Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electromechanical flat socket terminal” should read “A vibration-resistant electromechanical flat socket terminal”
Claim 2, line 1: “Flat socket terminal” should read “The flat socket terminal”
Claim 3, line 1: “Flat socket terminal” should read “The flat socket terminal”
Claim 4, line 1: “Flat socket terminal” should read “The flat socket terminal”
Claim 5, line 1: “Flat socket terminal” should read “The flat socket terminal”
Claim 6, line 1: “Flat socket terminal” should read “The flat socket terminal”
Claim 7, line 1: “Flat socket terminal” should read “The flat socket terminal”
Claim 8, line 1: “Flat socket terminal” should read “The flat socket terminal”
Claim 9, line 1: “Flat socket terminal” should read “The flat socket terminal”
Claim 10, line 1: “Flat socket terminal” should read “The flat socket terminal”
Claim 11, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electrical connector” should read “A vibration-resistant electrical connector”
Claim 12, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electrical connector” should read “The vibration-resistant electrical connector”
Claim 13, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electrical connector” should read “The vibration-resistant electrical connector”
Claim 14, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electrical connector” should read “The vibration-resistant electrical connector”
Claim 15, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electrical connector” should read “The vibration-resistant electrical connector”
Claim 16, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electrical connector” should read “The vibration-resistant electrical connector”
Claim 17, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electrical connector” should read “The vibration-resistant electrical connector”
Claim 18, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electrical connector” should read “The vibration-resistant electrical connector”
Claim 19, line 1: “Vibration-resistant electrical connection” should read “A vibration-resistant electrical connection”
Claim 20, line 1: “Electrical connection” should read “The electrical connection”
Claim 21, line 1: “Electrical connection” should read “The electrical connection”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claims recite “an essentially cuboid tab contact receptacle” and “an essentially cuboid tab contact section”. The term “essentially cuboid” is a term of degree that lacks an objective boundary. The claim does not provide dimensional tolerances or other structural details informing how the shape may be evaluated. Further, because both the tab contact receptacle and the tab contact section are described as “essentially cuboid” it is unclear whether the two components have the same shape within the same tolerances or if they deviate from each other. Claims 2-10 depend upon unclear independent claim 1 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “wherein the contact spring cage is formed in such a way”. The phrase “in such a way” fails to recite a definite structural limitation and it is unclear how the structure achieves the intended result. Accordingly, the scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable clarity. Additionally, the claim recites, in lines 8-9, “the at least one cover contact spring and the at least one side contact spring extend substantially in a longitudinal direction of the flat socket terminal, and/or a cover contact spring and/or a side contact spring”. It is unclear what the scope of the claim is in the presence of the multiple and/or statements. A person of ordinary skill would not reasonably be able to understand what combination of structure the claim requires.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “the two side walls each have a through opening through which the plug contact section is plugged into the contact spring cage, and/or the plug contact section is fixed in the receptacle body”. It is unclear what structure is required by the claim in the event of the or statement. Are the two side walls each having through holes an alternative to securing the plug contact section to the contact spring cage or are they both required as shown in the drawings?
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “the side wall is dimensioned in such a way” multiple times in line 3, line 5, and line 9. The phrase “in such a way” fails to recite a definite structural limitation and it is unclear how the structure achieves the intended result. Accordingly, the scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable clarity. Additionally, the claim recites “at least one blocking shoulder of the connection piece sits on an outside of the receptacle body, and/or a through opening, on an outside of the socket terminal”. it is unclear what structure is required by the claim in the event of the or statement. The drawings and the specification show that both through openings (228, 229) are present and the blocking shoulders (118, 119) are present.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “the mounting tab engages around an edge of the plug contact section and fixes the receptacle body on the plug contact section, and/or a free end section of the mounting tab is bent”. It is unclear what structure is required by the claim in the event of the or statement. The drawings and specification show that the mount tabs (214) are bent into recesses (114) of the plug contact section (110).
Regarding claim 11, see discussion above for claim 1. Claims 12-18 depend upon unclear independent claim 11 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, refer to discussion in claim 6 above on multiple and/or statements.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites “wherein the contact spring cage is formed in such a way”. The phrase “in such a way” fails to recite a definite structural limitation and it is unclear how the structure achieves the intended result. Accordingly, the scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable clarity.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “the two side walls each have a through opening through which the plug contact section is plugged into the contact spring cage, and/or the plug contact section is fixed in the receptacle body”. It is unclear what structure is required by the claim in the event of the or statement. Are the two side walls each having through holes an alternative to securing the plug contact section to the contact spring cage or are they both required as shown in the drawings?
Regarding claim 19, see discussion above for claim 1. Claims 20 and 21 depend upon unclear independent claim 19 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 21, the claim recites “a clamping means of the tab contact section are mutually designed in such a way that”. The phrase “in such a way” fails to recite a definite structural limitation and it is unclear how the structure achieves the intended result. Accordingly, the scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carvalho et al. (US20220368071), hereinafter Carvalho.
Regarding claim 1, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electromechanical flat socket terminal (Par. 0024, flat socket contact device 1) for an electrical connection comprising: an essentially cuboid tab contact receptacle (Par. 0027, flat socket body 10) into which an essentially cuboid tab contact section (Par. 0025, tab contact 510) of an electrical mating terminal (Par. 0024, tab contact device 5) for making electrical contact with the flat socket terminal can be plugged (see Fig. 2), wherein the tab contact receptacle is formed between a plug contact section (Par. 0024, contact chamber 110) of an electromechanical connection piece (Par. 0029, connection portion 12) and a mechanical contact spring cage (Par. 0027, tab contact receptacle 20), formed apart therefrom, of the flat socket terminal.
Regarding claim 2, Carvalho discloses flat socket terminal according to claim 1, wherein: the single flat socket terminal (Par. 0024, flat socket contact device 1) is formed as a terminal which is rigidly mechanically connected in at least or exactly two parts (see Fig. 1) from the plug contact section (Par. 0024, contact chamber 110) and the contact spring cage (Par. 0027, tab contact receptacle 20), the contact spring cage is built on the plug contact section with a substantially flat form, and an upper inner side of the contact spring cage and an outer side of the plug contact section delimit the tab contact receptacle (see Fig. 3), and/or at least one further lateral inner side of the contact spring cage delimit the tab contact receptacle.
Regarding claim 3, Carvalho discloses flat socket terminal according to claim 1, wherein: the plug contact section (Par. 0024, contact chamber 110) of the connection piece (Par. 0029, connection portion 12) is formed as a tab, at least the plug contact section of the connection piece is formed as a materially bonded single piece or integrally (see Fig. 1), and/or the plug contact section has a plurality of electromechanical contacting regions at/in the tab contact receptacle.
Regarding claim 4, Carvalho discloses flat socket terminal according to claim 3, wherein the contact spring cage: is accessible for the tab contact section at at least or exactly one side (see Fig. 1), is formed as a single piece, as a materially bonded single piece or integrally, and/or is formed as a bent spring and/or a stamped spring (see Fig. 1).
Regarding the contact spring cage formed as a bent spring and/or a stamped spring, this product-by-process feature does not distinguish from the product of Carvalho since the tab contact receptacle 250 can be formed in multiple ways. Per MPEP 2113 (I), product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, the claimed process of making the contact spring cage as a bent spring and/or a stamped spring does not distinguish from the product.
Regarding claim 5, Carvalho discloses flat socket terminal according to claim 1, wherein: the contact spring cage is formed as substantially closed at at least three, at least four or at five sides (see Fig. 1), a cover wall of the contact spring cage has at least one mechanical cover contact spring (Par. 0033, contact spring 210) protruding or projecting into the tab contact receptacle, at least one side wall of the contact spring cage has a mechanical side contact spring (Par. 0040, spring arm 310) protruding or projecting into the tab contact receptacle, and/or the at least one cover contact spring and/or the at least one side contact spring is formed as a contact spring bent by approximately 180° into the tab contact receptacle (see Fig. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 6, Carvalho discloses flat socket terminal according to claim 1, wherein the contact spring cage is formed in such a way that: the contact springs (Par. 0040, spring arm 310) center the tab contact section plugged into the tab contact receptacle there and push the tab contact section against the plug contact section, a spring direction of the at least one cover contact spring and a spring direction of the at least one side contact spring are substantially perpendicular to each other (see Fig. 3), the at least one cover contact spring and the at least one side contact spring extend substantially in a longitudinal direction of the flat socket terminal (see Fig. 3), and/or a cover contact spring and/or a side contact spring has exactly or at least one mechanical contact projection for making electromechanical contact with the tab contact section (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Carvalho discloses flat socket terminal according to claim 1, wherein at/in the tab contact receptacle: the at least one cover contact spring (Par. 0033, contact spring 210) is configured to be spring-loaded in a vertical direction of the flat socket terminal above the plug contact section (see Fig. 3), the at least one side contact spring is configured to be spring-loaded in a transverse direction of the flat socket terminal above the plug contact section (see Fig. 3), and/or two side contact springs situated opposite each other in the transverse direction are configured to be spring-loaded against each other (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Carvalho discloses flat socket terminal according to claim 1, wherein: the contact spring cage (Par. 0027, tab contact receptacle 20) has a bottom wall via which the contact spring cage is fixed to the plug contact section, the two side walls each have a through opening through which the plug contact section is plugged into the contact spring cage (see Fig. 1), and/or the plug contact section is fixed in the receptacle body on the bottom wall by a mounting means (Par. 0036, retaining device 220).
Regarding claim 9, Carvalho discloses flat socket terminal according to claim 1, wherein: a through opening, on an inside of the socket terminal, of the side wall is dimensioned in such a way that substantially the whole plug contact section can be plugged through in a transverse direction (see Fig. 1), the through opening on the inside of the socket terminal is dimensioned in such a way that at least one blocking shoulder (see Fig. 1 above, blocking shoulder 12a) of the connection piece sits on an outside of the receptacle body, and/or a through opening, on an outside of the socket terminal, of the side wall is dimensioned in such a way that at least one blocking shoulder (see Fig. 1 above, blocking shoulder 12b) of the plug contact section sits on an inside of the receptacle body (see Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Carvalho discloses flat socket terminal according to claim 1, wherein: a mounting means is formed as a mounting tab (Par. 0036, retaining device 220) of the bottom wall which is exposed from the bottom wall, the mounting tab engages around an edge of the plug contact section and fixes the receptacle body on the plug contact section (see Fig. 1), and/or a free end section of the mounting tab is bent at/in the tab contact receptacle into a recess of the plug contact section.
Regarding claim 11, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electrical connector (Par. 0024, connection 0) for a vehicle (see Par. 0019, “The connection 0 may be for a vehicle, such as a vehicle having an electric traction motor.”) comprising: a connector housing (Par. 0029, socket portion 11); and an electromechanical flat socket terminal (Par. 0024, flat socket contact device 1) configured thereon/therein, the flat socket terminal including an essentially cuboid tab contact receptacle (Par. 0027, flat socket body 10) into which an essentially cuboid tab contact section (Par. 0025, tab contact 510) of an electrical mating terminal (Par. 0024, tab contact device 5) for making electrical contact with the flat socket terminal can be plugged (see Fig. 2), wherein the tab contact receptacle is formed between a plug contact section (Par. 0024, contact chamber 110) of an electromechanical connection piece (Par. 0029, connection portion 12) and a mechanical contact spring cage (Par. 0027, tab contact receptacle 20), formed apart therefrom, of the flat socket terminal.
Regarding claim 12, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein: the single flat socket terminal (Par. 0024, flat socket contact device 1) is formed as a terminal which is rigidly mechanically connected in at least or exactly two parts from the plug contact section and the contact spring cage (see Fig. 1), the contact spring cage is built on the plug contact section with a substantially flat form, and an upper inner side of the contact spring cage and an outer side of the plug contact section delimit the tab contact receptacle (see Fig. 3), and/or at least one further lateral inner side of the contact spring cage delimit the tab contact receptacle.
Regarding claim 13, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein: the plug contact section (Par. 0024, contact chamber 110) of the connection piece (Par. 0029, connection portion 12) is formed as a tab, at least the plug contact section of the connection piece is formed as a materially bonded single piece or integrally (see Fig. 1), and/or the plug contact section has a plurality of electromechanical contacting regions at/in the tab contact receptacle.
Regarding claim 14, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electrical connector according to claim 13, wherein the contact spring cage: is accessible for the tab contact section at at least or exactly one side, is formed as a single piece, as a materially bonded single piece or integrally (see Fig. 1), and/or is formed as a bent spring and/or a stamped spring.
Regarding the contact spring cage formed as a bent spring and/or a stamped spring, this product-by-process feature does not distinguish from the product of Carvalho since the tab contact receptacle 250 can be formed in multiple ways. Per MPEP 2113 (I), product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, the claimed process of making the contact spring cage as a bent spring and/or a stamped spring does not distinguish from the product.
Regarding claim 15, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein: the contact spring cage is formed as substantially closed at at least three, at least four or at five sides (see Fig. 1), a cover wall of the contact spring cage has at least one mechanical cover contact spring (Par. 0033, contact spring 210) protruding or projecting into the tab contact receptacle, at least one side wall of the contact spring cage has a mechanical side contact spring (Par. 0040, spring arm 310) protruding or projecting into the tab contact receptacle, and/or the at least one cover contact spring and/or the at least one side contact spring is formed as a contact spring bent by approximately 180° into the tab contact receptacle (see Fig. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 16, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein the contact spring cage is formed in such a way that: the contact springs (Par. 0040, spring arm 310) center the tab contact section plugged into the tab contact receptacle there and push the tab contact section against the plug contact section, a spring direction of the at least one cover contact spring and a spring direction of the at least one side contact spring are substantially perpendicular to each other (see Fig. 3), the at least one cover contact spring and the at least one side contact spring extend substantially in a longitudinal direction of the flat socket terminal (see Fig. 3), and/or a cover contact spring and/or a side contact spring has exactly or at least one mechanical contact projection for making electromechanical contact with the tab contact section.
Regarding claim 17, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein at/in the tab contact receptacle: the at least one cover contact spring (Par. 0033, contact spring 210) is configured to be spring-loaded in a vertical direction of the flat socket terminal above the plug contact section (see Fig. 1), the at least one side contact spring is configured to be spring-loaded in a transverse direction of the flat socket terminal above the plug contact section (see Fig. 2), and/or two side contact springs situated opposite each other in the transverse direction are configured to be spring-loaded against each other (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electrical connector according to claim 11, wherein: the contact spring cage (Par. 0027, tab contact receptacle 20) has a bottom wall via which the contact spring cage is fixed to the plug contact section, the two side walls each have a through opening through which the plug contact section is plugged into the contact spring cage (see Fig. 1), and/or the plug contact section is fixed in the receptacle body on the bottom wall by a mounting means (Par. 0036, retaining device 220).
Regarding claim 19, Carvalho discloses vibration-resistant electrical connection (Par. 0024, connection 0) for a vehicle (see Par. 0019, “The connection 0 may be for a vehicle, such as a vehicle having an electric traction motor.”) comprising: an electromechanical flat socket terminal (Par. 0024, flat socket contact device 1) including an essentially cuboid tab contact receptacle (Par. 0027, flat socket body 10), the tab contact receptacle formed between a plug contact section (Par. 0024, contact chamber 110) of an electromechanical connection piece (Par. 0029, connection portion 12) and a mechanical contact spring cage (Par. 0027, tab contact receptacle 20), formed apart therefrom, of the flat socket terminal; and an electrical mating terminal (Par. 0024, tab contact device 5) having an essentially cuboid tab contact section (Par. 0025, tab contact 510) plugged into the tab contact receptacle for making electrical contact with the flat socket terminal, wherein the tab contact section is formed so that it partially complements the tab contact receptacle of the flat socket terminal (see Fig. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 20, Carvalho discloses electrical connection according to claim 19, wherein: the tab contact section has at least one partially complementary clamping means (Par. 0044, clamping device 330, clamping recess 530), corresponding to the contact spring cage, a mechanical contact region of a contact spring of the contact spring cage is seated in the clamping means (see Fig. 2), and/or at least one blocking projection of the tab contact section sits on an outer edge of an opening of the tab contact receptacle.
Regarding claim 21, Carvalho discloses electrical connection according to claim 19, wherein a mechanical contact region of a contact spring and a clamping means of the tab contact section are mutually designed in such a way that, in case of vibrations on the connection, the tab contact section has the tendency to move further into the tab contact receptacle (Par. 0045, “as shown in FIG. 2, the clamping projections 330 of the mechanical clamping spring arms 310 engage into the respective clamping recesses 530 of the tab contact 510 and securely retain these in the contact chamber 110 even when vibrations are applied since the mechanical clamping spring 30 is fastened in the contact chamber 110 in all translational and rotational directions”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See PTO-892 for details.
/JEFFREY MOUNTAIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834