DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 10, 11, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PgPub. No. 2020/0134772 by Poudel Karmatha et al. (hereinafter ‘Poudel’).
In regards to claim 1, Poudel teaches a system for processing an image, comprising: at least one storage device including a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to communicate with the at least one storage device, wherein when executing the set of instructions, the at least one processor is configured to direct the system to perform operations including: (See Poudel Figure 1, Poudel teaches a system for image processing.)
obtaining an image; (See Poudel paragraph [0070], Poudel teaches camera for capturing images of a scene.)
obtaining a first image feature by performing a feature extraction operation on the image; (See Poudel paragraph [0071] and Figure 2, element S207, Poudel teaches obtaining features from full resolution images.)
obtaining a down-sampled image by down-sampling the image; obtaining a second image feature by performing a feature extraction operation on the down-sampled image; (See Poudel paragraphs [0073], [0077]-[0078] and Figure 3, element S303 and S305, Poudel teaches downsampling the image and obtaining features from downsampled image.)
obtaining, based on the first image feature and the second image feature, a target feature; and performing a segmentation operation on the image based on the target feature. (See Poudel paragraphs [0131] and Figure 3, element S319, Poudel teaches fusing features and obtaining a segmented 2D image.)
In regards to claim 2, Poudel teaches wherein the obtaining a target feature comprises: obtaining a first intermediate feature by up-sampling the first image feature; obtaining a second intermediate feature by up-sampling the second image feature; obtaining a semantic feature by performing a fusion operation on the first intermediate feature and the second intermediate feature; and obtaining the target feature based on the semantic feature. (See Poudel paragraphs [0037]-[0039]).
In regards to claim 9, Poudel teaches wherein the obtaining, based on the first image feature and the second image feature, a target feature further comprises: obtaining a difference feature based on the first image feature and the second image feature; obtaining a basic feature based on the image; and obtaining the target feature by performing an enhancement operation on the first image feature based on the basic feature and the difference feature. (See Poudel paragraphs [0131]-[0135]).
Claims 10-11 recite limitations that are similar to that of claims 1 and 2, respectively. Therefore, claims 10-11 are rejected similarly as claims 1 and 2, respectively.
Claim 18 recites limitations that are similar to that of claim 9. Therefore, claim18 is rejected similarly as claim 9.
Claims 19-20 recite limitations that are similar to that of claims 1 and 2, respectively. Therefore, claims 19-20 are rejected similarly as claims 1 and 2, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claims 3 and 12, the applied art does not teach or suggest “wherein the obtaining a semantic feature by performing a fusion operation on the first intermediate feature and the second intermediate feature comprises: obtaining a first probability map corresponding to the first intermediate feature and a second probability map corresponding to the second intermediate feature; and obtaining the semantic feature by performing a weighted summation on the first intermediate feature and the second intermediate feature based on the first probability map and the second probability map.”
In regards to claims 4-8 and 13-17, the applied art does not teach or suggest “wherein the obtaining the target feature based on the semantic feature comprises: obtaining a difference feature based on the first intermediate feature and the second intermediate feature; and obtaining the target feature based on the difference feature and the semantic feature.”
Conclusion
/UTPAL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668