DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230062805 A1 (BAEK et al.)(hereinafter BAEK).
In re claims 1 and 11, BAEK discloses a method and an apparatus (Fig. 13, [0016], “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a method of transmitting a pre-configured PRS for sidelink positioning and an apparatus therefor”) comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 19:102); and at least one memory (Fig. 19:104) including computer program code which, when executed by the at least one processor ([0278], “For example, the memory(s) 104 may store software code including commands for performing a part or the entirety of processes controlled by the processors 102”), causes the apparatus to:
transmit, to one or more second terminal devices, a first sidelink signal comprising control information relating to a positioning procedure of a first terminal device (Fig. 9b, [0021], “According to an aspect, a method of performing on-demand positioning by a positioning user equipment (UE) in a new radio-vehicle to everything (NR-V2X) communication system includes transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through a sidelink channel”. [0188], “A resource for positioning may include a resource for sidelink positioning control information (SPCI) indicating positioning control information and a PSFCH-PRS resource for PRS transmission”. [0193], “A PRS for the on-demand positioning may include a request PRS and a response PRS”), and
receive, from at least one of said one or more second terminal devices, a second sidelink signal comprising at least part of said control information, wherein said second sidelink signal further comprises information relating to transmission of a positioning signal by said respective second terminal device for said positioning procedure ([0021], “According to an aspect, a method of performing on-demand positioning by a positioning user equipment (UE) in a new radio-vehicle to everything (NR-V2X) communication system includes transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through a sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel, receiving a measurement result related to the request PRS from the neighbor UE, and performing positioning based on the response PRS and the measurement result, wherein the positioning UE transmits resource allocation information for transmission of the response PRS related to the request PRS to the neighbor UE and receives the measurement result through a resource for V2X data transmission”. [0236], “The positioning UE may perform positioning on at least one of an ego UE or a neighbor UE based on the Rx-Tx time difference (RTTD) information measured after the response PRS is received and the received measurement result (S1350)”. [0206], “For example, referring to Fig. 12 (a), in the case of n=2, a UE (or gNB/UE-type RSU), i.e., a neighbor UE, which receives a request PRS transmitted from one UE (or gNB/UE-type RSU), i.e., a positioning UE, may transmit a response PRS related to the corresponding request PRS when 2 slots elapse from a time point of transmitting the corresponding request PRS”).
In re claims 2 and 12, BAEK discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11, wherein said control information comprises a resource block reservation for said positioning signals ([0216], “Hereinafter, an on-demand positioning procedure and a broadcast positioning procedure in terms of PRS transmission for sidelink positioning will be described. In this case, resource reservation for PRS transmission may be performed through a slot reservation process for V2X data”. [0221], “The PSFCH-PRS resource reservation process and the PRS ID reservation process in the positioning UE may be sequentially or simultaneously performed, and the PSFCH-PRS resource reservation information and reservation information for the PRS ID may be included in SCI of a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH and may be transmitted to a neighbor UE”).
In re claims 3 and 13, BAEK discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11, wherein said control information further comprises a priority of said positioning procedure ([0018], “Another object of the present disclosure is to provide a method of transmitted a pre-configured PRS for sidelink positioning and an apparatus therefor for minimizing transmission delay for positioning data to improve positioning performance by dynamically determining a V2X data resource for transmission of the positioning result according to pre-configured PRS resource allocation information and a positioning priority in the NR-V2X positioning system”. [0132], “For example, in NR resource allocation mode 2, UE1 may indicate the priority of SL transmission to UE2 by SCI...
For example, the SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of SL transmission indicated by the SCI received from UE1 by UE2 and the priority of SL transmission in the resources selected by UE2”).
In re claims 4 and 14, BAEK discloses the apparatus according to claim 3 and the method according to claim 13, wherein said priority of said positioning procedure is a function of a number of said second terminal devices ([0255], “According to an embodiment, the neighbor UE may reserve (or preoccupy) a slot for differentially transmitting the positioning result according to a positioning priority level. For example, when a positioning priority level is 1, the neighbor UE may reserve (or occupy) a first slot (i.e., a next slot) after a response PRS slot to transmit the positioning result, and when the positioning priority level is 2, the neighbor UE may reserve (or occupy) a second slot after the response PRS slot to transmit the positioning result”).
In re claims 5 and 15, BAEK discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11, wherein said first sidelink signal further comprises information relating to transmission of a second positioning signal by said first terminal device for said positioning procedure ([0174], “In the case of NR-V2X mode-2, a PSFCH-PRS resource and a PRS ID to be reserved by the positioning UE may be detected through a process of analyzing 1st-stage SCI of the PSCCH and/or 2nd-stage SCI of the PSSCH, which are received (or sensed) from a neighbor UE”).
In re claims 6 and 16, BAEK discloses the apparatus according to claim 5 and the method according to claim 15, wherein the at least one processor; and the at least one memory including computer program code which, when executed by the at least one processor, further causes the apparatus to: transmit, to one or more of said second terminal devices, said second positioning signal ([0156], “In various embodiments of the present disclosure, since the transmitting UE may transmit at least one of the SCI, the first SCI, or the second SCI to the receiving UE on the PSCCH, the PSCCH may be replaced with at least one of the SCI, the first SCI, or the second SCI. Additionally or alternatively, for example, the SCI may be replaced with at least one of the PSCCH, the first SCI, or the second SCI. Additionally or alternatively, for example, since the transmitting UE may transmit the second SCI to the receiving UE on the PSSCH, the PSSCH may be replaced with the second SCI”).
In re claims 7 and 17, BAEK discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11, wherein said positioning procedure information further comprises time slots reservations for transmission of each of said positioning signals ([0216], “Hereinafter, an on-demand positioning procedure and a broadcast positioning procedure in terms of PRS transmission for sidelink positioning will be described. In this case, resource reservation for PRS transmission may be performed through a slot reservation process for V2X data. In contrast, when a PSFCH-PRS resource for PRS transmission is preconfigured or reserved, PRS transmission may be performed in a slot for V2X data transmission or may be performed in a different slot from the slot for V2X data transmission”).
In re claims 8 and 18, BAEK discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11, wherein said first and/or second sidelink signal further comprises information relating to identification of said respective second terminal device and/or identification of said first terminal device ([0221], “The PSFCH-PRS resource reservation process and the PRS ID reservation process in the positioning UE may be sequentially or simultaneously performed, and the PSFCH-PRS resource reservation information and reservation information for the PRS ID may be included in SCI of a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH and may be transmitted to a neighbor UE”).
In re claims 9 and 19, BAEK discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11, wherein the at least one processor; and the at least one memory including computer program code which, when executed by the at least one processor, further causes the apparatus to: receive, from one or more of said second terminal devices, said respective positioning signal(s) (Fig. 14, [0226], “The positioning UE may receive the response PRS from at least one neighbor UE in response to the transmitted request PRS”. [0238], “FIG. 14 is a diagram for explaining a method of transmitting a response PRS by a neighbor UE when a V2X data slot is pre-reserved at a time when a response PRS needs to be transmitted according to an embodiment”).
In re claim 10, BAEK discloses an apparatus (Fig. 20, [0016], “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a method of transmitting a pre-configured PRS for sidelink positioning and an apparatus therefor”) comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 19:202); and at least one memory (Fig. 19: 204) including computer program code which, when executed by the at least one processor ([0278], “For example, the memory(s) 104 may store software code including commands for performing a part or the entirety of processes controlled by the processor (s) 102”), causes the apparatus to:
receive a first sidelink signal comprising control information relating to a positioning procedure of a first terminal device (Fig. 9b, [0021], “transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through a sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel” (transmitting by first UE, receiving by neighboring UE). [0188], “A resource for positioning may include a resource for sidelink positioning control information (SPCI) indicating positioning control information and a PSFCH-PRS resource for PRS transmission”. [0193], “A PRS for the on-demand positioning may include a request PRS and a response PRS”), and
transmit a second sidelink signal comprising at least part of said control information, wherein said second sidelink signal further comprises information relating to transmission of a positioning signal by said respective second terminal device for said positioning procedure ([0021], “According to an aspect, a method of performing on-demand positioning by a positioning user equipment (UE) in a new radio-vehicle to everything (NR-V2X) communication system includes transmitting a request positioning reference signal (PRS) through a sidelink channel, receiving a response PRS related to the request PRS from a neighbor UE through the sidelink channel, receiving a measurement result related to the request PRS from the neighbor UE, and performing positioning based on the response PRS and the measurement result, wherein the positioning UE transmits resource allocation information for transmission of the response PRS related to the request PRS to the neighbor UE and receives the measurement result through a resource for V2X data transmission”. [0236], “The positioning UE may perform positioning on at least one of an ego UE or a neighbor UE based on the Rx-Tx time difference (RTTD) information measured after the response PRS is received and the received measurement result (S1350)”. [0206], “For example, referring to Fig. 12 (a), in the case of n=2, a UE (or gNB/UE-type RSU), i.e., a neighbor UE, which receives a request PRS transmitted from one UE (or gNB/UE-type RSU), i.e., a positioning UE, may transmit a response PRS related to the corresponding request PRS when 2 slots elapse from a time point of transmitting the corresponding request PRS”).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649