Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13: claim 13 recites “the gutter has a shape with both ends falling more outward in the vehicle-width direction”. Examiner is unclear as to what is required by the ends of the gutter “falling more outward in the vehicle-width direction”. Doe it mean that the ends of the gutter extend in the outward direction away from the vehicle body? For examination purposes, any gutter that has a shape in the width of the vehicle will have ends “falling more outward in the vehicle-width direction”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cherak (U.S. 2025/0269798 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cherak discloses a vehicle (100, fig. 1A and para 0016), comprising:
a storage forming component (212, fig. 2A; para 0026: “the bay 212 may defined a volume used for storage) disposed in a front portion of the vehicle (100), the storage forming component (212) including a storage (refer to para 0026);
a hood (214, fig. 2A and para 0027) covering a top of the storage (212; see fig. 2A); and
at least one electrical component (“headlight” as shown in annotated fig. 2A below) covered by the hood (214; see fig. 1A and refer to para 0025).
Regarding claim 2, Cherak discloses wherein the at least one electrical component includes a headlight (see annotated fig. 2A above and refer to para 0025).
Regarding claim 3, Cherak discloses to wherein the hood (214) is detachable (anything is detachable when the right amount of force is applied, for example, when gas springs 218 are detached from the vehicle body).
Regarding claim 6, Cherak discloses wherein the storage forming component (212) includes at least one electrical component holder (226a, fig. 2B and/or 232, fig. 2C are shown holding and covering at least a portion of the headlight; also, the holder can be the opening through 210 receiving the headlight as shown in fig. 2A) holding the at least one electrical component (see fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 7, Cherak discloses wherein the storage forming component (212) includes a waterproof wall (interior wall of 226 facing the headlight is waterproof because it is made of a plastic material as stated in para 0034) that partitions the storage (212) and the at least one electrical component holder (as shown in fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 8, Cherak discloses wherein the at least one electrical component includes a pair of right and left headlights (para 0025: “headlights”), and the at least one electrical component holder includes a pair of headlight holders disposed at both sides of the storage (as shown in fig. 2C, the space in 210 where the headlights enter and/or the outer surface of 323 covering a portion of the headlight. As shown in fig. 2C, two “bumps” are shown on 232 for “holding the headlights).
Regarding claim 11, Cherak discloses a hood attachment part to which the hood (214) is attached (see annotated fig. 2C below), wherein a gutter (220; also see annotated fig. 2C below; refer to para 0028: “220 may conduct water and debris descending from the windshield 222”) is formed in the hood attachment part (as shown in fig. 2C), the gutter (220) extending in a vehicle-width direction (see figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 16, Cherak discloses a front panel (210) connected to a front end of the storage forming component (212) and giving appearance of the vehicle (as shown in fig. 2A), wherein the hood (214) covers a connecting portion between the storage forming component (212) and the front panel (210, see fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 17, Cherak discloses side panels (204 on both sides of the vehicle, see fig. 2B and refer to para 0025) connected to side ends of the storage forming component (212) and giving appearance of the vehicle (as shown in figs. 1A and 2B), wherein the hood (214) covers connecting portions between the storage forming component (212) and the side panels (204; see fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 18, Cherak discloses an upper dashboard connected to a rear end of the storage forming component (see annotated fig. 5 below. Note that all the structures are connected to each other by reason of forming one body structure) wherein the hood (214) covers a connecting portion between the storage forming component (212) and the upper dashboard (as shown in figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 19, Cherak discloses a front panel (210) connected to a front end of the storage forming component (212) and giving appearance of the vehicle (as shown in fig. 2A);
side panels (204 on both sides of the vehicle, see fig. 2B and refer to para 0025) connected to side ends of the storage forming component (212) and giving appearance of the vehicle (as shown in figs. 1A and 2B); and
an upper dashboard connected to a rear end of the storage forming component (see annotated fig. 5 above. Note that all the structures are connected to each other by reason of forming one body structure), wherein the hood (214) covers a connecting portion between the storage forming component (212) and the front panel (210, see fig. 1A), connecting portions between the storage forming component and the side panels (204; see fig. 1A), and a connecting portion between the storage forming component and the upper dashboard (as shown in figs. 2 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherak (U.S. 2025/0269798 A1), in view of Matsuda et al. (U.S. 2013/0192917A1).
Regarding claims 9-10, Cherak teaches all the features of this claim as applied toc claim 9 above; Cherak further teaches that the hood includes an upper surface and a lower surface (see figs. 2A-C).
However, Cherak fails to teach the storage forming component includes a first rib formed around an upper edge of the storage and a second rib facing the first rib at a lateral side of the first rib, the second rib protruding from the lower surface.
Matsuda et al. generally teach a vehicle (1, fig. 1) comprising a storage region (5) comprising motor parts such as engine (refer to para 0059) and a vehicle hood (10, fig. 3 and para 0059) wherein the storage region comprises a first rib (22) formed around an upper edge of the storage (se fig. 3) and a second rib (30) facing the first rib (22) at a lateral side of the first rib (as shown in fig. 3), the second rib (30) protruding from the lower surface (as shown in fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the storage section and hood of Cherak to include a first a first rib formed around an upper edge of the storage and a second rib facing the first rib at a lateral side of the first rib, the second rib protruding from the lower surface, as taught by Matsuda et al., for the purpose of covering the engine section of the vehicle (refer to para 0064-0065).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherak (U.S. 2025/0269798 A1), in view of Kato (U.S. 2022/0063519A1).
Regarding claims 12-13, Cherak teaches all the features of this claim as applied toc claim 11 above; Cherak further disclose wherein the gutter (220) has a shape with both ends falling more outward in the vehicle- width direction (see fig. 2C and 112b rejection above).
However, Cherak fails to teach at least one drainage hole is formed in the gutter, the at least one drainage hole comprises drainage holes formed at the ends of the gutter.
Kato teaches a vehicle (1, fig. 1) comprising a gutter (41, fig. 2 and para 0027), wherein at least one drainage hole (41d, fig. 2) is formed in the gutter (41; para 0029), the at least one drainage hole comprises drainage holes formed at the ends of the gutter (see fig. 2 and refer to para 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gutter of Cherak to include at least one drainage hole, the at least one drainage hole comprises drainage holes formed at the ends of the gutter, as taught by Kato, for the purpose of draining collected water outside of the vehicle from the gutter (refer to para 0029).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherak (U.S. 2025/0269798 A1), in view of Glickman et al. (U.S. 2019/0039659A1).
Regarding claim 14, Cherak teaches all the features of this claim as applied toc claim 1 above; however, Cherak fail to teach that the storage includes a first storage with a first bottom portion, and a second storage with a second bottom portion lower than the first bottom portion.
Glickman et al. teach a vehicle (10, fig. 1) comprising a storage (12, see fig. 5 and refer to para 0038), wherein the storage (12) includes a first storage (62, fig. 5) with a first bottom portion (see fig. 5), and a second storage (60) with a second bottom portion lower than the first bottom portion (see fig. 5). The first bottom portion is designed for holding smaller cargo or vehicle equipment (para 0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the storage of Cherak to include a first storage with a first bottom portion, and a second storage with a second bottom portion lower than the first bottom portion, as taught by Glickman et al., for the purpose of holding vehicle equipment or cargo of different sizes (para 0058).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Matsuda et al. (U.S. 2013/0192917A1) teach a hook (17, fig. 3). However, Matsuda fails to teach a knob coupled to the hook, the locking component being attached to the hood so that the knob and the hook are rotatable; and a first hole through which the hook can pass with the knob having a first rotation attitude, and to which the hook can be hooked with the knob having a second rotation attitude.
Regarding claim 15, Harmon (U.S. 2024/0059223A1) teaches a storage with speaker for listening music (para 0061). However, Harmon fails to teach a pipe extending rearward from the speaker body and propagating sound of the speaker body to an occupant space in the vehicle, wherein a rear end of the pipe protrudes toward the occupant space rather than the storage.
Conclusion
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672