DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US 2024/0106585 A1) in view of Dong (US 2024/0298208 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lou discloses a data transmission method, applied to a multi-link operation between a first multi-link device (MLD) and a second MLD, comprising: performing, by a processor of the first MLD, a spatial reuse transmission on at least one link between the first MLD and the second MLD (Fig. 5 discloses transmission timing diagram illustrating an example of PSRR PPDU spatial reuse. A PSRR PPDU 1511 may be transmitted by AP1 1510 with the transmit power PSRR PDU 1511 is a trigger frame triggering the transmission of a TB PPDU from STA11 1525 to the AP1 1510. At least one STA, e.g., STA 21 1530, in an overlapping BSS (OBSS) of AP2 1540, overhears the PSRR PPDU and identifies a PSR opportunity. STA21 transmits a PSRT PPDU 1531 to AP2 1540 during the identified PSR opportunity, while STA11 1525 transmit its TB PPDU to AP1 1510 in a spatial reuse configuration).
Lou does not explicitly disclose dispatching, by the processor, data frames with the same traffic identifier (TID) for all links between the first MLD and the second MLD based on physical layer (PHY) rates and packet error rates (PERs) of all links between the first MLD and the second MLD; and transmit, by the processor, the data frames to the second MLD based on a dispatch result.
In an analogous art, Dong discloses dispatching, by the processor, data frames with the same traffic identifier (TID) for all links between the first MLD and the second MLD (Paragraph 0038 discloses in an extreme high-throughput (EHT) communication, there is a mechanism for mapping the TID to the link, i.e., data with the same TID can be mapped to at least one link for transmission. Fig. 4 discloses 0049-0050, monitoring is performed under at least one link to which a TID is mapped in multiple links. According to an exemplary embodiment, the multiple links may refer to all activated links, which may be multiple links initially established between the non-AP STA MLD and the AP MLD for communication. In the embodiment of the disclosure, monitoring is performed merely under at least one link to which the TID is mapped) based on physical layer (PHY) rates and packet error rates (PERs) of all links between the first MLD and the second MLD (Paragraph 0036 discloses In an extreme high-throughput (EHT) communication, if one MLD has established a block acknowledgment protocol for a traffic identifier (TID) with another MLD, and a data frame of the TID (e.g., a Quality of Service (QoS) data frame) is not transmitted successfully under one link, and if the data frame is not a fragment, the MLD may try to retransmit the data frame on any link to which the TID is mapped); and transmit, by the processor, the data frames to the second MLD based on a dispatch result (Fig. 4, paragraphs 0051-0055 discloses during transmission of a downlink data frame, if the non-AP STA MLD receives information indicating that transmission of the data frame is failed, or if a feedback (e.g., an acknowledgement (ACK) frame) for the downlink data frame is not received before time expires, it is determined that the data frame is not transmitted successfully according to various information (for example, but is not limited to, a situation of mapping the TID to the link, load information of the link, status information, bandwidth information, network condition, hardware capabilities, service types, and related protocol regulations, etc.). Thus, the AP MLD can determine the link for retransmitting the data frame based on the monitoring results as discussed above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Dong to the system of Lou to provide a method of performing monitoring under at least one link to which a traffic identifier (TID) is mapped in multiple links; and determining whether a data frame needs to be retransmitted based on a monitoring result (Abstract, Dong).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 comprises substantially similar limitations as recited above in claim 1, claimed as an access point (AP) for a multi-link operation between the AP and a station (STA), comprising: a transceiver, configured to perform wireless transmission and reception to and from the STA; a processor, coupled to the transceiver (Lou discloses Fig. 1 b discloses a wireless communication device which can be an AP comprises a processor 118, memory 130 and transceiver 120), and performing operations as discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 comprises substantially similar limitations as recited above in claim 1, claimed as A station (STA) for a multi-link operation between an access point (AP) and the STA, comprising: a transceiver, configured to perform wireless transmission and reception to and from the AP; and a processor, coupled to the transceiver, and performing operations comprising (Lou discloses Fig. 1 b discloses a wireless communication device which can be a station comprises a processor 118, memory 130 and transceiver 120), and performing operations as discussed above in claim 1.
Lou discloses wherein a spatial reuse transmission is performed on at least one link between the AP and the STA (Fig. 5 discloses transmission timing diagram illustrating an example of PSRR PPDU spatial reuse. A PSRR PPDU 1511 may be transmitted by AP1 1510 with the transmit power PSRR PDU 1511 is a trigger frame triggering the transmission of a TB PPDU from STA11 1525 to the AP1 1510. At least one STA, e.g., STA 21 1530, in an overlapping BSS (OBSS) of AP2 1540, overhears the PSRR PPDU and identifies a PSR opportunity. STA21 transmits a PSRT PPDU 1531 to AP2 1540 during the identified PSR opportunity, while STA11 1525 transmit its TB PPDU to AP1 1510 in a spatial reuse configuration).
Lou does not explicitly disclose performing operations comprising: receiving, via the transceiver, data frames with the same traffic identifier (TID) from the AP based on a dispatch result, and wherein the data frames are dispatched for all links between the AP and the STA based on physical layer (PHY) rates and packet error rates (PERs) of all links between the AP and the STA to determine the dispatch result.
In an analogous art, Dong discloses receiving, via the transceiver, data frames with the same traffic identifier (TID) from the AP based on a dispatch result, (Paragraph 0038 discloses in an extreme high-throughput (EHT) communication, there is a mechanism for mapping the TID to the link, i.e., data with the same TID can be mapped to at least one link for transmission. Fig. 4 discloses 0049-0050, monitoring is performed under at least one link to which a TID is mapped in multiple links. According to an exemplary embodiment, the multiple links may refer to all activated links, which may be multiple links initially established between the non-AP STA MLD and the AP MLD for communication. In the embodiment of the disclosure, monitoring is performed merely under at least one link to which the TID is mapped) wherein the data frames are dispatched for all links between the AP and the STA based on physical layer (PHY) rates and packet error rates (PERs) of all links between the AP and the STA to determine the dispatch result. (Paragraph 0036 discloses In an extreme high-throughput (EHT) communication, if one MLD has established a block acknowledgment protocol for a traffic identifier (TID) with another MLD, and a data frame of the TID (e.g., a Quality of Service (QoS) data frame) is not transmitted successfully under one link, and if the data frame is not a fragment, the MLD may try to retransmit the data frame on any link to which the TID is mapped. Fig. 4, paragraphs 0051-0055 discloses during transmission of a downlink data frame, if the non-AP STA MLD receives information indicating that transmission of the data frame is failed, or if a feedback (e.g., an acknowledgement (ACK) frame) for the downlink data frame is not received before time expires, it is determined that the data frame is not transmitted successfully according to various information (for example, but is not limited to, a situation of mapping the TID to the link, load information of the link, status information, bandwidth information, network condition, hardware capabilities, service types, and related protocol regulations, etc.). Thus, the AP MLD can determine the link for retransmitting the data frame based on the monitoring results as discussed above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Dong to the system of Lou to provide a method of performing monitoring under at least one link to which a traffic identifier (TID) is mapped in multiple links; and determining whether a data frame needs to be retransmitted based on a monitoring result (Abstract, Dong).
Regarding claim 7, Lou discloses wherein data lengths of data frames dispatched for different links are the same or different (Paragraphs 0108-0109).
Regarding claim 8, Lou discloses where first MLD is an access point (AP) or a station (STA), and second MLD is another AP or another STA (Fig. 2 discloses the communication between an AP MLD and a station MLD).
Claims 2-6, 10-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US 2024/0106585 A1) in view of Dong (US 2024/0298208 A1) and Guo et al. (US 2024/0244658 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 16, the combination of Luo and Dong do not explicitly disclose
dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links through a link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention and the link is an idle link.
In an analogous art, Guo discloses dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links through a link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention and the link is an idle link (Fig. 4, paragraph 0080 discloses the BS 105 wins the contention for the frame period 352a and, therefore, can occupy the frame period 352a. During the transmission period 356 of the frame period 352a the BS transmits downlink control information (DCI) 415-a in a search space of the shared radio frequency band. In some instances, at block 1110 the BS transmits the DCI 415-a masked with a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI) (e.g., for an idle mode UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Guo to the modified system of Lou and Dong to provide a method of monitoring for a downlink (DL) signal in the second FFP. The method also includes transmitting, based on the monitoring for the DL signal, an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) indicating whether the scheduled DL communication was detected (Abstract, Guo).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 17, Lou discloses the spatial reuse transmission is performed on the link (Fig. 5 discloses transmission timing diagram illustrating an example of PSRR PPDU spatial reuse. A PSRR PPDU 1511 may be transmitted by AP1 1510 with the transmit power PSRR PDU 1511 is a trigger frame triggering the transmission of a TB PPDU from STA11 1525 to the AP1 1510. At least one STA, e.g., STA 21 1530, in an overlapping BSS (OBSS) of AP2 1540, overhears the PSRR PPDU and identifies a PSR opportunity. STA21 transmits a PSRT PPDU 1531 to AP2 1540 during the identified PSR opportunity, while STA11 1525 transmit its TB PPDU to AP1 1510 in a spatial reuse configuration).
The combination of Luo and Dong do not explicitly disclose dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links through a link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention
In an analogous art, Guo discloses dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links through a link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention (Fig. 4, paragraph 0080 discloses the BS 105 wins the contention for the frame period 352a and, therefore, can occupy the frame period 352a. During the transmission period 356 of the frame period 352a the BS transmits downlink control information (DCI) 415-a in a search space of the shared radio frequency band. In some instances, at block 1110 the BS transmits the DCI 415-a masked with a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI) (e.g., for an idle mode UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Guo to the modified system of Lou and Dong to provide a method of monitoring for a downlink (DL) signal in the second FFP. The method also includes transmitting, based on the monitoring for the DL signal, an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) indicating whether the scheduled DL communication was detected (Abstract, Guo).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, Lou discloses the spatial reuse transmission is performed on the link and one or more other links (Fig. 5 discloses transmission timing diagram illustrating an example of PSRR PPDU spatial reuse. A PSRR PPDU 1511 may be transmitted by AP1 1510 with the transmit power PSRR PDU 1511 is a trigger frame triggering the transmission of a TB PPDU from STA11 1525 to the AP1 1510. At least one STA, e.g., STA 21 1530, in an overlapping BSS (OBSS) of AP2 1540, overhears the PSRR PPDU and identifies a PSR opportunity. STA21 transmits a PSRT PPDU 1531 to AP2 1540 during the identified PSR opportunity, while STA11 1525 transmit its TB PPDU to AP1 1510 in a spatial reuse configuration).
The combination of Luo and Dong do not explicitly disclose dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links through a link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention.
In an analogous art, Guo discloses dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links through a link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention (Fig. 4, paragraph 0080 discloses the BS 105 wins the contention for the frame period 352a and, therefore, can occupy the frame period 352a. During the transmission period 356 of the frame period 352a the BS transmits downlink control information (DCI) 415-a in a search space of the shared radio frequency band. In some instances, at block 1110 the BS transmits the DCI 415-a masked with a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI) (e.g., for an idle mode UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Guo to the modified system of Lou and Dong to provide a method of monitoring for a downlink (DL) signal in the second FFP. The method also includes transmitting, based on the monitoring for the DL signal, an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) indicating whether the scheduled DL communication was detected (Abstract, Guo).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 19, the combination of Luo and Dong do not explicitly disclose
dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links further based on historical information through a link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention.
In an analogous art, Guo discloses dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links further based on historical information through a link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention (Fig. 4, paragraph 0080 discloses the BS 105 wins the contention for the frame period 352a and, therefore, can occupy the frame period 352a. During the transmission period 356 of the frame period 352a the BS transmits downlink control information (DCI) 415-a in a search space of the shared radio frequency band. In some instances, at block 1110 the BS transmits the DCI 415-a masked with a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI) (e.g., for an idle mode UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Guo to the modified system of Lou and Dong to provide a method of monitoring for a downlink (DL) signal in the second FFP. The method also includes transmitting, based on the monitoring for the DL signal, an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) indicating whether the scheduled DL communication was detected (Abstract, Guo).
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 20, the combination of Luo and Dong do not explicitly disclose
dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links further based on a backoff time of a link through the link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention.
In an analogous art, Guo discloses dispatching, by the processor, the data frames with the same TID for all links further based on a backoff time of a link through the link of the links, wherein the link wins a contention (Fig. 4, paragraph 0080 discloses the BS 105 wins the contention for the frame period 352a and, therefore, can occupy the frame period 352a. During the transmission period 356 of the frame period 352a the BS transmits downlink control information (DCI) 415-a in a search space of the shared radio frequency band. In some instances, at block 1110 the BS transmits the DCI 415-a masked with a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI) (e.g., for an idle mode UE. Paragraph 0054 discloses the UE 115 may transmit a random access preamble and the BS 105 may respond with a random access response. The random access response (RAR) may include a detected random access preamble identifier (ID) corresponding to the random access preamble, timing advance (TA) information, a UL grant, a temporary cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and/or a backoff indicator. Upon receiving the random access response, the UE 115 may transmit a connection request to the BS 105 and the BS 105 may respond with a connection response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Guo to the modified system of Lou and Dong to provide a method of monitoring for a downlink (DL) signal in the second FFP. The method also includes transmitting, based on the monitoring for the DL signal, an acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) indicating whether the scheduled DL communication was detected (Abstract, Guo).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Asterjadhi et al. (US 2021/0282119 A1) method may include transmitting an indication of the preferred communication link to the AP MLD in a frame or an information element of the frame. In some instances, the selection is based on obtaining an indication of a preferred communication link from at least one of the first or second STAs. The indication may be contained in a frame or an information element of a frame (paragraph 0021).
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413