DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figure 5 from Group 1 and Species (i) Figure 3 from Group 2 in the reply filed on 1/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 8 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/7/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) dated 1/15/2024, 10/15/2024, and 10/23/2025 have been received and considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 2, “potion” should be --portion--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is rejected as the claim recites “a second port portion” without previously reciting “a first port portion”. The recitation of “a first port portion” is not introduced until claim 6. Claim 7 currently depends from claim 5. Thus, in claim 7, it is unclear how many port portions are intending to be claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-16, and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valeo Systemes D’Essuyage (WO2020/221584)(supplied by the applicant in the IDS dated 10/15/2024, machine translation included herewith, hereinafter “Valeo”) in view of Techno Excel Co Ltd (JP2002188750, equivalent to JP3661994 supplied by the applicant in the IDS dated 10/15/2024, reference and machine translation included herewith, hereinafter “Techno”) and Disch et al. (U.S. 2023/0250892).
Valeo discloses a fluid management device, comprising: a control assembly (1 generally); at least two block portions (7, see multiple instances in fig. 1) being connected to the control assembly (fig. 1); and at least two valve core assemblies (6, see multiple in fig. 1) being electrically connected (via electrical connectors 8, see para. 36) to the control assembly; wherein each of the at least two block portions comprises a body portion (10), a portion of the at least two valve core assemblies is located in an inner cavity of the control assembly (see fig. 1), and a gap is formed between two adjacent body portions (see figs. 1 and 2, notice in fig. 2 the void space surrounding 7 in the area of 15 and below 6, this void space will provide gaps between the body portions when in the assembled configuration shown in fig. 1).
While implicitly there are some types of channels in Valeo for the solenoid valve to control flow, Valeo is silent as to the body portion defining a mounting channel; and another portion of the at least two valve core assemblies is located in the mounting channel and the block portions being hermetically connected to the control assembly.
Techno teaches it was known to have a similar solenoid valve (20) with a body portion (15) that has a mounting channel (the upper opening) and a portion of the valve core assembly (the upper electrical core including 17, 21, 31, 22, etc. has at least a portion (near the lead line for numeral 29)) located in the mounting channel (see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Valeo by having the body have a mounting channel that has a portion of the valve core assembly located in the channel as taught by Techno as Valeo is silent as to this aspect and having a portion of the valve core assembly in a mounting channel of the body provides for a stable, secure connection for the solenoid valve.
Disch teaches it was known in the art to have solenoid valves (26) entirely located and sealed within a control assembly (sealed within 12 and 20 forming a hermetic seal, see figs. 2 and 4-5, notice especially in figs. 4-5 there being no gaps or openings to allow air through as the bodies of the solenoids (the lower portions of the solenoids) are abutting against and contacting the housing) and connected to a circuit board (15), with the circuit board (15) located within the envelope of the control assembly (within 12 and 20) and electrically connected with the solenoid valves (via 17 and 30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control assembly of Valeo such that the block portions and valve core assemblies are hermetically (entirely sealed) connected to the control assembly and has the electrical connections for the solenoid and a circuit board within the control assembly as taught by Disch in order to better protect the solenoid valves (including the core and block portions) from the environment as well as provide a circuit board internally in the enclosure such that the electrical connections (8 in Valeo) are located within the housing and not externally (as shown in fig. 1 of Valeo), increasing the durability of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the control assembly comprises a first shell (4 or 5), a second shell (the other of 4 or 5) and a circuit board (15 as taught above by Disch); the first shell is hermetically connected to the second shell (fig. 1, via clips 21 and tabs 20 as well as interlocking edge 25, further, see the teaching above by Disch for the hermetic enclosure); the control assembly defines an assembly cavity (within 4, 5) which is located between the first shell and the second shell; the circuit board is located in the assembly cavity (as taught above by Disch, see 15 within the cavity of the housing, bets shown in the cross-sectional views of figs. 4-5); the at least two block portions are both connected to the second shell (as the assembly is all connected together); the second shell is an integral piece (fig. 5 and 6 showing the shells 4 and 5); part of the at least two valve core assemblies is located in the assembly cavity (fig. 1 of Valeo and also the teaching above by Disch showing the cores within the cavity); the at least two valve core assemblies are electrically connected to the circuit board (Valeo has electrical connectors at 8, and the teaching of Disch above showing solenoid valves connected to a circuit board 15 via similar electrical contacts 30 that contact the contact surfaces 17 of the circuit board); the control assembly comprises a control chip mounted to the circuit board (the circuit board as taught above by Disch is seen to have a control chip in order to necessarily perform the control functions, see para. 43-44); the control chip is configured to control an action of the at least two valve core assemblies; the control chip comprises an electronic control part that controls the action of the at least two valve core assemblies (the control device for the solenoid block, see para. 36 of Valeo and the abstract, para. 5, para. 14 of Disch); the circuit board comprises a plate body (see the circuit board 15 as taught by Disch being a plate); the at least two valve core assemblies are electrically connected to the plate body (via 30 and 17 as taught by Disch); the plate body is an integral piece (as it is part of the overall device).
Regarding claim 3, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein each valve core assembly comprises a connecting portion (as taught by Disch, see 30) and a valve core portion (6 of Valeo and as taught above by Techno, such as the components including but not limited to 17, 21, 31, 22, etc.); the connecting portion is fixed and electrically connected to the circuit board (via 17 of Disch); the connecting portion is fixed and electrically connected to the valve core portion (as they are coupled and assembled together, see fig. 2 of Valeo and in order to operate properly they are electrically connected); along an axial direction of the valve core assembly (fig. 1), one end of the valve core portion cooperates with the circuit board or the second shell (the circuit board as taught by Disch, via 30 and 17), and another end of the valve core portion cooperates with the block portion (the bottom end of 6 of Valeo cooperates with the block portion 7 of Valeo).
Regarding claim 9, Valeo as modified further discloses at least one pipe (such as the male pipe at 38 in fig. 2); wherein one end of the at least one pipe is hermetically connected to one of the at least two block portions (fig. 2), and another end of the at least one pipe is hermetically connected to another one of the at least two block portions (to another block, see fig. 1); an inner cavity of the at least one pipe is in communication with inner cavities of any two of the block portions (38 is in fluid communication with the inner cavities of each of the solenoid valves it is connected to, see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the block portion comprises an extension portion (the upper portion of the block portion that connects with the housing components and the core assemblies) which extends from a side of the body portion close to the control assembly toward a circumferential side (as it extends circumferentially, see fig. 2); the extension portion is hermetically connected to the control assembly (fig. 1 of Valeo, see the teaching of the hermetic connection by Disch); the block portion is an integral piece (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the valve core assembly is a standardized component, and a structure of each valve core assembly is the same (see fig. 1 showing multiple of the same core assembly, thus interpreted to be a “standardized component”); the block portion is a standardized component, and a structure of each block portion is the same (see fig. 1 showing multiple of the same block portion, thus interpreted to be a “standardized component”).
Regarding claim 12, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the pipe is a standardized component, an appropriate length of the pipe can be selected; the pipe has a hollow cylindrical structure (hollow in order to handle fluid, and appropriate length to provide the fluid connection and as there are multiple of the same pipes, interpreted to be a “standardized component”).
Regarding claim 13, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein multiple valve core assemblies are provided and arranged in a line along a length direction of the control assembly (fig. 1), and multiple block portions are provided and arranged in a line along the length direction of the control assembly (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Valeo discloses a fluid management device, comprising: a control assembly comprising a shell (4, 5); the shell defining an assembly cavity (within the shell); a plurality of block portions (7, see multiple instances in fig. 1) being connected to the shell (fig. 1); the plurality of block portions being of a same structure (fig. 1); each block portion comprising a body portion (a portion of 10), an extension portion (an upper portion of 10 that is then coupled to 6, see fig. 2) connected to the body portion; the extension portion being connected to the shell (as the components are all connected together); and a plurality of valve core assemblies (6, see multiple in fig. 1) being electrically connected (via electrical connectors 8, see para. 36); the plurality of valve core assemblies being of a same structure (fig. 1); wherein a portion of each valve core assembly is located in the assembly cavity of the shell (see fig. 1); wherein each two adjacent body portions of the plurality of block portions are spaced apart from each other by a gap (see figs. 1 and 2, notice in fig. 2 the void space surrounding 7 in the area of 15 and below 6, this void space will provide gaps between the body portions when in the assembled configuration shown in fig. 1); and wherein the fluid management device further comprises at least one pipe fluidly communicating two of the block portions (such as the pipe 38 or pipe 39).
Valeo does not appear to disclose the control assembly including a circuit board with the circuit board located in the assembly cavity, the block portions being hermetically connected to the shell, a port portion connected to the body portion; the body portion defining a mounting channel and a communication channel in communication with the mounting channel, the port portion defining at least one port channel in communication with the communication channel, the valve core assemblies being electrically connected to the circuit board, or another portion of each valve core assembly is inserted in a corresponding mounting channel.
Techno teaches it was known to have a similar solenoid valve (20) with a port portion connected to a body portion (the portions with the openings at 12 and 13, with the body portion being connected to the port portions as it is a single component and similar to the applicant’s device), the body portion defining a mounting channel (the upper opening of 15) and a communication channel in communication with the mounting channel (the channel in the area of 11), the port portion defining ate least one port channel (either 12 or 13) in communication with the communication channel (fig. 4), another portion of each core assembly inserted into a corresponding mounting channel (the upper electrical core including 17, 21, 31, 22, etc. has at least a portion (near the lead line for numeral 29) inserted into the mounting channel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Valeo by having the body have a mounting channel and port portion with port channel and a communication channel with the mounting channel having a portion of the valve core assembly located in the channel as taught by Techno as Valeo is silent as to this aspect and having a portion of the valve core assembly in a mounting channel of the body provides for a stable, secure connection for the solenoid valve and the ports allow for the fluid communication desired by Valeo.
Disch teaches it was known in the art to have solenoid valves (26) entirely located and sealed within a control assembly and connected to a circuit board (sealed within 12 and 20 forming a hermetic seal, see figs. 2 and 4-5, notice especially in figs. 4-5 there being no gaps or openings to allow air through as the bodies of the solenoids (the lower portions of the solenoids) are abutting against and contacting the housing), with the circuit board (15) located within the envelope of the control assembly (within 12 and 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control assembly of Valeo such that the block portions and valve core assemblies are hermetically (entirely sealed) connected to the control assembly and has the electrical connections for the solenoid and a circuit board within the control assembly as taught by Disch in order to better protect the solenoid valves (including the core and block portions) from the environment as well as provide a circuit board internally in the enclosure such that the electrical connections (8 in Valeo) are located within the housing and not externally (as shown in fig. 1 of Valeo), increasing the durability of the device.
Regarding claim 15, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the shell comprises a first shell (4 or 5) and a second shell (the other of 4 or 5); the first shell is hermetically connected to the second shell (fig. 1, via clips 21 and tabs 20 as well as interlocking edge 25, further, see the teaching above by Disch for the hermetic enclosure); the assembly cavity is located between the first shell and the second shell (within 4 and 5); the extension portions of the plurality of block portions are connected to the second shell (as the components are all connected together); the second shell is an integral piece (fig. 5 and 6 showing the shells 4 and 5); the control assembly comprises a control chip (the circuit board as taught above by Disch is seen to have a control chip in order to necessarily perform the control functions, see para. 43-44) mounted to the circuit board; the control chip is configured to control an action of the core assemblies (the control device for the solenoid block, see para. 36 of Valeo and the abstract, para. 5, para. 14 of Disch); the circuit board comprises a plate body (see the circuit board 15 as taught by Disch being a plate); the valve core assemblies are electrically connected to the plate body (via 30 and 17 as taught by Disch); the plate body is an integral piece (as it is part of the overall device).
Regarding claim 16, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein each valve core assembly comprises a connecting portion (as taught by Disch, see 30) and a valve core portion (6 from Valeo and as taught above by Techno, such as the components including but not limited to 17, 21, 31, 22, etc.); the connecting portion is electrically connected to the circuit board (via 17 of Disch) and electrically connected to the valve core portion (as they are coupled and assembled together, see fig. 2 of Valeo and in order to operate properly they are electrically connected); along an axial direction of each valve core assembly (fig. 1), one end of the valve core portion cooperates with the circuit board (the circuit board as taught by Disch, via 30 and 17) or the second shell, and another end of the valve core portion cooperates with a corresponding block portion (the bottom end of 6 of Valeo cooperates with the block portion 7 of Valeo).
Regarding claim 20, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein each valve core assembly is a standardized component (see fig. 1 showing multiple of the same core assembly, thus interpreted to be a “standardized component”); each block portion is a standardized component (see fig. 1 showing multiple of the same block portion, thus interpreted to be a “standardized component”); each pipe is a standardized component (see fig. 1 showing multiple of the same pipes, thus interpreted to be a “standardized component”); and wherein the plurality of valve core assemblies are arranged in a line along a length direction of the control assembly (fig. 1), and the plurality of block portions are arranged in a line along the length direction of the control assembly (fig. 1).
Claim(s) 4-7 and 17-19, claim 7 as far as it is definite, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valeo in view of Techno and Disch as applied to claims 3 and 16, respectively, above, and further in view of Mismas (U.S. 5,730,174).
Regarding claim 4, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein each valve core portion (the details of the core as taught by Techno) comprises a shell portion (the housing for the core including elements such as 17) and a valve (the solenoid valve); one end of the shell portion cooperates with the circuit board or the second shell (as least cooperates with either the circuit board or the second shell as they are all part of the overall assembly and “cooperates” is broad and subjective), and another end of the shell portion cooperates with the block portion (at least the bottom end “cooperates” with the block portion as they are coupled together and “cooperates” is broad and subjective); the valve is at least partially located in an inner cavity of the shell portion (as taught by Techno, see fig. 4); the valve is movable in the axial direction of the valve core assembly (upward and downward to close the opening at 11, see para. 1).
Valeo as modified does not appear to disclose the valve being a needle valve.
Mismas teaches it was known to have a solenoid valve that is a needle valve (needle valve 68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Valeo by having the valve of Valeo be a needle valve as taught by Mismas in order to provide for more precise control of the valve opening when operating the valve if so desired by a user for a particular application.
Regarding claim 5, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the block portion comprises at least one port portion (as taught by Techno, see the portion portions in the area of the openings at 12 and 13); the body portion is connected to the port portion (the body portion as taught by Techno being connected to the port portions as it is a single component and similar to the applicant’s device); the body portion defines a communication channel (the channel in the area of 11 as taught by Techno); part of the shell portion is located in the mounting channel (fig. 4 of Techno); the port portion defines a port channel (either 12 or 13 as taught by Techno and similar to the port openings at 38 and 39 of Valeo) configured to communicate with the communication channel (as taught by Techno, see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the at least one port portion comprises a first port portion (such as 13 as taught by Techno); the first port portion is located on a side of the block portion away from the control assembly (as it is located at the bottom end); the first port portion is connected to the body portion (fig. 4 of Techno); the first port portion defines a first port channel (the channel for 13); when the valve core assembly is in a first state, the valve needle is abutted against the first port portion, the valve needle blocks one end of the first port channel, the communication channel and the first port channel are isolated at the valve needle (due to the valve being closed, fluid is stopped) ; and when the valve core assembly is in a second state, the valve needle is separated from the first port portion by a certain distance, and the communication channel is in communication with the first port channel (when the valve is open and as is known in the art).
Regarding claim 7, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the at least one port portion comprises a second port portion (such as 12 as taught by Techno) which is located on a peripheral side of the block portion (fig. 4); the second port portion is connected to the body portion (fig. 4); the second port portion defines at least one second port channel (the channel for 12) which is in communication with the communication channel (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein each valve core portion (the details of the core as taught by Techno) comprises a shell portion (the housing for the core including elements such as 17) and a valve (the solenoid valve); one end of the shell portion cooperates with the circuit board or the second shell (as least cooperates with either the circuit board or the second shell as they are all part of the overall assembly and “cooperates” is broad and subjective), and another end of the shell portion cooperates with the corresponding block portion (at least the bottom end “cooperates” with the block portion as they are coupled together and “cooperates” is broad and subjective); the valve is at least partially located in an inner cavity of the shell portion (as taught by Techno, see fig. 4); the valve is movable in the axial direction of the valve core assembly (upward and downward to close the opening at 11, see para. 1).
Valeo as modified does not appear to disclose the valve being a needle valve.
Mismas teaches it was known to have a solenoid valve that is a needle valve (needle valve 68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Valeo by having the valve of Valeo be a needle valve as taught by Mismas in order to provide for more precise control of the valve opening when operating the valve if so desired by a user for a particular application.
Regarding claim 18, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the port portion comprises a first port portion (such as 13 as taught by Techno) located on a side of the block portion away from the control assembly (as it is located at the bottom end); the first port portion is connected to the body portion (fig. 4 of Techno); the first port portion defines a first port channel (the channel for 13); when the valve core assembly is in a first state, the valve needle is abutted against the first port portion, the valve needle blocks one end of the first port channel, the communication channel and the first port channel are isolated at the valve needle (due to the valve being closed, the fluid is stopped); and when the valve core assembly is in a second state, the valve needle is separated from the first port portion by a certain distance, and the communication channel is in communication with the first port channel (when the valve is open and as is known in the art).
Regarding claim 19, Valeo as modified further discloses wherein the port portion comprises a second port portion (such as 12 as taught by Techno) located on a peripheral side of the block portion (fig. 4); the second port portion is connected to the body portion (fig. 4); the second port portion defines a second port channel (the channel for 12); and wherein the at least one pipe fluidly communicates the second port channels of two port portions (fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Homann et al. (U.S. 8,246,121) discloses a solenoid valve unit with a circuit board.
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753