm portions 132,134, and the set of snap portions 133,135 share the at least one insulating layer.
Regarding claim 8, Roldan et al discloses each of the arm portions 132,134 includes a first (upper) arm surface, a second (lower) arm surface opposite to the first arm surface, an inner arm side facing the other arm portion of the set of arm portions and an outer arm side opposite to the inner arm side.
Regarding claim 9, Roldan et al discloses the body portion 110 has a first (upper) body surface, a second (lower) body surface opposite to the first body surface, and a body side between an edge of the first body surface and an edge of the second body surface; the outer arm sides protrude from the body side; and the inner arm sides protrude from the body side.
Regarding claim 13, Roldan et al discloses outer arm sides of the arm portions 132,134 are formed with an electrically non-conductive material thereon (inherent since they are made of non-conductive material, being a circuit board).
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
Claims 4, 5 and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches a set of electrically conductive edge-plates formed on edge surfaces of the snap portions; nor a distance between the medial end points being wider than a distance between the proximal end points and a distance between the distal end points; nor the combination of wave shapes recited; nor a set of snap portions formed on at least one end of the at least one arm portion, at least one edge-plate formed on edge surfaces of the snap portions, and an electrically conductive trace connected between the electrical circuit and the at least one edge-plate; nor connecting the board assembly to an electrical component by pressing the snap-fit engagement mechanism against the electrical component to engage, and electrically connect to, the electrical component via the snap-fit engagement mechanism; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834