DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the terms “cell frame” and “frame” in lines 2-3 is indefinite as it is unclear whether the “frame” is another frame or the same frame as the “cell frame”.
Regarding claim 2, the term “frame” in line 5 is indefinite as it is unclear if it is the “frame” or “cell frame” from claim 1.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as the “frame” being the same as the “cell frame” which is consistent with applicant’s definition of “cell frame” and “frame” and in Fig. 1 of instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US20140287338A1) in view of Arges et al. (US20150349368A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses a fuel cell (See annotated Fig. 1 below), comprising:
a cell frame (Fig. 1, resin frame member 24 coupled to anode 20 and cathode 22) coupled to an electricity generating assembly (EGA) (See annotated Fig. 2 below, EGA comprising of anode 20, cathode 22, and electrolyte membrane 18. Note Fig. 2 is a cross-sectional view along line II of Fig. 1) and a frame (Fig. 1, resin frame member 24);
a plurality of separators stacked on both sides of the cell frame (Fig. 1, first separator 14 and second separator 16), respectively, each separator comprising a reaction surface on a first side ([0044] first separator 14 has fuel gas flow field 42 on its surface and [0042] second separator has oxygen-containing gas flow field 36 on its surface) facing the cell frame (See Fig 1. Note reaction surfaces as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of facing in Fig. 1 of instant application), a cooling surface on a second side configured to flow cooling medium therethrough (Fig. 1, coolant flow field 48), a manifold hole (Fig. 1, gas supply passage 30a, gas discharge passage 30b, coolant discharge passage 32b, or coolant supply passage 32a) on an end (See Fig. 1, where 30a, 30b, 32a, and 32b are all on an end of a separator) configured to flow cooling medium therethrough (See Fig. 1, coolant flow field 48 arrows flow through manifolds), and a cooling medium guide part (Fig. 1, inlet connection channel 40a and [0044] inlet connection channel 46a. Note 46a is not displayed on Fig. 1) extending from the manifold hole ([0042] 40a extending from 30a and [0044] 46a extending from 34a) and having a guide part area (Fig. 1, guide part area. Note guide part area is present for 46a as well);
a plurality of support protrusions ([0042] 40a including plurality of grooves and [0044] 46a including plurality of grooves) protruding from the guide part ([0042] groves extending from 30a and [0044] groves extending from 34a) of each of the separators ([0044] first separator has inlet connection channel 46a and [0042] second separator has inlet connection channel 40a) toward the cooling surface ([0045] coolant flow field 48 formed between separator 14 and separator 16. Note if the grooves extend from the guide part and the coolant flow field is in between both guide parts, then the protrusions are necessarily toward the cooling surface), spaced apart from each other (See Fig. 1, inlet connection channel 40a containing groves in the guide area spaced apart), and including a cooling medium flow field between the spaced protrusions ([0045] coolant flow field 48 formed between separator 14 and separator 16); and
an adhesive medium (Fig. 2, adhesive 25) disposed between the cell frame (See Fig. 2, adhesive 25 between resin frame member 24) and the reaction surface on the guide part of each of the separators (See Fig. 2, adhesive 25 between resin frame and separator 16 which contains the guide part) to provide a coupling force to each of the separators and the cell frame, such that the adhesive medium does not overlap the plurality of support protrusions on the guide part (See Fig. 2, adhesive 25 does not overlap with the separators 14 and 16 of which the support protrusions are part of).
Tanaka does not disclose that the fuel cell is a unitized fuel cell.
Arges discloses a unitized fuel cell ([0013] unitized membrane electrode assembly). Arges also discloses that a unitized fuel cell is able to generate both electric power and hydrogen fuel in which the water produced from fuel cell operation is used in the water electrolyzer operation and the hydrogen fuel from the water electrolyzer operation is used in the fuel cell operation ([0015]).
Tanaka and Arges are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cells.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fuel cell of Tanaka such that the fuel cell is a unitized fuel cell as taught by Arges in order to generate both electric power and hydrogen fuel in which the water produced from fuel cell operation is used in the water electrolyzer operation and the hydrogen fuel from the water electrolyzer operation is used in the fuel cell operation.
Regarding claim 2, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 1 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein the EGA comprises an electrolyte membrane (18), an electrode (20 or 22), and a gas diffusion layer (Fig. 1, gas diffusion layer 20b), the electrolyte membrane, the electrode, and the gas diffusion layer being coupled together (See Fig. 1. Note electrolyte membrane, electrode, and gas diffusion layer as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of coupled in Fig. 1 of instant application),
wherein the frame comprises a plastic material (Fig. 1, frame member 24 made from resin), and wherein the EGA and the frame are integrally coupled to form the cell frame (See Fig. 1. Note EGA and frame as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of integrally coupled in Fig. 1 of instant application).
Regarding claim 3, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 1 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein the cell frame (24) and each of the separators (14 and 16) are integrally coupled using the adhesive medium (See Fig. 2. Note cell frame, separators, and adhesive as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of integrally coupled in Fig. 6 of instant application).
Regarding claim 4, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 1 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein the plurality of support protrusions (40a and 46a) are arranged to be spaced apart from each other ([0044] 46a extends from 34a and [0042] 40a extends from 30a. Note since protrusions extend from different manifolds, they are spaced apart from each other) along a direction intersecting a flow direction of cooling medium through the guide part (See Fig. 2, flow direction of the cooling medium in the C direction. Note support protrusions and flow direction as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of intersecting in Fig. 6 of instant application)
Regarding claim 5, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 1 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein the plurality of support protrusions (40a and 46a) are arranged along a direction intersecting a flow direction of cooling medium through the guide part (See Fig. 2, flow direction of the cooling medium in the C direction. Note support protrusions and flow direction as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of intersecting in Fig. 6 of instant application), the plurality of support protrusions being spaced apart from each other to form a layer (See Fig. 1. Note support protrusions as shown arranged and spaced similar to applicants’ definition of a layer in Fig. 6 of instant application where they are in the same plane), and a plurality of the layers are arranged along the flow direction of cooling medium and spaced apart from each other (See Fig. 1, layers along the C direction).
Regarding claim 6, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 5 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein cooling medium flow fields (48) formed in adjacent layers (See Fig. 2 coolant flow fields 48 are formed in adjacent layers. Note coolant flow fields as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of adjacent in Fig. 4 of instant application) are arranged to be aligned along the direction in which cooling medium flows (See Fig. 2. Note flow fields and flow direction as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of a layer in Fig. 6 of instant application).
Regarding claim 11, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 1 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein each of the separators (14 and 16) is made of a metal material ([0025] separators made of metal plates), and the support protrusions (40a and 46a) are formed and molded so that points of the guide part protrude ([0044] 46a extends from 34a and [0042] 40a extends from 30a) toward the cooling surface ([0045] coolant flow field 48 formed between separator 14 and separator 16. Note if the grooves extend from the guide part and the coolant flow field is in between both guide parts, then the protrusions are necessarily protruding toward the cooling surface))
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US20140287338A1) and Arges et al. (US20150349368A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (KR20170076513A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 7, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 1 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein the adhesive medium is formed in a direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium (See Fig. 2, flow direction of the cooling medium in the C direction. Note support protrusions and flow direction as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of intersecting in Fig. 6 of instant application).
Modified Tanaka does not disclose wherein the adhesive medium has a shape of a line.
Yoon discloses an electrode with an adhesive ([0073]) in which the adhesive medium has a shape of a line ([0069] adhesive lines L1 and L2). Yoon also discloses that the adhesive lines prevent the electrolytic solution from flowing out.
Yoon is analogous prior art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electrodes with adhesives.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adhesive medium of modified Tanaka such that the adhesive medium has a shape of a line in order to prevent the electrolytic solution from flowing out.
Regarding claim 8, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 1 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein the plurality of support protrusions (40a and 46a) are arranged along a direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium through the guide part (See Fig. 2, flow direction of the cooling medium in the C direction. Note support protrusions and flow direction as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of intersecting in Fig. 6 of instant application), the plurality of support protrusions being spaced apart from each other to form a layer (See Fig. 1. Note support protrusions as shown arranged and spaced similar to applicants’ definition of a layer in Fig. 6 of instant application where they are in the same plane), and the adhesive medium is formed in a direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium (See Fig. 2, flow direction of the cooling medium in the C direction. Note support protrusions and flow direction as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of intersecting in Fig. 6 of instant application).
Modified Tanaka does not disclose wherein the adhesive medium has a shape of a line.
Yoon discloses an electrode with an adhesive ([0073]) in which the adhesive medium has a shape of a line ([0069] adhesive lines L1 and L2). Yoon also discloses that the adhesive lines prevent the electrolytic solution from flowing out.
Yoon is analogous prior art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electrodes with adhesives.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adhesive medium of modified Tanaka such that the adhesive medium has a shape of a line in order to prevent the electrolytic solution from flowing out.
Regarding claim 9, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 1 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), wherein the plurality of support protrusions (40a and 46a) are arranged along a direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium through the guide part (See Fig. 2, flow direction of the cooling medium in the C direction. Note support protrusions and flow direction as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of intersecting in Fig. 6 of instant application), the plurality of support protrusions being spaced apart from each other to form a plurality of layers (See Fig. 1. Note support protrusions as shown arranged and spaced similar to applicants’ definition of a layer in Fig. 6 of instant application where they are in the same plane), the plurality of layers being arranged along the flow direction of cooling medium and spaced apart from each other (See Fig. 1, layers along the C direction), and the adhesive medium is formed in a direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium (See Fig. 2, flow direction of the cooling medium in the C direction. Note support protrusions and flow direction as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of intersecting in Fig. 6 of instant application).
Modified Tanaka does not disclose wherein the adhesive medium has a shape of a line.
Yoon discloses an electrode with an adhesive ([0073]) in which the adhesive medium has a shape of a line ([0069] adhesive lines L1 and L2). Yoon also discloses that the adhesive lines prevent the electrolytic solution from flowing out.
Yoon is analogous prior art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electrodes with adhesives.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adhesive medium of modified Tanaka such that the adhesive medium has a shape of a line in order to prevent the electrolytic solution from flowing out.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US20140287338A1) and Arges et al. (US20150349368A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yoon et al. (KR20170076513A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action), Xu et al. (CN111029611A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action), and Nonoyama (CN112582637A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 10, modified Tanaka discloses the cell of claim 1 (See annotated Fig. 1 above), but does not disclose wherein the plurality of support protrusions are arranged to be offset from each other along a direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium through the guide part forming a zigzag-shaped layer, and the adhesive medium having a shape of a line formed along the direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium in a zigzag shape to avoid the support protrusions.
Yoon discloses an electrode with an adhesive ([0073]) in which the adhesive medium has a shape of a line ([0069] adhesive lines L1 and L2). Yoon also discloses that the adhesive lines prevent the electrolytic solution from flowing out.
Yoon is analogous prior art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely electrodes with adhesives.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the adhesive medium of modified Tanaka such that the adhesive medium has a shape of a line in order to prevent the electrolytic solution from flowing out.
Xu discloses a fuel cell in which the plurality of support protrusions ([0087-00088] turbulence protrusions) are arranged to be offset ([0088] staggered) from each other along a direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium ([0089-0090] flow perpendicular to the material flow direction) forming a zigzag-shaped layer ([0088] staggered). Xu also discloses that when the protrusions are staggered, the uniformity of material distribution is improved to benefit thermal management and fuel cell performance ([0091-0092]).
Xu is analogous prior art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cells.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the position of the plurality of support protrusions of modified Tanaka such that the plurality of support protrusions are arranged to be offset from each other along a direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium through the guide part forming a zigzag-shaped layer as taught by Xu in order to improve the uniformity of material distribution to benefit thermal management and fuel cell performance.
Nonoyama discloses a fuel cell in which the adhesive medium ([0569] bonding layer) avoids the support protrusions ([0569] prevent from entering the reaction gas flow path). Nonoyama also discloses that when the adhesive layer is isolated, it can achieve the same high mechanical strength without blocking the reaction gas flow path ([0570-0571]).
Nonoyama is analogous prior art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely fuel cells.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the shape of the adhesive medium of modified Tanaka such that the adhesive medium having a shape of a line formed along the direction intersecting the flow direction of cooling medium in a zigzag shape to avoid the support protrusions as taught by Nonoyama in order to result in the adhesive medium having the high mechanical strength without blocking the reaction gas flow path.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inoue et al. (US20190296384A1) discloses a fuel cell stack in which an adhesive is formed between the surfaces of the resin frame member ([0106]).
/DAN NGUYEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754