DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11, 19-20 in the reply filed on 12/4/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant added new claims 21-27 and they are in compliance with the groups elected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1: the instant claim recites “facilitate configuration of the bridge device for operation”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claims 2-11 which depend from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “facilitate configuration of the bridge” is interpreted as “operates to configure the bridge device” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claims 2-11: The instant claims are rejected as they depend on the independent claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2: the instant claim recites “facilitate configuration of the ethernet connectivity”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claims 3-5 which depend from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “configuration of the ethernet connectivity” is interpreted as “to configure ethernet connectivity” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claims 3-5: The instant claims are rejected as they depend on the independent claim 2.
Regarding Claim 3: the instant claim recites “facilitate configuration of one or more ports”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claims 4-5which depend from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “facilitate configuration of one or more ports” is interpreted as “to configure one or more ports” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claims 4-5: The instant claims are rejected as they depend on the independent claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4: the instant claim recites “facilitate configuration of a serial port”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claim 5 which depends from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “facilitate configuration of a serial port” is interpreted as “to configure a serial port” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claim 5: The instant claim is rejected as they depend on the independent claim 4.
Regarding Claim 6: the instant claim recites “by the network simulation controller to facilitate including at least one physical network device”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claims 7-11 which depend from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “by the network simulation controller to facilitate including at least one physical network device” is interpreted as “by the network simulation controller to operate including at least one physical network device” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claim 7-11: The instant claims are rejected as they depend on the independent claim 6.
Regarding Claim 19: the instant claim recites “facilitate operation of at least one physical device”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claims 20-27 which depend from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “facilitate operation of at least one physical device” is interpreted as “operates of at least one physical device” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claims 20-27: The instant claims are rejected as they depend on the independent claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20: the instant claim recites “wherein facilitating the operation of the at least one physical device”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claim 21 which depends from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “wherein facilitating the operation of the at least one physical device” is interpreted as “operates of the at least one physical device” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claims 21: The instant claim is rejected as they depend on the independent claim 20.
Regarding Claim 22: the instant claim recites “by the network simulation controller to facilitate including at least one physical network device”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claims 23-26 which depend from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “by the network simulation controller to facilitate including at least one physical network device” is interpreted as “by the network simulation controller to operate including at least one physical network device” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claim 23-26: The instant claims are rejected as they depend on the independent claim 22.
Regarding Claim 23: the instant claim recites “wherein facilitating the operation of the at least one physical device”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claim 24 which depends from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “wherein facilitating the operation of the at least one physical device” is interpreted as “operates of the at least one physical device” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claims 24: The instant claim is rejected as they depend on the independent claim 23.
Regarding Claim 25: the instant claim recites “wherein facilitating operation of the at least one physical device”, the use of the term “facilitates” appears to provide that the operations are not necessarily performed by the execution of the instructions, but instead are somehow assisted by the instructions. It is unclear if the operations are actually performed and it is unclear what is required to facilitate the operations, thus rendering the instant claim indefinite. Claim 26 which depends from the instant claim, fail to remedy the issue, and thus are indefinite. For purposes of examination, “wherein facilitating operation of the at least one physical device” is interpreted as “operates of the at least one physical device” thus requiring that the recited operations are performed by the execution of the instruction.
Regarding Claims 26: The instant claim is rejected as they depend on the independent claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Fung (“Fung”, USRE40866E1) hereinafter Fung.
Regarding claim 1, Fung teaches network simulation system, comprising:
a network simulation controller (Fig. 6, 138, Local Management Node)(Fig. 1, Local Management Node element 65); and
a bridge device ([Col 12 Lines 45-68] Fig. 6, Integrated Server System ISS, switch Module)(Fig. 12, switch modules, ethernet modules) comprising:
a serial hardware interface element that provides serial interconnectivity with one or more physical network devices ([Col. 28 Lines 1-65][Col. 27 Lines 1-65] Fig. 12, ethernet witch modules connecting to server modules {one or more physical devices} through ethernet, and serial interfaces);
a first ethernet hardware interface element that provides ethernet connectivity with the one or more physical network devices ([Col. 28 Lines 1-65][Col. 27 Lines 1-65] Fig. 12, ethernet witch modules connecting to server modules {one or more physical devices} through ethernet, and serial interfaces);
a second ethernet hardware interface element that provides ethernet connectivity with the network simulation controller ([Col. 19 Lines 30-45] Fig. 6, Monitoring and management access from local management node 138 over ethernet communication link 140 is desirable as it provides another alternative connection, communication, and possible control when desired, and advantageously permits connection using standard TCP/IP software and protocols.); and
a power distribution element that provides electrical power that is to provide electrical power to the one or more physical network devices ([Col 28. Lines 23-45] The Management Module is also responsible for Power Supply Control and Monitoring. The power supplies of the Server and Switch Modules are controlled by the Management Module, with the ability to cycle power or shut down a module upon receipt of an appropriate network control center message and is under security protection. All power supplies, either chassis or module based, are monitored. When an alarm or failure condition is detected, an alert is sent via email or SNMP depending on system configuration.),
wherein the network simulation controller operates to facilitate configuration of the bridge device for operation of the one or more physical network devices within at least one network simulation ([Col. 19, Lines 29-65] Monitoring and management access, and providing control from local management node 138 {network controller}, While communication with the ISS over any of these communication channels may itself suffice, the provision of alternate links and communication schemes provides for considerable flexibility in access, management, and control).
Regarding claim 2, Fung teaches the network simulation system of claim 1,
Fung teaches a user interface provided by the network simulation controller to facilitate configuration of ethernet connectivity and serial connectivity of the bridge device with at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices ([Col. 19, Lines 29-65] Monitoring and management access, and providing control from local management node 138 {network controller}, While communication with the ISS over any of these communication channels may itself suffice, the provision of alternate links and communication schemes provides for considerable flexibility in access, management, and control)(Fig. 6, local management node is computer with screen to provide management, access, control, provision of the access within ISS system)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Fung (“Fung”, USRE40866E1) hereinafter Fung, in view of Reynolds et al. (“Reynolds”, US 20080019067 A1) hereinafter Reynolds.
Regarding claim 3, Fung teaches the network simulation system of claim 2,
Fung does not explicitly teach, but Reynolds teaches
wherein the user interface comprises a first user interface element to facilitate configuration of one or more ethernet ports of the first ethernet hardware interface element of the bridge device that interfaces with one or more ethernet ports of the at least one physical network device ([0100, 0104] serial or ethernet interfaces, an Ethernet port can be utilized either through a text based Telnet session or through an HTTP web interface. The telnet session is similar to the serial interface in that its text based and the menus can generally be very similar or identical. A web interface according to specific embodiments of the invention can, for example, utilize a web browser and the Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP). According to specific embodiments of the present invention, this interface looks and feels different from the others because it is a GUI (graphical user interface). An SNMP interface can be used to control various settings and retrieve various information from the SPS using a standard network management protocol, such as SNMP, Graphical User interface, Telnet, Web Browser to setup and configure ethernet ports and serial ports)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung in view of Reynolds in order to have multiple user interfaces to configure the ethernet and serial ports because it helps users to determine and change the state of each outlet, determine the amount of current that each outlet is drawing, and add or modify scheduled on/off events on outlets (Reynolds [0097]).
Regarding claim 4, Fung and Reynolds teach the network simulation system of claim 3,
Fung does not explicitly teach, but Reynbolds teaches
wherein the user interface comprises a second user interface element to facilitate configuration of a serial port of the serial hardware interface element of the bridge device that interfaces with a serial port of the at least one physical network device ([0100, 0104] serial or ethernet interfaces, an Ethernet port can be utilized either through a text based Telnet session or through an HTTP web interface. The telnet session is similar to the serial interface in that its text based and the menus can generally be very similar or identical. A web interface according to specific embodiments of the invention can, for example, utilize a web browser and the Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP). According to specific embodiments of the present invention, this interface looks and feels different from the others because it is a GUI (graphical user interface). An SNMP interface can be used to control various settings and retrieve various information from the SPS using a standard network management protocol, such as SNMP, Graphical User interface, Telnet, Web Browser to setup and configure ethernet ports and serial ports)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung in view of Reynolds in order to have multiple user interfaces to configure the ethernet and serial ports because it helps users to determine and change the state of each outlet, determine the amount of current that each outlet is drawing, and add or modify scheduled on/off events on outlets related to different hardware ports (Reynolds [0097]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Fung (“Fung”, USRE40866E1) hereinafter Fung, and Reynolds et al. (“Reynolds”, US 20080019067 A1) hereinafter Reynolds, in view of Liu et al. (“Liu”, US 20100100767 A1) hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 5, Fung and Reynold teach the network simulation system of claim 4,
Fung and Reynold do not explicitly teach, but Lie teaches
wherein the user interface comprises a third user interface element that indicates whether the at least one physical network device is in use in a virtual network simulation ([0015, 0053-0055] Fig. 5, virtual design lab wherein a plurality of network components from inventory 505 may be used to graphically represent a test network. In one embodiment, a user may design a test network by selecting a plurality of components from inventory 505 comprising the test network. Each component selected by the user may, for example, appear in design field 503. In further embodiments, each component in inventory 505 corresponds to a unique physical device (e.g., rather than a particular type or model). As such, selecting a component in inventory 505 may remove the component from the inventory 505, and graphically representing the component in design field 503, a graphical user interface 500 in a system for automatically configuring remote network devices is depicted, in accordance with various embodiments of the claimed subject matter. In a typical configuration, graphical user interface 500 includes a design panel 501 and a design field 503. In one embodiment, design panel 501 may include functionality (e.g., action buttons deploy 511 and disconnect 512) and an inventory of a plurality of components which may be used to comprise a network design (e.g., inventory 505)) [0060-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 virtual network devices, physical network devices, network design, virtual design lab according to the network design).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Claims 6, 8-11, 19-24, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Fung (“Fung”, USRE40866E1) hereinafter Fung, in view of Liu et al. (“Liu”, US 20100100767 A1) hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 6, Fung teaches the network simulation system of claim 1,
Fung does not explicitly teach, but Liu teaches
a user interface provided by the network simulation controller to facilitate including at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices in a virtual network simulation ([0015, 0053-0059] Fig. 5, virtual design lab wherein a plurality of network components from inventory 505 may be used to graphically represent a test network. In one embodiment, a user may design a test network by selecting a plurality of components from inventory 505 comprising the test network. Each component selected by the user may, for example, appear in design field 503. In further embodiments, each component in inventory 505 corresponds to a unique physical device (e.g., rather than a particular type or model). As such, selecting a component in inventory 505 may remove the component from the inventory 505, and graphically representing the component in design field 503, a graphical user interface 500 in a system for automatically configuring remote network devices is depicted, in accordance with various embodiments of the claimed subject matter. In a typical configuration, graphical user interface 500 includes a design panel 501 and a design field 503. In one embodiment, design panel 501 may include functionality (e.g., action buttons deploy 511 and disconnect 512) and an inventory of a plurality of components which may be used to comprise a network design (e.g., inventory 505).) [0060-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 virtual network devices, physical network devices, network design, virtual design lab according to the network design).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Fung and Liu teach the network simulation system of claim 6,
Fung does not explicitly teach, but Liu teaches
wherein the network simulation controller removes the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices from a pool of available physical network devices when the at least one physical network device is included in the virtual network simulation ([0015, 0053-0059] Fig. 5, virtual design lab wherein a plurality of network components from inventory 505 may be used to graphically represent a test network. In one embodiment, a user may design a test network by selecting a plurality of components from inventory 505 comprising the test network. Each component selected by the user may, for example, appear in design field 503. In further embodiments, each component in inventory 505 corresponds to a unique physical device (e.g., rather than a particular type or model). As such, selecting a component in inventory 505 may remove the component from the inventory 505, and graphically representing the component in design field 503, a graphical user interface 500 in a system for automatically configuring remote network devices is depicted, in accordance with various embodiments of the claimed subject matter. In a typical configuration, graphical user interface 500 includes a design panel 501 and a design field 503. In one embodiment, design panel 501 may include functionality (e.g., action buttons deploy 511 and disconnect 512) and an inventory of a plurality of components which may be used to comprise a network design (e.g., inventory 505)) ([0060-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 virtual network devices, physical network devices, network design, virtual design lab according to the network design).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Fung and Liu teach the network simulation system of claim 8,
Fung does not explicitly teach, but Liu teaches
a user interface display indication provided by the network simulation controller indicating that the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices is unavailable for inclusion in another virtual network simulation ([0059] graphical user interface 500 may include functionality to reserve the plurality of components comprising a network design for a period of time. Communication to the plurality of components is thus inaccessible to other terminals (e.g., other instantiations of graphical user interface 500) for the reserved period of time. Accordingly, remote testing may be performed with the specific physical equivalents of the devices comprising the network design without interference. In one embodiment, a schedule of reservations is stored in a server or other communication hub communicatively coupled to each instantiation of graphical user interface 500.) {reserving components prevents using these components in another lab or another simulation}.([0015, 0053-0059] Fig. 5, virtual design lab wherein a plurality of network components from inventory 505 may be used to graphically represent a test network. In one embodiment, a user may design a test network by selecting a plurality of components from inventory 505 comprising the test network. Each component selected by the user may, for example, appear in design field 503. In further embodiments, each component in inventory 505 corresponds to a unique physical device (e.g., rather than a particular type or model). As such, selecting a component in inventory 505 may remove the component from the inventory 505, and graphically representing the component in design field 503, a graphical user interface 500 in a system for automatically configuring remote network devices is depicted, in accordance with various embodiments of the claimed subject matter. In a typical configuration, graphical user interface 500 includes a design panel 501 and a design field 503. In one embodiment, design panel 501 may include functionality (e.g., action buttons deploy 511 and disconnect 512) and an inventory of a plurality of components which may be used to comprise a network design (e.g., inventory 505)) ([0060-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 virtual network devices, physical network devices, network design, virtual design lab according to the network design).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Fung and Liu teach the network simulation system of claim 9,
Fung does not explicitly teach, but Liu teaches
wherein the network simulation controller returns the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices to the pool of available physical network devices when the at least one physical network device is removed from the virtual network simulation ([0057] Likewise, a component in design field 503 may be removed from the network via an action button (e.g., disconnect button 512)([0059])
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Fung and Liu teach the network simulation system of claim 10,
Fung does not explicitly teach, but Liu teaches
wherein the network simulation controller removes the user interface display indication indicating that the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices is unavailable for inclusion in another network simulation ([0057] Likewise, a component in design field 503 may be removed from the network via an action button (e.g., disconnect button 512).)([0059] reserving components for a period of time)
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Fung teaches a method comprising:
obtaining, by a network simulation controller, user inputs for configuring a bridge device ([Col 12 Lines 45-68] Fig. 6, Integrated Server System ISS, switch Module)(Fig. 12, switch modules, ethernet modules) interconnected with the network simulation controller (Fig. 6, 138, Local Management Node)(Fig. 1, Local Management Node element 65); for each of:
a serial hardware interface element that provides serial interconnectivity with one or more physical network devices ([Col. 28 Lines 1-65][Col. 27 Lines 1-65] Fig. 12, ethernet witch modules connecting to server modules {one or more physical devices} through ethernet, and serial interfaces);
an ethernet hardware interface element that provides ethernet connectivity with the one or more physical network devices ([Col. 28 Lines 1-65][Col. 27 Lines 1-65] Fig. 12, ethernet witch modules connecting to server modules {one or more physical devices} through ethernet, and serial interfaces); and
a power distribution element that is to provide electrical power for the one or more physical network devices ([Col 28. Lines 23-45] The Management Module is also responsible for Power Supply Control and Monitoring. The power supplies of the Server and Switch Modules are controlled by the Management Module, with the ability to cycle power or shut down a module upon receipt of an appropriate network control center message and is under security protection. All power supplies, either chassis or module based, are monitored. When an alarm or failure condition is detected, an alert is sent via email or SNMP depending on system configuration.); and
facilitating operation of at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices within a [virtual] network simulation ([Col. 19, Lines 29-65] Monitoring and management access, and providing control from local management node 138 {network controller}, While communication with the ISS over any of these communication channels may itself suffice, the provision of alternate links and communication schemes provides for considerable flexibility in access, management, and control).
Fung does not teach virtual network simulation, but Liu teaches
Virtual network simulation ([0015, 0053-0055] Fig. 5, virtual design lab wherein a plurality of network components from inventory 505 may be used to graphically represent a test network. In one embodiment, a user may design a test network by selecting a plurality of components from inventory 505 comprising the test network. Each component selected by the user may, for example, appear in design field 503. In further embodiments, each component in inventory 505 corresponds to a unique physical device (e.g., rather than a particular type or model). As such, selecting a component in inventory 505 may remove the component from the inventory 505, and graphically representing the component in design field 503, a graphical user interface 500 in a system for automatically configuring remote network devices is depicted, in accordance with various embodiments of the claimed subject matter. In a typical configuration, graphical user interface 500 includes a design panel 501 and a design field 503. In one embodiment, design panel 501 may include functionality (e.g., action buttons deploy 511 and disconnect 512) and an inventory of a plurality of components which may be used to comprise a network design (e.g., inventory 505)) [0060-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 virtual network devices, physical network devices, network design, virtual design lab according to the network design).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 20, Fung and Liu teach the method of claim 19,
Fung teaches wherein facilitating the operation of the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices ([Col. 19, Lines 29-65] Monitoring and management access, and providing control from local management node 138 {network controller}, While communication with the ISS over any of these communication channels may itself suffice, the provision of alternate links and communication schemes provides for considerable flexibility in access, management, and control).
Fung does not teach, but Liu teaches
returning the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices to a pool of available physical network devices when the at least one physical network device is removed from the virtual network simulation ([0057] Likewise, a component in design field 503 may be removed from the network via an action button (e.g., disconnect button 512)([0059])
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 21, Fung and Liu teach the method of claim 20, further comprising:
Fung does not explicitly teach, but Liu teaches
providing a user interface display indication by the network simulation controller indicating that the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices is available for inclusion in another virtual network simulation ([0015, 0053-0059] Fig. 5, virtual design lab wherein a plurality of network components from inventory 505 may be used to graphically represent a test network. In one embodiment, a user may design a test network by selecting a plurality of components from inventory 505 comprising the test network. Each component selected by the user may, for example, appear in design field 503. In further embodiments, each component in inventory 505 corresponds to a unique physical device (e.g., rather than a particular type or model). As such, selecting a component in inventory 505 may remove the component from the inventory 505, and graphically representing the component in design field 503, a graphical user interface 500 in a system for automatically configuring remote network devices is depicted, in accordance with various embodiments of the claimed subject matter. In a typical configuration, graphical user interface 500 includes a design panel 501 and a design field 503. In one embodiment, design panel 501 may include functionality (e.g., action buttons deploy 511 and disconnect 512) and an inventory of a plurality of components which may be used to comprise a network design (e.g., inventory 505)) ([0060-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 virtual network devices, physical network devices, network design, virtual design lab according to the network design).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 22, Fung and Liu teach the method of claim 19,
Fung teaches wherein facilitating the operation of the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices ([Col. 19, Lines 29-65] Monitoring and management access, and providing control from local management node 138 {network controller}, While communication with the ISS over any of these communication channels may itself suffice, the provision of alternate links and communication schemes provides for considerable flexibility in access, management, and control)
Fung does not teach, but Liu teaches
obtaining one or more user inputs via a user interface provided by the network simulation controller to facilitate including the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices in a virtual network simulation ([0015, 0053-0059] Fig. 5, virtual design lab wherein a plurality of network components from inventory 505 may be used to graphically represent a test network. In one embodiment, a user may design a test network by selecting a plurality of components from inventory 505 comprising the test network. Each component selected by the user may, for example, appear in design field 503. In further embodiments, each component in inventory 505 corresponds to a unique physical device (e.g., rather than a particular type or model). As such, selecting a component in inventory 505 may remove the component from the inventory 505, and graphically representing the component in design field 503, a graphical user interface 500 in a system for automatically configuring remote network devices is depicted, in accordance with various embodiments of the claimed subject matter. In a typical configuration, graphical user interface 500 includes a design panel 501 and a design field 503. In one embodiment, design panel 501 may include functionality (e.g., action buttons deploy 511 and disconnect 512) and an inventory of a plurality of components which may be used to comprise a network design (e.g., inventory 505).) [0060-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 virtual network devices, physical network devices, network design, virtual design lab according to the network design)([0088] entering command from a user).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 23, Fung and Liu teach the method of claim 22,
Fung teaches wherein facilitating the operation of the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices ([Col. 19, Lines 29-65] Monitoring and management access, and providing control from local management node 138 {network controller}, While communication with the ISS over any of these communication channels may itself suffice, the provision of alternate links and communication schemes provides for considerable flexibility in access, management, and control),
Fung does not teach, but Liu teaches
removing the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices from a pool of available physical network devices when the at least one physical network device is included in the virtual network simulation ([0015, 0053-0059] Fig. 5, virtual design lab wherein a plurality of network components from inventory 505 may be used to graphically represent a test network. In one embodiment, a user may design a test network by selecting a plurality of components from inventory 505 comprising the test network. Each component selected by the user may, for example, appear in design field 503. In further embodiments, each component in inventory 505 corresponds to a unique physical device (e.g., rather than a particular type or model). As such, selecting a component in inventory 505 may remove the component from the inventory 505, and graphically representing the component in design field 503, a graphical user interface 500 in a system for automatically configuring remote network devices is depicted, in accordance with various embodiments of the claimed subject matter. In a typical configuration, graphical user interface 500 includes a design panel 501 and a design field 503. In one embodiment, design panel 501 may include functionality (e.g., action buttons deploy 511 and disconnect 512) and an inventory of a plurality of components which may be used to comprise a network design (e.g., inventory 505)) ([0060-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 virtual network devices, physical network devices, network design, virtual design lab according to the network design).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 24, Fung and Liu teach the method of claim 23,
Fung does not teach, but Liu teaches
providing a user interface display indication by the network simulation controller indicating that the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices is unavailable for inclusion in another virtual network simulation ([0059] graphical user interface 500 may include functionality to reserve the plurality of components comprising a network design for a period of time. Communication to the plurality of components is thus inaccessible to other terminals (e.g., other instantiations of graphical user interface 500) for the reserved period of time. Accordingly, remote testing may be performed with the specific physical equivalents of the devices comprising the network design without interference. In one embodiment, a schedule of reservations is stored in a server or other communication hub communicatively coupled to each instantiation of graphical user interface 500.) {reserving components prevents using these components in another lab or another simulation}.([0015, 0053-0059] Fig. 5, virtual design lab wherein a plurality of network components from inventory 505 may be used to graphically represent a test network. In one embodiment, a user may design a test network by selecting a plurality of components from inventory 505 comprising the test network. Each component selected by the user may, for example, appear in design field 503. In further embodiments, each component in inventory 505 corresponds to a unique physical device (e.g., rather than a particular type or model). As such, selecting a component in inventory 505 may remove the component from the inventory 505, and graphically representing the component in design field 503, a graphical user interface 500 in a system for automatically configuring remote network devices is depicted, in accordance with various embodiments of the claimed subject matter. In a typical configuration, graphical user interface 500 includes a design panel 501 and a design field 503. In one embodiment, design panel 501 may include functionality (e.g., action buttons deploy 511 and disconnect 512) and an inventory of a plurality of components which may be used to comprise a network design (e.g., inventory 505)) ([0060-0072] Fig. 6, Fig. 7 virtual network devices, physical network devices, network design, virtual design lab according to the network design).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Fung and Reynolds in view of Liu in order to have graphical user interface to create a test network design with virtualization and using physical network devices because it optimizes the architecture of the network by selecting the appropriate component hardware devices and configuring the devices to be capable of communication with other network constituents and to meet desired performance levels (Liu [0003]).
Regarding claim 27, Fung and Liu teach the method of claim 19,
Fung teaches wherein the bridge device is registered with the network simulation controller via another ethernet hardware interface element ([Col. 19 Lines 30-45] Fig. 6, Monitoring and management access from local management node 138 over ethernet communication link 140 is desirable as it provides another alternative connection, communication, and possible control when desired, and advantageously permits connection using standard TCP/IP software and protocols.);.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, and 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the rejections set forth in this office action.
The following is the reason for allowable subject matters in claim 7, and 25.
With regards to claim 7, the prior arts Fung (“Fung”, USRE40866E1) and (“Liu”, US 20100100767 A1) fail to fairly teach or suggest wherein the network simulation controller, via the power distribution element of the bridge device, triggers the at least one physical network device to power on for operation in the virtual network simulation.
With regards to claim 25, the prior arts Fung (“Fung”, USRE40866E1) and (“Liu”, US 20100100767 A1) fail to fairly teach or suggest providing a trigger to the bridge device by the network simulation controller to power on the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices; and based on the trigger, providing electrical power to the at least one physical network device of the one or more physical network devices by the bridge device for operation of the at least one physical network device within a virtual network simulation.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FADI HAJ SAID whose telephone number is (571)272-2833. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Follansbee can be reached on 571-272-3964. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FADI HAJ SAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444
e