DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1: “the steps of” lack antecedent basis. “the object” should by “the target object”; “the spot” in the second paragraph of the claim can refer back to either the preamble or the first paragraph and for this reason has unclear antecedent basis. Correction is required.
Claim 2: “the steps of” lacks antecedent basis and unclear if it is an extension of the steps of claim 1.
Claim 7: “a pinhole” has unclear antecedent basis as the claim depends from language already including “a movable pinhole”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JP200585708 (“Watanabe”).
Claim 1
Watanabe discloses a method for non-contact temperature measurement of a spot on a target object comprising the steps of: imaging a thermal image of a target area on the object and projecting the thermal image to an image plane (page 3, paragraphs 11-13, thermal image detected and projected); selecting an image spot in the image plane corresponding to the spot to allow light rays of the thermal image corresponding to the image spot to pass through while blocking passages of light rays corresponding to other parts of the thermal image (page 3, paragraphs 12-13, masking); measuring a thermal radiation strength of the light rays corresponding to the image spot (page 4, paragraph 6, temperature detected from heating); and determining a temperature from the measured thermal radiation strength of the light rays corresponding to the image spot according to a calibration relation (page 4, paragraphs 6-11).
Claim 2
Watanabe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the calibration relation is established from a calibration method comprising the steps of: imaging a reference thermal image of a reference area of a known uniform temperature on a reference object and projecting the reference thermal image to the image plane (page 4, paragraph 6, optimum temperature compared); selecting a reference spot in the image plane to allow light rays corresponding to the reference spot to pass through while blocking passages of light rays corresponding to other parts of the reference thermal image (page 3, paragraph 12, light mask); and measuring a thermal radiation strength of the light rays corresponding to the reference spot (page 4, paragraph 6, temperature transmitted).
Claim 3
Watanabe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the thermal radiation strength of the light rays corresponding to the image spot is a first thermal radiation strength measured at a first wavelength; the calibration relation is established based on a dual-wavelength method comprising the step of: measuring a second thermal radiation strength of the light rays corresponding to the image spot at a second wavelength (page 4, paragraph 2, wavelengths established by low and high pass filters).
Claim 4
Watanabe discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising a step of changing a location of the image spot in the image plane such that the image spot scans over a certain area to obtain a temperature map of the target area on the target object (page 4, paragraph 11, grid scanning).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP200585708 (“Watanabe”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2008/0218849 (“Uhl”).
Claim 5
Watanabe discloses a system for non-contact temperature measurement of a spot on a target object comprising: a set of imaging optics for imaging a thermal image of a target area on the target object and projecting the thermal image to an image plane (page 3, paragraphs 11-13, thermal image detected and projected); a pinhole mask at the image plane for selecting an image spot in the image plane corresponding to the spot to allow light rays of the thermal image corresponding to the image spot to pass through while blocking passages of light rays corresponding to other parts of the thermal image (page 3, paragraphs 12-13, masking); a set of collecting optics collecting the light rays passing the pinhole mask (page 4, paragraph 6, temperature detected from heating); a thermal radiation detector for measuring a thermal radiation strength of the light rays collected by the set of collecting optics (page 4, paragraphs 6-11).
Watanabe discloses using a mask but does not appear to explicitly disclose the mask being a pinhole mask.
Uhl discloses using a Nipkow disk pinhole mask (paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a pinhole mask, as disclosed by Uhl, into the system of Watanabe, for the purpose of providing adjustable light throughput through the mask (Uhl, paragraph [0007]).
Claim 6
Watanabe in view of Uhl discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the pinhole mask comprises a movable pinhole (Uhl, paragraph [0007]).
Claim 7
Watanabe in view of Uhl discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the movable pinhole comprises a movable slab with a pinhole (Uhl, paragraph [0007]).
Claim 8
Watanabe in view of Uhl discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the movable pinhole comprises a reflective type Nipkow disk (Uhl, paragraph [0007]).
Claim 9
Watanabe in view of Uhl discloses the system of claim 6.
Watanabe in view of Uhl discloses using a Nipkow disk but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the movable pinhole comprises a Digital Micromirror Device (DMD).
Uhl discloses using micromirrors (paragraphs [005-0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a Digital Micromirror Device, as disclosed by Uhl, into the system of Watanabe, for the purpose of removing the need for scale ration requirements in adjustment (Uhl, paragraph [0059]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853