DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment After Non-Final Rejection filed 02/03/2026. Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the combination of Pease (US 2009/0284649), Patel (US 2019/0133424) and Suzuki (US 2019/0274519) does not disclose an isolation portion electrically insulating the first and second circuits, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Suzuki explicitly states that the patient circuit 13 is electrically insulated from the secondary circuit 12 via insulation device 14 (abstract, [0011], [0036], [0040], claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pease et al. (US 2009/0284649), herein Pease, in view of Patel et al. (US 2019/0133424), herein Patel, in view of Suzuki (US 2019/0274519).
Consider claim 1, Pease clearly teaches an endoscope system comprising:
a scope that has an imaging sensor; (Figs. 1, 2A: Imaging device 22 is located in imager housing 14 at the distal end of cable 16, [0023]-[0025].)
a frame that comprises a front cover and a rear case, and houses a portable information terminal in a space between the front cover and the rear case; (Fig. 7: Display housing 12 forms an enclosure around display device 73 and power source 76, [0035].) and
an interface adapter that converts an imaging signal obtained by the imaging sensor into image data displayable by the portable information terminal and sends the image data to the portable information terminal, (Figs. 7, 9: Interface board 74 is enclosed in housing 12 and decodes a video signal received from imaging device 22 and sends the decoded video to display device 73, [0038].)
wherein the interface adapter is fixed, via the portable information terminal, in the space. (Fig. 7: Display housing 12 forms an enclosure around display device 73, interface board 74 and power source 76, [0035].)
However, Pease does not explicitly teach wherein the interface adapter is fixed to the frame, in the space.
In an analogous art, Patel, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches wherein the interface adapter is fixed to the frame, in the space. (Figs. 4A, 4B, 5: Circuit board 51 is fixed to rear encasement cover portion 21, [0091], [0097].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease by wherein the interface adapter is fixed to the frame, in the space, as taught by Patel, to achieve the predictable result of securing the interface board within the housing.
However, Pease combined with Patel does not explicitly teach wherein the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, wherein the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal.
In an analogous art, Suzuki, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, wherein the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal. (Fig. 4: Insulation device 14 electrically isolates the secondary circuit 12 and the patient circuit 13, [0040]-[0046].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease combined with Patel by wherein the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal, as taught by Suzuki, for the benefit of protecting the patient from electrical failures.
Consider claim 3, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the scope comprises a light source device that generates illumination light for imaging by the imaging sensor, (Fig. 2A: Light source 24, [0027] Pease) and wherein the interface adapter comprises a controller of the light source device. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.)
Consider claim 5, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter performs processing relating to brightness of the image data. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.)
Consider claim 7, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter performs processing relating to brightness of the image data. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.)
Consider claim 11, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter supplies electric power to the scope. (Fig. 9: The interface board 74 powers the imaging device 22, [0036] Pease.)
Consider claim 13, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter supplies electric power to the scope. (Fig. 9: The interface board 74 powers the imaging device 22, [0036] Pease.)
Consider claim 14, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter supplies, to the scope, electric power that is supplied from the portable information terminal. (Figs. 7, 9: Power source 76 supplies power to interface board 74 which in turn supplies power to the imaging device 22, [0036] Pease.)
Consider claim 16, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter supplies, to the scope, electric power that is supplied from the portable information terminal. (Figs. 7, 9: Power source 76 supplies power to interface board 74 which in turn supplies power to the imaging device 22, [0036] Pease.)
Consider claim 20, Pease clearly teaches an interface adapter of an endoscope system, the endoscope system comprising:
a scope that comprises an imaging sensor, (Figs. 1, 2A: Imaging device 22 is located in imager housing 14 at the distal end of cable 16, [0023]-[0025].) and a frame that houses a portable information terminal having a display, (Fig. 7: Display housing 12 forms an enclosure around display device 73 and power source 76, [0035].)
wherein the interface adapter comprises an image processor that converts an imaging signal obtained by the imaging sensor into image data displayable by the display and sends the image data to the portable information terminal. (Figs. 7, 9: Interface board 74 is enclosed in housing 12 and decodes a video signal received from imaging device 22 and sends the decoded video to display device 73, [0038].)
However, Pease does not explicitly teach the interface adapter is attachable to the frame.
In an analogous art, Patel, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adapter is attachable to the frame. (Figs. 4A, 4B, 5: Circuit board 51 is fixed to rear encasement cover portion 21, [0091], [0097].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease by the interface adapter is attachable to the frame, as taught by Patel, to achieve the predictable result of securing the interface board within the housing.
However, Pease combined with Patel does not explicitly teach wherein the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, wherein the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal.
In an analogous art, Suzuki, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, wherein the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal. (Fig. 4: Insulation device 14 electrically isolates the secondary circuit 12 and the patient circuit 13, [0040]-[0046].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease combined with Patel by wherein the interface adaptor comprises a first circuit, a second circuit, and an isolation portion that electrically insulates the first circuit and the second circuit from each other, the first circuit being electrically connected to the scope, the second circuit being electrically connected to the portable information terminal, as taught by Suzuki, for the benefit of protecting the patient from electrical failures.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 12, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pease et al. (US 2009/0284649) in view of Patel et al. (US 2019/0133424) in view of Suzuki (US 2019/0274519) in view of Zhao et al. (US 2019/0142256), herein Zhao.
Consider claim 2, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter.
However, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki does not explicitly teach the interface adapter comprises a controller of the imaging sensor.
In an analogous art, Zhao, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adapter comprises a controller of the imaging sensor. (Fig. 9: The image processing unit 142 controls functionality of the imaging sensor 140, [0089].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki by the interface adapter comprises a controller of the imaging sensor, as taught by Zhao, for the benefit of improving the images captured by the imaging device.
Consider claim 4, Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the scope comprises a light source device that generates illumination light for imaging by the imaging sensor, (Fig. 2A: Light source 24, [0027] Pease) and wherein the interface adapter comprises a controller of the light source device. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.)
Consider claim 6, Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the interface adapter performs processing relating to brightness of the image data. (Fig. 9: LED interface board 91 controls the intensity of the LEDs, [0037] Pease.)
Consider claim 12, Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the interface adapter supplies electric power to the scope. (Fig. 9: The interface board 74 powers the imaging device 22, [0036] Pease.)
Consider claim 15, Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the interface adapter supplies, to the scope, electric power that is supplied from the portable information terminal. (Figs. 7, 9: Power source 76 supplies power to interface board 74 which in turn supplies power to the imaging device 22, [0036] Pease.)
Consider claim 17, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki clearly teaches the interface adapter.
However, Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki does not explicitly teach the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal.
In an analogous art, Zhao, which discloses an endoscope system, clearly teaches the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal. (Fig. 9: The system controller 130 receives user inputs to control imaging device 20, [0091].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Pease combined with Patel and Suzuki by the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal, as taught by Zhao, for the benefit of allowing the user to adjust settings of the imaging device.
Consider claim 18, Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal. (Fig. 9: The system controller 130 receives user inputs to control imaging device 20, [0091] Zhao.)
Consider claim 19, Pease combined with Patel, Suzuki and Zhao clearly teaches the interface adapter is controlled by a signal from the portable information terminal. (Fig. 9: The system controller 130 receives user inputs to control imaging device 20, [0091] Zhao.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425