DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Shams et al. (US 2023/0027493).
Regarding claim 1, Shams discloses a near-to-eye display assembly for an optical lens (Figure 2), comprising: an installation base ([0101] discloses: 210, attachment slot; therefore considered an installation base), configured for installing an optical engine ([0101] discloses: 104, optical engine); and a first connecting part ([0102] discloses: 204, connector), connected to the installation base (Figures 1 and 2 depict: 204, connectors, connected to 210, attachment slot via 202, connectors) and configured for connecting to the optical lens (in at least abstract discloses: waveguide lens; Figure 1 and 2 depict: 204, connector, configured to connect to 106, waveguide, that is considered the optical lens, via 202, connector and 210, attachment slot); wherein the first connecting part defines an accommodating groove (see annotated Figure A below), the installation base comprises a first section (see annotated Figure A below) and a second section (see annotated Figure A below) connected to the first section (see annotated Figure A below), the first section defines an installation groove (see annotated Figure A below) configured for installing the optical engine (see annotated Figure A below, which depicts installation groove configured for installing 104, optical engine), and the second section is embedded in the accommodating groove (see annotated Figure A below; Examiner notes that when the parts are put together the second section is considered embedded in the accommodating groove, see Fig. 1); and a first electrical component storing chamber ([0102] discloses: 202, connector, that electronically communicates; therefore considered a first electrical component storing chamber) configured for installing an electrical component (Examiner notes that 202, connector, electronically communicates and is considered to be configured for installing an electrical component) is formed between the accommodating groove and the second section (see annotated Figure A below, where 202, connector is between accommodating groove and second section), and the electrical component is configured to be electrically connected to the optical engine ([0102] discloses: 202, connector, that electronically communicates; Figure 2 depicts: electrical communication between 202, connector and 204, connector of optical engine).
Figure A
Regarding claim 11, Shams discloses a near-to-eye display device (Figure 2), comprising: an optical lens; and a near-to-eye display assembly, comprising: an installation base ([0101] discloses: 210, attachment slot; therefore considered an installation base), configured for installing an optical machine ([0101] discloses: 104, optical engine); and a first connecting part ([0102] discloses: 204, connector), connected to the installation base (Figures 1 and 2 depict: 204, connectors, connected to 210, attachment slot via 202, connectors) and configured for connecting to the optical lens (in at least abstract discloses: waveguide lens; Figure 1 and 2 depict: 204, connector, configured to connect to 106, waveguide, that is considered the optical lens, via 202, connector and 210, attachment slot); wherein the first connecting part defines an accommodating groove (see annotated Figure B below), the installation base comprises a first section and a second section connected to the first section (see annotated Figure B below), the first section defines an installation groove configured for installing the optical machine (see annotated Figure A below, which depicts installation groove configured for installing 104, optical engine), and the second section is embedded in the accommodating groove (see annotated Figure A below; Examiner notes that when the parts are put together the second section is considered embedded in the accommodating groove, see Fig. 1); and a first electrical component storing chamber ([0102] discloses: 202, connector, that electronically communicates; therefore considered a first electrical component storing chamber) configured for installing an electrical component (Examiner notes that 202, connector, electronically communicates and is considered to be configured for installing an electrical component) is formed between the accommodating groove and the second section (see annotated Figure B below, where 202, connector is between accommodating groove and second section), and the electrical component is electrically connected to the optical machine ([0102] discloses: 202, connector, that electronically communicates; Figure 2 depicts: electrical communication between 202, connector and 204, connector of optical engine); wherein the first connecting part of the near-to-eye display assembly is connected to the optical lens (Figure 1 depicts: first connecting part, connected to the optical lens).
Figure B
Regarding claim 20, Shams discloses a wearable device, comprising: a near-to-eye display device, comprising: an optical lens (Figure 2); and a near-to-eye display assembly, comprising: an installation base ([0101] discloses: 210, attachment slot; therefore considered an installation base), configured for installing an optical machine ([0101] discloses: 104, optical engine); and a first connecting part ([0102] discloses: 204, connector), connected to the installation base (Figures 1 and 2 depict: 204, connectors, connected to 210, attachment slot via 202, connectors) and configured for connecting to the optical lens (in at least abstract discloses: waveguide lens; Figure 1 and 2 depict: 204, connector, configured to connect to 106, waveguide, that is considered the optical lens, via 202, connector and 210, attachment slot); wherein the first connecting part defines an accommodating groove (see annotated Figure A above), the installation base comprises a first section (see annotated Figure A above) and a second section (see annotated Figure A above) connected to the first section (see annotated Figure A above), the first section defines an installation groove configured for installing the optical machine (see annotated Figure A above), and the second section is embedded in the accommodating groove (see annotated Figure A above; Examiner notes that when the parts are put together the second section is considered embedded in the accommodating groove, see Fig. 1); and a first electrical component storing chamber ([0102] discloses: 202, connector, that electronically communicates; therefore considered a first electrical component storing chamber) configured for installing an electrical component (Examiner notes that 202, connector, electronically communicates and is considered to be configured for installing an electrical component) is formed between the accommodating groove and the second section (see annotated Figure A above, where 202, connector is between accommodating groove and second section), and the electrical component is electrically connected to the optical machine ([0102] discloses: 202, connector, that electronically communicates; Figure 2 depicts: electrical communication between 202, connector and 204, connector of optical engine); wherein the first connecting part of the near-to-eye display assembly is connected to the optical lens (Figure 1 depicts: first connecting part, connected to the optical lens).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shams et al. (US 2023/0027493), as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, in view of Abdollahi et al. (US 9,513,482).
Regarding claim 2, Shams discloses the near-to-eye display assembly according to claim 1.
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein the first electrical component storing chamber is formed between an end face of a side of the second section away from the first section and a bottom wall of the accommodating groove; or the first electrical component storing chamber is located on the side of the second section away from the first section. Shams and Abdollahi are related because both disclose optical systems.
Abdollahi teaches a device wherein the first electrical component storing chamber is formed between an end face of a side of the second section away from the first section and a bottom wall of the accommodating groove; or the first electrical component storing chamber (Figure 1 depicts: 150, display arm; analogous to the first electrical component storing chamber) is located on the side of the second section away from the first section (Figure 1 depicts: 160, housing on the front of the lens, therefore considered analogous to the second section away from the first section).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Abdollahi and provide a device wherein the first electrical component storing chamber is formed between an end face of a side of the second section away from the first section and a bottom wall of the accommodating groove; or the first electrical component storing chamber is located on the side of the second section away from the first section. Doing so would allow for system compactness and better attachment to lens, thereby improving the overall functionality and quality of the optical system.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Shams discloses the near-to-eye display device according to claim 11.
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein the first electrical component storing chamber is formed between an end face of a side of the second section away from the first section and a bottom wall of the accommodating groove; or the first electrical component storing chamber is located on the side of the second section away from the first section. Shams and Abdollahi are related because both disclose optical systems.
Abdollahi teaches a device wherein the first electrical component storing chamber is formed between an end face of a side of the second section away from the first section and a bottom wall of the accommodating groove; or the first electrical component storing chamber (Figure 1 depicts: 150, display arm; analogous to the first electrical component storing chamber) is located on the side of the second section away from the first section (Figure 1 depicts: 160, housing on the front of the lens, therefore considered analogous to the second section away from the first section).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Abdollahi and provide a device wherein the first electrical component storing chamber is formed between an end face of a side of the second section away from the first section and a bottom wall of the accommodating groove; or the first electrical component storing chamber is located on the side of the second section away from the first section. Doing so would allow for system compactness and better attachment to lens, thereby improving the overall functionality and quality of the optical system.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shams et al. (US 2023/0027493), as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, in view of Holland et al. (US 2025/0116869) in view of Sato (US 2015/0185478).
Regarding claim 3, Shams discloses the near-to-eye display assembly according to claim 1.
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein a via is defined in the installation base and configured for accommodating a conductive module of the optical engine, the installation groove is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber through the via, and the conductive module is configured to be connected to the electrical component; and at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via, and the first wiring groove is configured for the conductive module to pass through and be connected to the electrical component. Shams and Holland are related because both disclose near eye displays.
Holland teaches a device wherein a via ([0029] teaches: pin line connection; therefore considered a via) is defined in the installation base (Figure 1 depicts: 110, wearable frame, analogous to the installation base) and configured for accommodating a conductive module (Figure 1 depicts: 195, electrical interface; Examiner notes that circuits and electrical interfaces are conductive) of the optical engine (Figure 1 depicts: 145, electrical interface, connects 110, wearable frame to 100, AR display device, considered analogous to the display engine), the installation groove is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber through the via (Figure 1 depicts: the entire from of the lens system, that would include the installation grove, connected and communicated via the electromechanical interfaces 145 and 195), and the conductive module is configured to be connected to the electrical component (Examiner notes that the 145, interface is considered the electrical component and 145 and 195, electrical interfaces connect together).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Holland and provide a device wherein a via is defined in the installation base and configured for accommodating a conductive module of the optical engine, the installation groove is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber through the via, and the conductive module is configured to be connected to the electrical component; and at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via. Doing so would allow for reduction of assembly complexity and protection of the conductive module, thereby improving the overall manufacturability and efficiency of the optical system.
The modified Shams fails to disclose a device with at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via, and the first wiring groove is configured for the conductive module to pass through and be connected to the electrical component. Shams and Sato are related because both disclose optical systems.
Sato teaches a device with at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via, and the first wiring groove is configured for the conductive module to pass through and be connected to the electrical component ([0157] teaches: a groove portion on which the second wiring member is mounted and formed; Examiner notes that the wire is considered to allow communications between two optical electrical components).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Sato and provide a device with at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via, and the first wiring groove is configured for the conductive module to pass through and be connected to the electrical component. Doing so would allow for efficient electrical routing between optical components, thereby improving the overall manufacturability and performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 14, Shams discloses the near-to-eye display device according to claim 11,
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein a via is defined in the installation base and configured for accommodating conductive modules of the optical machine, the installation groove is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber through the via, and the conductive modules are configured to be connected to the electrical component; and at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via, and the first wiring groove is configured for the conductive modules to pass through and be connected to the electrical component. Shams and Holland are related because both disclose near eye displays.
Holland teaches a device wherein a via ([0029] teaches: pin line connection; therefore considered a via) is defined in the installation base (Figure 1 depicts: 110, wearable frame, analogous to the installation base) and configured for accommodating a conductive module (Figure 1 depicts: 195, electrical interface; Examiner notes that circuits and electrical interfaces are conductive) of the optical engine (Figure 1 depicts: 145, electrical interface, connects 110, wearable frame to 100, AR display device, considered analogous to the display engine), the installation groove is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber through the via (Figure 1 depicts: the entire from of the lens system, that would include the installation grove, connected and communicated via the electromechanical interfaces 145 and 195), and the conductive module is configured to be connected to the electrical component (Examiner notes that the 145, interface is considered the electrical component and 145 and 195, electrical interfaces connect together).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Holland and provide a device wherein a via is defined in the installation base and configured for accommodating a conductive module of the optical engine, the installation groove is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber through the via, and the conductive module is configured to be connected to the electrical component; and at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via. Doing so would allow for reduction of assembly complexity and protection of the conductive module, thereby improving the overall manufacturability and efficiency of the optical system.
The modified Shams fails to disclose a device with at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via, and the first wiring groove is configured for the conductive module to pass through and be connected to the electrical component. Shams and Sato are related because both disclose optical systems.
Sato teaches a device with at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via, and the first wiring groove is configured for the conductive module to pass through and be connected to the electrical component ([0157] teaches: a groove portion on which the second wiring member is mounted and formed; Examiner notes that the wire is considered to allow communications between two optical electrical components).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Sato and provide a device with at least one of the second section and the first connecting part defines a first wiring groove that is communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber and the via, and the first wiring groove is configured for the conductive module to pass through and be connected to the electrical component. Doing so would allow for efficient electrical routing between optical components, thereby improving the overall manufacturability and performance of the optical system.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shams et al. (US 2023/0027493) in view of Holland et al. (US 2025/0116869) in view of Sato (US 2015/0185478), as applied to claim 3 and 14 above, in view of Hui et al. (US 2014/0226991).
Regarding claim 4, Shams discloses the near-to-eye display assembly according to claim 3.
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein the number of the conductive module is multiple, and the multiple conductive modules are configured to be connected to the electrical component, respectively; the near-to-eye display assembly further comprises: a first conductive member, configured to connect the electrical component with a corresponding conductive module, wherein at least part of the first conductive member is located in the first wiring groove. However, choosing an electrical component setup is considered a design choice and well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), and In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Hui teaches in [0023] that locations of components can be arranged to optimize for best optical and electrical performance. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to design choice to disclose a device wherein the number of the conductive module is multiple, and the multiple conductive modules are configured to be connected to the electrical component, respectively; the near-to-eye display assembly further comprises: a first conductive member, configured to connect the electrical component with a corresponding conductive module, wherein at least part of the first conductive member is located in the first wiring groove since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable designs by routine experimentation. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the optical electrical component system described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the invention would perform equally well with various setups of electrical components, and success in doing so would have been predictable. Therefore, the claimed use of a device wherein the number of the conductive module is multiple, and the multiple conductive modules are configured to be connected to the electrical component, respectively; the near-to-eye display assembly further comprises: a first conductive member, configured to connect the electrical component with a corresponding conductive module, wherein at least part of the first conductive member is located in the first wiring groove represents a routine variation within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Shams discloses the near-to-eye display device according to claim 14.
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein the number of the conductive modules is multiple, and the multiple conductive modules are configured to be connected to the electrical component, respectively; the near-to-eye display assembly further comprises: a first conductive member, configured to connect the electrical component with a corresponding conductive module, wherein at least part of the first conductive member is located in the first wiring groove. However, choosing an electrical component setup is considered a design choice and well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), and In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Hui teaches in [0023] that locations of components can be arranged to optimize for best optical and electrical performance. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to design choice to disclose a device wherein the number of the conductive module is multiple, and the multiple conductive modules are configured to be connected to the electrical component, respectively; the near-to-eye display assembly further comprises: a first conductive member, configured to connect the electrical component with a corresponding conductive module, wherein at least part of the first conductive member is located in the first wiring groove since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable designs by routine experimentation. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the optical electrical component system described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the invention would perform equally well with various setups of electrical components, and success in doing so would have been predictable. Therefore, the claimed use of a device wherein the number of the conductive module is multiple, and the multiple conductive modules are configured to be connected to the electrical component, respectively; the near-to-eye display assembly further comprises: a first conductive member, configured to connect the electrical component with a corresponding conductive module, wherein at least part of the first conductive member is located in the first wiring groove represents a routine variation within the skill of the art.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shams et al. (US 2023/0027493)in view of Abdollahi et al. (US 9,513,482), as applied to claim 2 and 13 above, in view of Holland et al. (US 2025/0116869).
Regarding claim 8, Shams discloses the near-to-eye display assembly according to claim 2.
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein one of the first connecting part and the installation base is provided with a convex block, the other of the first connecting part and the installation base defines a clamping groove, and the convex block is clamped to the clamping groove. Shams and Holland are related because both disclose optical systems.
Holland teaches a device wherein one of the first connecting part (Figure 1 depicts: 150, removable frame) and the installation base (Figure 1 depicts: 110, wearable frame) is provided with a convex block ([0029] teaches: pin-like or pogo pin connection; Examiner notes that one portion of this connection is the block and the other part is the clamping groove), the other of the first connecting part and the installation base defines a clamping groove, and the convex block is clamped to the clamping groove ([0029] teaches: pin-like or pogo pin connection; Examiner notes that one portion of this connection is the block and the other part is the clamping groove; the pin-like connections are considered to claim together when the AR glasses are assembled).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Holland and provide a device wherein one of the first connecting part and the installation base is provided with a convex block, the other of the first connecting part and the installation base defines a clamping groove, and the convex block is clamped to the clamping groove. Doing so would allow for efficient electrical routing between optical components, thereby improving the overall manufacturability and performance of the optical system.
Regarding claim 19, Shams discloses the near-to-eye display device according to claim 13.
Shams fails to disclose wherein one of the first connecting part and the installation base is provided with a convex block, the other of the first connecting part and the installation base defines a card groove, and the convex block is clamped to the card groove. Shams and Holland are related because both disclose optical systems.
Holland teaches a device wherein one of the first connecting part (Figure 1 depicts: 150, removable frame) and the installation base (Figure 1 depicts: 110, wearable frame) is provided with a convex block ([0029] teaches: pin-like or pogo pin connection; Examiner notes that one portion of this connection is the block and the other part is the clamping groove), the other of the first connecting part and the installation base defines a clamping groove, and the convex block is clamped to the clamping groove ([0029] teaches: pin-like or pogo pin connection; Examiner notes that one portion of this connection is the block and the other part is the clamping groove; the pin-like connections are considered to claim together when the AR glasses are assembled).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Holland and provide a device wherein one of the first connecting part and the installation base is provided with a convex block, the other of the first connecting part and the installation base defines a clamping groove, and the convex block is clamped to the clamping groove. Doing so would allow for efficient electrical routing between optical components, thereby improving the overall manufacturability and performance of the optical system.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shams et al. (US 2023/0027493)in view of Abdollahi et al. (US 9,513,482) in view of Holland et al. (US 2025/0116869), as applied to claim 8 above, in view of in view of Hui et al. (US 2014/0226991).
Regarding claim 9, Shams discloses the near-to-eye display assembly according to claim 8.
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein the clamping groove and a guide groove communicated with the clamping groove are defined on an inner wall surface of the accommodating groove, and the clamping groove is disposed at an angle with an axial direction of the accommodating groove; or the second section defines the clamping groove and a guide groove communicated with the clamping groove, and the clamping groove is disposed at the angle with the axial direction of the accommodating groove. However, choosing an electrical component setup is considered a design choice and well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), and In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Hui teaches in [0023] that locations of components can be arranged to optimize for best optical and electrical performance. Further, providing the claiming groove at an angle relative to the axial direction facilitated guided engagement, gradual insertion, and secure retention of the optical lens during assembly, which are well known mechanical design considerations in groove-based mounting structures. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to design choice to disclose a device wherein the clamping groove and a guide groove communicated with the clamping groove are defined on an inner wall surface of the accommodating groove, and the clamping groove is disposed at an angle with an axial direction of the accommodating groove; or the second section defines the clamping groove and a guide groove communicated with the clamping groove, and the clamping groove is disposed at the angle with the axial direction of the accommodating groove since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable designs by routine experimentation. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the optical electrical component system described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the invention would perform equally well with various setups of electrical components, and success in doing so would have been predictable. Therefore, the claimed use of a a device wherein the clamping groove and a guide groove communicated with the clamping groove are defined on an inner wall surface of the accommodating groove, and the clamping groove is disposed at an angle with an axial direction of the accommodating groove; or the second section defines the clamping groove and a guide groove communicated with the clamping groove, and the clamping groove is disposed at the angle with the axial direction of the accommodating groove represents a routine variation within the skill of the art.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shams et al. (US 2023/0027493), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Tanaka (US 2010/0026970).
Regarding claim 10, Shams discloses the near-to-eye display assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a fixed base installed in the installation groove (annotated Figure A above depicts: bottom of installation groove, therefore considered a fixed base; the term “fixed base” does not require a discrete component and encompasses a fixed structural portion of the installation base that supports and positions the optical engine), the fixed base defines a fixed groove configured for installing the optical engine (Examiner notes that the base defines the bottom of the installation groove; therefore considered the fixed groove), and the fixed groove is further communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber (Examiner notes that the two end of the system connect at the installation groove to communicate between the two halves including the first electrical storing chamber); a second electrical component storing chamber is defined on the installation base (Examiner notes that the other side of the glasses has the 2nd part of the installation base and also another 202, that is considered the second electrical component storing chamber and defined by the 2nd part of the installation base) and communicated with the first electrical component storing chamber (Examiner notes that the two 202’s are considered part of the same circuit and communicate with their respective sides and one another), and the second electrical component storing chamber is further communicated with the fixed groove (Examiner notes that the second electrical component storing chamber is considered communicated with the 2nd portion of the fixed groove on the 2nd part of the installation base).
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein the near-to-eye display assembly further comprises and/or one of an outer wall surface of the fixed base and an inner wall surface of the installation groove is a convex arc surface, the other of the outer wall surface of the fixed base and the inner wall surface of the installation groove is a concave arc surface, and the installation groove is configured to allow the fixed base to rotate in the installation groove, to adjust an out-light angle of the optical engine. However, choosing the means of an attachment to a lens is a design choice and well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), and In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). Tanaka discusses in [0025] attaching an image display device to a lens system, using connecting portions and elastic bodies to conform to the lens surface. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to design choice to disclose a device wherein the near-to-eye display assembly further comprises and/or one of an outer wall surface of the fixed base and an inner wall surface of the installation groove is a convex arc surface, the other of the outer wall surface of the fixed base and the inner wall surface of the installation groove is a concave arc surface, and the installation groove is configured to allow the fixed base to rotate in the installation groove, to adjust an out-light angle of the optical engine since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable designs by routine experimentation. Since applicant has not disclosed that designing the lens attachment mechanism described in the instant application solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover, it appears that the invention would perform equally well with multiple variations of lens attachment devices, and success in doing so would have been predictable. Therefore, the claimed use of a device wherein the near-to-eye display assembly further comprises and/or one of an outer wall surface of the fixed base and an inner wall surface of the installation groove is a convex arc surface, the other of the outer wall surface of the fixed base and the inner wall surface of the installation groove is a concave arc surface, and the installation groove is configured to allow the fixed base to rotate in the installation groove, to adjust an out-light angle of the optical engine represents a routine variation within the skill of the art.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shams et al. (US 2023/0027493), as applied to claim 11 above, in view of Tanaka (US 2010/0026970) in view of Ogishita et al. (US 11,906,749).
Regarding claim 12, Shams discloses the near-to-eye display device according to claim 11, wherein the first connecting part (Figure 1 depicts: 202, connector) of the near-to-eye display assembly is connected to a first side of the optical lens (right hand side of Figure 2 is considered the first side), and the near-to-eye display device further comprises: a second connecting part (Figure 2 depicts: a second 202, connector), opposite to the first connecting part (left hand side of Figure 2) and configured to connect to a second side of the optical lens (left hand side of Figure 2), wherein the first side and the second side of the optical lens are two opposite sides (Examiner notes that the left hand side of Figure 2 and the right hand side of Figure 2 are considered opposite sides).
Shams fails to disclose a device wherein the first connecting part and the second connecting part are configured to grip the optical lens and allow the installation base to move on the optical lens to adjust a position of the optical engine relative to the optical lens, and at least part of the second connecting part is made of a magnetic material. Shams and Tanaka are related because both use optical systems.
Tanaka teaches a device wherein the first connecting part and the second connecting part are configured to grip the optical lens and allow the installation base to move on the optical lens to adjust a position of the optical engine relative to the optical lens ([0025] teaches: 15, clip lugs, joined by a spring, so a stress is imparted on the lugs too two contact positions on both surfaces of 10, eyeglasses to adjust position of 5, image projection part, relative to the eyeglasses).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka and provide a device wherein the first connecting part and the second connecting part are configured to grip the optical lens and allow the installation base to move on the optical lens to adjust a position of the optical engine relative to the optical lens. Doing so would allow for better connection and grip of the base to the optical lens, thereby improving the overall functionality of the optical system.
The modified Shams fails to disclose a device wherein at least part of the second connecting part is made of a magnetic material. Shams and Ogishita are related because both disclose optical systems.
Ogishita teaches a device wherein at least part of the second connecting part is made of a magnetic material (Claim 8 teaches: magnetic attraction is used to connect each respective rear segment to the respective anterior part).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Shams to incorporate the teachings of Ogishita and provide a device wherein at least part of the second connecting part is made of a magnetic material. Doing so would allow for easy connecting, disconnecting and adjusting of the optical system to the base system and glasses, thereby improving the overall durability and functionality of the optical system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to teach “wherein the via comprises a first via and a second via spaced apart from each other, the first via and the second via are respectively configured for the corresponding conductive modules to pass through and be connected to the electrical component; one end of the first via is communicated with the installation groove, and the other end of the first via passes through an outer wall of the second section and is connected to the first wiring groove” along with the structural limitations positively recited in claim 4, 3 and 1 in a manner that would be appropriate under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103 and consistent with search requirements outlined in MPEP § 904.
Claims 6-7 are dependent on claim 5 and therefore allowable for at least the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art fails to teach “wherein the via comprises a first via and a second via spaced apart from each other, the first via and the second via are respectively configured for the corresponding conductive module to pass through and be connected to the electrical component; one end of the first via is communicated with the installation groove, and the other end of the first via passes through an outer wall of the second section and is connected to the first wiring groove” along with the structural limitations positively recited in claim 15, 14 and 11 in a manner that would be appropriate under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or § 103 and consistent with search requirements outlined in MPEP § 904.
Claims 17-18 are dependent on claim 16 and therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Blum et al. (US 2020/0012110), Imagawa (US 2018/0173017), Sugihara (US 2014/0232981), Yamamoto (US 2011/0043436) and Okazaki et al. (US 2006/0203084) all disclose relevant optical systems.
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872