DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 20, 21, 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US 8,290,326). Lin et al. (US 2006/0042820) hereafter Lin.
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a connecting structure 100 (figs. 1-2), comprising: a flexible flat cable 1-3 comprising: a first end portion 1, a second end portion) 21 and a connecting portion 3, (see fig. 7) connected between the first end portion and the second end portion; a first pad region SPR1 (see annotated fig.), 11 disposed on the first end portion 1 and a second pad region SPR2 (see annotated fig.), 22 disposed on the second end portion 2; and a slot 31 formed in the connecting portion 3, wherein the slot 31 is extended along a length direction of the flexible flat cable 100; wherein the flexible flat cable 100 is a laminated structure 101 (see paragraph [0022], lines 1-2]) comprising at least one set of signal trace pattern 106(see fig. 6) and at least one shielding structure 104, 105 (see fig. 6), and the at least one shielding structure 104, 105 (see fig. 6) correspondingly surrounds the at least one set of signal trace pattern 106 in the connecting portion (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses, the first pad region comprises two sub-pad regions, and the flexible flat cable further comprises a recess R formed between the two sub-pad regions.
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses, the slot is aligned with the recess along the length direction of the flexible flat cable.
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses, the flexible flat cable comprises a plurality of sets of signal trace patterns and a plurality of shielding structures, and the plurality of shielding structures correspondingly and respectively surround the plurality of sets of signal trace patterns (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Lin discloses, the first pad region comprises a first ground pad, a first signal pad, a second signal pad and a second ground pad arranged in sequence along a width direction of the flexible flat cable (as there is no particular structures of first ground pad, first signal pad, second signal pad and second ground pad are defined, all the signal pads can be designated as first second signal and ground pads).
Regarding claim 24, Lin discloses a connector 11 comprising a plurality of terminal pairs 12 corresponding to a plurality of signal pads of the first pad region, wherein the plurality of terminal pairs clamp the first end portion and respectively contact the plurality of signal pads (as all are being connected together.
Regarding claim 25, Lin discloses a signal transmission system, comprising: a system board; a first device (through) 70 coupled to the system board P1, P2, wherein the first device 70 is configured to provide a high-speed signal and a low-speed signal; a second device (through) 80 coupled to the system board P1, P2; and a connecting structure 1 comprising a flexible flat cable 1, wherein the flexible flat cable 1 comprises: a first end portion 11, a second end portion 11 and a connecting portion 33 (see fig. 12) connected between the first end portion and the second end portion, wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are respectively coupled to the first device (through) 70 and the second device (through) 80; and a first pad region 62 disposed on the first end portion and a second pad region 62 disposed on the second end portion; wherein the flexible flat cable is a laminated structure comprising at least one set of signal trace pattern and at least one shielding structure 31, 32, 33, and the at least one shielding structure correspondingly surrounds the at least one set of signal trace pattern in the connecting portion (see fig. 13); wherein the low-speed signal (low-speed signal) is a relative term) is transmitted from the first device to the second device through the system board (as signal traces are conductive traces and they are capable to transmit any (low or high speed signal), and the high-speed signal (high-speed signal) is a relative term) is transmitted from the first device to the second device through the connecting structure(as signal traces are conductive traces and they are capable to transmit any (low or high speed signal).
Regarding claim 26, Lin discloses the high-speed signal is transmitted in a speed greater than or equal to 112 Gbits/sec (as signal traces are conductive traces and they are capable to transmit any (low or high speed signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-10, 14, 16-19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Shah et al. (US 10,149,980) hereafter Shah.
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses, all the claimed limitations except for a number of the flexible flat cables is two, and the two flexible flat cables are arranged along a vertical direction.
Shah, Fig. 3, a number of the flexible flat cables is two 106, 110, and the two flexible flat cables 106, 110 are arranged along a vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a number of flat cables is two, and the two flexible flat cables are arranged along a vertical direction as taught by Shah in order to increase the connectivity, and extend the transmission to the other device through another flexible cable.
Regarding claim 5, (Lin as modified by) Shah discloses, there is a space between the two connecting portions of the two flexible flat cables.
Regarding claim 6, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses a fixing member 120a, 120b disposed at one side of the connecting portion 106a, 110a of each of the two flexible flat cables 106, 110 adjacent to the first end portion to bond the two flexible flat cables.
Regarding claim 7, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses wherein the two first end portions of the two flexible flat cables 106, 110 are bonded with each other.
Regarding claim 8, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses the two first end portions 11 of the two flexible flat cables106, 110 are bonded with each other through a spacer 108, 112, 122, and the spacer overlaps the two first end portions of the two flexible flat cables.
Regarding claim 9, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses the two second end portions of the two flexible flat cables are separated from each other (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses the two first pad regions of the two flexible flat cables overlap each other in the vertical direction, and there is an accommodating space between the two first end portions of the two flexible flat cables in the vertical direction (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses a spacer 108, 112, 122 (as discussed above) between the two first end portions of the two flexible flat cables, the spacer overlaps the two first end portions of the two flexible flat cables.
However, (Lin as modified by) Shah does not disclose the spacer is made of conductive material.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the spacer is made of conductive material, since it has been held to be within the general ordinary skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, and in order to improve the durability and electrical shielding.
Regarding claim 16, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses, the at least one set of signal trace pattern is electrically connected to a signal pad disposed on the first pad region, and the at least one shielding structure is electrically connected to a ground pad disposed on the first pad region.
Regarding claim 17, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses the at least one set of signal trace pattern and the at least one shielding structure overlap in a width direction of the flexible flat cable in the first end portion.
Regarding claim 18, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses, the at least one set of signal trace pattern comprises a first signal trace pattern and a second signal trace pattern arranged along a width direction of the flexible flat cable.
Regarding claim 19, (Lin as modified by) Shah, discloses, the first signal trace pattern and the second signal trace pattern form a differential signal pair, as any side by side or alternat signal can be work as differential signal pair, as there is no particular structure of differential signa pair is defined.
Regarding claim 27, Lin discloses a connecting structure, comprising: flexible flat cable comprising: a first end portion, a second end portion and a connecting portion connected between the first end portion and the second end portion; and a first pad region disposed on the first end portion and a second pad region disposed on the second end portion, wherein the flexible flat cables is a laminated structure comprising at least one set of signal trace pattern and at least one shielding structure, and the at least one shielding structure correspondingly surrounds the at least one set of signal trace pattern in the connecting portion.
However, Lin does not discloses there are two flexible flat cables are arranged along a vertical direction, and there is a space between the two connecting portions of the two flexible flat cables; and a fixing member disposed at one side of the connecting portion of each of the two flexible flat cables adjacent to the first end portion to bond the two flexible flat cables.
Shah, Fig. 3, a number of the flexible flat cables is two 106, 110, and the two flexible flat cables 106, 110 are arranged along a vertical direction, and there is space between two connecting portion of the two flexible flat cables, a fixing member 120a, 120b disposed at one side of the connecting portion 106a, 110a of each of the two flexible flat cables 106, 110 adjacent to the first end portion to bond the two flexible flat cables 106, 110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a number of the flexible flat cables is two, and the two flexible flat cables are arranged along a vertical direction and there is space between two connecting portion of the two flexible flat cables, a fixing member disposed at one side of the connecting portion of each of the two flexible flat cables adjacent to the first end portion to bond the two flexible flat cables as taught by Shah in order to increase the connectivity, and extend the transmission to the other device through another flexible cable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13, 15, 22 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches, a connecting structure comprising: two first pad regions of two flexible flat cables do not overlap each other in the vertical direction, and are misaligned with each other to form a step shape.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches, a connecting structure comprising: each of the flexible flat cables has a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the first pad region is disposed on the first surface, and the first surface of one of the flexible flat cables faces the second surface of another one of the flexible flat cables.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches, a connecting structure comprising: each of the flexible flat cables has a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the first pad region is disposed on the first surface, and the second surface of one of the flexible flat cables faces the second surface of another one of the flexible flat cables.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches, a connecting structure comprising a number of the flexible flat cables is four, the four flexible flat cables are arranged along a vertical direction, the four flexible flat cables are respectively a first flexible flat cable, a second flexible flat cable, a third flexible flat cable and a fourth flexible flat cable from top to bottom, the first pad region of the first flexible flat cable and the first pad region of the second flexible flat cable do not overlap in the vertical direction and are misaligned with each other to form a step shape, the first pad region of the third flexible flat cable and the first pad region of the fourth flexible flat cable do not overlap in the vertical direction and are misaligned with each other to form a step shape, the first pad region of the first flexible flat cable and the first pad region of the fourth flexible flat cable overlap in the vertical direction, and the first pad region of the second flexible flat cable and the first pad region of the third flexible flat cable overlap in the vertical direction.
Regarding claim 22, the prior art of record does not disclose or teaches a connecting structure comprising the first pad region comprises a first sub-pad region, a second sub-pad region, a third sub-pad region and a fourth sub-pad region, the first sub-pad region and the third sub-pad region are arranged along the length direction, the second sub-pad region and the fourth sub-pad region are arranged along the length direction, and the flexible flat cable further comprises a recess formed between the first sub-pad region and the second sub-pad region and between the third sub-pad region and the fourth sub-pad region.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892..
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831