DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US 2022/0255065).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a positive electrode plate (ref 10) comprising an active material layer (refs 1, 2) and a core body (ref 11), wherein the active material layer (refs 1, 2) includes an active material particle (depicted in Fig 3), the active material particle includes a large particle and a small particle (both large and small depicted in Fig 3), and a larger amount (at bottom of ref 2 near ref 11, Fig 3) of the large particle is present in a vicinity of a surface (at bottom of ref 2 near ref 11, Fig 3) of the active material layer (refs 1, 2) on the core body side (ref 11) than in a vicinity of a surface (at ref 1, top Fig 3) of the active material layer opposite to the core body (ref 11).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses in a cross section of the active material layer, a ratio of a total area of the large particle present in the vicinity of the surface opposite to the core body to a total area of the large particle present in the vicinity of the surface on the core body side is 0.2 or more and less than 1.0 (large particle content at surface of ref 11 at least meets these limitations as depicted in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the small particle includes a single-crystal particle ([0076]-[0077])
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the large particle has a grain boundary (grains depicted in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the large particle includes a secondary particle in which a primary particle is aggregated ([0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a particle packing density of the active material layer is 3.0 to 3.8 g/cm3 ([0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the active material layer has a deep layer (at ref 2) disposed on the core body side (ref 11), and a surficial layer (at ref 1) disposed on a side of the deep layer opposite to (Fig 3) the core body side (ref 11).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a mass ratio (a surficial layer / a deep layer) of the large particle in the surficial layer and the large particle in the deep layer is more than 1/9 and less than 1 (large particle content in deep layer / at surface of ref 11 at least meets these limitations as depicted in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (ref 100) comprising the positive electrode plate (ref 10) as set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yamamoto et al. (US 2023/0047021) discloses in Figs 1-2, a positive electrode for a secondary battery (Abstract) including a positive electrode active material including first and second mixture layers, each having different particle size / attributes (Abstract).
Hashimoto et al. (US 2015/0255786) discloses in Figs 1-5, a secondary battery (ref 1) including a positive electrode (ref 13a) having first and second mixture layers (refs 22A, 22B) each having different particle / size attributes ([0050]-[0052]).
Matsui et al. (US 2014/0370337) discloses in Figs 1-12, a secondary battery ([0009]) including a positive electrode having a positive active material layer comprising particle sizes that vary as distance from a current collector increases (Abstract).
Chiang et al. discloses in Figs 1-29, a secondary battery (Abstract) including a positive electrode having active material particles having a size gradient based on distance from a current collector ([0227]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725