Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 6-7, 9-10, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, lines 1-2: “wherein the ramp is a first ramp, the guide funnel including” should read “wherein the ramp is a first ramp, and the guide funnel includes”
Claim 7, lines 2-3: “the base including a second orientation slot opposite the first orientation slot, the guide funnel including” should read “the base includes a second orientation slot opposite the first orientation slot, and the guide funnel includes”
Claim 9, line 3: “into the connector housing, the ramp extending from the ridge to the orientation slot.” should read “into the connector housing, and the ramp extends from the ridge to the orientation slot.”
Claim 10, line 2: “wherein the orientation tab is funneled from the ridge onto the ramp.” should read “wherein the orientation tab is configured to funnel from the ridge onto the ramp.”
Claim 12, line 3: “for connection to a cable, the orientation tab extending radially outward” should read “for connection to a cable, and the orientation tab extends radially outward”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 152 (Fig. 1, 2), 142 (Fig. 2), 144 (Fig. 2), 160 (Fig. 3), 284 (Fig. 8).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the retention shoulder 236 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Probert et al. (US Patent 10,950,967), hereinafter Probert.
Regarding claim 20, Probert discloses an electrical connector system (electric connector 10, Fig. 1) comprising: a connector housing (housing 12, Fig. 1) including a base (cross section in Fig. 5) and a plurality of terminal cavities (terminal cavities 84, 86, Fig. 1) extending through the base, the base including a retention shoulder (catch 114, 150 Fig. 4, 10) within each terminal cavity, the base including orientation slots (first lock groove 102, second lock groove 106, Fig. 5) associated with the corresponding terminal cavities; and terminals (first electric terminal 14, second electric terminal 16, Fig. 2-3) received in the corresponding terminal cavities, each terminal including an orientation tab (lock tab 48, Fig. 2, orientation feature 82, Fig. 3), the orientation tab configured to be received in the orientation slot to orient the terminal relative to the connector housing (Col. 4, line 31, “The orientation feature 82 serves to prevent the second electric terminal 16 from being inserted into the housing 12 at an incorrect orientation relative thereto”), each terminal including a locking lance (lock ledge 50, 80, Fig. 2-3) engaging the corresponding retention shoulder to retain the terminal in the corresponding terminal cavity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Probert (US Patent 10,950,967) in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 20160043499), hereinafter Hashimoto.
Regarding claim 1, Probert discloses an electrical connector system (electric connector 10, Fig. 1) comprising: a connector housing (housing 12, Fig. 1) including a base (cross section in Fig. 5) and a plurality of terminal cavities (terminal cavities 84, 86, Fig. 1) extending through the base, the base including a retention shoulder (catch 114, 150 Fig. 4, 10) within each terminal cavity, the base including orientation slots (first lock groove 102, second lock groove 106, Fig. 5, Par. 27, “The lock tab 48 is an orientation feature of the first electric terminal 14 that prevents the first electric terminal 14 from being inserted into the first terminal cavity 84 if the first electric terminal 14 is not oriented so that the lock tab 48 is positioned in the first lock groove 102”) associated with the corresponding terminal cavities, the base including guide funnels (body grooves 100, orientation groove 108, Fig. 5) funneling into the corresponding terminal cavities (see Fig. 5), and terminals (first electric terminal 14, second electric terminal 16, Fig. 2-3) received in the corresponding terminal cavities, each terminal including an orientation tab (lock tab 48, Fig. 2, orientation feature 82, Fig. 3), the orientation tab configured to be received in the funnel and guided by the ramp to the orientation slot, the orientation tab being received in the orientation slot to orient the terminal relative to the connector housing (Col. 4, line 31, “The orientation feature 82 serves to prevent the second electric terminal 16 from being inserted into the housing 12 at an incorrect orientation relative thereto”), each terminal including a locking lance (lock ledge 50, 80, Fig. 2-3) engaging the corresponding retention shoulder to retain the terminal in the corresponding terminal cavity.
However, Probert fails to disclose wherein each guide funnel including a ramp angled toward the orientation slot.
Hashimoto teaches wherein each guide funnel including a ramp (second inclined surface 18S, Fig. 7) angled toward the orientation slot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto to modify Probert to provide a ramp in the terminal cavity that is angled toward the orientation slot. One would be motivated to make this modification to allow the terminal to enter the cavity at an angle not immediately aligned with the proper connection orientation and be guided to the proper orientation as it is being inserted.
Regarding claim 3, Probert disclose the electrical connector system of claim 1.
However, Probert fails to disclose wherein the ramp is angled transverse to a longitudinal axis of the terminal cavity.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the ramp (second inclined surface 18S, Fig. 7) is angled transverse to a longitudinal axis of the terminal cavity (18S is transverse to the longitudinal direction of the cavity and the perpendicular axis of the cavity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto to modify Probert to provide a ramp in the terminal cavity that is angled transverse to the longitudinal axis of the terminal cavity. One would be motivated to make this modification to ensure that the terminal rotates properly when the terminal is inserted lengthwise into the cavity.
Regarding claim 4, Probert discloses the electrical connector system of claim 1.
However, Probert fails to disclose wherein the ramp causes the terminal to rotate as the terminal is loaded into the terminal cavity until the orientation tab is aligned with the orientation slot.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the ramp (second inclined surface 18S, Fig. 7) causes the terminal to rotate as the terminal is loaded into the terminal cavity until the orientation tab is aligned with the orientation slot (Par. 0045, “the projection 22 is inserted into the second groove portion 17 to allow a forward movement of the terminal fitting 20 when the terminal fitting 20 is inserted in the proper posture into the cavity 11, and the projection 22 comes into contact with the guiding portion 18 to rotate the terminal main body portion 21”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto to modify Probert to provide a ramp in the terminal cavity that is angled toward the orientation slot. One would be motivated to make this modification to allow the terminal to enter the cavity at an angle not immediately aligned with the proper connection orientation and be guided to the proper orientation as it is being inserted.
Regarding claim 5, Probert discloses the electrical connector system of claim 1.
However, Probert fails to disclose wherein the ramp includes a cam surface for converting linear motion of the terminal in a loading direction to rotating motion of the terminal in an alignment direction.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the ramp (second inclined surface 18S, Fig. 7) includes a cam surface for converting linear motion of the terminal in a loading direction to rotating motion of the terminal in an alignment direction (see Fig. 7, as terminal fitting is inserted in a linear motion projection 22 contacts second inclined surface 18S and is subsequently rotated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto to modify Probert to provide a ramp in the terminal cavity that is angled toward the orientation slot. One would be motivated to make this modification to allow the terminal to enter the cavity at an angle not immediately aligned with the proper connection orientation and be guided to the proper orientation as it is being inserted.
Regarding claim 6, Probert discloses the electrical connector system of claim 1.
However, Probert fails to disclose wherein the ramp is a first ramp, and the guide funnel includes a second ramp angled toward the orientation slot.
Hashimoto teaches wherein the ramp is a first ramp (surface 18H, Fig. 7), and the guide funnel includes a second ramp (second inclined surface 18S, Fig. 7) angled toward the orientation slot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto to modify Probert to provide a ramp that includes a first ramp and a second ramp. One would be motivated to make this modification to make the process of inserting the terminal into the guide funnel easier and at multiple insertion angles.
Regarding claim 11, Probert discloses the electrical connector system of claim 1, wherein the locking lance (lock ledge 50, 80, Fig. 2-3) engages the retention shoulder (catch 114, 150 Fig. 4, 10) to prevent axial movement of the terminal in the terminal cavity, and wherein the orientation tab (lock tab 48, Fig. 2) is received in the orientation slot to prevent rotational movement of the terminal in the terminal cavity (Col. 6, line 5, “When the first electric terminal 14 is properly oriented relative to the housing 12, the lock tab 48 is aligned with the first lock groove 102, and the first electric terminal 14 can be moved in the insertion direction 122 relative to the housing 12 until the first electric terminal 14 is located in the installed position”).
Regarding claim 12, Probert discloses the electrical connector system of claim 1, wherein the terminal includes a main body (contact portion 24, 64, Fig. 2-3) extending between a front and a rear, the terminal including a crimp barrel (crimp 26, 58, Fig. 2-3) extending rearward of the rear for connection to a cable (first wire 30, second wire 62, Fig. 2-3), and the orientation tab extends radially outward from the main body (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Probert discloses the electrical connector system of claim 1, wherein the terminal includes a main body (contact portion 24, 64, Fig. 2-3) extending between a front and a rear, the terminal including a socket (see Fig. 2-3) at the front configured to receive a pin terminal of a mating electrical connector (Col. 1, line 17: “each of the electric terminals is held in a desired position and orientation to allow a user to easily connect multiple electric terminals to respective mating terminals”), the terminal including a plurality of mating beams (contact arms 38, Fig. 2) extending into the socket to electrically connect to the pin terminal.
Regarding claim 14, Probert discloses the electrical connector system of claim 1, wherein the terminal cavities (terminal cavities 84, 86, Fig. 1) are arranged in rows and columns to hold the terminals in rows and columns for mating with mating terminals of a mating electrical connector (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Probert discloses the electrical connector system of claim 1, wherein the connector housing (housing 12, Fig. 1) includes terminal tubes (contact cavity 98, Fig. 7) forward of the base and cable tubes (attachment cavity 96, Fig. 7) rearward of the base, the terminal cavities extending through the corresponding terminal tubes and the corresponding cable tubes (Fig. 7), the terminals including mating ends (mate end 94, Fig. 7) in the corresponding terminal tubes for mating with mating terminals of a mating electrical connector, the terminals being terminated to cables, the cables extending through the cable tubes to exit the connector housing (Fig. 7), the guide funnels extending along the cable tubes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 allowed.
Claims 2 and 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art of record not fairly showing, suggesting, or teaching the electrical connector system of claim 1, wherein the ramp extends helically between a first end and a second end of the ramp, as recited in claim 2. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination.
Regarding claim 7, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art of record not fairly showing, suggesting, or teaching the electrical connector system of claim 1, wherein the orientation slot is a first orientation slot, the base including a second orientation slot opposite the first orientation slot, the guide funnel including a second ramp angled toward the second orientation slot, as recited in claim 7. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination. Claim 8 is dependent on claim 7 and is therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 9, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art of record not fairly showing, suggesting, or teaching the electrical connector system of claim 1, wherein the guide funnel includes a ridge extending parallel to a loading direction of the terminal into the connector housing, the ramp extending from the ridge to the orientation slot, as recited in claim 9. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination. Claim 10 is dependent on claim 9 and is therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, allowability resides with the prior art of record not fairly showing, suggesting or teaching an electrical connector system comprising: a connector housing including a base and a plurality of terminal cavities extending through the base, the base including a retention shoulder within each terminal cavity, the base including orientation slots, the orientation slots including a first orientation slot and a second orientation slot associated with each terminal cavity, the base including guide funnels funneling into the corresponding terminal cavities, each guide funnel including a ridge located between the first orientation slot and the second orientation slot of the corresponding terminal cavity, each guide funnel including a first ramp angled between the ridge and the first orientation slot and a second ramp angled between the ridge and the second orientation slot; and terminals received in the corresponding terminal cavities, each terminal including an orientation tab, the orientation tab configured to be received in the funnel to interface with either the first ramp or the second ramp to funnel the orientation tab to the first orientation slot or the second orientation slot, respectively, to orient the terminal relative to the connector housing in either a first orientation or a second orientation, respectively, each terminal including a locking lance engaging the corresponding retention shoulder to retain the terminal in the corresponding terminal cavity, as recited in claim 16. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination. Claims 17-19 are dependent on claim 16 and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Enomoto et al. (US 20230318218) discloses a connector having a housing and a terminal with a locking piece to keep the terminal in the installation position.
Bhagyanathan Sathianathan et al. (US Patent 10,381,766) discloses an electric terminal fitting with a body and a covering and a locking feature.
Orris et al. (US Patent 7,942,707) discloses an electrical contact with a locking barb.
Arai (US 20090036002) discloses a connector terminal with a lance and a locking barb.
Patel et al. (US 20050014422) discloses a female terminal with a mating end, locking barbs and a crimp terminal.
Sakurai et al. (US 20040253881) discloses a male terminal fitting configured to be inserted in an accommodating housing and be locked therein.
Shi et al. (US 20040110427) discloses an electrical connector with an insulative housing having tube portions extending from the base for terminals and cables.
/JEFFREY MOUNTAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834