DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jin et al (PGPUB 2022/0140320)
Claim 1: Jin teaches a positive electrode having two active material layers formed on a current collector [abstract]. The active material layer is a combination of layer 20, applicant’s deep layer, and layer 30, applicant’s surficial layer, formed on a current collector (10), applicant’s core layer [Fig 1]. The positive electrode includes an auxiliary agent of carbon nanotubes (CNT) [0013, 0043-0044, 0060-0068, 0099-0115].
Claim 2: Jin teaches the positive electrode active material (20) to include a conductive material that is exemplified to be acetylene black [0057-0058].
Claim 3: Jin teaches carbon nanotubes on the surface of the active material layer opposite the current collector for improving the conductivity and formation of electrode during pressing [0034-0035] and a conductive carbon material that does not need to be carbon nanotubes for the active material layer in the vicinity of the surface of the active material layer on the current collector [0057-0058].
Claim 4: Jin teaches applicant’s deep layer being the interface of element 20 and element 10 and a surficial layer being the interface of element 20 and element 30 [Fig 1].
Claim 5: Jin teaches a bimodal particle diameter distribution having large and small particles [0042-0056].
Claim 7: Jin teaches the current collector (10) to be made of an aluminum alloy [0038].
Claim 8: Jin teaches the use of the cathode in a battery [0002, 0087-0094].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al (PGPUB 2022/0140320) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al (PGPUB 2024/0405192).
Claim 6: Jin teaches a method to improve the rolling density [0033, 0044-0046], but is silent to teach the amount of particle packing density.
Yamamoto teaches a positive electrode for use in a secondary battery [abstract] having a positive electrode (20) and current collector (21) with active material [0051-0052] that comprises a deep and surficial layer [Fig 1]. Yamamoto teaches the particle packing density to be 3.5g/cm3 [0087]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the cathode of Jin to have the packing density of Yamamoto in order to improve the compressive strength of the active material [Abstract] and produce a high density after rolling to improve energy density and stability of the electrode produced [0087].
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al (PGPUB 2024/0405192) and further in view of Jin et al (PGPUB 2022/0140320).
Claim 1-3, 8: Yamamoto teaches a positive electrode for use in a secondary battery [abstract]. The positive electrode (20) includes a current collector (21), applicant’s core body, and an active layer material layer (22) [Fig 1; 0101]. The active material [0051-0052] comprises a conductive auxiliary agent of acetylene black [0086].
Yamamoto is silent to teach the inclusion of CNT on the surface of the active material opposite the core body.
Jin teaches a positive electrode [abstract] that comprises a surface layer of CNT (30) on the active material (20) prior to pressing in order to achieve a higher rolling density [0044]. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have been motivated to include a surface layer of CNT as taught by Jin on the electrode active layers of Yamamoto in order to improve the rolling density of particles and improve output characteristics by reducing cracking [0033-0035].
The product obviated by Yamamoto in view of Jin includes CNT on the surface opposite the current collector and therefore does not include CNT at the surface of the active material and the current collector.
Claim 4: Yamamoto teaches an active material to have a deep layer (R2) and a surficial layer (R1) [Fig 1].
Claim 5: Yamamoto teaches the active material layer to comprise active material particles in a secondary particle size, large, and primary particle size, small [0034-0038].
Claim 6: Yamamoto teaches the particle packing density to be 3.5g/cm3 [0087].
Claim 7: Yamamoto teaches the positive electrode current collector to be an aluminum alloy foil [0059, 0087, 0089].
Conclusion
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752