DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 1/16/2024. Claims 1-19 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) file on 1/16/2024 has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11,15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salter et al, (Salter), (USPATNO.12123384)
As for claim 1, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a vehicle with an electric connector, comprising: a car body; wheels rotatably supported by the car body (via hybrid electric vehicle); a traveling battery supplying travel drive power; a seat; and a dashboard including a dashboard body located in front of the seat and a charging electric connector (via power connection) supported by the dashboard body to receive electric power for the traveling battery (col.2, lines 55-col3, line 49).
As for claim 2, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the charging electric connector has a downward posture with respect to a horizontal direction.
As for claim 3, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 charging electric connector has a posture inclined with respect to a perpendicular direction.
As for claim 4, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 an extension of an axis line of the charging electric connector intersects with a
floor of the car body.
As for claim 5, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the dashboard body includes a first region and a second region,an outward surface of the first region is directed downward with respect to rearward along a horizontal direction, the second region is continuous on an upper side of the first region via an edge, and the charging electric connector is supported at a position of having contact with
the edge in the first region.
As for claim 6, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a steering control steering the wheels; and a steering column supporting the steering control at a position on one side in a vehicle-width direction, wherein the charging electric connector is located closer to the one side in the vehicle- width direction in relation to the steering column.
As for claim 7, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a drive operation pedal located on one side in a vehicle-width direction, wherein the charging electric connector is located closer to the one side in the vehicle-width direction in relation to the drive operation pedal
As for claim 8, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a steering control steering the wheels, wherein the steering control is located to one of both sides in a vehicle-width direction, and a dashboard further includes: a driver seat-side external apparatus electric connector supported by the dashboard body on a side closer to the steering control in relation to a middle in the vehicle-width direction; and a passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector supported by the dashboard body on a side opposite to the steering control in relation to the middle in the vehicle-width direction.
As for claim 9, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1
the driver seat-side external apparatus electric connector is located on an outer
side of the steering control in the vehicle-width direction.
As for claim 10, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1he dashboard body includes a passenger seat-side storage located on a side opposite to the steering control in the vehicle-width direction, and a connection port of the passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector is located in the passenger seat-side storage.
As for claim 11, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a connection port of the passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector
is located closer to a back side in relation to a middle of the passenger seat-side storage in a depth direction.
As for claim 15, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1an external apparatus electric connector supported in a downward posture with respect to a horizontal direction
As for claim 16, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a vehicle, comprising: a car body; wheels rotatably supported by the car body; a steering control steering the wheels; a seat located in rear of the control (via hybrid electric vehicle); and an external apparatus electric connector including a connection port (via power connection), wherein an extension part extending to a side of an opening of the connection port in a plan view is located on an upper side of the connection port (col.2, lines 55-col3, line 49).
As for claim 17, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 the external apparatus electric connector includes a housing enclosing the connection port, the external apparatus electric connector has a downward posture with respect to a horizontal direction, and a portion of the housing located on an upper side of the connection port is the extension part.
As for claim 18, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a storage forming a space housing an object, wherein the external apparatus electric connector is located in the storage, and at least a part of a ceiling part of the storage is the extension part.
As for claim 19, Salter discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a vehicle, comprising: a car body; wheels rotatably supported by the car body; a steering control located to one of both sides in a vehicle-width direction to steer the wheels; a seat located in rear of the control (via hybrid electric vehicle); and a dashboard including a dashboard body located in front of the seat, a driver seat- side external apparatus electric connector (via power connection)supported by the dashboard body on a side closer to the steering control in relation to a middle in the vehicle-width direction, and a passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector supported by the dashboard body on a side opposite to the steering control in relation to the middle in the vehicle-width direction (col.2, lines 55-col3, line 49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al, (Salter), (USPATNO.12123384) in view of Lupton, III et al, (Lupton), (USNO.2011/0272959)
As for claim 12, Salter discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a dashboard includes a middle external apparatus electric connector supported by the dashboard body between the driver seat-side external apparatus electric connector and the passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector in the vehicle-width direction, the dashboard body includes a middle storage located in a middle in the vehicle- width direction, and a connection port of the middle external apparatus electric connector is located in the middle storage, and is located closer to a rear side in relation to a connection port of the driver seat-side external apparatus electric connector or the passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector in a frontward and rearward direction.
Lupton discloses and shows in Figs. 1-2 a dashboard includes a middle external apparatus electric connector supported by the dashboard body between the driver seat-side external apparatus electric connector and the passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector in the vehicle-width direction, the dashboard body includes a middle storage (ref’s storage assembly) located in a middle in the vehicle- width direction, and a connection port of the middle external apparatus electric connector is located in the middle storage, and is located closer to a rear side in relation to a connection port of the driver seat-side external apparatus electric connector or the passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector in a frontward and rearward direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Salter by using a dashboard includes a middle external apparatus electric connector supported by the dashboard body between the driver seat-side external apparatus electric connector and the passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector in the vehicle-width direction, the dashboard body includes a middle storage located in a middle in the vehicle- width direction, and a connection port of the middle external apparatus electric connector is located in the middle storage, and is located closer to a rear side in relation to a connection port of the driver seat-side external apparatus electric connector or the passenger seat-side external apparatus electric connector in a frontward and rearward direction for advantages such as providing the ability to improve storage accessibility (par.[0007]), as taught by Lupton.
As for claim 13, Salter in combinaton with Lupton discloses and shows in Fig. 1-2 the dashboard further includes an information apparatus located in a middle of the dashboard body in the vehicle-width direction, and the middle external apparatus electric connector is communicably connected to the information apparatus.
As for claim 14, Salter in combinaton with Lupton discloses and shows in Fig. 1-2 the seat includes a seat part, a seat base supporting the seat part, and a rear side
external apparatus electric connector supported in a rearward portion of the seat base.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859