DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 1/16/2024.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 202121611139.1, filed on 07/15/2021.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: PLUG-IN TERMINAL WITH IMPROVED WEAR RESISTANCE.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4, recites “one ends of the plurality of elastic sheets away from the connection unit form a free end of the elastic unit”. It should be amended to “one end of the plurality of elastic sheets away from the connection unit forms a free end of the elastic unit”. It appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 7, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaguchi (US 9787012, cited in the IDS on 1/16/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) a plug-in terminal (10) comprising a connection unit (12) and an elastic unit (11) that are arranged and connected to each other in an axial direction of the plug-in terminal (10; column 2, lines 58 – 65);
wherein the elastic unit (11) comprises a plurality of elastic sheets (14) arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the plug-in terminal (10; column 3, lines 23 – 30), one ends of the plurality of elastic sheets (14) away from the connection unit (12) form a free end of the elastic unit (11), and the plurality of elastic sheets (14) enclose a cavity for receiving a mating terminal inserted from the free end (column 3, lines 31 – 46);
the plug-in terminal (10) further comprises conductive wear-resistant layers (22) located in the cavity and fixed to inner walls of the elastic sheets (14), respectively; and
the conductive wear-resistant layers (22) protrude from inner wall surfaces of the elastic sheets (14) respectively for being in contact with an outer wall of the mating terminal (60; column 3, line 55 – column 4, line 7; see figures 1, 4, and 7).
Regarding claim 2, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1, wherein the conductive wear-resistant layers (22) on the plurality of elastic sheets (14) are sequentially aligned in the circumferential direction of the plug-in terminal (see figures 1, 5, and 8), and the conductive wear-resistant layers (22) are arranged adjacent to the free end (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1, wherein an entirety of the conductive wear-resistant layer (22) protrudes from the inner wall surface of the elastic sheet (see figure 5); or, the inner wall surface of each elastic sheet is provided with a concave embedding groove, part of the conductive wear-resistant layer is located in the embedding groove, and the other part of the conductive wear-resistant layer protrudes from the inner wall surface of the elastic sheet.
Regarding claim 5, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1, wherein an inner surface (inner surface of 22) of the conductive wear-resistant layer (22) is an arc surface (see figure 5) for being fitted with an outer wall surface of the mating terminal (i.e. arc surface of 22 is capable of being fitted with an outer wall surface of a mating terminal).
Regarding claim 6, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1, wherein the inner wall surfaces (inner surface of 14) of the elastic sheets (14) are provided with a spiral projection (17) for being in contact with the mating terminal (i.e. 17 is capable of being in contact with a mating terminal); and/or the inner wall surfaces (inner surface of 14) of the elastic sheet (14) are provided with a plurality of convex points (17) for being in contact with the mating terminal (i.e. 17 is capable of being in contact with a mating terminal).
Regarding claim 7, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1, wherein the conductive wear-resistant layer (22) comprises a bottom layer (23) and a surface layer (i.e. see “plating film” in column 3, line 53 – column 4, line 7), the bottom layer (23) is made of one or more selected from the group consisting of gold, silver, nickel, tin, tin-lead alloy and zinc (i.e. column 3, line 53 – column 4, line 7), and the surface layer (i.e. see “plating film” in column 3, line 53 – column 4, line 7) is made of one or more selected from the group consisting of gold, silver, nickel, tin, tin-lead alloy, silver-antimony alloy, palladium, palladium-nickel alloy, graphite-silver, graphene-silver and silver-gold-zirconium alloy (i.e. column 3, line 53 – column 4, line 7).
Regarding claim 12, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1, wherein the inner wall of each elastic sheet (14) is provided with a plurality of conductive wear-resistant layers (22) that are arranged at intervals in the axial direction of the plug-in terminal (10).
Regarding claim 13, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1, wherein an inner diameter of the cavity (i.e. cavity that forms when contacts 13 are arranged as seen in figure 1) is gradually decreased in the axial direction toward the free end (i.e. see figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8 – 11, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (US 9787012, cited in the IDS on 1/16/2024).
Regarding claim 4, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 3, wherein the conductive wear-resistant layers (22) protrude at an overall height of 0.5 μm to 70 μm.
Although Kawaguchi does not expressly disclose that the conductive wear-resistant layers protrude at an overall height of 0.5 μm to 70 μm, it teaches a terminal plug having elastic conductive sheets that protrude from the plug body and elastically engage a mating connector upon insertion. The extent of the protrusion necessarily determines the amount of elastic deflection and contact force. Accordingly, the protrusion height constitutes a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select and optimize the protrusion height through routine experimentation to achieve reliable electrical contact and acceptable insertion force. Discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable is within ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955))
Regarding claim 8, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 7, wherein the bottom layer (23) has a thickness of 0.01 μm to 15 μm.
Although Kawaguchi does not expressly disclose that the bottom layer has a thickness of 0.01 μm to 15 μm, the thickness of such layer would have been recognized as a variable that directly affects predictable properties including electrical resistance, durability, and flexibility. Accordingly, layer thickness constitutes a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select and optimize the thickness through routine experimentation to achieve reliable electrical and mechanical performance. Discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable is within ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 9, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 7, wherein the bottom layer (23) has a thickness of 0.1 μm to 9 μm.
Although Kawaguchi does not expressly disclose that the bottom layer has a thickness of 0.1 μm to 9 μm, the thickness of such layer would have been recognized as a variable that directly affects predictable properties including electrical resistance, durability, and flexibility. Accordingly, layer thickness constitutes a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select and optimize the thickness through routine experimentation to achieve reliable electrical and mechanical performance. Discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable is within ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 10, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 7, wherein the surface layer (see “plating film” in column 3, line 53 – column 4, line 7) has a thickness of 0.5 μm to 55 μm.
Although Kawaguchi does not expressly disclose that the surface layer has a thickness of 0.5 μm to 55 μm, the thickness of such layer would have been recognized as a variable that directly affects predictable properties including electrical resistance, durability, and flexibility. Accordingly, layer thickness constitutes a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select and optimize the thickness through routine experimentation to achieve reliable electrical and mechanical performance. Discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable is within ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 11, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 7, wherein the surface layer (see “plating film” in column 3, line 53 – column 4, line 7) has a thickness of 1 μm to 35 μm.
Although Kawaguchi does not expressly disclose that the surface layer has a thickness of 1 μm to 35 μm, the thickness of such layer would have been recognized as a variable that directly affects predictable properties including electrical resistance, durability, and flexibility. Accordingly, layer thickness constitutes a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select and optimize the thickness through routine experimentation to achieve reliable electrical and mechanical performance. Discovering an optimal value of a result effective variable is within ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05; In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 18, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1, wherein the connection unit (12) is made of aluminum or aluminum alloy.
Although Kawaguchi does not expressly disclose that the connection unit is made of aluminum or an aluminum alloy, these metals are well known conductive materials commonly used for electrical terminals and connector components due to their electrical conductivity, corrosion resistance, and cost advantages. Selecting a known, suitable material for a known electrical connector component would have been an obvious matter of design choice to achieve predictable electrical and mechanical performance. Substituting one known conductive metal for another constitutes a predictable variation within ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 19, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1, wherein the elastic unit (11) is made of copper or copper alloy.
Although Kawaguchi does not expressly disclose that the elastic unit is made of copper or a copper alloy, these metals are well known conductive materials commonly used for electrical terminals and connector components due to their electrical conductivity, corrosion resistance, and cost advantages. Selecting a known, suitable material for a known electrical connector component would have been an obvious matter of design choice to achieve predictable electrical and mechanical performance. Substituting one known conductive metal for another constitutes a predictable variation within ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144).
Claim(s) 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (US 9787012, cited in the IDS on 1/16/2024) in view of Duan (US 20170133781).
Regarding claim 14, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1.
But Kawaguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the plug-in terminal further comprises scraping protrusions located in the cavity and fixed to the inner walls of the elastic sheets, respectively; and in the axial direction of the plug-in terminal, the scraping protrusions are located between the conductive wear-resistant layers and the free end.
Duan teaches (figure 3) a connector wherein the plug-in terminal (1) further comprises scraping protrusions (221) located in the cavity and fixed to the inner walls of the elastic sheets (21), respectively; and in the axial direction of the plug-in terminal (1), the scraping protrusions (221) are located between the conductive wear-resistant layers (213) and the free end (214).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawaguchi with the connector housing assembly as disclosed by Duan to provide the plug-in terminal further comprising scraping protrusions located in the cavity and fixed to the inner walls of the elastic sheets, respectively; and in the axial direction of the plug-in terminal, the scraping protrusions are located between the conductive wear-resistant layers and the free end, to improve the electrical and mechanical stability of the plug in terminal.
Regarding claim 15, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 14.
But Kawaguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein an inner surface of the scraping protrusion does not protrude beyond an inner surface of the conductive wear-resistant layer.
Duan teaches (figure 3) a connector wherein an inner surface of the scraping protrusion (213) does not protrude beyond an inner surface of the conductive wear-resistant layer (221; see L1/W1 and L2/W2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawaguchi with the connector housing assembly as disclosed by Duan to provide wherein an inner surface of the scraping protrusion does not protrude beyond an inner surface of the conductive wear-resistant layer, to improve the electrical and mechanical stability of the plug-in terminal.
Regarding claim 16, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 14.
But Kawaguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein inner surfaces of the scraping protrusions on the plurality of elastic sheets and inner surfaces of the conductive wear-resistant layers on the plurality of elastic sheets are all located on the same circular ring surface or the same circular conical surface.
Duan teaches (figure 3) a connector wherein inner surfaces of the scraping protrusions (221) on the plurality of elastic sheets (11) and inner surfaces of the conductive wear-resistant layers (213) on the plurality of elastic sheets (11) are all located on the same circular ring surface or the same circular conical surface (see figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawaguchi with the connector housing assembly as disclosed by Duan to provide wherein inner surfaces of the scraping protrusions on the plurality of elastic sheets and inner surfaces of the conductive wear-resistant layers on the plurality of elastic sheets are all located on the same circular ring surface or the same circular conical surface, to improve the electrical and mechanical stability of the plug-in terminal.
Regarding claim 17, Kawaguchi teaches (figures 1 – 8) the plug-in terminal according to claim 1.
But Kawaguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein an outer wall of the other end of each elastic sheet that is close to the connection unit is provided with a curved groove.
Duan teaches (figure 3) a connector wherein an outer wall of the other end of each elastic sheet (11) that is close to the connection unit (4) is provided with a curved groove (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawaguchi with the connector housing assembly as disclosed by Duan to provide an outer wall of the other end of each elastic sheet that is close to the connection unit being provided with a curved groove, to improve the electrical and mechanical stability of the plug-in terminal.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834