DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 , 8, 14 and 16 recite “the at least one polyol prepolymer each independently comprises at least two urethane groups per molecule, and the at least one polyol compound has, per molecule, less than two urethane groups” rendering the claim indefinite. It is not clear as to the meaning of “urethane groups per molecule” in this context. As disclosed in the instant specification paragraph [0039] “ a polyurethane obtainable from the reaction of a polyisocyanate component and a polyol component”. That is, a urethane group does not exist until the isocyanate reacts with the polyol. Further, the instant specification details the polyol prepolymer and polyisocyanate (“First and Second Reactive Components”) in paragraphs [0050]-[0080] but does not have a single disclosure of “urethane group” related to these components. Further the examples of the instant specification do not disclose “urethane group” in anyway.
Moreover, the term “per molecule” leaves the claim indefinite. It is not clear if applicant is referring to each polymer as a single molecule. In the field of polymers, the ratio of monomers in a copolymer is reported as weight fraction or mole fraction. However the term “per molecule” does not have a meaning in this context.
For purposes of examination the term “urethane group per molecule” will be understood to refer to any isocyanate or polyol monomer or polymer because they are capable of forming urethane groups when reacted together.
Claims 2-7, 9-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected for each claim’s dependence on rejected claims 1, 8, 14, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leibig et al. (US 2022/0274315 A1).
Leibig meets the claimed system for printing a three-dimensional object comprising a thermoset polyurethane material via reactive extrusion comprising: (urethane and/or urea-containing polymers can be the product of a reaction between two reactant components. In 3D printing, an extrusion nozzle can deposit material, e.g., thermosetting material, on a substrate layer by layer, following a 3D computer model of the desired 3D object, [0117]) a mixing chamber for mixing at least two reactive components, (introducing first and second reactive components into a mixing chamber [0112]) a first pump in fluid communication with the mixing chamber for pumping first reactive component into the mixing chamber, a second pump in fluid communication with the mixing chamber for pumping a second reactive component into the mixing chamber, (by partially advancing the reaction of the precursors, it is possible to deposit the thermosetting material while maintaining the desired predetermined part resolution [0118] Viscotec pumps [0133]) and a downwardly-oriented channel connected with, (extrusion nozzle [0117]) and in fluid communication with, the mixing chamber for extruding a partially reacted mixture of the first reactive component and the second reactive component, (an extrusion nozzle can deposit material, e.g., thermosetting material, on a substrate layer by layer, following a 3D computer model of the desired 3D object, [0117])
wherein the system comprises a first reactive component, a second reactive component, and a third reactive component, (first reactive component and a second reactive component, and a third reactive component [0110]) wherein the first reactive component comprises at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer, ( an isocyanate prepolymer [0093]) wherein the first reactive component is provided to the first pump, (introducing first and second reactive components into a mixing chamber [0112]) and the second reactive component comprises at least one polyol prepolymer, (polyols can include, but are not limited to, polycarbonate polyols and lactone polyols such as polycaprolactone [0104]) wherein the second reactive composition is provided to the second pump, and the at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer and the at least one polyol prepolymer each independently comprises at least two urethane groups per molecule, (Examiner notes “urethane groups per molecule was found indefinite, see rejection under 35 USC 112(b). The claim is met by the polyisocyanate of Leibig which is capable of forming a urethane group) and the at least one polyol compound has, per molecule, less than two urethane groups and (a) at least one ester group and at least three hydroxy groups (Examiner notes this limitation is an alternative and the claim is met by the second limitation) or (b) at least one carbonate group (polyols can include, but are not limited to, polycarbonate polyols and lactone polyols such as polycaprolactone [0104]) and at least two hydroxy groups. (having terminal hydroxyl groups [0104]).
Liebig does not explicitly teach the third reactive component comprises at least one polyol compound.
Liebig teaches third reactive component [0110] and teaches a second reactive component can include a polyol [0112].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to select polyol of Liebig to be the generic third reactive component of Liebig because a urethane linkage if formed by reacting a polyol, see [0094]
Regarding claim 2, Liebig as modified meets the claimed system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer and the at least one polyol prepolymer comprises at least one ester group or at least one carbonate group. (polyols can include, but are not limited to, polycarbonate polyols and lactone polyols such as polycaprolactone [0104]).
Regarding claim 3, Liebig as modified meets the claimed system according to claim 1, wherein the ester group is selected from aliphatic and cycloaliphatic ester groups. (polycaprolactone [0104] Examiner notes polycaprolactone is an aliphatic ester)
Regarding claim 4, Liebig as modified meets the claimed system according to claim 1, wherein the carbonate group is selected from aliphatic, (polycaprolactone [0104] Examiner notes polycaprolactone is an aliphatic carbonate) cycloaliphatic and aromatic carbonate groups.
Regarding claim 5, Liebig as modified meets the claimed system according to claim 1, wherein the polyol compound comprises a carbon atom having three or more substituents, wherein each substituent comprises at least one methylene group and at least one terminal hydroxy group. (Liebig teaches polycarbonate polyols and compound having terminal hydroxyl groups (R—(OH)n) can [0104]. Examiner notes a carbonate includes a methylene group by definition and Liebig teaches terminal hydroxy groups).
Regarding claim 6, Liebig as modified meets the claimed system according to claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a fourth reactive component, wherein the fourth reactive component comprises a chain extender having at least one primary or secondary amine group. (polyamines can include diethyltoluene diamine, a chain extender [0107])
Regarding claim 7, Liebig as modified meets the claimed system according to claim 1, wherein the system comprises at least one catalyst. (catalyst [0098])
Regarding claim 8, Liebig meets the claimed method for printing a three-dimensional object comprising a thermoset polyurethane material via reactive extrusion (urethane and/or urea-containing polymers can be the product of a reaction between two reactant components. In 3D printing, an extrusion nozzle can deposit material, e.g., thermosetting material, on a substrate layer by layer, following a 3D computer model of the desired 3D object, [0117]) comprising: (a) Mixing a first reactive component with a second reactive component, and a third reactive component (first reactive component and a second reactive component, and a third reactive component [0110]) to form a partially reacted mixture and (b) Extruding the partially reacted mixture formed in step (a) through a downwardly oriented channel onto a substrate while causing relative movement between the nozzle and the extruded partially reacted mixture deposited on the substrate to form a three-dimensional object, (an extrusion nozzle can deposit material, e.g., thermosetting material, on a substrate layer by layer, following a 3D computer model of the desired 3D object, [0117]) wherein the first reactive component comprises at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer, (polyols can include, but are not limited to, polycarbonate polyols and lactone polyols such as polycaprolactone [0104]) and the second reactive component comprises at least one polyol prepolymer, and the third reactive component comprises at least one polyol compound, and the at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer and the at least one polyol prepolymer each independently comprises at least two urethane groups per molecule and the at least one polyol compound has, per molecule, less than two urethane groups and (Examiner notes “urethane groups per molecule was found indefinite, see rejection under 35 USC 112(b). The claim is met by the polyisocyanate of Liegbig which is capable of forming a urethane group) (a) at least one ester group and at least three hydroxy groups or (b) at least one carbonate group (polyols can include, but are not limited to, polycarbonate polyols and lactone polyols such as polycaprolactone [0104]) and at least two hydroxy groups. (having terminal hydroxyl groups [0104]).
Regarding claim 9, Liebig as modified meets the claimed method according to claim 8, wherein at least one of the at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer and the at least one polyol prepolymer comprises at least one ester group or at least one carbonate group. (polyols can include, but are not limited to, polycarbonate polyols and lactone polyols such as polycaprolactone [0104]).
Regarding claim 10, Liebig as modified meets the claimed method according to claim 8, wherein the ester group is selected from aliphatic and cycloaliphatic ester groups. (polycaprolactone [0104] Examiner notes polycaprolactone is an aliphatic ester)
Regarding claim 11, Liebig as modified meets the claimed method according to claim 8,wherein the carbonate group is selected from aliphatic, cycloaliphatic and aromatic carbonate groups. (polycaprolactone [0104] Examiner notes polycaprolactone is an aliphatic carbonate)
Regarding claim 12, Liebig as modified meets the claimed method according to claims 8, wherein the polyol compound comprises a carbon atom having three or more substituents, wherein each substituent comprises at least one methylene group and at least one terminal hydroxy group. (Liebig teaches polycarbonate polyols and compound having terminal hydroxyl groups (R—(OH)n) can [0104]. Examiner notes a carbonate includes a methylene group by definition and Liebig teaches terminal hydroxy groups).
Regarding claim 13, Liebig as modified meets the claimed method according to claim 8, wherein mixing step (a) further comprises providing a fourth reactive component to the mixer, (introducing first and second reactive components into a mixing chamber [0112]) wherein the fourth reactive component comprises a chain extender having at least one primary or secondary amine group. (polyamines can include diethyltoluene diamine, a chain extender [0107])
Regarding claim 14, Liebig as modified meets the claimed a kit of parts for use in a method for printing a three-dimensional object comprising a thermoset polyurethane material via reactive extrusion according to claim 8 (urethane and/or urea-containing polymers can be the product of a reaction between two reactant components. In 3D printing, an extrusion nozzle can deposit material, e.g., thermosetting material, on a substrate layer by layer, following a 3D computer model of the desired 3D object, [0117]) comprising:(1) A first container containing a first composition comprising at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer (Leibig indirectly teaches using two separate containers when teaching polyol mixture was stoichiometrically matched to the isocyanate mixture at a 1:1 ratio by weight, see [0132]) and (2) A second container containing a second composition comprising (A) at least one polyol prepolymer and (B) at least one polyol compound, wherein the at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer and the at least one polyol prepolymer each independently comprises at least two urethane groups per molecule and the at least one polyol compound has, per molecule, less than two urethane groups (Examiner notes “urethane groups per molecule was found indefinite, see rejection under 35 USC 112(b). The claim is met by the polyisocyanate of Liegbig which is capable of forming a urethane group) and (a) at least one ester group and at least three hydroxy groups or (b) at least one carbonate group (polyols can include, but are not limited to, polycarbonate polyols and lactone polyols such as polycaprolactone [0104]) and at least two hydroxy groups. (having terminal hydroxyl groups [0104]).
Regarding claim 15, Liebig as modified meets the claimed kit according to claim 14, wherein the second container further comprises a chain extender comprising at least one primary or secondary amine group. (polyamines can include diethyltoluene diamine, a chain extender [0107])
Regarding claim 16, Liebig as modified meets the claimed 16. (Original) An extrudable partially reacted co-reactive composition (urethane and/or urea-containing polymers can be the product of a reaction between two reactant components. In 3D printing, an extrusion nozzle can deposit material, e.g., thermosetting material, on a substrate layer by layer, following a 3D computer model of the desired 3D object, [0117]) suitable for use in the method of claim 8 in a downwardly oriented channel of a printer for printing a three- dimensional object (an extrusion nozzle can deposit material, e.g., thermosetting material, on a substrate layer by layer, following a 3D computer model of the desired 3D object, [0117]) comprising a thermoset polyurethane material comprising:(a) at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer; (b) at least one polyol prepolymer; and (c) at least one polyol compound; wherein the at least one polyisocyanate prepolymer and the at least one polyol prepolymer each independently comprises at least two urethane groups per molecule and the at least one polyol compound has, per molecule, less than two urethane groups and (a) at least one ester group and at least one three hydroxy groups or (b) at least one carbonate group (polyols can include, but are not limited to, polycarbonate polyols and lactone polyols such as polycaprolactone [0104]) and at least two hydroxy groups. (having terminal hydroxyl groups [0104]).
Regarding claim 17, Liebig as modified meets the claimed extrudable partially reacted co-reactive composition according to claim 16 further comprising a chain extender comprising at least one primary or secondary amine group. (polyamines can include diethyltoluene diamine, a chain extender [0107])
Regarding claim 18, Liebig as modified meets the claimed use of the extrudable partially-reacted co-reactive composition according to claim 16 for printing a three-dimensional object. (3D printing methods, and 3D printed objects, [0005]).
Regarding claim 19, Liebig as modified meets the claimed three-dimensional object made by the method according to claim 8 comprising a cured polyurethane having ester moieties and carbonate moieties (polycaprolactone [0104]) covalently bonded within the cured polyurethane. (the reaction product of at least two chemicals which form a covalently bonded crosslinked or polymeric network [0048] urethane and/or urea-containing polymers can be the product of a reaction between two reactant components [0117])
Regarding claim 20, Liebig as modified meets the claimed three-dimensional object according to claim 19, wherein the cured polyurethane further comprises amine moieties (polyamines can include diethyltoluene diamine, a chain extender [0107]) covalently bonded within the cured polyurethane. (the reaction product of at least two chemicals which form a covalently bonded crosslinked or polymeric network [0048] urethane and/or urea-containing polymers can be the product of a reaction between two reactant components [0117])
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Achten et al. (US 2019/0217533 A1) teaches [0038] Preferably, the fusible polymer is a polyurethane at least partly obtainable from the reaction of aromatic and/or aliphatic polyisocyanates with suitable (poly)alcohols and/or (poly)amines or blends thereof, [0308] polycarbonatepolyols.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744