DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Shinnaka fails to disclose that the first fork passing through the claimed communication section in the up-down direction and fails to disclose because Shinnaka discloses an engaging portion. However, applicants arguments are directed to only one embodiment of the Shinnaka. In paragraph 0044 Shinnaka discloses that the device includes “a fork that is used to move an object while supporting it from below”. This is believed to read on the claims as written. Additionally, Shinnaka 2 (same inventor) also discloses a fork which extends between and supports an article from below and moving in the up-down direction (figure 4,7); the fork of Shinnaka 2 must base between the supporting surface and raise the object till its above the supporting structures features before the fork can be retracted with the object on the fork supporting it from below. For at least the foregoing reasons the 102 rejections based on Shinnaka are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinnaka et al. US 2019/0194970.
Shinnaka discloses an article transport facility comprising:
(Re claim 1) “a first transfer device comprising: a first fork configured to support an article from a lower side; a first advancing and retracting mechanism configured to advance and retract the first fork along a first advancing and retracting direction along a horizontal direction; and a first lifting and lowering mechanism configured to lift and lower the first fork” (41, 412, 414, 415, 416, figure 2, ‘a fork that is used to move an object 1 while supporting it from below’ para 0043-0044). “at least one second transfer device comprising: a second fork configured to support the article from the lower side; and a second advancing and retracting mechanism configured to advance and retract the second fork along a second advancing and retracting direction along the horizontal direction” (42, 423, 422 figure 2, para 0045). “the second fork comprises: at least one support section with a supporting surface for supporting the article” (423 figure 2, ‘a pair of support members’ para 0045). “a fork disposition space disposed below the supporting surface such that the first fork projecting along the first advancing and retracting direction is disposed in the fork disposition space” (415, 416, 423 figure 1, para 0044-0045). The first fork 415 is extended between the second forks 423 by mechanism 416, and the first fork 415 is moved vertically by mechanism 414 before the first fork is retracted by mechanism 416. “a communication section allowing the fork disposition space to communicate with an upper space above the supporting surface in an up-down direction” (423 figure 1,2) The space between the rails. “the first fork is passable through the communication section in the up-down direction” (415, 423 figure 2) the first fork 415 fits between the second forks 423. “the at least one support section supports the article with a posture in which a supported surface, of the article, that faces downward intersects with a movement trajectory of the first fork passing through the communication section in the up-down direction” (11, 423, 415 figure 2) article 11 must be held by the first fork 415 above the at least one support section of the second forks 423 before the article is lowered onto the second forks 423.
(Re claim 2) “the at least one support section comprises a pair of support sections apart from each other to be disposed on respective opposite sides in a first width direction across the communication section, and the first width direction is a direction perpendicular to the first advancing and retracting direction in a top-bottom view” (423 figure 1,2).
(Re claim 3) “the second fork comprises: a fork body; and a delivery assist member attached to the fork body; the delivery assist member comprises: the pair of support sections” (423 figure 1,2). “a base section apart downward from the pair of support sections” (422 figure 2). “a pair of connecting sections connecting the pair of support sections to the base section in the up-down direction” (432 figure 2). “the pair of support sections have respective supporting surfaces apart from a top surface of the base section in the up-down direction with a distance larger than a dimension of the first fork in the up-down direction” (423, 415 figure 2). “the pair of connecting sections are apart from each other in the first width direction with a distance larger than a dimension of the first fork in the first width direction” (423, 415 figure 2). “the pair of support sections are apart from each other in the first width direction with a distance larger than the dimension of the first fork in the first width direction; and the fork disposition space is defined by the pair of support sections, the pair of connecting sections, and the base section” (415,423,432 figure 2).
(Re claim 6) “the at least one support section of the second fork and the first fork are configured to deliver or receive the article to or from each other between a pair of fixed members fixed to a floor face and extending in the up-down direction the pair of fixed members are on respective opposite sides in a second width direction across the at least one support section at a delivery position with respective gaps from the at least one support section, the second width direction is a direction perpendicular to the second advancing and retracting direction in a top-bottom view” (22 figure 1,2). “the delivery position is a position of the at least one support section of the second fork at which position the at least one support section delivers or receives the article to or from the first fork; and the second transfer device with the at least one support section being stopped at a reference stopping position is in an arrangement region that does not overlap with a region between the pair of fixed members in the top-bottom view, the reference stopping position being a stopping position of the at least one support section at a time of stopping the second transfer device” (P1 figure 1,4,5).
(Re claim 7) “a transport device configured to move the first transfer device in at least either of the up-down direction and the horizontal direction” (414, 412 figure 2). “the at least one second transfer device comprises a plurality of second transfer devices within a moving range where the first transfer device is moved by the transport device” (para 0003). “each of the plurality of second transfer devices moves the article received from the first fork to a destination determined in advance to correspond to the each of the plurality of second transfer devices, in response to advancing and retracting of the second fork by the second advancing and retracting mechanism” (para 0044-0045). “the second advancing and retracting mechanism of the each of the plurality of second transfer devices advances and retracts the second fork by an advancing and retracting an amount set in accordance with the destination and a position of the each of the plurality of second transfer devices” (11 figure 4,5).
(Re claim 8) “the article is a prayer target object” (para 0028). “the article transport facility further comprises a transport device configured to move the first transfer device in at least either of the up-down direction and the horizontal direction” (414, 412 figure 2). “the at least one second transfer device is at a position corresponding to a praying section where a visitant prays” (3 figure 4-7). “the first transfer device and the transport device are configured to transport the prayer target object between the at least one second transfer device and each of a plurality of storing sections each configured to store the prayer target object” (3,11,21,423,415, figure 2). “the at least one second transfer device is configured to dispose the prayer target object received from the first fork and supported by the at least one support section at an altar position in the praying section in response to advancing and retracting of the second fork by the second advancing and retracting mechanism” (3,11,423 figure 4-7).
(Re claim 9) “a partition wall between the plurality of storing sections and the altar position, and wherein the at least one support section is closer to the praying section than the partition wall is while the at least one support section stops at a reference stopping position, and the reference stopping position is a stopping position of the at least one support section at a time of stopping the at least one second transfer device” (3,6,51,11 figure 2).
(Re claim 10) “wherein the fork disposition space is disposed below the supporting surface such that the first fork projecting along the first advancing and retracting direction is disposed in the fork disposition space while supporting the article from the lower side; and the first fork is passable through the communication section in the up-down direction while supporting the article from the lower side” (415, 416, 423 figure 1, ‘fork … supporting it from below’ para 0044-0045). The first fork 415 is extended between the second forks 423 by mechanism 416, and the first fork 415 is moved vertically by mechanism 414 before the first fork is retracted by mechanism 416.
(Re claim 11) “the first transfer device is configured such that the supporting surface supporting the article on the first fork from the lower side passes through the communication section to transfer the article between the second fork and the first fork; and the communication section is configured to allow the supporting surface of the first fork to pass from a position at which the supporting surface of the first fork is lower than the supporting surface of the second fork to a position at which the supporting surface of the first fork is higher than the supporting surface of the second fork” (415, 416, 423 figure 1, ‘fork … supporting it from below’ para 0044-0045). The first fork 415 is extended between the second forks 423 by mechanism 416, and the first fork 415 is moved vertically by mechanism 414 before the first fork is retracted by mechanism 416.
(Re claim 12) “the at least one support section of the second fork and the first fork are configured to deliver or receive the article to or from each other between a pair of fixed members fixed to a floor face and extending in the up-down direction; the second width direction is a direction perpendicular to the second advancing and retracting direction in a top-bottom view, and the delivery position is a position of the at least one support section of the second fork at which position the at least one support section delivers or receives the article to or from the first fork; the second transfer device is configured to transport the article between the delivery position and a predetermined second position; the pair of mixed members are on respective opposite sides in a second width direction across the at least one support section at a delivery position with respective gaps from the at least one support section; and the second transfer device with the at least one support section being stopped at the second position is in an arrangement region that does not overlap with a region between the pair of fixed members in the top-bottom view” (415, 416, 423 figure 1, ‘fork … supporting it from below’ para 0044-0045). The first fork 415 is extended between the second forks 423 by mechanism 416, and the first fork 415 is moved vertically by mechanism 414 before the first fork is retracted by mechanism 416.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinnaka in view of Shinnaka US 2018/0273293.
Shinnaka discloses the system as rejected above.
Shinnaka does not disclose that the second fork comprises a first guide section attached to the at least one support section to project upward from the supporting surface, the first guide section is configured to guide the article in the horizontal direction while the article is being placed on the supporting surface from above.
Shinnaka ‘293 discloses that the second fork comprises a first guide section attached to the at least one support section to project upward from the supporting surface, the first guide section is configured to guide the article in the horizontal direction while the article is being placed on the supporting surface from above. (33,34 figure 4, para 0038).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Shinnaka to include that the second fork comprises a first guide section attached to the at least one support section to project upward from the supporting surface, the first guide section is configured to guide the article in the horizontal direction while the article is being placed on the supporting surface from above because it helps ensure the article it properly aligned on the second forks and helps ensure the articles stays in place when the first fork is withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The present prior art of record does not disclose or suggest that the pair of fixed members are provided with respective second guide sections attached thereto, the second guide sections are above the first guide section with the at least one support section being at the delivery position and overlap with the respective gaps in the top-bottom view; and the second guide sections are configured to guide the article in the second width direction while the article is being placed on the supporting surface from above the first guide section.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655