Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: reference number “60” and “64” has both been used to designate the second venting chamber in paragraph 0035.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkett (US 2015/0237908) in view of Puvogel (US 4,446,780).
Regarding claim 1, Burkett teaches a food holding and warming cabinet (100) comprising: a housing (105) defining an enclosed interior space (120, 130) for receiving food (para. 0002; 0028-0029; 0033); a first venting chamber (154) adjacent the enclosed interior space and including a first vent between the first venting chamber and the enclosed interior space (as shown in Fig. 6) and a second vent venting the first venting chamber to an ambient environment outside of the cabinet (para. 0033; 0037; 0047; 0053); a duct extending between the first venting chamber and the enclosed interior space (as shown in Fig. 4 and 6-8); a door attached to the housing and moveable between an open position, providing access to the enclosed interior space, and a closed position, preventing access to the enclosed interior space (para. 0032);
a heating system (156, 145) for heating the enclosed interior space including a convection heating component (156) and a radiant heating component (145 and radiant heater of steam generator 162, 190), the convection heating component includes: a first heating element located within the duct (as shown in Fig. 7); and a fan (157) located in the first venting chamber and proximate to the first vent (as shown in Fig. 4 and 6-8); the fan is operable to create negative pressure within the enclosed interior space such that air is circulated through the duct, over the first heating element and into the enclosed interior space (para. 0037); the radiant heating component has a second heating element (145, 146; para. 0038) disposed in the enclosed interior space (as shown in Fig. 3); and a user-operated humidity management system including: a second venting chamber (180) located adjacent to the first venting chamber (as shown in Fig. 4, 6 and 8), the second venting chamber including a third vent from the second venting chamber to the ambient environment outside of the cabinet (as shown in Fig. 6; para. 0033; 0037; 0047; 005); and a baffle member selectively separating the second venting chamber from the first venting chamber, the baffle member is movable between an opened condition where air flow between the first venting chamber and the second venting chamber is allowed and a closed condition where air flow between the first venting chamber and the second venting chamber is prevented (para. 0047; 0052-0053).
Burkett fails to disclose wherein the housing is insulated.
Puvogel teaches a food holding cabinet (1) comprising an insulated housing (Col. 3, lines 44-50; Col. 4, lines 15-19).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Burkett, with Puvogel, by providing an insulated housing, to avoid heat loss. POSITA would have known that providing an insulated housing would have a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results such as retaining heat inside the cabinet to keep prepared foods warm before they are served.
Regarding claim 2, Burkett and Puvogel combined teach the food holding and warming cabinet of claim 1 further comprising a baffle operator (Puvogel; 41, 42; as shown in Fig. 1) connected to the baffle member (Puvogel; 38; as shown in Fig. 4-5); and the first venting chamber includes a chamber wall (Puvogel; 6) with at least one first slot (Puvogel; 37); the baffle member includes at least one second slot (39) and the baffle member is proximate the chamber wall and movable relative to the chamber wall (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 4-5; Col. 5, lines 34-42); wherein in the opened condition the at least one second slot at least partially aligns with the at least one first slot (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 4-5; Col. 5, lines 34-42); wherein in the closed condition the at least one second slot does not align with the at least one first slot (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 4-5; Col. 5, lines 34-42); and wherein the baffle operator is operable to move the baffle member between the opened condition and the closed condition (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 4-5; Col. 5, lines 34-42); obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for opening and closing the vents and therefore control humidity.
Regarding claim 3, Burkett and Puvogel combined teach the food holding and warming cabinet of claim 1 wherein the door further comprises: a door frame (Burkett; inherently present to hold the door in place; para. 0032; 0045; Puvogel; front frame where drawers are slide into as shown in Fig. 1); and a door vent assembly (Puvogel; 38-42) attached to the door frame (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 1, 4 and 5), the door vent assembly comprising: a door vent member (Puvogel; portion where vents 37 are located) with at least one third slot (Puvogel; 37); a door vent baffle member (Puvogel; 38) with at least one fourth slot (Puvogel; 39), the door vent baffle member is proximate the door vent member and movable relative to the door vent member between an opened condition and a closed condition (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 4-5; Col. 5, lines 34-42); wherein in the opened condition the at least one fourth slot at least partially aligns with the at least one third slot (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 4-5; Col. 5, lines 34-42); and wherein in the closed condition the at least one fourth slot does not align with the at least one third slot (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 4-5; Col. 5, lines 34-42).
Regarding claim 4, Burkett and Puvogel combined teach the food holding and warming cabinet of claim 3 wherein the door vent assembly further comprises a door vent body (Puvogel; 40), the door vent baffle member being slidable relative to the door vent body (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 4-5; Col. 5, lines 34-42); and a door vent operator (Puvogel; 42) operable to move the door vent baffle member between the opened condition and the closed condition (Puvogel; as shown in Fig. 1 and 4-5; Col. 5, lines 34-42).
Regarding claim 6, Burkett and Puvogel combined teach the food holding and warming cabinet of claim 1, wherein the humidity management system further comprises a water bath located proximate to the second heating element (Burkett; water bath and radiant heater are inherently present in steam generator 162, 190).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkett and Puvogel as set forth above, and further in view of Shirali (US 2016/0195287).
Regarding claim 5, Burkett and Puvogel combined teach all the elements of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for, further comprising a plurality of wheels attached to a bottom of the housing.
Shirali teaches a food holding and warming cabinet (100) comprising a plurality of wheels (112) attached to a bottom of the housing (as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the food holding and warming cabinet of Burkett and Puvogel, with Shirali, by providing wheels at the bottom of the housing, for mobility reasons. POSITA would have known that providing wheels at the bottom of the housing would have a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results such as allowing mobility of the cabinet for easier relocation.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkett and Puvogel as set forth above, and further in view of WITTIG (US 2020/0121129).
Regarding claim 7, Burkett and Puvogel combined teach all the elements of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for, an arrangement of a plurality of food holding and warming cabinets according to claim 1, wherein a first food holding and warming cabinet of claim 1 is stacked upon a second food holding and warming cabinet of claim 1.
WITTIG teaches an arrangement (1; Fig. 1) of a plurality of food holding and warming cabinets (2), wherein a first food holding and warming cabinet (2) is stacked upon a second food holding and warming cabinet (2) (as shown in Fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the food holding and warming cabinet of Burkett and Puvogel, with WITTIG, by stacking a plurality of food holding and warming cabinets, to increase warming/storing capacity. POSITA would have known that stacking a plurality of food holding and warming cabinets would have a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results such as increasing warming/storing capacity.
Regarding claim 8, Burkett, Puvogel and WITTIG combined teach the arrangement according to claim 7, further comprising a bracket (WITTIG; 7) disposed intermediate the first food holding and warming cabinet of claim 1 and the second food holding and warming cabinet of claim 1 (WITTIG; as shown in Fig. 1-7).
Regarding claim 9, Burkett, Puvogel and WITTIG combined teach the arrangement according to claim 8, wherein the bracket comprises at least one vertical side wall and at least one horizontal flange (WITTIG; as shown in Fig. 7); the bracket is fastened to the first food holding and warming cabinet of claim 1 at the at least one vertical side wall (WITTIG; as shown in Fig. 7); and the bracket is fastened to the second food holding and warming cabinet of claim 1 at the at least one horizontal flange (WITTIG; as shown in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Burkett, Puvogel and WITTIG combined teach the arrangement according to claim 9, wherein the at least one vertical side wall of the bracket includes a fourth vent (WITTIG; vent were cylindrical turbine 8 is located).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. XU (CN 108477982) is considered relevant art in the field of food holding and warming cabinets, as shown in Fig. 1, comprising a food holding and warming cabinet (Fig. 1-2) comprising: a housing (1, 5) defining an enclosed interior space for receiving food (abstract; as shown in Fig. 2); a first venting chamber (chamber formed by 7) adjacent the enclosed interior space and including a first vent (vent of 7) between the first venting chamber and the enclosed interior space (as shown in Fig. 1-2); a duct (duct formed by 6, 12 and 13) extending between the first venting chamber and the enclosed interior space (as shown in Fig. 2); a door (4) attached to the housing and moveable between an open position, providing access to the enclosed interior space, and a closed position, preventing access to the enclosed interior space (as shown in Fig. 2); a heating system (8, 2) for heating the enclosed interior space including a convection heating component (8) and a radiant heating component (2), the convection heating component includes: a first heating element (8) located within the duct (as shown in Fig. 1-2); and a fan (9) located in the first venting chamber and proximate to the first vent (as shown in Fig. 1-2); the fan is operable to create negative pressure within the enclosed interior space such that air is circulated through the duct, over the first heating element and into the enclosed interior space (as shown in Fig. 1-2); the radiant heating component has a second heating element (2) disposed in the enclosed interior space (as shown in Fig. 1-2); and a user-operated humidity management system including: a second venting chamber (3) including a third vent (17-1) from the second venting chamber to the enclosed interior space (as shown in Fig. 2)… but fails to disclose an insulated housing; a second vent venting the first venting chamber to an ambient environment outside of the cabinet; a second venting chamber located adjacent to the first venting chamber, the second venting chamber including a third vent from the second venting chamber to the ambient environment outside of the cabinet; and a baffle member selectively separating the second venting chamber from the first venting chamber, the baffle member is movable between an opened condition where air flow between the first venting chamber and the second venting chamber is allowed and a closed condition where air flow between the first venting chamber and the second venting chamber is prevented.
/ALBA T ROSARIO-APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/15/2026
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761