Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/23/2026 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-2, 6, 13-18. 21, 24-26 and 28-30 have been amended. Claims 1-30 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/23/2026 with respect to pending claims above have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
(i) In response to the applicant’s remark: “Contrary to the position taken by the Examiner, Zhu does not teach or suggest these limitations. Zhu discloses a sleep control field embedded in a modified LL beacon frame transmitted by a PAN coordinator to LLDN devices. See Zhu, at paragraphs 52-53. A beacon frame is fundamentally different than a data frame. The LL beacon frame in Zhu is a management-level synchronization signal broadcast unilaterally by the coordinator to all devices in the network,
whereas data frames are device-level transmissions sent between two peer devices. See Zhu, at paragraphs 37-38. It is not part of a "first series of one or more data frames" between peer devices, and it cannot be characterized as a "last data frame" of such a series.
In addition, Zhu's beacon is broadcast and temporally decoupled from any particular data exchange. See Zhu, at paragraph 29. It is transmitted at fixed intervals as part of the superframe structure, regardless of whether any data exchange has occurred or concluded. See Zhu, at paragraph 37. In contrast, claim 1 recites that the apparatus receives "a first series of one or more data frames, wherein a last data frame of the first series comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration that begins after the last data frame is received." (Emphasis added). Claim 1 requires the control field to appear in the last data frame of a series of data frames, with the sleep duration "that begins after the last data frame is received." Embedding the sleep indication in the last data frame provides the receiving device with a defined reference point (the end of the data exchange itself) from which to measure the sleep duration. Zhu's beacon, by contrast, is transmitted on a fixed schedule independent of any data traffic (see Zhu, at paragraphs 29 and 37) and does not mark the conclusion of a data exchange as required by "a last data frame of the first series." A receiving device in Zhu therefore has no reference point by which to anchor the beginning of the sleep duration to the end of a data exchange.” Page 9 – Page 10.
In response to argument, examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument.
Chu (US 2024/0056974 A1) discloses a first series of one or more data frame along with a control field are being transmitted between the STA and an AP, and a target wake time which determines when the AP and STA will be awake or asleep, (data frames being transmitted between STA and AP [0074-0076], 0115], [0039], control field [0121], [0155]);
However, Chu does not explicitly disclose that a last data frame comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration and enter into a sleep mode after receiving the last data frame;
Zhu (US 2014/0269474 A1) was relied upon for the concept of a last beacon (data) frame comprising a control field indicating a sleep duration and enter into a sleep mode after receiving the last beacon (data) frame, in which Zhu discloses (a sleep control field in the beacon frame indicating a sleep duration and a request to sleep after receiving the LL beacon frame [0053-0057], [0110]);
Examiner acknowledges that Zhu may not explicitly disclose a sleep control field in a data frame, but rather the control field being within a beacon frame. However, Chu was previously relied upon for the transmission of data frames along with control fields. Therefore, examiner asserts that it would have been reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the control field indicating a sleep duration of Zhu into the control field of Chu.
Additionally, In the response filed, it appears that applicant is addressing the prima facie case of obviousness [based on the combination of references] by attacking the references individually.
MPEP 2145 (IV) dearly sets forth: One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiners Note: examiner would like to point out that the claim limitation “a first series of one or more data frame”, is interpreted as a series requiring at least one data frame. Therefore, only one data frame is required for a first series of data frame. Furthermore, the one frame can be interpreted as a first and/or last frame in the first series since only one frame is required based on the claim language.
Examiner suggest amending the language "a first series of one or more data frames" to require a series to require more than one frame, such clarification would possibly be one way to overcome the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”).
With respect to claim 1: Chu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one transceiver (at least one transceiver operably connect to at least one antenna [0045]);
at least one memory, individually or in combination, having instructions (memory and storage devices [0177]);
and one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (processors [0179]):
receive, via the at least one transceiver, a first series of one or more data frames comprising a control field (data frames being transmitted between STA and AP [0074-0076], 0115], [0039], control field [0121], [0155]);
However, Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein a last data frame of the first series comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration that begins after the last data frame is received; and
enter into a sleep mode, after receiving the last data frame;
Zhu discloses wherein a last data frame of the first series comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration that begins after the last data frame is received (a sleep control field in the beacon frame includes a sleep duration indicating the wireless device should sleep for the duration after receiving the beacon [0053-0057], [0110])
enter into a sleep mode, after receiving the last beacon (data) frame (the wireless device enter into sleep mode right after receiving the beacon with the sleep indicator [0053-0057], [0110]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu in view of Zhu in order to have a data frame comprising a control field indicating a sleep duration beginning after the last data frame;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide power saving capabilities [Zhu: Abstract].
Examiner’s note: obtain a first series of one or more data frames only requires at least one data frame to meet the limitation. Therefore, the one single data frame can be considered the last data frame.
With respect to claim 3: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein:
Chu discloses the control field comprises a count of target wake time (TWT) service periods (SPs) indicative of a future SP during which the sleep mode is ended (power saving mode applied with TWT [0086], [0091], [Fig. 12];
the control field comprises a time synchronization function (TSF) value indicating a future time at which the sleep mode is ended (a TSF when the AP will switch from power saving mode to active mode [0095], [Fig. 12]).
With respect to claim 4: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
Chu discloses enter into a wake mode at an end of the sleep duration (STA determines when to wake up based on the TWT time [0076]);
Additionally, Zhu also discloses the devices should sleep for 10 subframes before waking up to check the next beacon [0057]).
With respect to claim 5: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
However, Chu does not explicitly disclose enter into a wake mode at an end of a second duration prior to the end of the sleep duration, the end of the second duration starting at a time at which the apparatus is scheduled to output a data frame for transmission;
Zhu discloses enter into a wake mode at an end of a second duration prior to the end of the sleep duration, the end of the second duration starting at a time at which the apparatus is scheduled to output a data frame for transmission (the device will wake up before the end of the duration for various reasons [0110-0113], [0069]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu in view of Zhu in order to have a wake mode at an end of a second duration prior to the end of the sleep duration;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide power saving capabilities [Zhu: Abstract].
With respect to claim 7: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the last data frame comprises either a quality of service (QOS) null frame or a QoS data frame (the request frame have a QoS control field and QoS Null [0121], [0148]).
With respect to claim 8: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the control field further indicates whether a peer device will:
However, Chu does not explicitly disclose refrain from transmitting signaling and refrain from receiving signaling during the sleep duration; or
refrain from transmitting signaling and continue receiving signaling during the sleep duration;
Zhu discloses refrain from transmitting signaling and refrain from receiving signaling during the sleep duration (the device will sleep for the indicated time of subframes before waking up to check for the next beacon [0057]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu in view of Zhu in order to refrain from transmitting signaling and refrain from receiving signaling during the sleep duration;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide power saving capabilities [Zhu: Abstract].
With respect to claim 9: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the control field comprises a target wake time (TWT) identifier configured to identify a service period (SP) during which a peer device enters sleep mode (TWT parameters can include a length of service period [0077]).
With respect to claim 10: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the control field comprises an indication of a measurement unit of the sleep duration, said measurement unit being associated with one or more target wake time (TWT) service periods (SPs) or a time synchronization function (TSF) value (a TWT includes parameters such as length of service period [0077]);
Zhu discloses a control field as set forth above.
With respect to claim 11: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the control field comprises an indication of the sleep duration, comprising:
Chu discloses a quantity of target wake time (TWT) service periods (SPs);
or a wake up time associated with a time synchronization function (TSF) value (a TSF when the AP will switch from power saving mode to active mode [0095], [Fig. 12]).
With respect to claim 13: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the sleep duration is indicated as an indefinite duration, and wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
end the sleep mode when the apparatus has new data to transmit (the AP will remain in sleep mode until a request is received at the AP [0089-0091]).
With respect to claim 16: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Chu discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to operate as a station (STA) (AP and stations of the embodiment [0082-0084]).
With respect to claim 17: Chu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one transceiver (at least one transceiver operably connect to at least one antenna [0045]);
at least one memory, individually or in combination, having instructions (memory and storage devices [0177]);
one or more processors, individually or in combination, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to (processors [0179]):
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a first series of one or more data frames for transmission (data frames being transmitted between STA and AP [0074-0076], 0115], [0039], along with control fields [0121], [0155]);
enter into a sleep mode, after transmitting the last data frame (AP can enter into sleep after outputting the frames [0039], [0048], [0076]);
However, Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein a last data frame of the first series comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration that begins after the last data frame is transmitted; and
Zhu discloses wherein a last data frame of the first series comprises a control field indicating a sleep duration that begins after the last data frame is transmitted (a sleep control field in the beacon frame includes a sleep duration indicating the wireless device should sleep for the duration after receiving the beacon [0053-0057], [0110]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu in view of Zhu in order to have a data frame comprising a control field indicating a sleep duration beginning after the last data frame;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide power saving capabilities [Zhu: Abstract].
Examiner’s note: obtain a first series of one or more data frames only requires at least one data frame to meet the limitation. Therefore, the one single data frame can be considered the last data frame.
With respect to claim 29: Chu discloses the apparatus of claim 17,
Chu discloses wherein the apparatus is configured as an access point (AP) (access points [0039]).
With respect to claims 19-20 and 22-26, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 3-4 and 7-11, respectively. Therefore claim 19-20 and 22-26 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3-4 and 7-11.
With respect to claim 30, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1, respectively. Therefore claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 above, further in view of Lin et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0353815 A1) (hereinafter "Lin”).
With respect to claim 2: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the control field is further indicative of a peer device having no additional data for transmission to the apparatus, and wherein the first series of one or more data frames are received from the peer device;
Lin discloses wherein the control field is further indicative of a peer device having no additional data for transmission to the apparatus, and wherein the first series of one or more data frames are received from the peer device (transmitting from peer UE to its peer UE, and wherein the UE has no more traffic to the peer [0068], [0155]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Lin in order to be indicative of a peer device having no additional data for transmission to the apparatus, and wherein the first series of one or more data frames are received from the peer device;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce power usage [Lin: 0147].
With respect to claim 18, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 2, respectively. Therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Claims 12 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 above, further in view of Guo et al Pub. No.: (US 2026/0059571 A1) (hereinafter "Guo”).
With respect to claim 12: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 11 as set forth above.
Chu discloses wherein the indication of the sleep duration comprises the TSF value (sleep duration based on a TSF [0094-0096]);
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the sleep duration comprises N least significant bits of the TSF value where the sleep duration ends;
Guo discloses wherein the indication of the sleep duration comprises N least significant bits of the TSF value where the sleep duration ends (TSF time with a least significant bits [0098], [0102], [0105]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Guo in order to have the indication of the sleep duration comprises N least significant bits of the TSF value where the sleep duration ends;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce inter-cell interference and improve quality of service for users [Guo: 0243].
With respect to claim 27, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 12, respectively. Therefore claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
Claims 14-15 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 above, further in view of Gan et al Pub. No.: (US 2023/0050803 A1) (hereinafter "Gan”).
With respect to claim 14: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
wherein the first series of one or more data frames are received via a first link and from a peer device, and wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly disclose receive, the peer device via the at least one transceiver and via a second link, a second series of one or more data frames, and wherein the control field further indicates that sleep mode is to be applied to both of the first link and the second link;
Gan discloses receive, the peer device via the at least one transceiver and via a second link, a second series of one or more data frames, and wherein the control field further indicates that sleep mode is to be applied to both of the first link and the second link (a plurality of link identifiers indicating the sleep intervals for the different link [0163]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Gan in order to have a plurality of links and a link identifier for each link indicating a sleep interval;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce signaling overheads and improves transmission efficiency [Gan: 0079].
With respect to claim 15: Chu-Zhu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above.
wherein the first series of one or more data frames are received via a first link and from a peer device, and wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly disclose receive, via a second link and from the peer device via the at least one transceiver, a second series of one or more data frames, and wherein the last data frame further comprises a link identifier field configured to identify which of the first link and the second link the sleep mode is to be applied;
Gan discloses receive, via a second link and from the peer device via the at least one transceiver, a second series of one or more data frames, and wherein the last data frame further comprises a link identifier field configured to identify which of the first link and the second link the sleep mode is to be applied (a plurality of link identifiers indicating the sleep intervals for the different link [0163]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Gan in order to have a plurality of links and a link identifier for each link indicating a sleep interval;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce signaling overheads and improves transmission efficiency [Gan: 0079].
With respect to claim 28, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 14, respectively. Therefore claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 14.
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0056974 A1) (hereinafter “Chu”) in view of Zhu et al Pub. No.: (US 2014/0269474 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu”) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, 19-20, 22-26 and 29-30 above, further in view of Abraham et al Pub. No.: (US 2013/0208637 A1) (hereinafter "Abraham”).
With respect to claim 21: The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors, individually or in combination, are further configured to:
However, Chu-Zhu does not explicitly disclose receive, during the sleep duration and via the at least one transceiver, one or more additional data frames, wherein the control field further indicates that the apparatus is configured to receive signaling and refrain from transmitting signaling during the sleep duration;
Abraham discloses receive, during the sleep duration and via the at least one transceiver, one or more additional data frames, wherein the control field further indicates that the apparatus is configured to receive signaling and refrain from transmitting signaling during the sleep duration (receiving data but unable to respond [0074-0076]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu-Zhu in view of Abraham in order to have a plurality of links and a link identifier for each link indicating a sleep interval;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would reduce power consumption and reduce medium occupancy [Abraham: 0070].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. D./
Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/MICHAEL A KELLER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418