DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki US20120244421A1 in view of Kim US20120015226A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery module (Kim, Fig. 1, module 10) comprising: a plurality of batteries (Kim, Fig. 1, cells 20), each including: a non-aqueous electrolyte (Kim, [0065], carbonate electrolyte), a plurality of electrode terminal plates (Kim, Fig. 1, leads 50) wherein the electrode terminal plate of one of the batteries that are adjacently located being electrically connected to the electrode terminal plate of the other battery (Kim, Fig. 1, leads 50, bus bar 60), and a module container (Kim, Fig. 1, material 40) made of metal (Kim, [0053]), housing and hermetically sealing the plurality of batteries (Kim, [0053]). Kim does not disclose wherein each including: an electrode body, a battery case made of a liquid-junction preventing film that does not include a metal foil, the battery case accommodating and hermetically sealing the electrode body and the non-aqueous electrolyte to block penetration of the non-aqueous electrolyte, and a plurality of electrode terminal plates including at least one positive terminal plate and at least one negative terminal plate, each hermetically extending from inside to outside of the battery case through a peripheral portion of the battery case.
Yamazaki teaches a battery (Yamazaki, Fig. 5, battery 50) each including:
an electrode body (Yamazaki, Fig. 5, battery 50a),
a battery case (Yamazaki, Figs. 5 and 33, case 51) made of a liquid-junction preventing film that does not include a metal foil (Yamazaki, Figs. 10-12 and 33, sheet 10; metal foil 2 is not present in the embodiments),
the battery case accommodating (Yamazaki, Fig. 5, battery 50, case 51) and hermetically sealing the electrode body and the non-aqueous electrolyte (Yamazaki, [0746]) to block penetration of the non-aqueous electrolyte (Yamazaki, [0879], “the battery 50 a can satisfactorily be sealed hermetically in the case 51”)
and a plurality of electrode terminal plates (Yamazaki, Fig. 5, tabs 59 and 60) including at least one positive terminal plate and at least one negative terminal plate (Yamazaki, [0033]), each hermetically extending from inside to outside of the battery case through a peripheral portion of the battery case (Yamazaki, [0616]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the battery of Yamazaki to Kim thereby enhancing various kinds of mechanical strength and resistance (Yamazaki, [0204]).
Claim(s) 2 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki US20120244421A1 in view of Kim US20120015226A1 and further in view of Lev US20130029206A1.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim does not teach wherein the electrode terminal plates of the batteries are directly welded to each other.
Lev teaches wherein the electrode terminal plates of the batteries are directly welded to each other (Lev, [0011]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the connection of Lev to modified Kim thereby producing lower resistance interconnections and stronger joints (Lev, [0010]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim does not teach wherein the plurality of batteries are directly connected to each other by connection of the at least one positive terminal plate of the one battery to the at least one negative terminal plate of the other battery.
Lev teaches wherein the plurality of batteries are directly connected to each other by connection of the at least one positive terminal plate of the one battery to the at least one negative terminal plate of the other battery (Lev, [0030], “parallel-connected groups of cells in series”). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the battery connection of Lev to modified Kim thereby increasing the module voltage (Lev, [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of batteries are directly connected to each other by connection of the at least one positive terminal plate of the one battery to the at least one negative terminal plate of the other battery.
Lev teaches wherein the plurality of batteries are directly connected to each other by connection of the at least one positive terminal plate of the one battery to the at least one negative terminal plate of the other battery (Lev, [0030], “parallel-connected groups of cells in series”). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the battery connection of Lev to modified Kim thereby increasing the module voltage (Lev, [0030]).
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki US20120244421A1 in view of Kim US20120015226A1 and Lev US20130029206A1 and further in view of Chang US20190165352A1.
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified by Yamazaki and Lev does not explicitly teach wherein the positive terminal plate is formed of an aluminum plate, the negative terminal plate is formed of a copper plate, and the positive terminal plate of the one battery and the negative terminal plate of the other battery are directly connected to each other by ultrasonic welding.
Lev teaches wherein the positive terminal plate of the one battery and the negative terminal plate of the other battery are directly connected to each other (Lev, [0030], “parallel-connected groups of cells in series”) by ultrasonic welding (Lev, [0023]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the battery connection of Lev to modified Kim thereby increasing the module voltage (Lev, [0030]) and making a solid state weld without melting the workpieces (Lev, [0003]). Modified Kim as further modified by Lev does not teach wherein the positive terminal plate is formed of an aluminum plate , the negative terminal plate is formed of a copper plate.
Chang teaches wherein the positive terminal plate is formed of an aluminum plate (Chang, [0010]), the negative terminal plate is formed of a copper plate (Chang, [0010]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the terminal plates of Chang in modified Kim thereby the plates having anti-corrosion behavior (Chang, [0009]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim does not teach wherein the plurality of batteries are directly connected to each other by connection of the at least one positive terminal plate of the one battery to the at least one negative terminal plate of the other battery.
Lev teaches wherein the plurality of batteries are directly connected to each other by connection of the at least one positive terminal plate of the one battery to the at least one negative terminal plate of the other battery (Lev, [0030], “parallel-connected groups of cells in series”). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the battery connection of Lev to modified Kim thereby increasing the module voltage (Lev, [0030]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki US20120244421A1 in view of Kim US20120015226A1 and further in view of Que US20210110979A1.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim teaches wherein the plurality of batteries is connected in parallel with each other in a cascade arrangement, in which the first positive terminal plate of the one battery is connected to the second positive terminal plate of the other battery and the first negative terminal plate of the one battery is connected to the second negative terminal plate of the other battery (Kim, as reasonably suggested by Fig. 1, leads 50, bus bar 60). Modified Kim does not teach wherein each of the plurality of batteries has four terminal plates including: a pair of first positive terminal plate and first negative terminal plate; and a pair of second positive terminal plate and second negative terminal plate.
Que teaches wherein each of the plurality of batteries has four terminal plates (Que, Fig. 8B, tabs 518, tabs 520) including: a pair of first positive terminal plate and first negative terminal plate (Que, Fig. 8B, tabs 518 and 520 on one side) and a pair of second positive terminal plate and second negative terminal plate (Que, Fig. 8B, tabs 518 and 520 on another side). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to add the terminal plates of Que to modified Kim thereby current and current density carried by any one of the tabs is improved for better thermal distribution, especially during high power charge and discharge conditions (Que, [0150]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki US20120244421A1 in view of Kim US20120015226A1 and Lev US20130029206A1 and further in view of Que US20210110979A1.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim teaches wherein the plurality of batteries is connected in parallel with each other in a cascade arrangement, in which the first positive terminal plate of the one battery is connected to the second positive terminal plate of the other battery and the first negative terminal plate of the one battery is connected to the second negative terminal plate of the other battery (Kim, as reasonably suggested by Fig. 1, leads 50, bus bar 60). Modified Kim does not teach wherein each of the plurality of batteries has four terminal plates including: a pair of first positive terminal plate and first negative terminal plate; and a pair of second positive terminal plate and second negative terminal plate.
Que teaches wherein each of the plurality of batteries has four terminal plates (Que, Fig. 8B, tabs 518, tabs 520) including: a pair of first positive terminal plate and first negative terminal plate (Que, Fig. 8B, tabs 518 and 520 on one side) and a pair of second positive terminal plate and second negative terminal plate (Que, Fig. 8B, tabs 518 and 520 on another side). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to add the terminal plates of Que to modified Kim thereby current and current density carried by any one of the tabs is improved for better thermal distribution, especially during high power charge and discharge conditions (Que, [0150]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki US20120244421A1 in view of Kim US20120015226A1, Lev US20130029206A1 and Chang US20190165352A1 and further in view of Que US20210110979A1.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kim teaches wherein the plurality of batteries is connected in parallel with each other in a cascade arrangement, in which the first positive terminal plate of the one battery is connected to the second positive terminal plate of the other battery and the first negative terminal plate of the one battery is connected to the second negative terminal plate of the other battery (Kim, as reasonably suggested by Fig. 1, leads 50, bus bar 60). Modified Kim does not teach wherein each of the plurality of batteries has four terminal plates including: a pair of first positive terminal plate and first negative terminal plate; and a pair of second positive terminal plate and second negative terminal plate.
Que teaches wherein each of the plurality of batteries has four terminal plates (Que, Fig. 8B, tabs 518, tabs 520) including: a pair of first positive terminal plate and first negative terminal plate (Que, Fig. 8B, tabs 518 and 520 on one side) and a pair of second positive terminal plate and second negative terminal plate (Que, Fig. 8B, tabs 518 and 520 on another side). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to add the terminal plates of Que to modified Kim thereby current and current density carried by any one of the tabs is improved for better thermal distribution, especially during high power charge and discharge conditions (Que, [0150]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhong CN203326047U (discloses a battery comprising multiple positive and negative terminal plates),
Zhu CN114597598A (discloses a battery comprising multiple positive and negative terminal plates).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723