DETAILED ACTION
The claims filed on 1/12/2024 are entered and acknowledge. Claims 1-30 are currently pending in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 1/12/2024 have been considered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”).
With respect to claim 1: Chu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions (memory and storage devices [0177]);
and one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (processors [0179]):
obtain a first series of one or more data frames (transmitting data frames [0074-0076]);
However, Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein a last data frame of the first series comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration beginning after the last data frame; and
enter into a sleep mode, after obtaining the last data frame, for the sleep duration;
Zhu discloses wherein a last data frame of the first series comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration beginning after the last data frame (a sleep control field in the beacon frame includes a sleep duration indicating the wireless device should sleep for the duration after receiving the beacon [0053-0057], [0110])
enter into a sleep mode, after obtaining the last data frame, for the sleep duration (the wireless device enter into sleep mode right after receiving the beacon with the sleep indicator [0053-0057], [0110]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu in view of Zhu in order to have a data frame comprising a control field indicating a sleep duration beginning after the last data frame;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide power saving capabilities [Zhu: Abstract].
Examiner’s note: obtain a first series of one or more data frames only requires at least one data frame to meet the limitation. Therefore, the one single data frame can be considered the last data frame.
With respect to claim 3: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein:
Chu discloses the control field comprises a count of target wake time (TWT) service periods (SPs) indicative of a future SP during which the sleep mode is ended (power saving mode applied with TWT [0086], [0091], [Fig. 12];
the control field comprises a time synchronization function (TSF) value indicating a future time at which the sleep mode is ended (a TSF when the AP will switch from power saving mode to active mode [0095], [Fig. 12]).
With respect to claim 4: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
Chu discloses enter into a wake mode at an end of the sleep duration (STA determines when to wake up based on the TWT time [0076]);
Additionally, Zhu also discloses the devices should sleep for 10 subframes before waking up to check the next beacon [0057]).
With respect to claim 5: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
However, Chu does not explicitly disclose enter into a wake mode at an end of a second duration prior to the end of the sleep duration, the end of the second duration starting at a time at which the apparatus is scheduled to output a data frame for transmission;
Zhu discloses enter into a wake mode at an end of a second duration prior to the end of the sleep duration, the end of the second duration starting at a time at which the apparatus is scheduled to output a data frame for transmission (the device will wake up before the end of the duration for various reasons [0110-0113], [0069]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu in view of Zhu in order to have a wake mode at an end of a second duration prior to the end of the sleep duration;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide power saving capabilities [Zhu: Abstract].
With respect to claim 7: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the last data frame comprises either a quality of service (QOS) null frame or a QoS data frame (the request frame have a QoS control field and QoS Null [0121], [0148]).
With respect to claim 8: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the control field further indicates whether a peer device will:
However, Chu does not explicitly disclose refrain from transmitting signaling and refrain from receiving signaling during the sleep duration; or
refrain from transmitting signaling and continue receiving signaling during the sleep duration;
Zhu discloses refrain from transmitting signaling and refrain from receiving signaling during the sleep duration (the device will sleep for the indicated time of subframes before waking up to check for the next beacon [0057]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu in view of Zhu in order to refrain from transmitting signaling and refrain from receiving signaling during the sleep duration;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide power saving capabilities [Zhu: Abstract].
With respect to claim 9: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the control field comprises a target wake time (TWT) identifier configured to identify a service period (SP) during which a peer device enters sleep mode (TWT parameters can include a length of service period [0077]).
With respect to claim 10: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the control field comprises an indication of a measurement unit of the sleep duration, said measurement unit being associated with one or more target wake time (TWT) service periods (SPs) or a time synchronization function (TSF) value (a TWT includes parameters such as length of service period [0077]);
Zhu discloses a control field as set forth above.
With respect to claim 11: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the control field comprises an indication of the sleep duration, comprising:
Chu discloses a quantity of target wake time (TWT) service periods (SPs);
or a wake up time associated with a time synchronization function (TSF) value (a TSF when the AP will switch from power saving mode to active mode [0095], [Fig. 12]).
With respect to claim 13: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the sleep duration is indicated as an indefinite duration, and wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
end the sleep mode when the apparatus has new data to output for transmission (the AP will remain in sleep mode until a request is received at the AP [0089-0091]).
With respect to claim 16: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, further comprising a transceiver configured to:
Chu discloses receive the first series of one or more data frames, wherein the apparatus is configured as a station (STA) (AP and stations of the embodiment [0082-0084]).
With respect to claim 17: Chu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories, individually or in combination, having instructions (memory and storage devices [0177]);
one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (processors [0179]):
output a first series of one or more data frames for transmission (transmitting data frames [0074-0076]);
enter into a sleep mode, after outputting the last data frame (AP can enter into sleep after outputting the frames [0039], [0048], [0076]);
However, Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein a last data frame of the first series comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration beginning after the last data frame; and
enter into a sleep mode for the sleep duration;
Zhu discloses wherein a last data frame of the first series comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration beginning after the last data frame (a sleep control field in the beacon frame includes a sleep duration indicating the wireless device should sleep for the duration after receiving the beacon [0053-0057], [0110])
enter into a sleep mode for the sleep duration (the wireless device enter into sleep mode right after receiving the beacon with the sleep indicator [0053-0057], [0110]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu in view of Zhu in order to have a data frame comprising a control field indicating a sleep duration beginning after the last data frame;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide power saving capabilities [Zhu: Abstract].
Examiner’s note: obtain a first series of one or more data frames only requires at least one data frame to meet the limitation. Therefore, the one single data frame can be considered the last data frame.
With respect to claim 29: Chu discloses the apparatus of claim 17 as set forth above, further comprising a transceiver configured to:
Chu discloses transmit the first series of one or more data frames, wherein the apparatus is configured as an access point (AP) (access points [0039]).
With respect to claims 19-20 and 22-26, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 3-4 and 7-11, respectively. Therefore claim 19-20 and 22-26 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3-4 and 7-11.
With respect to claim 30, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1, respectively. Therefore claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 above, further in view of Lin et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0353815 A1) (hereinafter "Lin”).
With respect to claim 2: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the control field is further indicative of a peer device having no additional data for transmission to the apparatus, and wherein the first series of one or more data frames are obtained from the peer device;
Lin discloses wherein the control field is further indicative of a peer device having no additional data for transmission to the apparatus, and wherein the first series of one or more data frames are obtained from the peer device (transmitting from peer UE to its peer UE, and wherein the UE has no more traffic to the peer [0068], [0155]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Lin in order to be indicative of a peer device having no additional data for transmission to the apparatus, and wherein the first series of one or more data frames are obtained from the peer device;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce power usage [Lin: 0147].
With respect to claim 18, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 2, respectively. Therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Claims 12 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 above, further in view of Guo et al Pub. No.: (US 2026/0059571 A1) (hereinafter "Guo”).
With respect to claim 12: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 11 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the indication of the sleep duration comprises the TSF value (sleep duration based on a TSF [0094-0096]);
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the sleep duration comprises N least significant bits of the TSF value where the sleep duration ends;
Guo discloses wherein the indication of the sleep duration comprises N least significant bits of the TSF value where the sleep duration ends (TSF time with a least significant bits [0098], [0102], [0105]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Guo in order to have the indication of the sleep duration comprises N least significant bits of the TSF value where the sleep duration ends;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce inter-cell interference and improve quality of service for users [Guo: 0243].
With respect to claim 27, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 12, respectively. Therefore claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
Claims 14-15 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 above, further in view of Gan et al Pub. No.: (US 2023/0050803 A1) (hereinafter "Gan”).
With respect to claim 14: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
wherein the first series of one or more data frames are obtained via a first link and from a peer device, and wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly disclose obtain, via a second link and from the peer device, a second series of one or more data frames, and wherein the control field further indicates that sleep mode is to be applied to both of the first link and the second link;
Gan discloses obtain, via a second link and from the peer device, a second series of one or more data frames, and wherein the control field further indicates that sleep mode is to be applied to both of the first link and the second link (a plurality of link identifiers indicating the sleep intervals for the different link [0163]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Gan in order to have a plurality of links and a link identifier for each link indicating a sleep interval;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce signaling overheads and improves transmission efficiency [Gan: 0079].
With respect to claim 15: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
wherein the first series of one or more data frames are obtained via a first link and from a peer device, and wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly disclose obtain, via a second link and from the peer device, a second series of one or more data frames, and wherein the last data frame further comprises a link identifier field configured to identify which of the first link and the second link the sleep mode is to be applied;
Gan discloses obtain, via a second link and from the peer device, a second series of one or more data frames, and wherein the last data frame further comprises a link identifier field configured to identify which of the first link and the second link the sleep mode is to be applied (a plurality of link identifiers indicating the sleep intervals for the different link [0163]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Gan in order to have a plurality of links and a link identifier for each link indicating a sleep interval;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce signaling overheads and improves transmission efficiency [Gan: 0079].
With respect to claim 28, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 14, respectively. Therefore claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 14.
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 above, further in view of Abraham et al Pub. No.: (US 2013/0208637 A1) (hereinafter "Abraham”).
With respect to claim 21: The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly dis obtain, during the sleep duration, one or more additional data frames, wherein the control field further indicates that the apparatus is configured to receive signaling and refrain from transmitting signaling during the sleep duration;
Abraham discloses obtain, during the sleep duration, one or more additional data frames, wherein the control field further indicates that the apparatus is configured to receive signaling and refrain from transmitting signaling during the sleep duration (receiving data but unable to respond [0074-0076]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Abraham in order to have a plurality of links and a link identifier for each link indicating a sleep interval;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce power consumption and reduce medium occupancy[Abraham: 0070].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Chitrakar et al. Pub. No.: (US 2023/0148178 A1). The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-30 (e.g., Communication apparatus and method for secure low power transmission).
Luo et al. Pub. No.: (US 2024/0357653 A1). The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-30 (e.g., Sensing reporting method and device).
Wang et al. Pub. No.: (US 2025/0294447 A1). The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-30 (e.g., Method and apparatus for power savings in a wireless local area network).
/T. D./
Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/MICHAEL A KELLER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446