DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-12, 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-12, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikhno et al. (US2017/0039706) in view of Fan et al. (“An Automatic Estimation of Arterial Input Function Based on Multi-Stream 3D CNN”) and Liu et al. (US2022/0335665).
To claim 1, Mikhno teach a method for computing an arterial input function from a region of interest (paragraphs 0074), the method comprising:
a) obtaining a plurality of dynamic image data sets comprising volumetric image data from the region of interest over multiple scanning intervals (paragraphs 0101, 0346, 0348, 0455, 0460, 0520, dynamic/time-series PET imaging data);
b) utilizing an artificial neural network (paragraphs 0086, 0428, 0453, machine learning, which obvious for neural network utilization) to segment the plurality of dynamic image data sets displaying one or more arterial input function(s) (AIF) in the region(s) of interest (paragraphs 0325, 0460, automated segmentation techniques);
c) automatically estimating, using artificial intelligence, an arterial input function based on a plurality of dynamic image data sets combined with one or more-time activity curves (TAC) in the region(s) of interest in target organ(s) (paragraphs 0429, 0455-0456, 0460, 0464, 0479, 0484); and
d) computing a pre-trained predictive pharmacokinetic AI model arterial input function using a time activity curve input associated with the region(s) of interest of the target organ(s) (paragraphs 0083, 0454, 0461, 0485, 0532).
But, Mikhno do not expressly disclose said machine learning being a neural network, e) computing an error between the predicted TACs and observed TACs, wherein the error comprises a mean squared error (MSE) with a threshold value; and f) updating parameters of the artificial neural network by back-propagating the error through the pharmacokinetic model, such that the artificial neural network learns an optimized AIF specific to the target organ without prior anatomical labeling; wherein the pre-trained predictive pharmacokinetic AI model is a self-trained or unsupervised machine learning model.
Fan teach a method for computing an arterial input function from a region of interest (abstract), the method comprising: a) obtaining a plurality of dynamic image data sets comprising volumetric image data from the region of interest over multiple scanning intervals (page 2, page 5, Fig. 3); b) utilizing an artificial neural network to segment the plurality of dynamic image data sets displaying one or more arterial input function(s) (AIF) in the region(s) of interest (pages 3-4); c) automatically estimating, using artificial intelligence, an arterial input function based on a plurality of dynamic image data sets in the region(s) of interest in target organ(s); and d) computing a pre-trained predictive AI model arterial input function associated with the region(s) of interest of the target organ(s) (pages 5-9), wherein using the loss function to train/optimize through the pharmacokinetic model, such that the artificial neural network learns an optimized AIF specific to the target organ without prior anatomical labeling; wherein the pre-trained predictive pharmacokinetic AI model is a self-trained or unsupervised machine learning model (page 3, Training; page 9, right column, unsupervised method).
In furthering the loss function in Fan, Liu teach a deep learning method computing an error between the predicted TACs and observed TACs (paragraphs 0035, 0066, comparison between outputs and labels), wherein the error comprises a mean squared error (MSE) with a threshold value (paragraphs 0024-0026, 0052-0053, continuously updating and optimizing until the loss function converges or reaches the max iterations); and updating parameters of the artificial neural network by back-propagating the error (paragraphs 0016, 0062-0063, filtered back project-net).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Fan and Liu into the method of Mikhno, in order to further neural network implementation by design preference.
To claim 19, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach a method for computing an arterial input function (AIF) from a region of interest (ROI) (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 3, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 1.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the artificial neural network in step b) is selected from the group consisting of multi-layer perceptron (MLP), artificial neural network (ANN), convolutional neural network (CNN) and/or 1D convolutional neural network (1D-CNN), recurrent neural network (RNN), long short-term memory recurrent neural network (LSTM-RNN), gated recurrent unit (GRU) network, generative adversarial networks (GANs), deep machine learning, reinforcement learning algorithm and/or combinations thereof (Fan, abstract, CNN).
To claim 4, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 1.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the pre-trained predictive pharmacokinetic AI model in step d) is used to estimate the pharmacokinetic parameters (Mikhno, paragraphs 0101, 0485-0488).
To claim 5, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 4.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the pharmacokinetic modelling is a one tissue compartment model (Mikhno, paragraph 0082).
To claim 6, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 4.
Despite lack of disclosure, wherein the pharmacokinetic AI model can be selected from the group consisting of heart, brain, kidneys, lower extremities and/or combinations thereof would have been obviously recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as a well-known practice in the art (Mikhno, paragraph 0120, teach organs that can be imaged according to the methods described herein include but are not limited to organs such as stomach, lymph nodes, heart, lung, liver, and prostate), which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Mikhno, Fan and Liu into as specified with claimed feature by design preference, hence Official Notice is taken.
To claim7, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 5.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the one tissue compartment model estimates the K1, k2, fractional blood volume, total blood volume and/or combinations thereof (Mikhno, paragraph 0440).
To claim 8, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 1.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the image data is characterized by administering Rb-82, O-15, N-13, Cu-62-PTSM, 99m-Tc-Sestamibi, Tl-201, and/or combinations thereof (Mikhno, paragraphs 0010, 0116).
To claim 9, Mikhno, Fan and Liu claim 1.Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the image-data is characterized by administering Rb-82 in rest and stress PET perfusion imaging to highlight small regional flow defects (Mikhno, paragraph 0455, uses radioactively tagged probes/radioligands for the in vivo quantification of blood flow, obviously perfusion imaging to highlight small regional flow defects is achieved; claimed Rb-82 elution as a radioligands is well-known in the art, which would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate by design preference, hence Official Notice is taken).
To claim 10, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 1.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the imaging agent or radionuclide is administered by an automated generation and infusion system and/or intravenous administration of radiopharmaceuticals produced by fission, neutron activation, cyclotron and/or generator (obvious in Mikhno, paragraphs 0006, 0105, 0117, 0303-0331; Fan, page 3).
To claim 11, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 1.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the automated radioisotope generation and infusion system comprises Rb-82 elution system (Mikhno, paragraphs 0006-0009, administering radioligand to a subject; claimed Rb-82 elution as a radioligands is well-known in the art, which would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate by design preference, hence Official Notice is taken).
To claim 12, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 1.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the pre-trained predictive pharmacokinetic AI model is a self-trained or un-supervised machine learning model (Fan, page 9, right column, unsupervised method).
To claim 15, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 1.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the mean squared error (MSE) is used to determine the reliability of the region of interest (ROI) and derived AIF (Mikhno, paragraph 0502, minimize error; Fan, pages 2-3, Liu, paragraph 0035, AIF ROI estimation, training to minimize loss function).
To claim 16, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 1.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the method further comprises generating a parametric map using a trained AIF-ROI segmentation (Mikhno, paragraph 0460; Fan, pages 4, 6, 9).
To claim 17, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 1.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the method further comprises generating one or more parametric maps using a trained AIF-ROI segmentation in combination with one or more parametric mapping methods (Mikhno, paragraph 0460; Fan, pages 2-6).
To claim 18, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach claim 17.
Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach wherein the one or more parametric mapping methods can be selected from the group consisting of nonlinear least squares regression, basis function method, AI-based model for pharmacokinetic modelling or combinations thereof (Mikhno, paragraph 0480, nonlinear least square minimization).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikhno et al. (US2017/0039706) in view of Fan et al. (“An Automatic Estimation of Arterial Input Function Based on Multi-Stream 3D CNN”), Liu et al. (US2022/0335665) and Khorsand et al. (“Assessment of myocardial perfusion by dynamic N-13 ammonia PET imaging: Comparison of 2 tracer kinetic models”).
To claim 20, Mikhno, Fan and Liu teach a method for computing an arterial input function (AIF) from a region of interest (ROI) (as explained in response to claim 1 above),
wherein the pre-trained predictive pharmacokinetic AI model is used for estimating the associated parameter to estimate mapping (Mikhno, paragraph 0008; Fan, page 7).
But Mikhno, Fan and Liu do not expressly disclose said associated parameter comprising K1, K2 and TBV to estimate myocardial flow reserve (MFR) map and/or coronary flow reserve (CFR) map.
Khorsand teach tracer kinetic model being used for estimating the associated parameter comprising K1, K2 and TBV to estimate myocardial flow reserve (MFR) and/or coronary flow reserve (CFR) (pages 410-417).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Khorsand into the method of Mikhno, Fan and Liu, in order to implement assessment of myocardial perfusion by design preference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 October 19, 2026