DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 1/12/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. Prior to examination, no IDS was submitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 6-7, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a. Regarding claims 6-7, the phrase "can be" renders the claim indefinite because the claim include elements rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The phrase “can be” creates ambiguity for it is unclear whether or not the cell can be co-scheduled or if it is possible for co-scheduling.
b. Regarding claim 15-16, the phrase "can be" renders the claim indefinite because the claim include elements rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The phrase “can be” creates ambiguity for it is unclear whether or not the cell can be co-scheduled or if it is possible for co-scheduling.
c. Regarding claim 19-20, the phrase "can be" renders the claim indefinite because the claim include elements rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The phrase “can be” creates ambiguity for it is unclear whether or not the cell can be co-scheduled or if it is possible for co-scheduling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
MolavianJazi et al. US 20230345460 hereafter Molavian (Note: US Provisional 63/333,385 includes support for the disclosure relied herein in particular pages 17-77).
As to Claim 1. Molavian discloses one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media [i.e. Memory-360] having instructions that, when executed, cause a device [i.e. UE] to [Fig. 3, Sections 0010, 0050: A non-transitory computer readable medium where data can be stored. The processor execute the OS-361 stored in the memory in order to control the overall operation of the UE]:
determine a mode of operation [i.e. Operation Level(s) or Different Operation modes (see 0160)] for a supplemental uplink (SUL) configuration for single downlink control information (DCI) based multi-cell scheduling [Title: DCI for Multi-cell scheduling; Sections 0036, 0323, 0365: UEs include circuitry for supporting DCI for multi-cell scheduling. In DCI multi-cell scheduling for a set of co-scheduled cells it can include an indication of UL and SUL carrier; and the multi-cell scheduling DCI include SUL indicator field with bits. A UE determines information of operation level(s) corresponding to DCI with multi-cell mapping for set of co-scheduled cells based UE measurements. Note: Configuration refer to signaling/UE specific or information such as RRC/DCI etc. from higher layer/Base Station, see 0072];
generate [i.e. UE Processor-340, see 0048-0049] a message [i.e. data or report] that includes an indication of the determined mode of operation, the message to be transmitted to a base station [Fig. 3, Sections 0205, 0368: For example, a UE report a capability for a maximum number of co-scheduled cells for the DL and the UL. The UE reports a corresponding operation level to a serving gNB (i.e. base station) via L1 signaling in a PUSCH/PUCCH or MAC CE];
and identify, from the base station, a DCI [Section 0007: A base station provides and transmit DCI] that indicates SUL carrier information for cells configured within a set to the device [Sections 0064, 0322, 0323: A UE can be provided sets of co-scheduled cells by a single DCI format. A DCI format for multi-cell scheduling can include an UL/SUL indicator field that applies to all cells in a set of co-scheduled cells. In one example, a DCI for multi-cell scheduling for a set of co-scheduled cells can include an indication of SUL carrier field].
As to Claim 2. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 [Figs. 3, Sections 0010, 0050], wherein the mode of operation [i.e. Operation Level(s) or Different Operation modes (see 0160)] has one cell that supports SUL carriers and other cells that are limited to uplink carriers within the set [Fig. 8 (Illustrates Multi-scheduling mapping with Set of Operation levels for co-scheduled cells, see 0020), Sections 0175, 0365: Various embodiments consider carriers such as on an UL (uplink) carrier or normal UL (NUL) carrier) and supplemental UL (SUL) carrier for cells jointly scheduled. UE determines information of operation level(s) corresponding to multi-cell mapping for PUSCH (i.e. uplink data channel) on a cell from a set of co-scheduled cells].
As to Claim 3. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 [Figs. 3, Sections 0010, 0050], wherein the DCI indicates which co-scheduled cells use SUL carriers [Sections 0322-0323: In one example, a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling include an SUL indicator field applies to a set of co-scheduled cells. In one example, a DCI for multi-cell scheduling for a set of co-scheduled cells include an indication of a subset of cells with PUSCH transmission on the respective SUL carrier, and DCI format can include an SUL indicator field that indicates a codepoint corresponding to set of co-scheduled cells, and the UE transmits PUSCH(s) on the respective SUL carrier(s) for cell(s) indicated by the codepoint of the SUL indicator field are on the respective SUL carrier(s)].
As to Claim 4. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 [Figs. 3, Sections 0010, 0050], wherein the DCI includes a bitfield [Section 0388: A DCI for multi-cell scheduling or DCI field that is used for multi-cell scheduling can have a configurable size, namely bit-width] of size log2, N bits that indicates which co-scheduled cell uses SUL carriers [Sections 0216, 0322, 0323: UE is configured N sets and subsets of co-scheduled cells, a DCI can include a CIF with log.sub.2N┐bits (i.e. log2 N bits) apply when the configured N sets of co-scheduled cells. In one example, a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling include an SUL indicator field applies to a set of co-scheduled cells. Accordingly, the UE transmits PUSCHs on the respective SUL carriers],
and wherein N is a maximum number of co-scheduled cells by single DCI supported by the device [Sections 0183, 0205, 0218: A UE can report one or more of a maximum number of sets of co-scheduled cells per PDCCH (DCI). Multi-cell scheduling UE feature with capability for a maximum number of co-scheduled cells for the DL and a maximum of co-scheduled cells for the UL. The UE is configured N sets of co-scheduled cells].
As to Claim 5. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 [Figs. 3, Sections 0010, 0050], wherein the DCI includes a bitfield [Section 0388: A DCI for multi-cell scheduling or DCI field that is used for multi-cell scheduling can have a configurable size, namely bit-width] of size log,(N + 1) bits that indicates which co-scheduled cell uses SUL carriers, and wherein N is a maximum number of co-scheduled cells by single DCI supported by the device [Sections 0217, 0322, 0436: In another example, a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling can include a CIF with ┌log.sub.2(N+M)┐bits {i.e. log2 (N+M) bits}. In one example, a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling include an SUL indicator field applies to a set of co-scheduled cells. The UE can be configured N cell-combination and for the DCI field includes ┌log(N+1)┐ bits (i.e. log N +1 bits) up to 3 cell-combination states].
As to Claim 6. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 [Figs. 3, Sections 0010, 0050],wherein the mode of operation [i.e. Operation Level(s) or Different Operation modes (see 0160)] has more than one cell that can support SUL carriers and one cell that can be co-scheduled with SUL carriers [Fig. 8 (Illustrates Multi-scheduling mapping with Set of Operation levels for co-scheduled cells, see 0020), Sections 0175, 0322, 0365: Various embodiments consider carriers such as on an UL (uplink) carrier and supplemental UL (SUL) carrier for cells jointly scheduled. In one example, a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling include an SUL indicator field applies to a set of co-scheduled cells. UE determines information of operation level(s) corresponding to multi-cell mapping for PUSCH (i.e. uplink data channel) on a cell from a set of co-scheduled cells].
As to Claim 7. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the mode of operation [i.e. Operation Level(s) or Different Operation modes (see 0160)] has more than one cell that can support SUL carriers and one or more cells that can be co-scheduled with SUL carriers [Fig. 8 (Illustrates Multi-scheduling mapping with Set of Operation levels for co-scheduled cells, see 0020), Sections 0175, 0322, 0365: Various embodiments consider carriers such as on an UL (uplink) carrier and supplemental UL (SUL) carrier for cells jointly scheduled. In one example, a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling include an SUL indicator field applies to a set of co-scheduled cells. UE determines information of operation level(s) corresponding to multi-cell mapping for PUSCH (i.e. uplink data channel) on a cell from a set of co-scheduled cells].
As to Claim 8. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 [Figs. 3, Sections 0010, 0050], wherein the DCI includes a bitfield that indicates the SUL carrier information [Sections 0322, 0388: A DCI format for multi-cell scheduling include an SUL indicator field applies to a set of co-scheduled cells. A DCI for multi-cell scheduling or DCI field that is used for multi-cell scheduling can have a configurable size, namely bit-width], and wherein a size of the bitfield depends on a maximum number of supported cells [Sections 0183, 0303: A can report maximum number of cells within a set of co-scheduled cells, across different sets in which the UE can support as capability. In one example, the UE expects to receive an MC-DCI format with M max values for cell-specific fields, where M max is a maximum, over all configured sets of co-scheduled cells, where M.sub.max,1 is a size of a largest set of co-scheduled cells that includes the largest number of cells, accordingly, the UE can determine a bit-width for the field, based on a maximum number of bits needed across different combinations of co-scheduled cells].
As to Claim 9. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 [Figs. 3, Sections 0010, 0050], wherein the DCI includes a bitfield that indicates the SUL carrier information [Sections 0322, 0388: a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling include an SUL indicator field applies to a set of co-scheduled cells. A DCI for multi-cell scheduling or DCI field that is used for multi-cell scheduling can have a configurable size, namely bit-width], and wherein a size of the bitfield depends on a number of configured cells [Sections 0243, 0303: The UE determines a number of bits in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format based on a size of a largest corresponding size among the set of co-scheduled cells. The UE expects to receive an MC-DCI format with M max values for cell-specific fields, where M max is a maximum, over all configured sets of co-scheduled cells, where M.sub.max,1 is a size of a largest set of co-scheduled cells that includes the largest number of cells, accordingly, the UE can determine a bit-width for the field].
As to Claim 10. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 [Figs. 3, Sections 0010, 0050], wherein the DCI includes a bitfield that indicates the SUL carrier information [Sections 0322, 0388: a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling include an SUL indicator field applies to a set of co-scheduled cells. A DCI for multi-cell scheduling or DCI field that is used for multi-cell scheduling can have a configurable size, namely bit-width], and wherein a size of the bitfield depends on a number of co-scheduled cells [Sections 0243, 0303: The UE determines a number of bits in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format based on a size of a largest corresponding size among the set of co-scheduled cells. The UE expects to receive an MC-DCI format with M max values for cell-specific fields, where M max is a maximum, over all configured sets of co-scheduled cells, where M.sub.max,1 is a size of a largest set of co-scheduled cells that includes the largest number of cells, accordingly, the UE can determine a bit-width for the field].
As to Claim 11. Molavian discloses the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 [Figs. 3, Sections 0010, 0050], wherein the DCI includes a bitfield that indicates the SUL carrier information [Sections 0322, 0388: a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling include an SUL indicator field applies to a set of co-scheduled cells. A DCI for multi-cell scheduling or DCI field that is used for multi-cell scheduling can have a configurable size, namely bit-width], and wherein a size of the bitfield depends on a number of cells configured or co-scheduled with SUL carriers [Sections 0243, 0303: The UE determines a number of bits in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format based on a size of a largest corresponding size among the set of co-scheduled cells. The UE expects to receive an MC-DCI format with M max values for cell-specific fields, where M max is a maximum, over all configured sets of co-scheduled cells, where M.sub.max,1 is a size of a largest set of co-scheduled cells that includes the largest number of cells, accordingly, the UE can determine a bit-width for the field].
As to Claim 12. Molavian discloses a baseband processor [Processor-340] comprising: processing circuitry to [Fig. 3, Sections 0047-0048: The UE includes a processor-340. Baseband signal is processed by processing circuitry or processor which generates and process baseband signals]:
generate a message that indicates a mode of operation [i.e. Operation Level(s) or Different Operation modes (see 0160)] for a supplemental uplink (SUL) configuration for single downlink control information (DCI) based multi-cell scheduling, the message for transmission to a base station [Fig. 3, Sections 0323, 0365, 0368: In DCI multi-cell scheduling for a set of co-scheduled cells it can include an indication of UL and SUL carrier; and the multi-cell scheduling DCI include SUL indicator field with bits. A UE determines information of operation level(s) corresponding to DCI with multi-cell mapping for set of co-scheduled cells based UE measurements. The UE reports a corresponding operation level to a serving gNB (i.e. base station) via L1 signaling in a PUSCH/PUCCH or MAC CE],
identify, from the base station, a DCI [Section 0007: A base station provides and transmit DCI] that indicates an SUL carrier configuration to be implemented; and configure with the SUL carrier configuration for the single DCI based multi-cell scheduling [Sections 0064, 0322, 0323: A UE can be provided sets of co-scheduled cells by a single DCI format. A DCI format for multi-cell scheduling can include an UL/SUL indicator field that applies to all cells in a set of co-scheduled cells. In one example, a DCI for multi-cell scheduling for a set of co-scheduled cells can include an indication of SUL carrier field];
and interface circuitry [I/O IF-345] coupled with the processing circuitry [Processor-340], the interface circuitry to communicatively couple the processing circuitry with a component of an apparatus [Fig. 3, Sections 0051: The processor 340 is also coupled to the I/O interface-345, which provides the UE with the ability to connect to other devices and is the communication path between accessories and the processor].
As to Claim 13. Molavian discloses the baseband processor [Fig. 3, Sections 0047-0048] of claim 12, wherein the mode of operation has one cell that supports SUL carriers and other cells that are limited to uplink carriers [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 14. Molavian discloses the baseband processor [Fig. 3, Sections 0047-0048] of claim 12, wherein the DCI indicates which co- scheduled cells use SUL carriers [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 15. Molavian discloses the baseband processor [Fig. 3, Sections 0047-0048]of claim 12, wherein the mode of operation has more than one cell that can support SUL carriers and one cell that can be co-scheduled with SUL carriers [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 16. Molavian discloses the baseband processor [Fig. 3, Sections 0047-0048] of claim 12, wherein the mode of operation has more than one cell that can support SUL carriers and one or more cells that can be co-scheduled with SUL carriers [See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 17. Molavian discloses a method comprising [Title: DCI for Multi-cell scheduling]:
identifying, from a user equipment (UE), a message that indicates a mode of operation [i.e. Operation Level(s) or Different Operation modes (see 0160)] for a supplemental uplink (SUL) configuration for the UE for single downlink control information (DCI) based multi-cell scheduling [Fig. 3, Sections 0323, 0365, 0368: In DCI multi-cell scheduling for a set of co-scheduled cells it can include an indication of UL and SUL carrier; and the multi-cell scheduling DCI include SUL indicator field with bits. A UE determines information of operation level(s) corresponding to DCI with multi-cell mapping for set of co-scheduled cells based UE measurements. The UE reports a corresponding operation level to a serving gNB (i.e. base station) via L1 signaling in a PUSCH/PUCCH or MAC CE],
determining an SUL carrier configuration for the UE based on the mode of operation; and generating a downlink control information (DCI) that indicates the SUL carrier configuration for transmission to the UE [Sections 0064, 0175, 0322, 0323: A UE can be provided sets of co-scheduled cells by a single DCI format. Various embodiments consider carriers such as supplemental UL (SUL) carrier for cells jointly scheduled. A DCI format for multi-cell scheduling can include an UL/SUL indicator field that applies to all cells in a set of co-scheduled cells. In one example, a DCI for multi-cell scheduling for a set of co-scheduled cells can include an indication of SUL carrier field].
As to Claim 18. The method of claim 17, wherein the DCI indicates which co-scheduled cells use SUL carriers [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 19. The method of claim 17, wherein the mode of operation has more than one cell that can support SUL carriers and one cell that can be co-scheduled with SUL carriers [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 20. The method of claim 17, wherein the mode of operation has more than one cell that can support SUL carriers and one or more cells that can be co-scheduled with SUL carriers [See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen et al. US 20230276410.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
December 26, 2025
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477