CTFR 18/413,038 CTFR 82708 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 05/20/2026 has been entered. DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-7 and 17-20 are pending and have been examined. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/25/2026 was considered by the examiner. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that Pease (US 2009/0284649) does not disclose a portable information terminal, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Pease explicitly discloses display housing 12, which encloses display device 73 and power source 76, is a handheld device ([0033]). In response to applicant’s argument that Pease does not disclose the portable information terminal supplying power to the interface adaptor, and the interface adaptor supplying power to the scope, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The information terminal was interpreted to include the power supply 76, which supplies power to the interface board 74 (interface adaptor), and the interface board 74 supplies power to the imaging device 22 (scope), (Fig. 9, [0036]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3, 5, 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pease et al. (US 2009/0284649), herein Pease, in view of Patel et al. (US 2019/0133424), herein Patel, in view of Suzuki (US 2019/0274519) . Consider claim 1 , Pease clearly teaches an endoscope system comprising: a scope that has an imaging sensor; (Figs. 1, 2A: Imaging device 22 is located in imager housing 14 at the distal end of cable 16, [0023]-[0025].) a frame that comprises a front cover and a rear case, and houses a portable information terminal in a space between the front cover and the rear case; (Fig. 7: Display housing 12 forms an enclosure around display device 73 and power source 76, [0035].) and an interface adapter that converts an imaging signal obtained by the imaging sensor into image data displayable by the portable information terminal and sends the image data to the portable information terminal, (Figs. 7, 9: Interface board 74 is enclosed in housing 12 and decodes a video signal received from imaging device 22 and sends the decoded video to display device 73, [0038].) wherein the interface adapter is fixed, via the portable information terminal, in the space, (Fig. 7: Display housing 12 forms an enclosure around display device 73, interface board 74 and power source 76, [0035].) wherein the interface adapter supplies electric power to the scope, and the electric power is supplied from the portable information terminal to the interface adapter. (Figs. 7, 9: Power source 76 supplies power to interface board 74 which in turn supplies power to the imaging device 22, [0036].) However, Pease does not explicitly teach wherein the interface adapter is fixed to the frame, in the space. In an analogous art, Patel, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches wherein the interface adapter is fixed to the frame, in the space. (Figs. 4A, 4B, 5: Circuit board 51 is fixed to rear encasement cover portion 21, [0091], [0097].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease by wherein the interface adapter is fixed to the frame, in the space, as taught by Patel, to achieve the predictable result of securing the interface board within the housing. However, Pease combined with Patel does not explicitly teach wherein the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, wherein the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal. In an analogous art, Suzuki, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, wherein the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal. (Fig. 4: Insulation device 14 electrically isolates the secondary circuit 12 and the patient circuit 13, [0040]-[0046].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease combined with Patel by wherein the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal, as taught by Suzuki, for the benefit of protecting the patient from electrical failures. Consider claim 3 , Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the scope comprises a light source device that generates illumination light for imaging by the imaging sensor, (Fig. 2A: Light source 24, [0027] Pease) and wherein the interface adapter comprises a controller of the light source device. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.) Consider claim 5 , Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter performs processing relating to brightness of the image data. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.) Consider claim 7 , Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter performs processing relating to brightness of the image data. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.) Consider claim 20 , Pease clearly teaches an interface adapter of an endoscope system, the endoscope system comprising: a scope that comprises an imaging sensor, (Figs. 1, 2A: Imaging device 22 is located in imager housing 14 at the distal end of cable 16, [0023]-[0025].) and a frame that houses a portable information terminal having a display, (Fig. 7: Display housing 12 forms an enclosure around display device 73 and power source 76, [0035].) wherein the interface adapter comprises an image processor that converts an imaging signal obtained by the imaging sensor into image data displayable by the display and sends the image data to the portable information terminal, (Figs. 7, 9: Interface board 74 is enclosed in housing 12 and decodes a video signal received from imaging device 22 and sends the decoded video to display device 73, [0038].) wherein the interface adapter supplies electric power to the scope, and the electric power is supplied from the portable information terminal to the interface adapter. (Figs. 7, 9: Power source 76 supplies power to interface board 74 which in turn supplies power to the imaging device 22, [0036].) However, Pease does not explicitly teach the interface adapter is attachable to the frame. In an analogous art, Patel, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adapter is attachable to the frame. (Figs. 4A, 4B, 5: Circuit board 51 is fixed to rear encasement cover portion 21, [0091], [0097].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease by the interface adapter is attachable to the frame, as taught by Patel, to achieve the predictable result of securing the interface board within the housing. However, Pease combined with Patel does not explicitly teach wherein the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, wherein the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal. In an analogous art, Suzuki, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, wherein the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal. (Fig. 4: Insulation device 14 electrically isolates the secondary circuit 12 and the patient circuit 13, [0040]-[0046].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease combined with Patel by wherein the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal, as taught by Suzuki, for the benefit of protecting the patient from electrical failures . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 4, 6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pease et al. (US 2009/0284649) in view of Patel et al. (US 2019/0133424) in view of Suzuki (US 2019/0274519) in view of Zhao et al. (US 2019/0142256), herein Zhao . Consider claim 2 , Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter. However, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki does not explicitly teach the interface adapter comprises a controller of the imaging sensor. In an analogous art, Zhao, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adapter comprises a controller of the imaging sensor. (Fig. 9: The image processing unit 142 controls functionality of the imaging sensor 140, [0089].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki by the interface adapter comprises a controller of the imaging sensor, as taught by Zhao, for the benefit of improving the images captured by the imaging device. Consider claim 4 , Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the scope comprises a light source device that generates illumination light for imaging by the imaging sensor, (Fig. 2A: Light source 24, [0027] Pease) and wherein the interface adapter comprises a controller of the light source device. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.) Consider claim 6 , Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the interface adapter performs processing relating to brightness of the image data. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.) Consider claim 17 , Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter. However, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki does not explicitly teach the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal. In an analogous art, Zhao, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal. (Fig. 9: The system controller 130 receives user inputs to control imaging device 20, [0091].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki by the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal, as taught by Zhao, for the benefit of allowing the user to adjust settings of the imaging device. Consider claim 18 , Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal. (Fig. 9: The system controller 130 receives user inputs to control imaging device 20, [0091] Zhao.) Consider claim 19 , Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal. (Fig. 9: The system controller 130 receives user inputs to control imaging device 20, [0091] Zhao.) Conclusion In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. 07-42-09 AIA All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN R SCHNURR whose telephone number is (571)270-1458. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 6a-4p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Pendleton can be reached at (571)272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/413,038 Page 2 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/413,038 Page 3 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/413,038 Page 4 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/413,038 Page 5 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/413,038 Page 6 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/413,038 Page 7 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/413,038 Page 8 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/413,038 Page 9 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/413,038 Page 10 Art Unit: 2425