DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected process, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 JULY 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 9-20 in the reply filed on 15 JULY 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
In the election on 15 JLUY 2026, Applicant has elected Group I: Claims 9-20 without traverse. Claims 1-8 are withdrawn and directed to a non-elected invention.
Claims 9-20 are elected and are considered on the merits below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07 MARCH 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 SEPTEMBER 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “removable cover element that closes the receiving space” in claim 9.
An “element” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the “element” to be a “cover element” and “self-adhesive covering film” on page 5 and in claim 10.
A “gripping element covers the cover element” in claim 14.
An “element” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the “element” to be a “rotatable and/or pivotable arm” on page 10.
A “movable device …to remove the cover element” in claim 15.
A “device” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describe what the “movable device” is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the opening" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In first instance of “an opening” is recited in claim 11, not claim 9.
In Claim 16, it is unclear if ‘a membrane (9)’ is referring to the same ‘membrane (9)’ in claim 9. If they are the same, since the reference characters are the same, the instance in Claim 16 should be ‘the membrane’.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the opening" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “device…to remove the cover element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of “to remove the cover element” is performed by an “act on the gripping element in order to remove the cover element.” There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to remove the cover element. The use of the term “remove” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which removing structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of “to remove the cover element”. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIRK, US Publication No. 2014/0065637 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 10 SEPTEMBER 2024; US Patent Application Publications, Cite No. 1.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device, a microfluidic system.
Regarding Claim 9, the reference KIRK discloses a microfluidic system, Figure 2 and 3, comprising: a receiving space for optical recording of microparticles on a membrane, Figure 2 and 3, [0049-0050], space defined by substrate 200 and top cover 221, where material 206 reside ; and a removable cover element (5)that closes the receiving space, Figure 2 and 3, top cover 212, [0048-0050].
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 10: wherein the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the cover element comprises a self-adhesive covering film, Figure 2 and 3, cover 212 attached to tape 210, [0048].; Claim 11: wherein the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the cover element is made of a transparent material at least in the area of an opening of the receiving space, [0048, 0051].; Claim 12: wherein the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the opening is as large as a provision area in which the microparticles are adapted to be provided, Figure 2 and 3, port 214, [0049]. ; Claim 13: wherein the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the cover element is temporarily or permanently fastened to a gripping element, [0048, 0051].; Claim 14: wherein the system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the gripping element covers the cover element, Figure 2 and 3, peelable tape 210 placed over additional structure(s) 208 , The one or more removable structures may also include top cover 212 placed over the peelable tape, [0048]. ; Claim 15: wherein the system as claimed in claim 13, further comprising a movable device that acts at least temporarily on the gripping element to remove the cover element, [0048].; Claim 16: wherein the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the receiving space has an inflow and an outflow, and a membrane is arranged between the inflow and the outflow, Figure 11, ports 1106/1108, [0073].; Claim 17: wherein the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the inflow leads into the receiving space at a spacing from the cover element, Figure 11, [0073-0077].; Claim 19: wherein the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the receiving space comprises a ventilation structure, which projects at least partially outside the opening and the ventilation structure is closable by the cover element, Figure 11, ports 1106/1108, [0073].; and Claim 20: wherein the wherein the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the receiving space is in a fluidic channel system in a disk-shaped sample carrier. It should be noted that the instant claim language does not further define the system itself, but rather what the system is to be place into and its shape. The shape of the carrier does not further structurally define the system as recited in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIRK, US Publication No. 2014/0065637 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 10 SEPTEMBER 2024; US Patent Application Publications, Cite No. 1, and further in view of WOOLARD, US Publication No. 2016/0097705 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 10 SEPTEMBER 2024; US Patent Application Publications Cite No. 2.
Regarding Claim 18, the KIRK reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the receiving space is wider between the inflow and the outflow.
The WOOLARD reference discloses a discloses a system, Figure 1, comprising: a receiving space for optical recording of microparticles on a membrane, Figure 1, housing 102 with inner volume, which reads on the receiving space, includes a test equipment 188 such as a photometer on a filter 112, [0020, 0026, 0033]; and a removable cover element that closes the receiving space, Figure 1 door 122, [0023-0025]; wherein the receiving space has an inflow and an outflow, and a membrane is arranged between the inflow and the outflow, Figure 1, filter 112 in inlet 104 / outlet 108, [0020-0022], both membranes and filter are used in a filtration process which removes impurities by trapping or allowing certain substances to pass through; and wherein the receiving space is wider between the inflow and the outflow, Figure 1, ducts 110, left and right are considered to be the inlet 104 and outlet 106 and the space in the housing 102 is wider than 110, [0020].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the KIRK reference such that the receiving space of the system is wider between the inflow and the outflow as seen in WOOLARD so that upon application of a sample such as a gas a pressure barrier forms and gases can expand and the highest amount of gaseous sample contacts the membrane / filter for effective separation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. MIKKAICHI, US Publication No. 2021/0156841-A1, which teaches a microfluidic system, Figure 1, device 1, [0043], comprising: a receiving space for optical recording of microparticles on a membrane, Figure 1, P1 space and filter 10, [0043-0048], and a removable cover element that closes the receiving space, [0023, 0083], Figure 15, cover 23.
In addition, MIKKAICHI discloses the cover element is made of a transparent material at least in the area of an opening of the receiving space, Figure 15, cover 23 is glass, [0083], as well as the opening is as large as a provision area in which the microparticles are adapted to be provided, Figures 1-3, 10-18. Furthermore, MIKKAICHI discloses the receiving space has a inflow and an outflow, Figure 1-3 and 10-18, injection unit 30 and path 31 and discharge unit 40 and path 41, [0048-0049], wherein the inflow leads into the receiving space, Figure 1-3 and 10-18, injection unit 30 and path 31 leads into space P1, at a spacing from the cover element, Figure 15.
Moreover, the receiving space is wider between the inflow and the outflow, Figure 1-3 and 10-18.
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797