DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 24, the Examiner is unclear about the limitation “the charge transport layer comprises an absorption tail that overlaps a portion of an emission spectrum of the emissive layer.” What does “the absorption tail” mean? For purpose of examiner, the claim will be interpreted as best understood.
Regarding claim 26, the Examiner is unclear about the limitation “the organic emissive layer positioned over the anode comprises an emitter stack above the anode, comprising a charge generation layer between first and second emission layers and wherein the charge transport layer positioned over the organic emissive layer, having a thickness of less than 20 nm comprises at least one of a hole transport layer and hole injection layer between the anode and the emitter stack, with an absorption tail that overlaps at least a first portion of a first emission spectrum of a first triplet controlled emitting material of the emitter stack and further comprising: a substrate; the anode above the substrate; the metal cathode above the emitter stack; and an electron transport layer between the emitter stack and the metal cathode, with an absorption tail that overlaps at least a second portion of a second emission spectrum of a second triplet controlled emitting material of the emitter stack.” What does “the absorption tail” mean? For purpose of examiner, the claim will be interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 24-26, 31, 44, 49, 53, 60, 63, 69 and 74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Forrest et al. (US Pub: 2021/0020867 A1~hereinafter “Forrest”).
Regarding claim 1, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) an organic light emitting device, comprising: an anode (505; [0096]) an organic emissive layer (503; [0096]) positioned over the anode, the organic emissive layer (505; [0073]; [0081]-[0088]) comprising a host material and a dopant; a charge transport layer (502) positioned over the organic emissive layer (503), having a thickness of less than 20 nm ([0179]); and a metal cathode (501; [0096]) positioned over the charge transport layer (502); wherein the charge transport layer (502) and the cathode (501) are configured to form plasmon exciton polaritons between the metal cathode and the charge transport layer.
Regarding claim 2, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) a reflector (511; [0096]) positioned under the anode.
Regarding claim 4, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) the reflector (511) and the cathode (501) form a cavity having a total cavity Q of 5 or less (it is understood that the reflector and the cathode of Forrest are capable of doing that. Also, this limitation does not structurally distinguish from the prior art as is required from an apparatus claim).
Regarding claim 7, Forrest discloses (in at least [0193]) the charge transport layer (ETL; [0193]) has a thickness less than 18 nm.
Regarding claim 24, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) the charge transport layer (502) comprises an absorption tail that overlaps a portion of an emission spectrum of the emissive layer ([0120]-[0122]; [0129]).
Regarding claim 25, Forrest discloses (in at least [0077]) the consumer product is selected from the group consisting of a flat panel display, a curved display, a computer monitor, a medical monitor, a television, a billboard, a light for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, a heads-up display, a fully or partially transparent display, a flexible display, a rollable display, a foldable display, a stretchable display, a laser printer, a telephone, a cell phone, tablet, a phablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a wearable device, a laptop computer, a digital camera, a camcorder, a viewfinder, a micro-display that is less than 2 inches diagonal, a 3-D display, a virtual reality or augmented reality display, a vehicle, a video walls comprising multiple displays tiled together, a theater or stadium screen, a light therapy device, and a sign.
Regarding claim 26, Forrest discloses (in at least [0074]; [0086]-[0090]; [0098]) the organic emissive layer positioned over the anode comprises an emitter stack above the anode ([0086]-[0090]), comprising a charge generation layer between first and second emission layers and wherein the charge transport layer positioned over the organic emissive layer, having a thickness of less than 20 nm ([0179]) comprises at least one of a hole transport layer and hole injection layer between the anode and the emitter stack, with an absorption tail (i.e. the triplet absorption; [0098]) that overlaps at least a first portion of a first emission spectrum of a first triplet controlled emitting material of the emitter stack ([0082]-[0084]; [0090]-[0092]) and further comprising: a substrate (510); the anode (505) above the substrate; the metal cathode (501) above the emitter stack; and an electron transport layer (502) between the emitter stack and the metal cathode (501), with an absorption tail (i.e. the triplet absorption) that overlaps at least a second portion of a second emission spectrum of a second triplet controlled emitting material of the emitter stack.
Regarding claim 31, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) the anode (505) comprises a metal anode.
Regarding claim 44, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) an organic light emitting device (OLED), comprising: a substrate (510); a reflector (511) above the substrate; a first electrode (505) above the reflector; an emissive layer (503) above the first electrode; an electron transport layer (502) above the emissive layer; and a second electrode (501) above the electron transport layer wherein the electron transport layer (502) and the second electrode (501) are configured to form plasmon exciton polaritons between the second electrode and the electron transport layer.
Regarding claim 49, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) the OLED includes a cavity between the first and second electrodes (501, 505).
Regarding claim 53, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) the emissive layer comprises a phosphorescent emitter material ([0069]; [0082]).
Regarding claim 60, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5; [0153]; [0195]) the electron transport layer has a large oscillator strength at wavelengths shorter than a triplet emission wavelength of the organic emissive layer.
Regarding claim 63, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) the reflector (151) has a reflectivity in a range of 50-100% (the reflectivity of the reflector of Forrest falls in that range).
Regarding claim 69, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5; [0074]; [0086]-[0090]; [0098]) an organic light emitting device, comprising: a substrate (501); a first electrode (505) above the substrate; an emitter stack ([0074]; [0086]-[0090]; [0098]) above the first electrode, comprising a charge generation layer between first and second emission layers; a second electrode above the emitter stack (as evident by [0074]; US. Pat: 5,707,745); at least one of a hole transport layer and hole injection layer between the first electrode and the emitter stack, with an absorption tail that overlaps at least a first portion of a first emission spectrum of a first triplet controlled emitting material of the emitter stack ([0074]; [0086]-[0090]; [0098]); and an electron transport layer between the emitter stack and the second electrode, with an absorption tail that overlaps at least a second portion of a second emission spectrum of a second triplet controlled emitting material of the emitter stack ([0074]; [0086]-[0090]; [0098]).
Regarding claim 74, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) the first and second electrodes (505, 501) comprise metal electrodes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 32, 50, 61 and 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (US Pub: 2021/0020867 A1~hereinafter “Forrest”) in view of Wang et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0028402 A1~hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 5, Forrest does not expressly disclose at least a portion of the organic emissive layer is at an antinode of a cavity formed between the reflector and the cathode.
However, it is well-known in the art to form an organic light emitting device comprised of, in part, at least a portion of the organic emissive layer is at an antinode of a cavity formed between the reflector and the cathode as evident by Wang at least figs. 11 and 12; paragraphs ([0012]; [0103]) in order to enhance the luminous intensity of the light-emitting unit ([0103]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the organic light-emitting device of Forrest with the organic emissive layer teaching of Wang in order to enhance the luminous intensity of the light-emitting unit.
Regarding claim 32, Forrest as modified by Wang discloses (in at least fig. 5 Forrest; figs. 11 and 12 Wang) the thickness of the charge generation layer is tuned to match the first and second emission layers with the anti-nodes of a metal-metal cavity defined by the metal anode and metal cathode.
Regarding claim 50, Forrest as modified by Wang discloses (in at least fig. 5 Forrest; figs. 11 and 12 Wang) the emissive layer is positioned to span an antinode of the cavity.
Regarding claim 61, Forrest discloses (in at least fig. 5) the electron transport layer (502) has a large oscillator strength at wavelengths 0.1 nm to 1000 nm shorter than a triplet emission wavelength of the organic emissive layer (this limitation does not structurally distinguish from the art as is required from an apparatus claim. Therefore, the limitation does not afford any patentable weight).
Regarding claim 75, Forrest as modified by Wang discloses (in at least fig. 5 Forrest; figs. 11 and 12 Wang) the thickness of the charge generation layer is tuned to match the first and second emission layers with the anti-nodes of a metal-metal cavity defined by the first and second electrodes.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875