DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/6/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/15/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 10-12, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verenzuela et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0203431) in view of Lou et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0119191).
As per claim 1, Verenzuela et al. teach a communication device [Verenzuela, ¶s 0036-0042, The AP (or communication device) performs the operation of the claim.], respectively establishing a plurality of wireless communication connections with a plurality of predetermined devices in an infrastructure network [Verenzuela, ¶ 0035, “Before describing the proposed solutions in detail, the basic system model assumptions shall be mentioned. One basic service set (BSS) is considered containing one AP (herein also denoted as first communication device) and several non-AP STAs. The STAs (herein also denoted as second communication devices) may communicate with the AP to form a link, here denoted as an AP link, or among each other (those STAs herein also denoted as third communication devices) to form P2P links”, The AP manages direct and P2P communication links between the devices (STAs) in the infrastructure network (see figs. 2A-2E and ¶ 0034).], comprising:
a wireless transceiver [Verenzuela, figs. 2A-2E, An IEEE 802.11 AP (see ¶ 0031) is recognized in the art as containing a transceiver and a processor.], arranged to transmit or receive a plurality of wireless signals [Verenzuela, figs. 2C-2E, The figures show the AP transmitting and receiving wireless signals.]; and
a processor [Verenzuela, figs. 2A-2E, An IEEE 802.11 AP (see ¶ 0031) is recognized in the art as containing a transceiver and a processor.], arranged to select a spatial reuse mechanism [Verenzuela, ¶ 0039, “In the overlay P2P decision and configuration step 13 (at the AP) information on the interfering links is collected and a signal-to-interference plus noise (SINR) metric is computed to evaluate the impact of interference on a potential overlay P2P communication. It is decided whether to schedule the overlay P2P communication or not if the SINR of the AP link and P2P link can be maintained above determined thresholds. If overlay P2P communication is scheduled, the limits for the transmitter configurations of the involved STAs are determined to support the SINR targets”, An AP utilizes a peer-to-peer (P2P) trial phase (see fig. 3, step 11 and ¶ 0037) and obtains measurement reports from the trial phase (see step 12, ¶ 0038). Using the interference measurements, the AP makes a P2P overlay configuration (or spatial reuse mechanism) decision, where spatial reuse (see ¶ 0029) and spatial streams are considered as part of the configuration (see ¶s 0038 and 0041).], generate spatial reuse information according to the spatial reuse mechanism [Verenzuela, ¶ 0040, “In the overlay P2P communication phase 20 (if scheduled by the P2P trial phase), the AP and P2P links are configured and scheduled in time and/or frequency. The overlay P2P communication phase may be implemented in two steps: a P2P communication phase announcement step 21 and an overlay P2P communication step 22”, The P2P communication phase uses spatial reuse parameters/information (see step 20) according to the configuration (or mechanism) selected in step 13. See also step 21 (¶ 0041) for more detail.], and transmit at least one packet carrying the spatial reuse information to the plurality of predetermined devices [Verenzuela, ¶ 0041, “In the P2P communication phase announcement step 21 the AP sends an indication to all STAs involved in the upcoming overlay P2P communication phase to indicate the configuration of the upcoming overlay P2P communication including one or more of direction of overlay links (i.e., UL+P2P, DL+P2P, UL/DL+P2P), transmission power, number of spatial streams and/or beamforming operation, bandwidth and/or subset of subcarriers or resource units (RU), PPDU size, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a time window during which the AP link and the P2P link can operate simultaneously with the specified configuration, and frequency (sub-)channels where the AP link and P2P link can operate”, The AP transmits an indication (reference as “ind D” in other figures) to the other devices. The announcement message includes the configuration parameters to operate according to the spatial reuse configuration selected (see back to step 13). See also ¶s 0061-0063.];
wherein the spatial reuse information defines a pattern of a communication period [Verenzuela, ¶ 0041, “In the P2P communication phase announcement step 21 the AP sends an indication to all STAs involved in the upcoming overlay P2P communication phase to indicate the configuration of the upcoming overlay P2P communication including one or more of direction of overlay links (i.e., UL+P2P, DL+P2P, UL/DL+P2P), transmission power, number of spatial streams and/or beamforming operation, bandwidth and/or subset of subcarriers or resource units (RU), PPDU size, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a time window during which the AP link and the P2P link can operate simultaneously with the specified configuration”, The P2P communication phase configuration (for spatial reuse) includes a time window (or pattern) for the communication period that specifies the direction of the links (see ¶ 0062). The prior art does not use overlay, where instead the P2P links are separate from the AP↔STA links (see ¶s 0031 and 0032).], the communication period comprises a spatial reuse phase and a non-spatial reuse phase [Verenzuela, ¶ 0085, “As a starting point, the BSS is assumed to be operating with regular AP link operation 30. Then, P2P trial phase 31 and overlay communication phase 32 take place. During or after the overlay P2P communication phase 32, a P2P feedback status phase 33 can be implemented to enable the AP to collect information regarding the status of the overlay P2P communication, for example, packet error rate (PER), SINR or channel measurements of each P2P STA involved in the overlay P2P communication”, The P2P communication phase (see fig. 9, element 32) operates according to configuration parameters, including a time window. Once the phase completes, feedback is collected (see element 33), and Regular AP operation (without P2P spatial reuse) may resume (see element 30).], and the spatial reuse information comprises time information of at least one of the spatial reuse phase and the non-spatial reuse phase [Verenzuela, ¶ 0085, “As a starting point, the BSS is assumed to be operating with regular AP link operation 30. Then, P2P trial phase 31 and overlay communication phase 32 take place. During or after the overlay P2P communication phase 32, a P2P feedback status phase 33 can be implemented to enable the AP to collect information regarding the status of the overlay P2P communication, for example, packet error rate (PER), SINR or channel measurements of each P2P STA involved in the overlay P2P communication”, The P2P communication phase (see fig. 9, element 32) operates according to configuration parameters, including a time window. Once the phase completes, feedback is collected (see element 33), and Regular AP operation (without P2P spatial reuse) may resume (see element 30).].
Verenzuela et al. do not explicitly teach wherein in response to the selection of the spatial reuse mechanism, the processor suspends a wireless signal transmission with the plurality of predetermined devices during the spatial reuse phase.
However, in an analogous art, Lou et al. teach wherein in response to the selection of the spatial reuse mechanism, the processor suspends a wireless signal transmission with the plurality of predetermined devices during the spatial reuse phase [Lou, fig. 17, ¶ 0204, “non-AP STA initiates spatial reuse within the time allocated in MU-RTS TX TF 1705. The objective of non-AP STA initiated spatial reuse operation within the time allocated in MU-RTS TX TF is to allow the medium to be reused more often between overlapping basic service sets (OBSSs) in dense deployment scenario by the early identification of signals from the OBSSs and interference management. An EHT STA supporting spatial reuse capabilities for high efficiency (HE) WLAN, such as defined by 802.11 ax, a parameterized spatial reuse (PSR)-based options may be used”, In fig. 17, the process begins with a MU-RTS TXOP Sharing (TXS) trigger frame (see element 1705, ¶ 0203), where the TXS trigger frame defines a time period where P2P spatial reuse occurs. Elements 1714 and 1716 show the period is used for STA1↔STA2 communications, and the AP remains silent (i.e., no transmissions or receptions).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the TXOP sharing operations of Lou et al. into Verenzuela et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating sharing operations into established P2P links would allow for gain through spatial reuse with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, Verenzuela et al. teach a communication device [Verenzuela, ¶s 0036-0042, The STA (or communication device) performs the operation of the claim.], comprising:
a wireless transceiver [Verenzuela, figs. 2A-2E, An IEEE 802.11 STA (see ¶ 0031) is recognized in the art as containing a transceiver and a processor.], arranged to transmit or receive a plurality of wireless signals, wherein the plurality of wireless signals comprises a signal received from a wireless access point [Verenzuela, figs. 2C-2E, The figures show the STA transmitting and receiving wireless signals with the AP.], and the signal comprises a packet carrying spatial reuse information [Verenzuela, ¶ 0041, “In the P2P communication phase announcement step 21 the AP sends an indication to all STAs involved in the upcoming overlay P2P communication phase to indicate the configuration of the upcoming overlay P2P communication including one or more of direction of overlay links (i.e., UL+P2P, DL+P2P, UL/DL+P2P), transmission power, number of spatial streams and/or beamforming operation, bandwidth and/or subset of subcarriers or resource units (RU), PPDU size, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a time window during which the AP link and the P2P link can operate simultaneously with the specified configuration, and frequency (sub-)channels where the AP link and P2P link can operate”, The AP transmits an indication (reference as “ind D” in other figures) to the other devices. The announcement message includes the configuration parameters to operate according to the spatial reuse configuration selected (see back to step 13). See also ¶s 0061-0063.]; and
a processor [Verenzuela, figs. 2A-2E, An IEEE 802.11 STA (see ¶ 0031) is recognized in the art as containing a transceiver and a processor.], arranged to determine when to communicate with the wireless access point according to the spatial reuse information [Verenzuela, ¶ 0041, “In the P2P communication phase announcement step 21 the AP sends an indication to all STAs involved in the upcoming overlay P2P communication phase to indicate the configuration of the upcoming overlay P2P communication including one or more of direction of overlay links (i.e., UL+P2P, DL+P2P, UL/DL+P2P), transmission power, number of spatial streams and/or beamforming operation, bandwidth and/or subset of subcarriers or resource units (RU), PPDU size, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a time window during which the AP link and the P2P link can operate simultaneously with the specified configuration, and frequency (sub-)channels where the AP link and P2P link can operate”, The AP transmits an indication (reference as “ind D” in other figures) to the other devices. The announcement message includes the configuration parameters to operate according to the spatial reuse configuration selected (see back to step 13). See also ¶s 0061-0063.];
wherein the spatial reuse information defines a pattern of a communication period [Verenzuela, ¶ 0041, “In the P2P communication phase announcement step 21 the AP sends an indication to all STAs involved in the upcoming overlay P2P communication phase to indicate the configuration of the upcoming overlay P2P communication including one or more of direction of overlay links (i.e., UL+P2P, DL+P2P, UL/DL+P2P), transmission power, number of spatial streams and/or beamforming operation, bandwidth and/or subset of subcarriers or resource units (RU), PPDU size, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a time window during which the AP link and the P2P link can operate simultaneously with the specified configuration”, The P2P communication phase configuration (for spatial reuse) includes a time window (or pattern) for the communication period that specifies the direction of the links (see ¶ 0062). The prior art does not use overlay, where instead the P2P links are separate from the AP↔STA links (see ¶s 0031 and 0032).], the communication period comprises a spatial reuse phase and a non-spatial reuse phase [Verenzuela, ¶ 0085, “As a starting point, the BSS is assumed to be operating with regular AP link operation 30. Then, P2P trial phase 31 and overlay communication phase 32 take place. During or after the overlay P2P communication phase 32, a P2P feedback status phase 33 can be implemented to enable the AP to collect information regarding the status of the overlay P2P communication, for example, packet error rate (PER), SINR or channel measurements of each P2P STA involved in the overlay P2P communication”, The P2P communication phase (see fig. 9, element 32) operates according to configuration parameters, including a time window. Once the phase completes, feedback is collected (see element 33), and Regular AP operation (without P2P spatial reuse) may resume (see element 30).], and the spatial reuse information comprises time information of at least one of the spatial reuse phase and the non-spatial reuse phase [Verenzuela, ¶ 0085, “As a starting point, the BSS is assumed to be operating with regular AP link operation 30. Then, P2P trial phase 31 and overlay communication phase 32 take place. During or after the overlay P2P communication phase 32, a P2P feedback status phase 33 can be implemented to enable the AP to collect information regarding the status of the overlay P2P communication, for example, packet error rate (PER), SINR or channel measurements of each P2P STA involved in the overlay P2P communication”, The P2P communication phase (see fig. 9, element 32) operates according to configuration parameters, including a time window. Once the phase completes, feedback is collected (see element 33), and Regular AP operation (without P2P spatial reuse) may resume (see element 30).].
Verenzuela et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the processor communicates with the wireless access point during the non-spatial reuse phase, and communicates with a predetermined device during the spatial reuse phase.
However, in an analogous art, Lou et al. teach wherein the processor communicates with the wireless access point during the non-spatial reuse phase, and communicates with a predetermined device during the spatial reuse phase [Lou, fig. 17, ¶ 0204, “non-AP STA initiates spatial reuse within the time allocated in MU-RTS TX TF 1705. The objective of non-AP STA initiated spatial reuse operation within the time allocated in MU-RTS TX TF is to allow the medium to be reused more often between overlapping basic service sets (OBSSs) in dense deployment scenario by the early identification of signals from the OBSSs and interference management. An EHT STA supporting spatial reuse capabilities for high efficiency (HE) WLAN, such as defined by 802.11 ax, a parameterized spatial reuse (PSR)-based options may be used”, In fig. 17, the process begins with a MU-RTS TXOP Sharing (TXS) trigger frame (see element 1705, ¶ 0203), where the TXS trigger frame defines a time period where P2P spatial reuse occurs. Elements 1714 and 1716 show the period is used for STA1↔STA2 communications, and the AP remains silent (i.e., no transmissions or receptions).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the TXOP sharing operations of Lou et al. into Verenzuela et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating sharing operations into established P2P links would allow for gain through spatial reuse with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 10, Verenzuela et al. in view of Lou et al. teach the communication of claim 7. Verenzuela et al. also teach wherein the processor performs a peer-to-peer communication with the predetermined device according to a Wi-Fi direct protocol [Verenzuela, ¶ 0031, “In the WLAN IEEE 802.11 standard, tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS) describes mechanisms to support P2P device discovery, link setup and channel switch operations. In the standard amendment IEEE 802.1 lax a quiet time period can be used by the AP to reduce interference”, Wi-Fi Direct is defined in the applicant’s specification as P2P within IEEE 802.11.].
As per claim 11, Verenzuela et al. in view of Lou et al. teach the communication of claim 7. Verenzuela et al. also teach wherein the spatial reuse phase does not overlap the non-spatial reuse phase [Verenzuela, ¶ 0085, “As a starting point, the BSS is assumed to be operating with regular AP link operation 30. Then, P2P trial phase 31 and overlay communication phase 32 take place. During or after the overlay P2P communication phase 32, a P2P feedback status phase 33 can be implemented to enable the AP to collect information regarding the status of the overlay P2P communication, for example, packet error rate (PER), SINR or channel measurements of each P2P STA involved in the overlay P2P communication”, The P2P communication phase (see fig. 9, element 32) operates according to configuration parameters, including a time window. Once the phase completes, feedback is collected (see element 33), and Regular AP operation (without P2P spatial reuse) may resume (see element 30).].
As per claim 12, Verenzuela et al. teach a transmission schedule method for a communication device [Verenzuela, ¶ 0035, “Before describing the proposed solutions in detail, the basic system model assumptions shall be mentioned. One basic service set (BSS) is considered containing one AP (herein also denoted as first communication device) and several non-AP STAs. The STAs (herein also denoted as second communication devices) may communicate with the AP to form a link, here denoted as an AP link, or among each other (those STAs herein also denoted as third communication devices) to form P2P links”, The AP manages direct and P2P communication links between the devices (STAs) in the infrastructure network (see figs. 2A-2E and ¶ 0034).], comprising:
selecting a spatial reuse mechanism [Verenzuela, ¶ 0039, “In the overlay P2P decision and configuration step 13 (at the AP) information on the interfering links is collected and a signal-to-interference plus noise (SINR) metric is computed to evaluate the impact of interference on a potential overlay P2P communication. It is decided whether to schedule the overlay P2P communication or not if the SINR of the AP link and P2P link can be maintained above determined thresholds. If overlay P2P communication is scheduled, the limits for the transmitter configurations of the involved STAs are determined to support the SINR targets”, An AP utilizes a peer-to-peer (P2P) trial phase (see fig. 3, step 11 and ¶ 0037) and obtains measurement reports from the trial phase (see step 12, ¶ 0038). Using the interference measurements, the AP makes a P2P overlay configuration (or spatial reuse mechanism) decision, where spatial reuse (see ¶ 0029) and spatial streams are considered as part of the configuration (see ¶s 0038 and 0041).] and generating spatial reuse information according to the spatial reuse mechanism [Verenzuela, ¶ 0040, “In the overlay P2P communication phase 20 (if scheduled by the P2P trial phase), the AP and P2P links are configured and scheduled in time and/or frequency. The overlay P2P communication phase may be implemented in two steps: a P2P communication phase announcement step 21 and an overlay P2P communication step 22”, The P2P communication phase uses spatial reuse parameters/information (see step 20) according to the configuration (or mechanism) selected in step 13. See also step 21 (¶ 0041) for more detail.];
transmitting at least one packet carrying the spatial reuse information [Verenzuela, ¶ 0041, “In the P2P communication phase announcement step 21 the AP sends an indication to all STAs involved in the upcoming overlay P2P communication phase to indicate the configuration of the upcoming overlay P2P communication including one or more of direction of overlay links (i.e., UL+P2P, DL+P2P, UL/DL+P2P), transmission power, number of spatial streams and/or beamforming operation, bandwidth and/or subset of subcarriers or resource units (RU), PPDU size, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a time window during which the AP link and the P2P link can operate simultaneously with the specified configuration, and frequency (sub-)channels where the AP link and P2P link can operate”, The AP transmits an indication (reference as “ind D” in other figures) to the other devices. The announcement message includes the configuration parameters to operate according to the spatial reuse configuration selected (see back to step 13). See also ¶s 0061-0063.], wherein the at least one packet is transmitted from the communication device to a plurality of predetermined devices within an infrastructure basic service set [Verenzuela, ¶ 0035, “Before describing the proposed solutions in detail, the basic system model assumptions shall be mentioned. One basic service set (BSS) is considered containing one AP (herein also denoted as first communication device) and several non-AP STAs. The STAs (herein also denoted as second communication devices) may communicate with the AP to form a link, here denoted as an AP link, or among each other (those STAs herein also denoted as third communication devices) to form P2P links”, Communications between the AP and STAs occur using traditional methods, including a (infrastructure) basic service set (BSS). The invention then incorporates P2P. See also ¶s 0085 and 0088.], the communication device is a wireless access point within the infrastructure basic service set [Verenzuela, ¶ 0035, “Before describing the proposed solutions in detail, the basic system model assumptions shall be mentioned. One basic service set (BSS) is considered containing one AP (herein also denoted as first communication device) and several non-AP STAs. The STAs (herein also denoted as second communication devices) may communicate with the AP to form a link, here denoted as an AP link, or among each other (those STAs herein also denoted as third communication devices) to form P2P links”, The AP forms the links within the infrastructure BSS.], the communication device respectively establishes a plurality of wireless communication connections with the plurality of predetermined devices [Verenzuela, ¶ 0035, “Before describing the proposed solutions in detail, the basic system model assumptions shall be mentioned. One basic service set (BSS) is considered containing one AP (herein also denoted as first communication device) and several non-AP STAs. The STAs (herein also denoted as second communication devices) may communicate with the AP to form a link, here denoted as an AP link, or among each other (those STAs herein also denoted as third communication devices) to form P2P links”, The AP manages direct and P2P communication links between the devices (STAs) in the infrastructure network (see figs. 2A-2E and ¶ 0034).], the spatial reuse information defines a pattern of a communication period [Verenzuela, ¶ 0041, “In the P2P communication phase announcement step 21 the AP sends an indication to all STAs involved in the upcoming overlay P2P communication phase to indicate the configuration of the upcoming overlay P2P communication including one or more of direction of overlay links (i.e., UL+P2P, DL+P2P, UL/DL+P2P), transmission power, number of spatial streams and/or beamforming operation, bandwidth and/or subset of subcarriers or resource units (RU), PPDU size, modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a time window during which the AP link and the P2P link can operate simultaneously with the specified configuration”, The P2P communication phase configuration (for spatial reuse) includes a time window (or pattern) for the communication period that specifies the direction of the links (see ¶ 0062). The prior art does not use overlay, where instead the P2P links are separate from the AP↔STA links (see ¶s 0031 and 0032).], the communication period comprises a spatial reuse phase and a non-spatial reuse phase [Verenzuela, ¶ 0085, “As a starting point, the BSS is assumed to be operating with regular AP link operation 30. Then, P2P trial phase 31 and overlay communication phase 32 take place. During or after the overlay P2P communication phase 32, a P2P feedback status phase 33 can be implemented to enable the AP to collect information regarding the status of the overlay P2P communication, for example, packet error rate (PER), SINR or channel measurements of each P2P STA involved in the overlay P2P communication”, The P2P communication phase (see fig. 9, element 32) operates according to configuration parameters, including a time window. Once the phase completes, feedback is collected (see element 33), and Regular AP operation (without P2P spatial reuse) may resume (see element 30).], and the spatial reuse information comprises time information of at least one of the spatial reuse phase and the non-spatial reuse phase [Verenzuela, ¶ 0085, “As a starting point, the BSS is assumed to be operating with regular AP link operation 30. Then, P2P trial phase 31 and overlay communication phase 32 take place. During or after the overlay P2P communication phase 32, a P2P feedback status phase 33 can be implemented to enable the AP to collect information regarding the status of the overlay P2P communication, for example, packet error rate (PER), SINR or channel measurements of each P2P STA involved in the overlay P2P communication”, The P2P communication phase (see fig. 9, element 32) operates according to configuration parameters, including a time window. Once the phase completes, feedback is collected (see element 33), and Regular AP operation (without P2P spatial reuse) may resume (see element 30).];
performing a wireless signal transmission associated with the infrastructure basic service set during the non-spatial reuse phase [Verenzuela, ¶ 0035, “Before describing the proposed solutions in detail, the basic system model assumptions shall be mentioned. One basic service set (BSS) is considered containing one AP (herein also denoted as first communication device) and several non-AP STAs. The STAs (herein also denoted as second communication devices) may communicate with the AP to form a link, here denoted as an AP link, or among each other (those STAs herein also denoted as third communication devices) to form P2P links”, Communications between the AP and STAs occur using traditional methods, including a (infrastructure) basic service set (BSS). This is performed outside of the P2P time window.].
Verenzuela et al. do not explicitly teach suspending the wireless signal transmission associated with the infrastructure basic service set during the spatial reuse phase.
However, in an analogous art, Lou et al. teach suspending the wireless signal transmission associated with the infrastructure basic service set during the spatial reuse phase [Lou, fig. 17, ¶ 0204, “non-AP STA initiates spatial reuse within the time allocated in MU-RTS TX TF 1705. The objective of non-AP STA initiated spatial reuse operation within the time allocated in MU-RTS TX TF is to allow the medium to be reused more often between overlapping basic service sets (OBSSs) in dense deployment scenario by the early identification of signals from the OBSSs and interference management. An EHT STA supporting spatial reuse capabilities for high efficiency (HE) WLAN, such as defined by 802.11 ax, a parameterized spatial reuse (PSR)-based options may be used”, In fig. 17, the process begins with a MU-RTS TXOP Sharing (TXS) trigger frame (see element 1705, ¶ 0203), where the TXS trigger frame defines a time period where P2P spatial reuse occurs. Elements 1714 and 1716 show the period is used for STA1↔STA2 communications, and the AP remains silent (i.e., no transmissions or receptions).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the TXOP sharing operations of Lou et al. into Verenzuela et al. One would have been motivated to do this because incorporating sharing operations into established P2P links would allow for gain through spatial reuse with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 14, Verenzuela et al. in view of Lou et al. teach the transmission schedule method of claim 12. Verenzuela et al. also teach further comprising: allocating at least one of the plurality of spatial reuse time slots to the plurality of predetermined devices according to a characteristic of the plurality of wireless communication connections [Verenzuela, ¶ 0039, “In the overlay P2P decision and configuration step 13 (at the AP) information on the interfering links is collected and a signal-to-interference plus noise (SINR) metric is computed to evaluate the impact of interference on a potential overlay P2P communication. It is decided whether to schedule the overlay P2P communication or not if the SINR of the AP link and P2P link can be maintained above determined thresholds. If overlay P2P communication is scheduled, the limits for the transmitter configurations of the involved STAs are determined to support the SINR targets”, An AP utilizes a peer-to-peer (P2P) trial phase (see fig. 3, step 11 and ¶ 0037) and obtains measurement reports (or characteristic of the communication connections) from the trial phase (see step 12, ¶ 0038). Using the interference measurements, the AP makes a P2P overlay configuration (or spatial reuse mechanism) decision, where spatial reuse (see ¶ 0029) and spatial streams are considered as part of the configuration (see ¶s 0038 and 0041).].
As per claim 15, Verenzuela et al. in view of Lou et al. teach the transmission schedule method of claim 14. Verenzuela et al. also teach wherein the characteristic of the plurality of wireless communication connections comprises an energy or a direction of a wireless signal received by a corresponding predetermined device in the plurality of predetermined devices [Verenzuela, ¶ 0039, “In the overlay P2P decision and configuration step 13 (at the AP) information on the interfering links is collected and a signal-to-interference plus noise (SINR) metric is computed to evaluate the impact of interference on a potential overlay P2P communication. It is decided whether to schedule the overlay P2P communication or not if the SINR of the AP link and P2P link can be maintained above determined thresholds. If overlay P2P communication is scheduled, the limits for the transmitter configurations of the involved STAs are determined to support the SINR targets”, An AP utilizes a peer-to-peer (P2P) trial phase (see fig. 3, step 11 and ¶ 0037) and obtains measurement reports (or characteristic of the communication connections) from the trial phase (see step 12, ¶ 0038). Using the interference measurements, the AP makes a P2P overlay configuration (or spatial reuse mechanism) decision, where spatial reuse (see ¶ 0029) and spatial streams are considered as part of the configuration (see ¶s 0038 and 0041). SINR corresponds to energy.].
As per claim 18, Verenzuela et al. in view of Lou et al. teach the transmission schedule method of claim 14. Verenzuela et al. also teach further comprising: performing a peer-to-peer communication in an allocated spatial reuse time slot according to a Wi-Fi direct protocol [Verenzuela, ¶ 0031, “In the WLAN IEEE 802.11 standard, tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS) describes mechanisms to support P2P device discovery, link setup and channel switch operations. In the standard amendment IEEE 802.1 lax a quiet time period can be used by the AP to reduce interference”, Wi-Fi Direct is defined in the applicant’s specification as P2P within IEEE 802.11.].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8, 9, 13, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Iwai et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0373456), teaches TXOP sharing (see at least fig. 7).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417