DETAILED ACTION
Comments
The Amendment – After Non-Final Rejection filed on June 24, 2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gifford et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0300093) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0180105).
As to claim 1, Gifford et al. teaches a barcode-reading device (i.e., “mobile device 10”, Paragraph [0040]), comprising:
a camera that is configured to capture images (i.e., “camera 7 may include those components as needed to record (also referred to as “capture”) images of items such as a barcode”, Paragraph [0049]);
one or more processors (i.e., “at least one central processing unit (CPU) 26”, Paragraph [0042]);
memory that is communicatively coupled to the one or more processors (i.e., “memory 21”, Paragraph [0042]; and Paragraphs [0047]-[0048]);
a decoder (i.e., “decoder software 217”, Paragraph [0091]) that is stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to process captured images to decode barcodes (i.e., “The decoder software includes the executable instructions for transforming the barcode image data represented by the electrical signals into an encoded ASCII character data string”, Paragraph [0093]); and
a pre-processing module (i.e., “scanning software 214”, Paragraph [0092]) that is executable by the one or more processors to dynamically determine a region of interest (ROI) for at least some of the captured images (i.e., “The scanning software 214 will receive data from the camera 7 and evaluate the received data for presence of a barcode. The evaluation may include identification of the shifted field of view (SFOV) 52, the scan area 56”, Paragraph [0092]), wherein the ROI indicates what portion of a captured image is passed to the decoder for processing (i.e., “A scan area 56 is maintained within the shifted field of view (SFOV) 52. Generally, the scan area 56 is a region of the shifted field of view (SFOV) 52 that is used by the software 22 to look for a barcode”, Paragraph [0066]), and wherein the pre-processing module dynamically determines the ROI for a captured image based at least in part on recognizing a specific type of decoding marker from a plurality of different types of decoding markers in the captured image (See for example, “FIG. 4, are depictions of embodiments of possible light patterns produced by the mobile device”, Paragraph [0017]; “the software 22 begins processing images collected from the camera 7 on a continuing basis. When the light pattern 55 is appropriately manifested within the scan area 56, the software 22 identifies a focal point 57 (shown in FIG. 5C). In this example, the focal point 57 is centered within the scan area 56”, Paragraph [0068]).
However, Gifford et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-processing module selecting an ROI definition that is associated with the specific type of decoding marker from a plurality of different ROI definitions.
Chen et al. teaches a pre-processing module (i.e., “processing circuitry 310, 312”, Paragraph [0045]) that dynamically determines the ROI for a captured image (i.e., “ROI 398”, Paragraph [0024]; and “The execution of the method 100 then proceeds to third step 130 of determining a ROI 398 in the image”, Paragraph [0048]) based at least in part on recognizing a specific type of decoding marker (i.e., “tag 399”, Paragraph [0027]; and “the image is searched for the presence of any tag 399 that complies with a predefined format”, Paragraph [0047]) from a plurality of different types of decoding markers in the captured image (i.e., “The coding may be in accordance with a one-dimensional (linear) or two-dimensional (matrix) barcode system, such as EAN, UPC, 16K, QR, Aztec, Data Matrix, DotCode, HCCB, photoTAN, PDF417, SnapTag, AprilTags and SPARQCode”, Paragraph [0027]) and selecting an ROI definition (i.e., “a size indication and a relative position indication relating to the ROI 398”, Paragraph [0027]) that is associated with the specific type of decoding marker from a plurality of different ROI definitions (i.e., ROI information for each tag of a predefined format such as EAN, UPC, 16K, QR, Aztec, Data Matrix, DotCode, HCCB, photoTAN, PDF417, SnapTag, AprilTags and SPARQCode. See for example, Paragraphs [0009], [0011], and [0069]).
Gifford et al. and Chen et al. are analogous art because they are from the field of digital image processing for the identification of a region of interest.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gifford et al. by incorporating the pre-processing module dynamically determines the ROI for a captured image based at least in part on recognizing a specific type of decoding marker from a plurality of different types of decoding markers in the captured image and selecting an ROI definition that is associated with the specific type of decoding marker from a plurality of different ROI definitions, as taught by Chen et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to find the ROI in the captured image by not depending critically on accurate distance measuring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chen et al. with Gifford et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As to claim 3, Gifford et al. teaches the barcode-reading device comprises one or more aiming light sources (i.e., “lamp 9”, Paragraph [0040]; and “Lamp 9 may be a light emitting diode (LED)”, Paragraph [0043]); and the decoding marker is a light beam that is projected onto the barcode by the one or more aiming light sources (See for example, “some example patterns that may be disposed in the grating 36 include parallel slits, a substantially rectangular array of holes, a rectangular array of holes, and a pattern of an icon. Some resulting light patterns (also referred to as a “pattern of light”) produced by the grating 36 are shown in FIG. 4. Generally, the grating 36 provides for casting a pattern of light 55 onto a sample for imaging”, Paragraph [0063]).
As to claim 6, Chen et al. teaches wherein the ROI definition specifies a geometric shape of predefined size centered on the decoding marker (i.e., “The height/width ratio of the ROI 398 may be pre-specified or otherwise included as a shape indication L4 within the ROI information that the tag 399 codes”, Paragraph [0032]).
As to claim 7, Chen et al. teaches wherein the ROI definition specifies a geometric shape (i.e., “The height/width ratio of the ROI 398 may be pre-specified or otherwise included as a shape indication L4 within the ROI information that the tag 399 codes”, Paragraph [0032]) and one or more offset values relative to the decoding marker (i.e., “The relative position indication L2 may include an offset between the tag’s 399 physical position and the ROI’s 398 physical position”, Paragraph [0031]).
As to claim 8, Chen et al. teaches wherein the ROI definition (i.e., “a size indication and a relative position indication relating to the ROI 398”, Paragraph [0027]) specifies a geometric shape (i.e., “The height/width ratio of the ROI 398 may be pre-specified or otherwise included as a shape indication L4 within the ROI information that the tag 399 codes”, Paragraph [0032]) that encompasses the decoding marker (See also, “an imaginary tag 399 can be displayed in a portion of the display window”, Paragraph [0034]).
As to claim 9, Gifford et al. does not explicitly disclose a user interface module that is executable by the one or more processors to receive user input defining the decoding marker and the ROI definition.
Chen et al. teaches a user interface module (i.e., “graphical user interface”, Paragraph [0057]) that is executable by the one or more processors to receive user input defining the decoding marker (i.e., “the ROI information is coded in accordance with the predefined tag format, such as a linear or matrix barcode format, and the tag 399 is printed”, Paragraph [0065]) and the ROI definition (i.e., “operator input which identifies a desired ROI in the image is obtained. The operator, which can be a human operator possibly supported or replaced by a machine-learning engine, may identify the ROI 398 by annotating the image with markers using a graphical user interface, or may alternatively input commands or coordinates indicative of the ROI boundary”, Paragraph [0057]).
Therefore, in view of Chen et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gifford et al. by incorporating the user interface module that is executable by the one or more processors to receive user input defining the decoding marker and the ROI definition, as taught by Chen et al., in order to allow precise control of the size, position, and/or orientation of the ROI.
As to claim 10, Gifford et al. teaches wherein the pre-processing module is additionally configured to cause the focus of the camera to be adjusted based on the location of the decoding marker within the captured image (See for example, “When the light pattern 55 is appropriately manifested within the scan area 56, the software 22 identifies a focal point 57 (shown in FIG. 5C). In this example, the focal point 57 is centered within the scan area 56. The software 22 recognizes the apparition of the barcode 50, and adjusts the focal point 57 to a start of the barcode 50”, Paragraph [0068]).
Claims 2, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gifford et al. in view of Chen et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rueblinger et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,773,142). The teachings of Gifford et al. and Chen et al. have been discussed above.
As to claim 2, Gifford et al. and Chen et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-processing module: passes the ROI for the captured image to the decoder for processing; and does not pass to the decoder one or more regions of the captured image outside of the ROI.
Rueblinger et al. teaches a pre-processing module (i.e., “code-symbol-decoding processor 115”, Col. 4 line 53 through Col. 5 line 20): that passes the ROI for the captured image to the decoder for processing (i.e., “if the code-symbol-decoding processor determines that the leftmost code-symbol in the row has been marked as the region of interest 120, it will only read (e.g., decode) the leftmost code symbol”, Col. 4 line 53 through Col. 5 line 20); and does not pass to the decoder one or more regions of the captured image outside of the ROI (i.e., “The other code symbols in the digital image will be disregarded”, Col. 4 line 53 through Col. 5 line 20).
Gifford et al., Chen et al. and Rueblinger et al. are analogous art because they are from the field of digital image processing for barcode analysis.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Gifford et al. and Chen et al. by incorporating the pre-processing module: passes the ROI for the captured image to the decoder for processing, and does not pass to the decoder one or more regions of the captured image outside of the ROI, as taught by Rueblinger et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow a user to continuously scan objects bearing multiple code symbols without uncertainty as to which code symbol will be decoded.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rueblinger et al. with Gifford et al. and Chen et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
As to claim 5, Gifford et al. and Chen et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the ROI definition varies based on the type of decoding marker.
Rueblinger et al. teaches a ROI definition (i.e., “the region of interest 120”, Col. 5 line 61 through Col. 6 line 26) that varies (i.e., “change the region of interest”) based on the type of decoding marker (See for example, “sticker”, “finger”, “code symbol”, Col. 5 line 61 through Col. 6 line 54).
Therefore, in view of Rueblinger et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gifford et al. and Chen et al. by incorporating the ROI definition varies based on the type of decoding marker, as taught by Rueblinger et al., in order to allow for quick identification of the region of interest.
As to claim 11, Gifford et al. and Chen et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the pre-processing module uses at least one of machine learning or optical character recognition to recognize decoding markers in captured images.
Rueblinger et al. teaches a pre-processing module that uses at least one of machine learning or optical character recognition to recognize decoding markers in captured images (See for example, “Where an imaging subsystem 110A is used, the marker 135 could be any symbol that the code-symbol-decoding processor 115 could recognize (e.g., through OCR techniques) as a marker 135 distinct from the code symbol(s) within the field of view 116”, Col. 5 line 61 through Col. 6 line 26).
Therefore, in view of Rueblinger et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Gifford et al. and Chen et al. by incorporating the pre-processing module uses at least one of machine learning or optical character recognition to recognize decoding markers in captured images, as taught by Rueblinger et al., in order to utilize a recognizing technique different from the barcode recognizing technique.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gifford et al. in view of Chen et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kiliccote (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0152060). The teachings of Gifford et al. and Chen et al. have been discussed above.
As to claim 4, Gifford et al. and Chen et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the decoding marker is intrinsic to a medium on which a barcode is printed.
Kiliccote teaches the decoding marker is intrinsic to a medium on which a barcode is printed (i.e., “a finder pattern located in relation to, or centered on a specific point in the pattern such as the center or corners of the symbol. Each of the schematic diagrams in FIGS. 3-5 is a color coded image generated of a barcode or symbol 30 according to certain embodiments of the present invention. The specific examples in FIGS. 3-5 show the finder pattern 31 at the center of the barcode or symbol 30”, Paragraph [0041]).
Gifford et al., Chen et al. and Kiliccote are analogous art because they are from the field of digital image processing for barcode analysis.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Gifford et al. and Chen et al. by incorporating the decoding marker is intrinsic to a medium on which a barcode is printed, as taught by Kiliccote.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate determination of the position, size, and inclination of the barcode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kiliccote with Gifford et al. and Chen et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
With respect to claims 1-11, Applicant’s arguments (Remarks dated June 24, 2026, pages 4-6) have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection (Refer to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 Section above). In addition, Applicant respectfully submits that “neither Vorabbi nor Gifford, alone or in combination, teaches or suggest “dynamically determin[ing] the ROI for a captured image based at least in part on recognizing a specific type of decoding marker from a plurality of different types of decoding markers”” (Remarks dated June 24, 2026, page 5, last 3 lines and page 6, first line); and that “Chen … does not teach or suggest dynamically recognizing a specific type of decoding marker from a plurality of different types of decoding markers” (Remarks dated June 24, 2026, page 5 lines 13-15). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to claim 1, Gifford et al. teaches the dynamic determination of the ROI for a captured image (i.e., “the software 22 begins processing images collected from the camera 7 on a continuing basis. When the light pattern 55 is appropriately manifested within the scan area 56, the software 22 identifies a focal point 57 (shown in FIG. 5C). In this example, the focal point 57 is centered within the scan area 56”, Paragraph [0068]) based at least in part on recognizing a specific type of decoding marker from a plurality of different types of decoding markers in the captured image (See for example, “FIG. 4, are depictions of embodiments of possible light patterns produced by the mobile device”, Paragraph [0017]). In Chen et al. the recognition of a specific type of decoding marker from a plurality of different types of decoding marker is taught in at least Paragraphs [0027] and [0047], where the tag 399 is recognized among a plurality of different types, such as a one-dimensional (linear) or two-dimensional (matrix) barcode system, such as EAN, UPC, 16K, QR, Aztec, Data Matrix, DotCode, HCCB, photoTAN, PDF417, SnapTag, AprilTags and SPARQCode.
Therefore, and as stated above, the teachings of Gifford et al. and Chen et al., under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, disclose the claimed invention (Refer to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 Section above).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE M TORRES/Examiner, Art Unit 2664 09/02/2026
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664