Status of the claims
This Office Action is response to the amendment filed on 2/23/2026. Claims 1, 13, and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a generation processing unit that generates, an acquisition processing unit that acquires, and a correction processing unit that corrects in claim 13.
Generation processing unit: The generation processing unit 212 generates the target route R that is a route along which the work vehicle 10 is caused to travel automatically based on each of the setting information. The target route R is, for example, a work route from the work start position S to the work end position G (see FIG. 3). The target route R illustrated in FIG. 3 includes straight work routes R1 to R10 along which the work vehicle 10 travel back and forth in parallel in the field F, and turning routes RO that connects the work routes to each other. Paragraph [0055]
Processing unit: The setting processing unit 211 sets various types of setting information for causing the work vehicle 10 to perform automatic traveling. Specifically, the setting processing unit 211 sets information related to the work vehicle 10 2 (hereinafter, referred to as “work vehicle information”). The setting processing unit 211 sets information such as the type (model) of the work vehicle 10, the position where the positioning antenna 144 is mounted on the work vehicle 10, the type of the work implement, the size and shape of work implement, the position of the work implement with respect to the work vehicle 10, the vehicle speed and engine speed of the work vehicle 10 during work, the vehicle speed and engine speed of the work vehicle 10 during turning, and the like by the operator performing a registration operation on the operation terminal 20. Paragraph [0050]
Correction processing unit: The correction processing unit 214 corrects the target route R based on the correction position acquired by the acquisition processing unit 213. Specifically, the correction processing unit 214 corrects the position of the target route R so that the target route R or an extension line of the target route R passes through the correction position. For example, the correction processing unit 214 causes the target route R to move parallelly so that the target route R or the extension line of the target route R passes through the correction position. Here, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the correction processing unit 214 causes the entire target route R to move parallelly to the right side by the position deviation amount L1 so that the work route R5 or an extension line of the work route RS passes through the current position of the work vehicle 10. Paragraph [0066]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220365537 A1 hereinafter Murayama.
Regarding claim 1, Murayama teaches a route generation (firstly, the travel route creation unit 61 creates the travel route Paragraph [0062]) method comprising:
generating a target route along which a work vehicle is caused to travel automatically; (firstly, the travel route creation unit 61 creates the travel route along which the automatic travel in the farm field to be worked is performed and the storage unit 51 stores such a travel route (step S2). Paragraph [0062])
acquiring a correction position of the target route; and (In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route Paragraph [0068] Examiner notes that the system logs the position of the work vehicle when the override is pressed which would act as the correction position.)
correcting the target route based on the correction position, wherein the target route is changed, wherein the work vehicle travels automatically on the generated route that is being corrected by the correction position. (Thereafter, during execution of the manual travel, if the operator operates the override button 32 once again (step S9: Yes), when the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance (step S10: Yes) and when the orientation of the main body relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle (step S11: Yes), the travel mode is switched from the manual travel mode to the automatic travel mode, and the automatic travel control unit 62 resumes the automatic travel based on the travel route (step S12). At this time, the travel unit 2 is in a state of not accepting the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 (step S13). Paragraph [0064] In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance. Alternatively, the automatic traveling control unit 62 may execute the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance is within the return distance and the orientation of the main body of the combine 1 relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle. Paragraph [0068] Examiner notes that Murayama discloses that resumption of automatic travel along the route is determined based on the current position of the work vehicle relative to the route, including separation distance and orientation thresholds. When such conditions are satisfied, automatic travel is resumed. When such conditions are not satisfied, automatic travel is not resumed. Accordingly, Murayama modifies whether and how the route is followed based on the correction position. This constitutes the limitation because the route as implemented by the system is altered in response to the correction position.)
Regarding claim 2, Murayama teaches the route generation method according to claim 1. Murayama additionally teaches wherein a current position of the work vehicle at a time when a user operation of correcting the target route is performed is acquired as the correction position. (In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance. Alternatively, the automatic traveling control unit 62 may execute the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance is within the return distance and the orientation of the main body of the combine 1 relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle. As a result, if the movement when the override button 32 is operated is within a return distance from the travel route or if the orientation of the main body of the combine 1 relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle, the combine 1 is capable of returning to the automatic travel based on the travel route. Therefore, if the turn operation in which the override button 32 is utilized in the automatic travel is used as well, it is possible to easily realize the travel according to the intention of the operator, and thus, it is possible to improve the operability. Paragraphs [0068-0069] Examiner notes that when the operator presses the override button during execution of automatic travel that the system records the current position of the combine. This position is then used to determine whether the vehicle can resume automatic travel, acting effectively as the correction position.)
Regarding claim 3, Murayama teaches the route generation method according to claim 1. Murayama additionally teaches wherein a position of a work object is acquired as the correction position. (If the automatic travel mode is set, the automatic reaping control unit 63 controls the power unit 8 and the reaping unit 3, based on the work setting of the travel route created by the travel route creation unit 61 to execute the automatic reaping according to the travel route. The automatic reaping control unit 63 controls so that the reaping unit 3 automatically reaps the unreaped grain culm on the travel route. Along with the automatic reaping, the automatic reaping control unit 63 controls the threshing unit 4, the sorting unit 5, the reservoir unit 6, and the discharged-straw processing unit 7 so that threshing of the grain culm after the reaping, sorting of the grain and the straw waste after the threshing, storage of the sorted grain, processing of discharged straw obtained as a result of the threshing, and the like are automatically executed.mAn example of the travel operation of the combine 1 according to the present embodiment will be described with reference to a flowchart of FIG. 5. It is noted that the reaping operation of the combine 1 is performed in the unreaped region of the farm field as necessary, but such an operation will not be described below. If the automatic travel mode is set to the combine 1 (step S1: Yes), firstly, the travel route creation unit 61 creates the travel route along which the automatic travel in the farm field to be worked is performed and the storage unit 51 stores such a travel route (step S2). Next, if the combine 1 satisfies various types of automatic travel start conditions (step S3: Yes), the automatic travel control unit 62 controls the power unit 8 and the travel unit 2, based on the travel setting of the created travel route to start the automatic travel (step S4). During execution of the automatic travel, the travel unit 2 is in a state of not accepting the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 by the operator. It is noted that if the automatic travel mode is not set (step S1: No) or the automatic travel start condition is not satisfied (step S3: No), the automatic travel is not started. Paragraphs [0060-0063] Examiner notes that the combine disclosed in Murayama is a work vehicle performing reaping on a work object (grain). When the override button is pressed, the system captures the vehicles current position relative to the work object being processed, therefore the correction position is inherently tied to the location of the work object at the time of correction.)
Regarding claim 4, Murayama teaches the route generation method according to claim 1. Murayama additionally teaches wherein a position of the target route is corrected so that the target route or an extension line of the target route passes through the correction position. (In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance. Alternatively, the automatic traveling control unit 62 may execute the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance is within the return distance and the orientation of the main body of the combine 1 relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle. Paragraph [0068] Examiner notes that Murayama discloses that if the operator resumes automatic mode after override, the system realigns with the original route only if the combine’s position and orientation are within specific thresholds. This implies the route is adjusted to pass through the new correction position.)
Regarding claim 8, Murayama teaches the route generation method according to claim 2. Murayama additionally teaches wherein the target route is corrected when a shortest distance to the target route closest to the current position of the work vehicle is equal to or less than a first predetermined value. (In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance. Alternatively, the automatic traveling control unit 62 may execute the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance is within the return distance and the orientation of the main body of the combine 1 relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle. Paragraph [0068])
Regarding claim 9, Murayama teaches the route generation method according to claim 8. Murayama additionally teaches wherein the target route is not corrected when the shortest distance to the target route closest to the current position of the work vehicle is less than a second predetermined value that is smaller than the first predetermined value. (In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance. Alternatively, the automatic traveling control unit 62 may execute the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance is within the return distance and the orientation of the main body of the combine 1 relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle. Paragraph [0068] Examiner notes that Murayama teaches that if the separation distance or orientation exceeds a threshold that automatic travel is not resumed. Therefore, the route is not corrected when the shortest distance to the target route closest to the current position of the work vehicles is less than a second predetermined value that is smaller than the first predetermined value.)
Regarding claim 10, Murayama teaches the route generation method according to claim 2. Murayama additionally teaches wherein an orientation of the target route is corrected based on an orientation of the work vehicle at the current position of the work vehicle at the time when the user operation of correcting the target route is performed. (In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance. Alternatively, the automatic traveling control unit 62 may execute the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance is within the return distance and the orientation of the main body of the combine 1 relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle. Paragraph [0068])
Regarding claim 12, Murayama teaches the route generation method according to claim 1. Murayama additionally teaches wherein acceptance of a user operation of correcting the target route is permitted when the work vehicle is located within a predetermined range set based on a beginning end of each of a plurality of work routes included in the target route, and acceptance of a user operation of correcting the target route is prohibited when the work vehicle is not located within the predetermined range. (According to a first modification, the travel unit 2 may not accept the operation on the override button 32 under a predetermined operation unavailable condition. The combine 1 may set an automatic travel zone in which it is not preferable to accept the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 for the operation unavailable condition of the override button 32, and for example, may set an automatic turn travel zone or an automatic backward travel zone. Paragraph [0073])
Regarding claim 13, Murayama teaches a route generation firstly, the travel route creation unit 61 creates the travel route Paragraph [0062]) system comprising:
a generation processing unit that generates a target route along which a work vehicle is caused to travel automatically: (firstly, the travel route creation unit 61 creates the travel route along which the automatic travel in the farm field to be worked is performed and the storage unit 51 stores such a travel route (step S2). Paragraph [0062])
an acquisition processing unit that acquires a correction position of the target route; and (In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route Paragraph [0068] Examiner notes that the system logs the position of the work vehicle when the override is pressed which would act as the correction position.)
a correction processing unit that corrects the target route based on the correction position, wherein the target route is changed, wherein the work vehicle travels automatically on the generated route that is being corrected by the correction position. (Thereafter, during execution of the manual travel, if the operator operates the override button 32 once again (step S9: Yes), when the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance (step S10: Yes) and when the orientation of the main body relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle (step S11: Yes), the travel mode is switched from the manual travel mode to the automatic travel mode, and the automatic travel control unit 62 resumes the automatic travel based on the travel route (step S12). At this time, the travel unit 2 is in a state of not accepting the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 (step S13). Paragraph [0064] In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance. Alternatively, the automatic traveling control unit 62 may execute the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance is within the return distance and the orientation of the main body of the combine 1 relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle. Paragraph [0068] Examiner notes that Murayama discloses that resumption of automatic travel along the route is determined based on the current position of the work vehicle relative to the route, including separation distance and orientation thresholds. When such conditions are satisfied, automatic travel is resumed. When such conditions are not satisfied, automatic travel is not resumed. Accordingly, Murayama modifies whether and how the route is followed based on the correction position. This constitutes the limitation because the route as implemented by the system is altered in response to the correction position.)
Regarding claim 14, Murayama teaches a computer-readable non-transitory medium storing a route generation firstly, the travel route creation unit 61 creates the travel route Paragraph [0062]) program for causing one or more processors to execute: (The storage unit 51 stores a program and data for controlling various constituent components and various functions of the combine 1, and when the control device 50 executes arithmetic processing based on the program and the data stored in the storage unit 51. Paragraph [0042])
generating a target route along which a work vehicle is caused to travel automatically; (firstly, the travel route creation unit 61 creates the travel route along which the automatic travel in the farm field to be worked is performed and the storage unit 51 stores such a travel route (step S2). Paragraph [0062])
acquiring a correction position of the target route; and (In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route Paragraph [0068] Examiner notes that the system logs the position of the work vehicle when the override is pressed which would act as the correction position.)
correcting the target route based on the correction position, wherein the target route is changed, wherein the work vehicle travels automatically on the generated route that is being corrected by the correction position. (Thereafter, during execution of the manual travel, if the operator operates the override button 32 once again (step S9: Yes), when the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance (step S10: Yes) and when the orientation of the main body relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle (step S11: Yes), the travel mode is switched from the manual travel mode to the automatic travel mode, and the automatic travel control unit 62 resumes the automatic travel based on the travel route (step S12). At this time, the travel unit 2 is in a state of not accepting the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 (step S13). Paragraph [0064] In the combine 1 according to the present embodiment, if, after the travel unit 2 accepts the turn operation on the steering wheel 29 according to the operation on the override button 32 during execution of the automatic travel, the override button 32 is operated again, the automatic travel control unit 62 executes the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance from the combine 1 to the travel route is within a predetermined return distance. Alternatively, the automatic traveling control unit 62 may execute the automatic travel based on the travel route if the separation distance is within the return distance and the orientation of the main body of the combine 1 relative to the orientation of the travel route is within a predetermined angle. Paragraph [0068] Examiner notes that Murayama discloses that resumption of automatic travel along the route is determined based on the current position of the work vehicle relative to the route, including separation distance and orientation thresholds. When such conditions are satisfied, automatic travel is resumed. When such conditions are not satisfied, automatic travel is not resumed. Accordingly, Murayama modifies whether and how the route is followed based on the correction position. This constitutes the limitation because the route as implemented by the system is altered in response to the correction position.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama in view of JP 2022170850 A hereinafter Ikeda.
Regarding claim 5, Murayama teaches the route generation method according to claim 1. Murayama does not teach wherein the target route is parallelly moved so that the target route or an extension line of the target route passes through the correction position.
However, Ikeda teaches wherein the target route is parallelly moved so that the target route or an extension line of the target route passes through the correction position. (The route correction unit corrects the target travel route by a method of parallelly moving a plurality of straight travel routes included in the target travel route by a deviation in a direction perpendicular to the row direction. Summary of the invention section)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the route generation method of Murayama to include the parallel moving of the target route or an extension line of the target route passing through the correction position of Ikeda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the use of parallel shifting in the method in Murayama would allow the selection of an optimal reentry route based on deviation as suggested by Ikeda in the summary of the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Murayama and Ikeda teach the route generation method according to claim 5. Ikeda additionally teaches wherein the target route is parallelly moved so that a work route selected by a user from among a plurality of work routes included in the target route or an extension line of the work route passes through the correct position. (The route correction unit corrects the target travel route by a method of parallelly moving a plurality of straight travel routes included in the target travel route by a deviation in a direction perpendicular to the row direction. Summary of the invention section)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Murayama and Ikeda teaches the route generation method according to claim 5. Ikeda additionally teaches wherein the target route is parallelly moved so that, among a plurality of work routes included in the target route, a work route that is set in a direction identical to an orientation of the work vehicle and is closest to the correction position or an extension line of the work route passes through the correction position. (The route correction unit corrects the target travel route by a method of parallelly moving a plurality of straight travel routes included in the target travel route by a deviation in a direction perpendicular to the row direction. Summary of the invention section)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama in view of US 20210397190 A1 hereinafter Takase.
Regarding claim 11, Murayama teaches the route generation method according to claim 1. Murayama does not teach displaying a worked area in which the work vehicle has performed work and an unworked area in which the work vehicle has not performed work in a distinguishable manner, the worked area and the unworked area being included in a work area, wherein, when an unworked area exists between a worked area in which the work vehicle has performed work in accordance with the target route before correction and a worked area in which the work vehicle has performed work in
accordance with the target route after correction, the existing unworked area is displayed as a worked area.
However, Takase teaches displaying a worked area in which the work vehicle has performed work and an unworked area in which the work vehicle has not performed work in a distinguishable manner, the worked area and the unworked area being included in a work area, wherein, when an unworked area exists between a worked area in which the work vehicle has performed work in accordance with the target route before correction and a worked area in which the work vehicle has performed work in accordance with the target route after correction, the existing unworked area is displayed as a worked area. (While the straight travel of the working machine based on human operations is continuing, a screen for the guidance information indicated by 13-A to 13-D in FIG. 13 is displayed on the display unit 4. A map screen showing the machine body 1 and the surroundings of the machine body 1 is included in this guidance information. This guidance information is displayed on the side panel 21 illustrated in FIG. 2, but may be displayed in the meter panel 20 displayed in the same drawing. A steering display 82 of the steering wheel 16, and a heading deviation display 83 of the machine body 1 calculated by the heading deviation calculation unit 77 are displayed in a vertical arrangement at the right end of the guidance information screen. Additionally, a map screen including the machine body symbol SY is displayed in the screen to the left of the steering display 82 and the heading deviation display 83, and in this map screen, already-worked portions, for which the tilling work is already complete, are indicated by a color indication WA. The color indication WA is calculated from the aggregation of the host vehicle positions NM stored in the storage unit 81 and the work width of the tilling device 3. This makes a clear visual distinction between already-worked portions and unworked portions. The configuration may be such that of the areas in which the color indication WA is displayed, areas that have undergone work travel three or more times, areas that have undergone work travel twice, and areas that have only undergone work travel once are distinguished by different colors. In other words, the configuration may be such that the color indication WA is a different color depending on the number of times work travel has been performed, and the already-worked portions in the guidance information are displayed using color indications WA of different colors. The color indication WA may instead be point-based indications or pattern-based indications. Paragraph [0099])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the route generation method of Murayama to include the displaying of which areas the vehicle has performed work in of Takase. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the method of Murayama to accurately determine which areas have already undergone work, thus increasing efficiency as suggested by Takase in paragraph [0099].
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicants’ argument with regards to the 102 rejection spanning from pages 1-2 of the Remarks document filed 2/23/2026 has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Murayama does not disclose or suggest correcting the target route based on the correction position, wherein the target route is changed. Murayama discloses that after an override operation, automatic travel resumes only when the current position of the work vehicle relative to the route satisfies predetermined conditions, including separation distance and orientation. When such conditions are not satisfied, automatic travel is not resumed. Thus, Murayama determines whether and how the work vehicle follows the route based on the correction position. Accordingly, Murayama modifies the implementation of the route based on the correction position.
Applicant further argues that Murayama does not generate the corrected route. However, as discussed above, Murayama conditions resumption of the automatic travel on the position of the work vehicle relative to the route and may prevent automatic travel altogether when such conditions are not satisfied. These determinations necessarily modify the manner in which the route is followed and implemented. Even assuming for arguments sake that Murayama itself does not explicitly disclose changing the route itself, Ikeda teaches correcting a route by shifting the route such that the route or an extension thereof passes through a correction position as set forth in the previous office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure. JP 2022183957 A teaches an automatic travel method, system, and program.
/J.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
3/26/26