Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amagi et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0061386)
As to independent claim 16, Amagi teaches a motor comprising: a motor housing (4) including an accommodation space (see figure 4) therein; a stator core (1) disposed in the accommodation space of the motor housing (3) and including a center hole (see annotated figure 1) extending in one direction; a coil (2) having an extension portion (see annotated figure 1) passing through the stator core (1) , and an end-turn portion (see annotated figure 1) connected to the extension portion (see annotated figure 1) and protruding from a side portion of the stator core (1) in the one direction, wherein the coil (2) is wound around the stator core (1); a heat transfer portion (7),interspersed between an inner wall (see annotated figure 1) of the motor housing (4) and the end-turn portion of the coil (2) to cover the end-turn portion of the coil (2), the heat transfer portion (7) configured to transfer heat generated by the coil (2) to the motor housing (4) ; a rotor core (19) rotatably disposed in the center hole of the stator core (1); and a rotary shaft (21) coupled to the rotor core (1) as shown in figures 1 and 4.
As to claim 17/16, Amagi et al. teaches wherein a surface of the heat transfer portion (7) facing the inner wall of the motor housing (4) at least partially contacts the inner wall of the motor housing (4) as shown in figures 1 and 4.
As to claim 20/16, Amagi et al. teaches wherein: the end-turn portion of the coil (2) includes a first end-turn portion and a second end-turn portion provided on both side portions of the stator core (1) in the one direction; and the heat transfer portion (7) includes a first heat transfer portion covering the first end-turn portion of the coil (2) and a second heat transfer portion covering the second end-turn portion of the coil (2) as shown in figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amagi et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0061386) as applied in claim 16 above, and further in view of George Jr. (5,939,102) and Puterbaugh et al. (US PG Pub 2005/0074548).
As to claim 18/16, Amagi et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein: one part of the heat transfer portion is formed by curing an impregnating agent injected into a jig after the stator core and the coil wound around the stator core are disposed in the jig; and another part of the heat transfer portion is formed by curing an impregnating agent injected into the motor housing after the stator core, the coil wound around the stator core, and the one part of the heat transfer portion are disposed in the motor housing.
However Geroge Jr. teaches one part of the heat transfer portion (31) is formed by curing an impregnating agent injected into a jig (60) after the stator core (47) and the coil (44) wound around the stator core (47) are disposed in the jig (60) as shown in figure 4, for the advantageous benefit of providing complete encapsulation of stator windings to provide mechanical protection, and retention on the core, and heat conduction from the winding to the core for external dissipation, while limiting excessive bulk of the encapsulating.
Puterbaugh et al. teaches the heat transfer portion (40) is formed by curing an impregnating agent injected into the motor housing (1) after the stator core (4), the coil (5) wound around the stator core (4), and the one part of the heat transfer portion (40) are disposed in the motor housing (1) as shown in figures 1 and 7, for the advantageous benefit of providing electric motor which exhibits increased resistance to oxidative attack.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Amagi et al. by using one part of the heat transfer portion is formed by curing an impregnating agent injected into a jig after the stator core and the coil wound around the stator core are disposed in the jig; and another part of the heat transfer portion is formed by curing an impregnating agent injected into the motor housing after the stator core, the coil wound around the stator core, and the one part of the heat transfer portion are disposed in the motor housing, as taught by Geroge Jr. and Puterbaugh et al., to provide mechanical protection, and retention on the core, and heat conduction from the winding to the core for external dissipation, while limiting excessive bulk of the encapsulating and electric motor which exhibits increased resistance to oxidative attack.
Claim(s)19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amagi et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0061386) as applied in claim 16 above, and further in view of Dormer (EP4068597).
As to claim 19/16, Amagi et al. teaches wherein the motor housing includes: a housing body (4) having a tubular shape with the accommodation space extending in the one direction; a housing cover (23) coupled to one side portion of the housing body (4) to cover the accommodation space of the housing body (4) as shown in figure 1, but Amagi et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except ; a heat sink fin protruding from an outer surface of the housing body to emit heat to an outside of the motor housing.
However Dormer teaches a heat sink fin (see figure 3) protruding from an outer surface of the housing body (315) to emit heat to an outside of the motor housing as
in figure 3, for the advantageous benefit of avoiding the formation of drips from an impregnating liquid on a stator of an electrical machine in a particularly cost-effective manner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Amagi et al. by using a heat sink fin protruding from an outer surface of the housing body to emit heat to an outside of the motor housing, as taught by Dormer, to avoid the formation of drips from an impregnating liquid on a stator of an electrical machine in a particularly cost-effective manner.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 January 20, 2026