DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following problems.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "11" and "12" have both been used to designate the free longitudinal end portion.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “12” has been used to designate both end face and free longitudinal end portion.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the present abstract includes legal phraseology “means” throughout the abstract. Also, the examiner suggests the applicant to change the pronoun “its” with a proper noun for clear understanding.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: HIGH-VOLTAGE CONNECTOR HAVING HIGH-VOLTAGE TAB CONTACT WITH TOUCH PROTECTION.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0032], line 4, it seems that a dash in front of “The” should be deleted.
Also, Paragraph [0032], line 4, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “The abovementioned” to -- The above mentioned --.
It seems that a dash in front of “An upper” in Paragraph [0037], line 3 and “Mutual” in Paragraph [0040], line 5 should be deleted.
The examiner advises the applicant to check the entire specification for unnecessary dash line in the beginning of sentences.
Paragraph [0077], lines 3-4, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “the free end portion 11” to -- the free longitudinal end portion 11 --. The examiner suggests the applicant to use the same terminology consistently with the same reference number for clear understanding.
Paragraph [0078], line 4, the examiner suggests the applicant to add the reference number -- 11 -- after “a free longitudinal end portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “Electrical high-voltage” to -- An electrical high-voltage --.
Claim 1, line 10, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “the at least one plug base” to -- the at least one stud-like plug base --. The examiner advises the applicant to use the same terminology consistently throughout the claims for clear understanding.
Claim 2, lines 1 and 7, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “a single plug base” and “the plug base” to -- a single stud-like plug base -- and -- the stud-like plug base --, respectively. Please, check other claims for the same problems.
Claims 2-17, line 1, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “High-voltage” to -- The electrical high-voltage --.
Claim 4, lines 1-2, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “the stud-like plug bases” to -- the plurality of stud-like plug bases --.
Claim 4, line 7, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “said plug bases” to either -- the plug bases -- or -- the stud-like plug bases --. Again, the examiner advises the applicant to use the same terminology consistently throughout the claims for clear understanding.
Claim 18, line 1, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “Method” to -- A method --.
Claim 18, line 2, it seems that “contact means , coming from” should be -- contact means, coming from --.
Claims 19-23, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “Assembly method” to -- The assembly method --.
In the last line of claim 23, “plug socket..” should be -- plug socket. --.
Claim 24, line 1, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “Electrical high-voltage connector” to -- An electrical high-voltage connector --.
Claim 25, line 1, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “High-voltage connector” to -- The electrical high-voltage connector --.
Claim 25, lines 4-5, “a touch protection means” should be -- the tough protection means -- because claim 24, line 6 already recites, “touch protection means”.
Claim 25, line 5, “a free longitudinal end portion” should be -- the free longitudinal end portion -- because claim 24, lines 6-7 already recite, “a free longitudinal end portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 9, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, line 10 recites, “outer plug bases”. It is not clear whether “outer plug bases” is same or different from “outer sides of said plug bases” recited in line 7 because “outer plug bases” can be differentiate from “inner plug bases”. However, “outer sides of said plug bases” means the sides of the plug bases located on out side of the plug bases.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the clamping slot" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not recite, “a clamping slot”.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the high-voltage terminal" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 18 does not recite, “a high-voltage terminal”. Also, this high-voltage terminal does not have any structural relationship with “a high-voltage electrical connector” recited in claim 18.
Claim 23, line 2 recites, “an electrical high-voltage tab contact means”; line 3 recites, “an electrically insulating touch protection means”; and line 4 recites, “a free longitudinal end portion”. However, these three elements are already recited in claim 18 where claim 23 is depended on. Therefore, it is not clear whether claim 23 is introducing three new elements or reciting the same three elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, 18-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Natter et al (US 8,951,051 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Natter discloses an electrical high-voltage tab terminal for a high-voltage connector (see column 1, under TECHNICAL FIELD, lines 5-8) comprising: an electrical high-voltage tab contact means 12 extending in a longitudinal direction (see Fig. 1); and an electrically insulating touch protection means 14 provided on a free longitudinal end portion 16 of the high-voltage tab contact means 12; wherein the high-voltage tab contact means 12 has, in the free longitudinal end portion 16, at least one stud-like plug base (Figure 1 shows the free longitudinal end portion 16 forming just one plug base) arranged in a width direction of the high-voltage tab contact means 2, and wherein the touch protection means 14 has at least one plug socket 90 which is at least partially complementary thereto, the at least one plug base 16 being plugged together with the at least one plug socket 90.
Regarding claim 2, a single plug base 16 (see Fig. 1); projects away from an end face of the high-voltage tab contact means 12and the end face delimits the free longitudinal end portion 16 on the inside of the high-voltage tab contact means 12, is offset inwards from the four longitudinal sides of the high-voltage tab contact means 12 on at least one side, at least two sides, at least three sides or four sides, and/or tapers conically on at least one side, at least two sides, at least three sides or four sides in the direction of a free end of the plug base (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, in a transition region of the high-voltage tab terminal from the touch protection means 14 to the high-voltage tab contact means 12, in the high-voltage tab terminal, the touch protection means 14 is aligned on at least one side, at least two sides, at least three sides or four sides substantially flush with longitudinal sides of the high-voltage tab contact means 12 adjoining the touch protection means 14 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, the touch protection means 14 is pressed, latched with the high-voltage tab contact means 12, and/or the high-voltage tab terminal is designed such that main retaining forces between the touch protection means 14 and the high-voltage tab contact means 12 only act in the width direction and/or substantially cancel each other out in the width direction (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 10, outer edge areas, which are opposite each other and completely encircle the longitudinal direction, of an outward-facing inner end face of the high-voltage tab contact means 12 and of an inward-facing outer end face of the touch protection means 14, are arranged in the high-voltage tab terminal mainly or substantially congruent (see Fig. 2), substantially parallel, substantially form-fittingly against each other and/or directly adjacently to each other via a narrow slot.
Regarding claim 11, the high-voltage tab terminal is designed as a straight high-voltage tab terminal fixedly closed component (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 18, Natter discloses a method for assembling a high-voltage electrical connector comprising: inserting at least one high-voltage contact means 152, coming from one side, into an electrically insulating connector housing 154, which is open there (see Fig. 10); and centering the high voltage contact means 152 in the connector housing 154; wherein when the high-voltage contact means 152 is moved forward into a final assembly position in the connector housing 154, a touch protection means 164 arranged in the connector housing 154 is plug-assembled on a free longitudinal end portion of the high-voltage contact means 152.
Regarding claim 19, when the high-voltage contact means 152 is moved forward; the touch protection means 164 is push-on mounted and/or plugin mounted at the high-voltage contact means 152, the high-voltage contact means 152 fixed in the connector housing 154 for the final assembly position.
Regarding claim 20, during the plug assembly 150; a press-fit connection, a latching connection is established between the touch protection means 164 and the high-voltage contact means 152, the touch protection means 164 arranged in the connector housing 154 is released from a connection to the connector housing 154, and/or the touch protection means 164 is entrained into the connector housing 154 by a forward movement of the high-voltage contact means 152.
Regarding claim 21, wherein the connection is designed as nonintegral connection and form-fit connection between the touch protection means 164 and the connector housing 154.
Regarding claim 23, the high-voltage terminal is designed as a high-voltage tab terminal including an electrical high-voltage tab contact means 152 extending in a longitudinal direction and an electrically insulating touch protection means 164 provided on a free longitudinal end portion of the high-voltage tab contact means 152, wherein the high-voltage tab contact means 152 has, in the free longitudinal end portion, at least one stud-like plug base (see 16 in Fig. 1) arranged in a width direction of the high-voltage tab contact means 12, and wherein the touch protection means 14 has at least one plug socket 90 which is at least partially complementary thereto, the at least one plug base 16 being plugged together with the at least one plug socket 90.
Regarding claim 24, Natter discloses an electrical high-voltage connector for an electrical high-voltage connection comprising: an electrically insulating connector housing 154; and at least one electrical high-voltage terminal accommodated therein, wherein the high-voltage terminal includes an electrical high-voltage tab contact means 152 extending in a longitudinal direction and an electrically insulating touch protection means 164 provided on a free longitudinal end portion of the high-voltage tab contact means 152, wherein the high-voltage tab contact means 152 has, in the free longitudinal end portion, at least one stud-like plug base 16 (see Fig. 1) arranged in a width direction of the high-voltage tab contact means 152, and wherein the touch protection means 164 has at least one plug socket 90 (see Fig. 1) which is at least partially complementary thereto, the at least one plug base 16 being plugged together with the at least one plug socket 90.
Regarding claim 25, the high-voltage terminal is inserted into the electrically insulating connector housing 154, coming from one side, and the high voltage terminal is centered in the connector housing 154; wherein when the high-voltage contact means 152 is moved forward into a final assembly position in the connector housing 154, a touch protection means 164 arranged in the connector housing 154 is plug-assembled on a free longitudinal end portion of the high-voltage contact means 152.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natter et al (US 8,951,051 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Natter discloses the high-voltage tab contact means 12, in the free longitudinal end portion, having just one stud-like plug base 16 and touch protection means 14 having just one plug socket 90 where the plug base 16 is plugged together with the plug sockets 90.
However, Natter does not disclose the high-voltage tab contact means having a plurality of stud-like plug bases arranged in the width direction of the high-voltage tab contact means, and the touch protection means has a plurality of plug sockets which are at least partially complementary thereto.
On the other hand, making just one plug base or a plurality of plug bases and making just one plug socket or a plurality of plug sockets are only dealing with making one piece of element into many pieces of elements, which does not affect or change the function of the plug base and the plug socket.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the plug base and the plug socket taught by Natter such that they would have a plurality of plug bases and a plurality of plug sockets as taught by the instant invention because this modification only deals with duplication of making the plurality of plug bases and plug sockets, which does not affect or change the functions of the plug bases and the plug sockets. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 22, Natter discloses the touch protection means 164 being released from the connector housing 154 by moving the high-voltage contact means 152 forward in the direction of the final assembly position.
However, Natter does not disclose the touch protection means 164 being detached from the connector housing 154 by means of a tool, in particular a cutting tool.
On the other hand, it is common knowledge that many cutting tools are available to use for cutting purpose.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch protection means taught by Natter such that it would be detached from the connector housing by the use of a cutting tool as taught by the instant invention because it is common knowledge that many cutting tools are available to use for cutting purpose.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8 and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/hmh/
/Hae Moon Hyeon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831