DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the wherein clause starting at the end of line 14 of the claim, which reads “wherein the first current threshold is greater than the first current threshold”, doesn’t make sense. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“revers” in line 18 of the claim should read “reverse”;
the wherein clause starting at the end of line 14 of the claim, which reads “wherein the first current threshold is greater than the first current threshold”, doesn’t make sense. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 115178369 A by Li et al., hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method for controlling an organic matter processing apparatus (OMPA) (¶[n0001]-[n0003] of Li disclose the method described is used to control a tree crushing apparatus), the OMPA comprising a control unit (control unit module 103 in Fig. 3; ¶[n0047]), a grinding mechanism (¶[n0003] discloses a shredder is the type of crusher referenced in the remainder of the disclosure), a motor for driving the grinding mechanism (shredder motor disclosed in ¶[n0003]), the method comprising:
monitoring an operating current of the motor while the motor is driving the grinding mechanism (step S1 in ¶[n0006] starts the motor and step S2 in ¶[n0007] monitors operating current by collecting the actual operating current Y);
detecting a slow stall event when the operating current exceeds a first current threshold for at least a first time threshold (¶[n0007] discloses the actual operating current Y is compared with normal load current range Z to determine overload. If the actual operating current Y exceeds range Z, it is determined the motor is overloaded and proceeds to step S4. ¶[n0014] discloses range Z includes normal load current range Z1 and low overload range Z2. If actual current Y is within range Z1 normal operation is assumed. If actual current Y is within low overload range Z2 a low overload condition is assumed.);
in response to detecting the slow stall event:
stopping the motor (step S4 in ¶[n0009] stops the crusher working);
reversing a direction of the motor (step S4 in ¶[n0009] discloses the motor is reversed); and
incrementing a slow stall counter (¶[n0011] through [n0013] discloses step S2 preferably includes reversing the motor for a time period to attempt to clear the overload. ¶[n0014] discloses each current range state has an associated time period, with low overload range Z2 being associated with low overload time limit Q1. Actual overload time O is incremented in a counter where motor reversing is stopped when actual overload time O exceeds low overload time limit Q1.);
detecting a fast stall event when the operating current exceeds a second current threshold for at least a second time threshold, wherein the second current threshold is greater than the first current threshold and the second time threshold is less than the first time threshold (¶[n0014] discloses range Z also includes medium overload current range Z3 which exceeds the range of Z2. If actual current Y is within medium overload range Z3 a medium overload condition is assumed and medium overload time limit Q2 is used. The embodiment disclosed in ¶[n0051] discloses Q2 is less than Q1.); and
in response to detecting the fast stall event:
stopping the motor (the motor is stopped in step S4);
reversing a direction of the motor (the motor is reversed in step S4); and
incrementing a fast stall counter (actual overload time O is incremented in a counter where motor reversing is stopped when actual overload time O exceeds medium overload time limit Q2.).
Regarding claim 2, Li anticipates the method of claim 1 as explained above. Li further discloses ceasing operation of the motor if the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. ¶[n0013] discloses the motor is stopped in step S4 when the actual overload time O exceeds overload time limit Q.
Regarding claim 3, Li anticipates the method of claim 2 as explained above. Li further discloses notifying a user of the OMPA of a potential stall event when the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. The user of the apparatus is notified by the motor being stopped after count threshold overload time limit Q is exceeded.
Regarding claim 4, Li anticipates the method of claim 1 as explained above. Li further discloses resetting the slow stall counter and the fast stall counter in response to a user input confirming that an obstruction has been removed. Paragraphs [n0043] through [0045] disclose the user can cut off the power to reset the stall counters.
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses an organic matter processing apparatus (OMPA) (¶[n0001] through [n0003] discloses a tree branch shredder is referenced) comprising:
a grinding mechanism (¶[n0003] discloses a shredder mechanism);
a motor for driving the grinding mechanism (¶[n0003] discloses a shredder motor);
a control unit (control unit module 103 in Fig. 3; ¶[n0047]) operative to:
monitor an operating current of the motor while the motor is driving the grinding mechanism (¶[n0007] disclose actual operating current Y is monitored by the control module);
detect a slow stall event when the operating current exceeds a first current threshold for at least a first time threshold (The actual operating current Y is compared with normal load current range Z to determine overload. If the actual operating current Y exceeds range Z, it is determined the motor is overloaded and proceeds to step S4. ¶[n0014] discloses range Z includes normal load current range Z1 and low overload range Z2. If actual current Y is within range Z1 normal operation is assumed. If actual current Y is within low overload range Z2 a low overload condition is assumed.);
in response to detecting the slow stall event:
reverse a direction of the motor (step S4 in ¶[n0009] discloses the motor is reversed); and
increment a slow stall counter (¶[n0011] through [n0013] discloses step S2 preferably includes reversing the motor for a time period to attempt to clear the overload. ¶[n0014] discloses each current range state has an associated time period, with low overload range Z2 being associated with low overload time limit Q1. Actual overload time O is incremented in a counter where motor reversing is stopped when actual overload time O exceeds low overload time limit Q1.);
detect a fast stall event when the operating current exceeds a second current threshold for at least a second time threshold, wherein the second current threshold is greater than the first current threshold and the second time threshold is less than the first time threshold (¶[n0014] discloses range Z also includes medium overload current range Z3 which exceeds the range of Z2. If actual current Y is within medium overload range Z3 a medium overload condition is assumed and medium overload time limit Q2 is used. The embodiment disclosed in ¶[n0051] discloses Q2 is less than Q1.); and
in response to detecting the fast stall event:
reverse a direction of the motor (the motor is stopped in step S4); and
increment a fast stall counter (actual overload time O is incremented in a counter where motor reversing is stopped when actual overload time O exceeds medium overload time limit Q2.).
Regarding claim 6, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 5 as explained above. Li further discloses the control unit ceases operation of the motor if the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. ¶[n0013] discloses the motor is stopped in step S4 when the actual overload time O exceeds overload time limit Q.
Regarding claim 7, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 6 as explained above. Li further discloses the control unit notifies a user of the OMPA of a potential stall event when the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. The user of the apparatus is notified by the motor being stopped after count threshold overload time limit Q is exceeded.
Regarding claim 8, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 5 as explained above. Li further discloses the control unit resets the slow stall counter and the fast stall counter in response to a bucket removal event or a user input confirming that an obstruction has been removed. Paragraphs [n0043] through [0045] disclose the user can cut off the power to reset the stall counters.
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses a method for controlling an organic matter processing apparatus (OMPA) (¶[n0001]-[n0003] of Li disclose the method described is used to control a tree crushing apparatus), the OMPA comprising a control unit (control unit module 103 in Fig. 3; ¶[n0047]), a grinding mechanism (¶[n0003] discloses a shredder is the type of crusher referenced in the remainder of the disclosure), a motor for driving the grinding mechanism (shredder motor disclosed in ¶[n0003]), the method comprising:
monitoring an operating current of the motor while the motor is driving the grinding mechanism (step S1 in ¶[n0006] starts the motor and step S2 in ¶[n0007] monitors operating current by collecting the actual operating current Y);
detecting a slow stall event when the operating current exceeds a first current threshold and increases by no more than a second current threshold every fixed time period for a first fixed number of consecutive fixed time periods (¶[n0007] discloses the actual operating current Y is compared with normal load current range Z to determine overload. If the actual operating current Y exceeds range Z, it is determined the motor is overloaded and proceeds to step S4. ¶[n0014] discloses range Z includes normal load current range Z1 and low overload current range Z2. Low overload range Z2 is detected when operating current Y exceeds the upper limit of range Z1, as a first current threshold, and does not exceed the upper limit of range Z2 as a second current threshold during fixed time period Q1 aggregated by individual seconds.);
in response to detecting the slow stall event:
stopping the motor (step S4 in ¶[n0009] stops the crusher working);
reversing a direction of the motor (step S4 in ¶[n0009] discloses the motor is reversed); and
incrementing a slow stall counter (¶[n0011] through [n0013] discloses step S2 preferably includes reversing the motor for a time period to attempt to clear the overload. ¶[n0014] discloses each current range state has an associated time period, with low overload range Z2 being associated with low overload time limit Q1. Actual overload time O is incremented in a counter where motor reversing is stopped when actual overload time O exceeds low overload time limit Q1.);
detecting a fast stall event when the operating current exceeds the second current threshold for a second fixed number of consecutive fixed time periods (¶[n0014] discloses range Z also includes medium overload current range Z3. Medium overload current range Z3 is detected when operating current Y exceeds the second current threshold which is the upper limit of low overload current range Z2 during fixed time period Q2 aggregated by individual seconds.), and wherein the first fixed number is greater than the second fixed number (the embodiment disclosed in ¶[n0051] discloses the consecutive fixed time periods of Q1 is greater than Q2);
in response to detecting the fast stall event:
stopping the motor (the motor is stopped in step S4);
reversing a direction of the motor (the motor is reversed in step S4); and
incrementing a fast stall counter (actual overload time O is incremented in a counter where motor reversing is stopped when actual overload time O exceeds medium overload time limit Q2.).
Regarding claim 10, Li anticipates the method of claim 9 as explained above. Li further discloses the fixed period of time is one second. The embodiment disclosed in paragraph [n0051] discloses Li’s method counts in one second time periods for the consecutive fixed time periods of the overload time limits Q.
Regarding claim 11, Li anticipates the method of claim 9 as explained above. Li further discloses ceasing operation of the motor if the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. ¶[n0013] discloses the motor is stopped in step S4 when the actual overload time O exceeds overload time limit Q.
Regarding claim 12, Li anticipates the method of claim 11 as explained above. Li further discloses notifying a user of the OMPA of a potential stall event when the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. The user of the apparatus is notified by the motor being stopped after count threshold overload time limit Q is exceeded.
Regarding claim 13, Li anticipates the method of claim 9 as explained above. Li further discloses resetting the slow stall counter and the fast stall counter in response to a user input confirming that an obstruction has been removed. Paragraphs [n0043] through [0045] disclose the user can cut off the power to reset the stall counters.
Regarding claim 14, Li anticipates the method of claim 9 as explained above. Paragraph [n0051] of Li further discloses the number of consecutive fixed time periods in low overload time limit Q1 is six times greater than that of the number of consecutive fixed time periods in medium overload time limit Q2 where the fixed time period is considered to be 5 seconds. But, Li does not specifically disclose a ratio of three time periods to two time periods as claim 14 claims. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try setting Li’s relationship between the two consecutive fixed time periods in a ratio of 3 to 2 from a finite number of potential ratios to achieve the predictable result of a shorter low overload time limit Q1.
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses an organic matter processing apparatus (OMPA) (¶[n0001] through [n0003] discloses a tree branch shredder is referenced) comprising:
a grinding mechanism (¶[n0003] discloses a shredder mechanism);
a motor for driving the grinding mechanism (¶[n0003] discloses a shredder motor);
a control unit (control unit module 103 in Fig. 3; ¶[n0047]) operative to:
monitor an operating current of the motor while the motor is driving the grinding mechanism (¶[n0007] disclose actual operating current Y is monitored by the control module);
detect a slow stall event when the operating current exceeds a first current threshold and increases by no more than a second current threshold every fixed time period for a first fixed number of consecutive fixed time periods (¶[n0007] discloses the actual operating current Y is compared with normal load current range Z to determine overload. If the actual operating current Y exceeds range Z, it is determined the motor is overloaded and proceeds to step S4. ¶[n0014] discloses range Z includes normal load current range Z1 and low overload current range Z2. Low overload range Z2 is detected when operating current Y exceeds the upper limit of range Z1, as a first current threshold, and does not exceed the upper limit of range Z2 as a second current threshold during fixed time period Q1 aggregated by individual seconds.);
in response to detecting the slow stall event:
reverse a direction of the motor (step S4 in ¶[n0009] discloses the motor is reversed); and
increment a slow stall counter (¶[n0011] through [n0013] discloses step S2 preferably includes reversing the motor for a time period to attempt to clear the overload. ¶[n0014] discloses each current range state has an associated time period, with low overload range Z2 being associated with low overload time limit Q1. Actual overload time O is incremented in a counter where motor reversing is stopped when actual overload time O exceeds low overload time limit Q1.);
detect a fast stall event when the operating current exceeds the second current threshold for a second fixed number of consecutive fixed time periods (¶[n0014] discloses range Z also includes medium overload current range Z3. Medium overload current range Z3 is detected when operating current Y exceeds the second current threshold which is the upper limit of low overload current range Z2 during fixed time period Q2 aggregated by individual seconds.), and wherein the first fixed number is greater than the second fixed number (the embodiment disclosed in ¶[n0051] discloses the consecutive fixed time periods of Q1 is greater than Q2);
in response to detecting the fast stall event:
reverse a direction of the motor (the motor is reversed in step S4); and
increment a fast stall counter (actual overload time O is incremented in a counter where motor reversing is stopped when actual overload time O exceeds medium overload time limit Q2.).
Regarding claim 16, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 15 as explained above. Li further discloses the fixed period of time is one second. The embodiment disclosed in paragraph [n0051] discloses Li’s method counts in one second time periods for the consecutive fixed time periods of the overload time limits Q.
Regarding claim 17, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 15 as explained above. Li further discloses ceasing operation of the motor if the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. ¶[n0013] discloses the motor is stopped in step S4 when the actual overload time O exceeds overload time limit Q.
Regarding claim 18, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 17 as explained above. Li further discloses notifying a user of the OMPA of a potential stall event when the slow stall counter or the fast stall counter exceeds a stall count threshold. The user of the apparatus is notified by the motor being stopped after count threshold overload time limit Q is exceeded.
Regarding claim 19, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 15 as explained above. Li further discloses resetting the slow stall counter and the fast stall counter in response to a user input confirming that an obstruction has been removed. Paragraphs [n0043] through [0045] disclose the user can cut off the power to reset the stall counters.
Regarding claim 20, Li anticipates the OMPA of claim 15 as explained above. Paragraph [n0051] of Li further discloses the number of consecutive fixed time periods in low overload time limit Q1 is six times greater than that of the number of consecutive fixed time periods in medium overload time limit Q2 where the fixed time period is considered to be 5 seconds. But, Li does not specifically disclose a ratio of three time periods to two time periods as claim 14 claims. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try setting Li’s relationship between the two consecutive fixed time periods in a ratio of 3 to 2 from a finite number of potential ratios to achieve the predictable result of a shorter low overload time limit Q1.
Conclusion
/P.D.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725