DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
“100” (see Figures 1 and 4); and
“H” (see Figure 3).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is believed that “of a” (or similar language) should be added after “embodiment” in the 1st line. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US 2021/0135253), cited in the Information Disclosure Statement dated January 15, 2024.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 16, as well as claim 2, Yoo et al. disclose a unitized fuel cell (see abstract; paragraphs [0033]-[0065]; and Figures 1, 2, 3A, 3B, and 4A), in which the unitized fuel cell includes the following structural features:
a cell frame (200) comprising an electricity generating assembly (EGA) in the form of a membrane-electrode assembly (110) bonded to a frame, the cell frame (200) comprising a manifold hole (reaction surface through-hole (201)) disposed at an end part of the frame and a reaction gas guide part (in the form of reactant gas through-holes (210a,210b)) extending from the manifold hole (201), wherein the manifold hole (201) is configured to allow a reaction gas to pass therethrough (see abstract; paragraphs [0035] and [0036]; and Figure 1);
a plurality of support protrusions (230) extending in a direction in which the reaction gas flows and spaced apart from one another in a width direction, wherein the plurality of support protrusions (230) are disposed on the reaction gas guide part (210a,210b) of the cell frame (200) – see Figures 2, 3A, 3B, and 4A;
flow paths through which the reaction gas flows defined between adjacent support protrusions (230) of the plurality of support protrusions (230) – see Figures 2, 3A, 3B, and 4A; and
a pair of bipolar plates (120a,120b) respectively laminated on both sides of the cell frame (200), the pair of bipolar plates (120a,120b) comprising:
a first bipolar plate (120a) configured to form a flow path of the reaction gas together with the reaction gas guide part (210a,210b) of the cell frame (200), the first bipolar plate (120a) having a recessed hole disposed on a part corresponding to the reaction gas guide part (210a,210b) to expose a part of the reaction gas guide part (210a,210b) therethrough (see Figure 1); and
a second bipolar plate (120b) bonded to the cell frame (200) – see Figure 1.
Regarding claim 3, Yoo et al. disclose that the first bipolar plate (120a) is supported by the support protrusions (230) on the reaction gas guide part (210a,210b), and the reaction gas flow path is defined through adjacent support protrusions (230) of the plurality of support protrusions (230) and the first bipolar plate (120a) – see paragraphs [0035] and [0058]; and Figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claims 4-6, Yoo et al. disclose that the support protrusions (230) are covered by the first bipolar plate (120a) of the pair of bipolar plates (120a,120b), and at least one support protrusion (230) of the plurality of support protrusions (230) extends up to the manifold hole (201) and is exposed through the recessed hole, wherein a height of a point exposed through the recessed hole is higher than a height of a point covered by the first bipolar plate (120a), and a difference in height between the point covered by the first bipolar plate (120a) and the point exposed through the recessed hole is equal to a thickness of the first bipolar plate (120a) – see paragraphs [0035] and [0058]; and Figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 7, Yoo et al. disclose that the support protrusions (230) are covered by the first bipolar plate (120a), and at least one support protrusion (230) of the plurality of support protrusions (230) extends to a point spaced apart for a predetermined distance from the manifold hole (201) and is exposed through the recessed hole – see paragraphs [0035] and [0058]; and Figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claims 8-10, Yoo et al. disclose that the support protrusions (230) are all covered by the first bipolar plate (120a), at least two support protrusions (230) of the plurality of support protrusions (230) extend toward the manifold hole (201), and a partition wall is disposed between adjacent support protrusions (230) of the plurality of support protrusions (230) in the direction in which the reaction gas flows, wherein the partition wall is disposed at a point exposed through the recessed hole on the reaction gas guide part (210a,210b) – see paragraphs [0035], [0058], and [0061]-[0064]; and Figures 1, 2, 3A, 3B, and 4A.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Yoo et al. disclose that an inlet manifold hole and an outlet manifold hole are disposed at both end parts of the frame, respectively, an inlet guide part is disposed on an inlet manifold hole side, an outlet guide part is disposed on an outlet manifold hole side, and the plurality of support protrusions (230) are disposed on the inlet guide part and the outlet guide part, respectively (see paragraphs [0058]-[0064]; and Figures 2, 3A, 3B, and 4A).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Yoo et al. disclose that the support protrusions (230) of the inlet guide part and the support protrusions (230) of the outlet guide part have different separation distances in a width direction, and the support protrusions (230) of the outlet guide part have different widths at a point exposed by the recessed hole and at a point covered by the bipolar plates (120a,120b) – see paragraphs [0058], [0064], and [0065]; and Figures 1, 2, 3A, 3B, and 4A.
Regarding claim 14, Yoo et al. disclose that, on the outlet guide part, the plurality of support protrusions (230) extend toward the manifold hole (201) and are exposed through the recessed hole, and a partition wall is disposed between exposed points of adjacent support protrusions (230) of the plurality of support protrusions (230) along the direction in which the reaction gas flows (see paragraphs [0058], [0064], and [0065]; and Figures 1, 2, 3A, 3B, and 4A).
Regarding claims 15 and 19, Yoo et al. disclose that the frame comprises a plastic material (see paragraphs [0035] and [0039]-[0041]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Yoo et al. disclose that a projection part is disposed along the support protrusions (230) on the second bipolar plate (120b), and the projection part of the second bipolar plate (120b) is inserted into and supported by the support groove of the frame, in which the support groove and the projection part are shaped to extend along the support protrusions (230) – see paragraphs [0058], [0064], and [0065]; and Figures 1, 2, 3A, 3B, and 4A.
Conclusion
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 June 18, 2026