DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 1/16/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “wherein a ratio of a surface area of a portion of the elastic sheet that enters into the second groove to a surface area of the second groove is 50% to 90%”. However, the claim does not clearly identify what is meant by “portion of the elastic sheet that enters into the second groove”. The claim fails to specify which region of the elastic sheet is included in this portion or how its boundaries are determined. Further, the claim does not provide guidance as to which surface area of the second groove it is referring to. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the claim as encompassing any part of the elastic sheet that is disposed within or contacts the second groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 8, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Derleth (US 20060089058, cited in the IDS filed on 4/16/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) a terminal (see figures 1 and 4) comprising a connecting portion (21, 22; also see portion under 20 in figure 4), a first fixing portion (part of 23 to the right of ribs 26 in figure 4), and a conducting portion (portion where 26 is located; ¶0013) that are connected in sequence, the connecting portion (21, 22; also see portion under 20 in figure 4) being used for being connected to a cable (i.e. 21, 22 are capable of being connected to a cable);
wherein the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located) comprises a plurality of elastic sheets (see 26 in figure 4) that are arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction (i.e. see figure 4), first ends of the elastic sheets (i.e. ends of 26) are all fixedly connected to the first fixing portion (portion where 26 is located), and a first groove (i.e. see groove between each 26) is arranged between any two adjacent elastic sheets (26).
Regarding claim 2, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the terminal (see figures 1 and 4) comprises a second fixing portion (portion next to 27 in figure 4 is a second fixing portion) located at one end of the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located; ¶0013) that faces away from the first fixing portion (portion where 26 is located), and second ends of the elastic sheets (i.e. second ends of 26 on the opposite side of the first ends) are all fixedly connected to the second fixing portion (portion next to 27 in figure 4 is a second fixing portion).
Regarding claim 3, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 2, wherein the terminal (see figures 1 and 4) is provided with a terminal hole (see figure 4, hole where 27 is located) extending throughout the second fixing portion (portion next to 27 in figure 4 is a second fixing portion) and the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located).
Regarding claim 4, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 3, wherein the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located) comprises an inward recessed portion (i.e. see figure 4, 26 is inwardly recessed), and an inner diameter of the inward recessed portion gradually increases from a center of the inward recessed portion to both ends thereof (see middle portion of 26 in figure 4, the inner diameter is gradually increasing until it reaches the ends of the portion where 26 is located).
Regarding claim 5, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the first grooves (see groove between each 26) are disposed obliquely (i.e. see figure 4) to an axis of the terminal (see figure 4; 13).
Regarding claim 6, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 5, wherein angles between tangent lines of the first groove (angles of the grooves between each 26) at all positions of the first groove (see groove between each 26) and the axis of the terminal (13) are equal (i.e. see arrangement of the grooves in figure 4, they all have the same angle between the tangent lines).
Regarding claim 7, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 6, wherein the angles between the tangent lines of the first groove (see groove between each 26) and the axis of the terminal are 10° to 60° (i.e. see 26 in figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located) and the first fixing portion (part of 23 to the right of ribs 26 in figure 4) are integrally formed (i.e. see figure 4); or the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located) and the first fixing portion (part of 23 to the right of ribs 26 in figure 4) are connected together by crimping, welding (¶0008), or screw connection.
Regarding claim 19, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 1, wherein a cross-section of the connecting portion (cross section of 21, 22, and portion under 20 in figure 4) is of round, oval, polygon, flat, diamond, semi-arc, arc, or wavy shape (i.e. cross section of 20 is round due to the connector being cylindrical).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 12 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derleth (US 20060089058, cited in the IDS filed on 4/16/2025) in view of Jiang (CN 210224392, cited in the IDS filed on 7/10/2025).
Regarding claim 9, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 3, wherein the terminal (see figures 1 and 4) comprises a conducting cylinder (30) that sleeves on an outer side of the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located),
But Derleth does not explicitly disclose the conducting cylinder is provided with second grooves extending in an axial direction of the terminal, and the elastic sheets are capable of entering into the second grooves.
Jiang teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector wherein the terminal (i.e. see figure 1) comprises a conducting cylinder (10; 2 is part of 10 as well) that sleeves on an outer side of the conducting portion (i.e. conducting portion of the connector where 10 is sleeving to in figure 1), the conducting cylinder (10; 2 is part of 10 as well) is provided with second grooves (22) extending in an axial direction of the terminal (i.e. see axial extension in figure 3), and the elastic sheets (21) are capable of entering into the second grooves (i.e. see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Derleth with the connector as disclosed by Jiang to provide a conducting cylinder that sleeves on an outer side of the conducting portion, the conducting cylinder is provided with second grooves extending in an axial direction of the terminal, and the elastic sheets are capable of entering into the second grooves, to improve the current transmission, as it is a known and predictable design consideration in electrical connectors. Additionally, Jiang discloses that the structure provides more contact points so as to transmit larger currents.
Regarding claim 10, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 9.
But Derleth does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of a surface area of a portion of the elastic sheet that enters into the second groove to a surface area of the second groove is 50% to 90%.
Jiang teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector wherein a ratio of a surface area of a portion of the elastic sheet (21) that enters into the second groove (22) to a surface area of the second groove (surface area of 22) is 50% to 90% (i.e. see figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Derleth with the connector as disclosed by Jiang to provide a ratio of a surface area of a portion of the elastic sheet that enters into the second groove to a surface area of the second groove is 50% to 90%, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector by controlling the extent of the engagement between the elastic member and the groove. The extent of the surface engagement between the elastic member and the groove represents a result effective variable, and selecting the range level of engagement constitutes a design choice yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 9, wherein a plating layer (¶0013; “This involves for example an Ni layer as an adhesion layer, then an Au layer…”) is provided on the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located) and/or the conducting cylinder (30).
Regarding claim 13, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 12, wherein a thickness of the plating layer (¶0013) on the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located) and/or the conducting cylinder (30) is uniform (i.e. disclosed plating layer must be uniform so sleeve 30 can slide in 26); and material of the plating layer (¶0013) on the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located) and/or the conducting cylinder (30) is not uniform (i.e. material is not uniform because it contains different layers of materials; ¶0013).
Regarding claim 14, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 12, wherein the plating layer (¶0013; “This involves for example an Ni layer as an adhesion layer, then an Au layer…”) is made of one or more selected from the group consisting of gold, silver, nickel, tin, zinc, tin-lead alloy, silver-antimony alloy, palladium, palladium-nickel alloy, graphite-silver, graphene-silver and silver-gold-zirconium alloy (¶0013; layer is made of Au -Gold); and the plating layer is made by electroplating, chemical plating, magnetron sputtering or vacuum plating (¶0013; “After punching out, the strip material which consists of a Cu--Sn alloy is electrically surface treated in the course of the production process…”).
Regarding claim 15, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 12, wherein the plating layer (¶0013) comprises a bottom layer (Cu-Sn alloy is bottom layer) and a surface layer (Au layer is a surface layer).
Regarding claim 16, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 15, wherein the bottom layer (¶0013; Cu-Sn alloy is bottom layer) is made of one or more selected from the group consisting of gold, silver, nickel, tin, tin-lead alloy and zinc (¶0013); the surface layer (¶0013; Au layer is a surface layer) is made of one or more selected from the group consisting of gold, silver, nickel, tin, tin-lead alloy, silver-antimony alloy, palladium, palladium-nickel alloy, graphite-silver, graphene-silver and silver-gold-zirconium alloy (¶0013).
Regarding claim 17, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 15, wherein the bottom layer (¶0013; Cu-Sn alloy is bottom layer) has a thickness of 0.01 μm to 12 μm or 0.1 μm to 9 μm.
Although Derleth does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the bottom layer, the thickness of a plating layer is a known variable that directly affects thermal conductivity and wear resistance in electrical connectors. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select an appropriate thickness for the bottom layer as taught in Derleth, as a matter of routine optimization to achieve the desired balance of conductivity, durability, and manufacturing efficiency. Selecting an optimal value of a known variable through routine experimentation is considered obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, Section II-A).
Regarding claim 18, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 15, wherein the surface layer (¶0013; Au layer is a surface layer) has a thickness of 0.5 μm to 50 μm or 1 μm to 35 μm.
Although Derleth does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the surface layer, the thickness of a plating layer is a known variable that directly affects thermal conductivity and wear resistance in electrical connectors. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select an appropriate thickness for the surface layer as taught in Derleth, as a matter of routine optimization to achieve the desired balance of conductivity, durability, and manufacturing efficiency. Selecting an optimal value of a known variable through routine experimentation is considered obvious (see MPEP 2144.05, Section II-A).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derleth (US 20060089058, cited in the IDS filed on 4/16/2025) in view of Jiang (CN 210224392, cited in the IDS filed on 7/10/2025) and further in view of Matthews (US 5676571, cited in the IDS filed on 4/16/2025).
Regarding claim 11, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) the terminal according to claim 9.
But Derleth and Jiang do not explicitly disclose wherein the conducting portion and/or the conducting cylinder are made of a material containing tellurium; and the material of the conducting portion and/or the conducting cylinder has a content of tellurium of 0.1% to 5%.
Matthews teaches (figures 1 – 5) a connector wherein the conducting portion (21) and/or the conducting cylinder (84) are made of a material containing tellurium (i.e. column 4, lines 7 – 27); and the material of the conducting portion (21) and/or the conducting cylinder (84) has a content of tellurium of 0.1% to 5%.
Although Matthews does not expressly disclose the specific tellurium concentration range of 0.1% to 5%, the reference teaches the inclusion of tellurium in the conducting portion for its known effects on electrical properties. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select an amount of tellurium within the claimed range of 0.1% to 5% as a matter of routine optimization, since the concentration of an alloy such as tellurium is a result effective variable that predictably affects known properties of conductive components, such as conductivity, mechanical strength, and durability (see MPEP 2144.05, Section II-A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Derleth and Jiang with the connector as disclosed by Matthews to provide the conducting portion and/or the conducting cylinder are made of a material containing tellurium, to improve machineability and mechanical properties of the conductive component.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derleth (US 20060089058, cited in the IDS filed on 4/16/2025) in view of Nestor (US 4720157, cited in the IDS filed on 4/16/2025).
Regarding claim 20, Derleth teaches (figures 1 – 5) a processing method of a terminal, comprising:
step S10: forming a connecting portion (21, 22; also see portion under 20 in figure 4), a first fixing portion (part of 23 to the right of ribs 26 in figure 4), a conducting portion (portion where 26 is located; ¶0013) and a second fixing portion (portion next to 27 in figure 4 is a second fixing portion), wherein the connecting portion (21, 22; also see portion under 20 in figure 4) is used for being connected to a cable (21, 22 are capable of being connected to a cable); the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located) comprises a plurality of elastic sheets (see 26 in figure 4) that are arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction (i.e. see figure 4), first ends of the elastic sheets (i.e. ends of 26) are all fixedly connected to the first fixing portion (part of 23 to the right of ribs 26 in figure 4), and a first groove (i.e. see groove between each 26) is arranged between any two adjacent elastic sheets (26); the second fixing portion (portion next to 27 in figure 4 is a second fixing portion) is located at one end of the conducting portion (portion where 26 is located; ¶0013) that faces away from the first fixing portion (part of 23 to the right of ribs 26 in figure 4), and second ends of the elastic sheets (i.e. second ends of 26 on the opposite side of the first ends) are all fixedly connected to the second fixing portion (portion next to 27 in figure 4 is a second fixing portion).
But Derleth does not explicitly disclose step S20: forming a plurality of overhanging sheets that are arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction at an outer end of the second fixing portion; step S30: folding over the overhanging sheets outwards until end portions of the overhanging sheets are fixedly connected to the first fixing portion to form a conducting cylinder that sleeves on an outer side of the conducting portion.
Nestor teaches (figure 6) a connector comprising step S20: forming a plurality of overhanging sheets (sheets 24 in figure 6 are overhanging) that are arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction at an outer end of the second fixing portion (see second 18 in figure 6);
step S30: folding over the overhanging sheets (sheets 24 in figure 6 are overhanging) outwards until end portions (34) of the overhanging sheets (sheets 24 in figure 6 are overhanging) are fixedly connected to the first fixing portion (18) to form a conducting cylinder (12) that sleeves on an outer side of the conducting portion (outer side of 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Derleth with the connector as disclosed by Nestor to provide step S20: forming a plurality of overhanging sheets that are arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction at an outer end of the second fixing portion;
step S30: folding over the overhanging sheets outwards until end portions of the overhanging sheets are fixedly connected to the first fixing portion to form a conducting cylinder that sleeves on an outer side of the conducting portion, to provide increased current capacity and improve manufacturing costs.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834