DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman et al. (US 20120294457 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chapman discloses an effects unit (e.g., 70 in Fig. 5) for modifying electric signals of an instrument to produce output signals (para. 0058-0060), the effects unit comprising: an internal effects device (e.g., 90 in Fig. 6); a plurality of switches (knobs 76 on front control panel 78) for directing the electric signals (e.g., the output from adaptive intelligence control block 114) of the instrument through circuitry of the effects unit (para. 0064, 0122); and an external device (para. 0063: “User-defined module block 98 allows the user to define customized signal processing functions, such as adding accompanying instruments, vocals, and synthesizer options”); wherein the effects unit is operative to be set to a parallel configuration (e.g., only the module 96 or the module 98 is activated via the control knobs 76 on front control panel 78 which allows the user to monitor and manually control various settings of the audio amplifier 90; see para. 0058), the parallel configuration (Fig. 6) setting the plurality of switches such that the output signals (e.g., the output from module 102) are produced by processing the electric signals of the instrument in parallel via: the electric signals of the instrument being modified by the internal effects device independent from the external device (i.e., the input from the module 98 is muted or disabled), and the electric signals of the instrument being modified by the external device independent from the internal effects device (i.e., the input from the module 96 is muted or disabled; note, the instant claim 1 does not require that the electric signals of the instrument being modified by the internal effects device independent from the external device and being modified by the external device independent from the internal effects device simultaneously, in the sense of parallel computing, and then the independently modified signals are merged to produce the output signals).
Chapman does not mention explicitly: said external device is an effects loop for an external device.
Examiner takes official notice that an effects loop for an external device which is utilized as a user-defined module, having customized signal processing functions, for a signal processor coupled for receiving an audio signal from a musical instrument or vocals is well-known in the art. Since Chapman teaches the general condition of the external device (para. 0063), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to conceive and apply such a well-known effects loop to said external device to arrive the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of such a combination were predictable for customized audio signal processing since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness. It has been held that the mere application of a known technique to a specific instance by those skilled in the art would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Chapman discloses: wherein the effects unit is further operative to be set to an external configuration (e.g., module 96 is muted), the external configuration setting the plurality of switches such that the output signals are produced by the electric signals of the instrument being modified by the external device independent from the internal effects device (Fig. 6; para. 0064, 0122).
Regarding claim 3, Chapman discloses: wherein the effects unit is further operative to be set to an internal configuration (e.g., module 98 is muted), the internal configuration setting the plurality of switches such that the output signals are produced by the electrical signals of the instrument being modified by the internal effects device independent from the external device (Fig. 6; para. 0064, 0122).
Regarding claim 4, Chapman discloses: wherein the effects unit is further operative to be set to an internal-to-external configuration (e.g., both modules 96 and 98 are activated), the internal-to-external configuration setting the plurality of switches such that the output signals are produced by the electric signals of the instrument first being modified by the internal effects device followed by being modified by the external device (Fig. 6; para. 0064, 0122).
Regarding claim 5, Chapman discloses: wherein the effects unit is further operative to be set to an external-to-internal configuration (e.g., module 96 is muted, and both modules 98 and 100 are activated), the external-to-internal configuration setting the plurality of switches such that the output signals are produced by the electric signals of the instrument first being modified by the external device followed by being modified by the internal effects device (Fig. 6; para. 0064, 0122).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Chapman is silent on: wherein the external device comprises a preamplifier; wherein the external device comprises a conventional effects unit.
Examiner takes official notice that an external device comprising a preamplifier and/or a conventional effects unit which is utilized as a user-defined module for a signal processor coupled for receiving an audio signal from a musical instrument or vocals is well-known in the art. Since Chapman teaches the general condition of the external device (para. 0063), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to conceive and apply such a well-known the external devices to Chapman’s external device to arrive the claimed invention. It has been held that the mere application of a known technique to a specific instance by those skilled in the art would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 8, Chapman discloses: wherein the internal effects device imparts one or more of the following sounds effects upon the electrical signals of the instrument: distortion, fuzz, overdrive, boost, compression, wah-wah, chorus, flanger, phaser, tremolo, pitch shifting, reverb, or delay (para. 0002).
Regarding claim 9, Chapman discloses: wherein the output signals are received and amplified by a power amplifier (104 in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Chapman discloses: wherein the instrument is an electric guitar (para. 004-0005).
Regarding claims 11-16, Chapman discloses or renders obvious the claimed invention (See discussion for claims 1-10 above).
Contact Information
/JIANCHUN QIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837