DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is in response to the Amendment dated March 23, 2026 filed in response to the Non-final Rejection dated December 23, 2025.
Addition of new claim 21 is acknowledged.
The claim objections in the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims addressing the objections.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-8 in the previous Office action is maintained as explained below.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 9-20 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, starting in the bottom half of page 2 of the Remarks section, the amendments to claims 1 and 5 distinguish the claims from Li because Li only operates for 0.5 seconds in the reversed direction in step S4 before automatically stopping the motor. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraphs [n0011] through [n0014] disclose the motor operates in reverse for an amount of time Q depending upon the severity of the overload. Paragraph [n0051] gives the example the control unit allows the motor to operate in reverse direction for 30 seconds (Q1) when operating current Y is detected as being in the low overload current range Z2 (12.5A-15.5A) to attempt to clear the stall without substantial damage to the motor and allows the motor to operate in reverse for only 5 seconds (Q2) to attempt to clear the stall when the operating current Y is detected in medium overload current range Z3 (15.5A-18A) to avoid damage to the motor operating at elevated current levels for an extended period of time.
In the first full paragraph of page 3 of the Remarks section, Applicant argues the “stall counter” of claims 1 and 5 as further specified in claims 2 and 6, respectively, requires the claims to be interpreted as counting the number of stalls. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 1 and 5 do not include limitation as to how the stall counters are incremented. That is, the claims do not require the counting of separate stall events to increment the counter. Examiner submits “incrementing a (slow/fast) stall counter” within the context of the claim may also reasonably be interpreted as incrementing the counter by counting time or number of motor rotations during the stall events. Li discloses at least these aspects. If the claim is limited to claim the stall counter is incremented by counting the number of stalls, the definition of a “stall” should be included in the claim to make the claim definite.
Starting in the bottom half of page 3 of the Remarks section, Applicant argues Li fails to show or suggest a methodology that uses a current rise rate-based detection to differentiate between slow and fast stall conditions. After further consideration, Examiner agrees. Li discloses detecting operating current exceeding multiple different thresholds to implement a response based upon the severity of the operating current exceeding the normal range. But Li does not disclose the control unit detects the operating current increase over a number of consecutive time periods to determine a rate of increase to implement a response based upon the rate of increase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 115178369 A by Li et al., hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method for controlling an organic matter processing apparatus (OMPA) (¶[n0001]-[n0003] of Li disclose the method described is used to control a tree crushing apparatus), the OMPA comprising a control unit (control unit module 103 in Fig. 3; ¶[n0047]), a grinding mechanism (¶[n0003] discloses a shredder is the type of crusher referenced in the remainder of the disclosure), a motor for driving the grinding mechanism (shredder motor disclosed in ¶[n0003]), the method comprising:
monitoring an operating current of the motor while the motor is driving the grinding mechanism (step S2 in ¶[n0007] monitors operating current by collecting the actual operating current Y);
detecting a slow stall event when the operating current exceeds a first current threshold for at least a first time threshold (¶[n0011] through [n0014] disclose the method detects a slow stall event when operating current Y exceeds first current threshold Z1 to within low overload current range Z2 for low overload limit time Q1);
in response to detecting the slow stall event:
stopping the motor (¶[n0011] through [n0014] disclose the motor is stopped from rotating in the initial direction when the slow stall low overload current range Z2 is detected);
reversing a direction of the motor (¶[n0011] through [n0014] disclose step S21 then reverses the direction of the motor for a number of reverse rotations N); and
incrementing a slow stall counter (¶[n0011] through [n0014] discloses step S22 increments a counter to determine actual overload time O the motor is in the slow stall low overload current range Z2);
detecting a fast stall event when the operating current exceeds a second current threshold for at least a second time threshold, wherein the second current threshold is greater than the first current threshold and the second time threshold is less than the first time threshold (¶[n0011] through [n0014] disclose the method detects a fast stall event when operating current Y exceeds second current threshold Z2 to within medium overload current range Z3 for medium overload limit time Q2. ¶[n0051] discloses Z3 is greater than Z2 and Q2 is less than Q1 in an embodiment); and
in response to detecting the fast stall event:
stopping the motor (the motor is stopped from rotating in the initial direction when the fast stall medium overload current range Z3 is detected);
reversing a direction of the motor (step S21 the motor then reverses direction for a number of reverse rotations N); and
incrementing a fast stall counter (step S22 increments a counter to determine actual overload time O the motor is in the fast stall medium overload current range Z3),
wherein, when the direction of the motor is reversed, continuing to operate the motor in the reversed direction until another slow stall event or fast stall event is detected or a signal is received that causes the motor to stop (¶[n0011] through [n0014] disclose the method of control proceeds to step S4 to stop the motor when the control unit receives a signal the number of reverse rotations N has exceeded maximum number J or the actual overload time O exceeds overload time limit Q).
Regarding claim 2, Li anticipates the method of claim 1 as explained above. Li further discloses ceasing operation of the motor if the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. ¶[n0013] discloses the motor is stopped in step S4 when the actual overload time O exceeds overload time limit Q.
Regarding claim 3, Li anticipates the method of claim 2 as explained above. Li further discloses notifying a user of the OMPA of a potential stall event when the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. The user of the apparatus is notified by the motor being stopped after count threshold overload time limit Q is exceeded.
Regarding claim 4, Li anticipates the method of claim 1 as explained above. Li further discloses resetting the slow stall counter and the fast stall counter in response to a user input confirming that an obstruction has been removed. Paragraphs [n0043] through [n0045] disclose the user can cut off the power to reset the stall counters.
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses an organic matter processing apparatus (OMPA) (¶[n0001] through [n0003] discloses a tree branch shredder is referenced) comprising:
a grinding mechanism (¶[n0003] discloses a shredder mechanism);
a motor for driving the grinding mechanism (¶[n0003] discloses a shredder motor);
a control unit (control unit module 103 in Fig. 3; ¶[n0047]) operative to:
monitor an operating current of the motor while the motor is driving the grinding mechanism (¶[n0007] disclose actual operating current Y is monitored by the control module);
detect a slow stall event when the operating current exceeds a first current threshold for at least a first time threshold (¶[n0011] through [n0014] disclose a slow stall event is detected when operating current Y exceeds first current threshold Z1 to within low overload current range Z2 for low overload limit time Q1);
in response to detecting the slow stall event:
reverse a direction of the motor (¶[n0011] through [n0014] disclose step S21 reverses the direction of the motor for a number of reverse rotations N); and
increment a slow stall counter (¶[n0011] through [n0014] discloses step S22 increments a counter to determine actual overload time O the motor is in the slow stall low overload current range Z2);
detect a fast stall event when the operating current exceeds a second current threshold for at least a second time threshold, wherein the second current threshold is greater than the first current threshold and the second time threshold is less than the first time threshold (¶[n0011] through [n0014] disclose a fast stall event is detected when operating current Y exceeds second current threshold Z2 to within medium overload current range Z3 for medium overload limit time Q2. ¶[n0051] discloses Z3 is greater than Z2 and Q2 is less than Q1 in an embodiment); and
in response to detecting the fast stall event:
reverse a direction of the motor (step S21 the motor then reverses direction for a number of reverse rotations N); and
increment a fast stall counter (step S22 increments a counter to determine actual overload time O the motor is in the fast stall medium overload current range Z3)
wherein, when the direction of the motor is reversed, continuing to operate the motor in the reversed direction until another slow stall event or fast stall event is detected or a signal is received that causes the motor to stop (¶[n0011] through [n0014] disclose the method of control proceeds to step S4 to stop the motor when the control unit receives a signal the number of reverse rotations N has exceeded maximum number J or the actual overload time O exceeds overload time limit Q).
Regarding claim 6, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 5 as explained above. Li further discloses the control unit ceases operation of the motor if the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. ¶[n0013] discloses the motor is stopped in step S4 when the actual overload time O exceeds overload time limit Q.
Regarding claim 7, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 6 as explained above. Li further discloses the control unit notifies a user of the OMPA of a potential stall event when the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. The user of the apparatus is notified by the motor being stopped after count threshold overload time limit Q is exceeded.
Regarding claim 8, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 5 as explained above. Li further discloses the control unit resets the slow stall counter and the fast stall counter in response to a bucket removal event or a user input confirming that an obstruction has been removed. Paragraphs [n0043] through [n0045] disclose the user can cut off the power to reset the stall counters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li.
Regarding claim 21, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 5 as explained above. Li does not expressly disclose the shredder referenced in paragraphs [n0002] and [n0003] includes a processing chamber containing the shredder mechanism used to shred the organic matter. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the shredder apparatus referenced in paragraphs [n0002] and [n0003] includes a processing chamber holding the shredding mechanism inside which the tree branch organic matter is input and converted into organic matter output.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Li appears to be the closest prior art relating to claims 9-20. Li does not disclose nor teach detecting the rate of increase of the operating current of the motor for a time period over a number of consecutive time periods as claimed in independent claims 9 and 15. Li only discloses detecting the operating current of the motor has exceeded a normal operating current range (Z1) and implementing reversal of the motor for a maximum number of reverse rotations for a certain amount of time based upon the detected operating current falling within one of three ranges (Z2-Z4). Li does not disclose the control unit detects the operating current increase over a number of consecutive time periods to determine a rate of increase to implement a response based upon the rate of increase.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 16 September 2026