Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first correlator configured to compare the first differential symbol sequence to a first differential sync word”, and
“a second correlator configured to compare the second differential symbol sequence to a second differential sync word” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially matches” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially matches” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Because “substantially matches” is indefinite, “match signal” is indefinite. Claims 2-17 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to their dependency on claim 1.
The term “match signal” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “match signal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurney et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0175123) in view of Otterbach et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,154,871).
Please note: The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met (MPEP 2111.04 II Contingent Limitations). Accordingly, patentable weight is not given because the generating a first match signal, generating a second match signal, and establishing steps are not performed if the disclosed condition is not met.
Regarding claim 18, Gurney teaches receiving a symbol sequence in a wireless communication frame transmitted from the second wireless device ([0023]: FIG. 2, a burst modulated RF signal (200) may include a QPSK RF modulated input data stream having a plurality of data bursts (210)); generating a first differential symbol sequence by differentiating the received symbol sequence ([0015]: both a lower order demodulation (e.g., differentially detected BPSK modulation) and a higher order demodulation (e.g., coherently detected QPSK modulation); [0029]: process is performed on the received signal utilizing CQPSK demodulation); comparing the first differential symbol sequence to a first differential sync word ([0041]: a hybrid DBPSK/CQPSK search method is employed… a DBPSK sync word detection and correlation search process (step 450); generating a first match signal if the first differential symbol sequence matches the first differential sync word ([0048]: If, however, the DBPSK correlator does find the sync word (YES, step 460) during the DBPSK correlation (step 450)); comparing the second differential symbol sequence to a second differential sync word ([0041]: a hybrid DBPSK/CQPSK search method is employed; Fig. 4: Perform CQPSK Correlation (470) and [0029]: a second sync word detection and correlation process is performed); generating a second match signal if the second differential symbol sequence matches the second differential sync word ([0029]: If the CQPSK correlation results in a sync word being found (YES, step 480)); and establishing a link between the first wireless device and the second wireless device if both the first match signal and the second match signal are generated ([0022]: the media access control (130), or the central processing unit (150) prior to being transmitted to an external network or display device (not shown). The media access control (130) and processor (150) are primarily responsible for scheduling reception and transmissions on the communications channel.)
Gurney does not teach generating a second differential symbol sequence by differentiating the first differential symbol sequence, but Otterbach teaches generating a second differential (Col. 2, Lines 8-9: by demodulation, e.g. using alternating multiplication by +1 and -1) symbol sequence by differentiating the first differential symbol sequence (Col. 8, Lines 12-16: second unit contains two logical correlators connected in parallel… a first demodulator is connected in an incoming circuit… a second demodulator is connected in an incoming circuit; and Col. 8, Lines 32-33: a selector switch for selecting one of the output. Note: The selector outputs one differential symbol sequence from two distinct differential symbol sequences; thus, generating a second differential symbol sequence relative to the first differential symbol sequence.)
Otterbach teaches receiver architectures with serial processing elements and correlators for synchronization acquisition; Gurney teaches differential demodulation and correlation/search methods for burst acquisition and hybrid detection strategies. Both references address the common problem of detecting synchronization in received wireless bursts. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Otterbach’s receiver architecture with Gurney’s differential detection and hybrid search teachings to improve burst-acquisition robustness and support differential sync-word correlation in practical receivers (Gurney paragraph [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bothe et al. ((U.S. Patent No. 7,412,012) teaches a method and apparatus for using a sync word, demodulation, and multiple correlation steps to perform wireless communication synchronization.
De Ruijter (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0178870) teaches a method and system to determine a likelihood of synchronization between the received symbol sequence and the expected sync word.
/VIJAY K MANNAVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479
1/6/2026 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479