DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: PL1. The drawing amendments of 07/27/26 did not appear to address this. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Examiner’s Note - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 qualify as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C.
Under step 2A, prong one, the claim 1 limitation of “a processing device that performs estimation processing for estimating a current value of the power storage device,” arguably recites an abstract mathematical concept. Page 15, lines 7-9 of the applicant’s original specification states, “Estimation of the battery current value corresponds to calculation of the estimated value of current IB.” This demonstrates that the estimation is defined by specific mathematical calculations.
However, under step 2A, prong two, claim 1 also discloses the following limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
An estimation system comprising:
a power storage device
a first three-phase inverter connected to the power storage device, the first three-phase inverter including a first leg circuit, a second leg circuit, and a third leg circuit
a first three-phase AC motor connected to the first three-phase inverter,
each of the first leg circuit, the second leg circuit, and the third leg circuit including an upper arm circuit and a lower arm circuit that is turned on and off in a manner complementary to the upper arm circuit
a mode of the first three-phase inverter including a first mode in which the upper arm circuit of the first leg circuit, the lower arm circuit of the second leg circuit, and the lower arm circuit of the third leg circuit are on and a second mode in which the lower arm circuit of the first leg circuit, the upper arm circuit of the second leg circuit, and the upper arm circuit of the third leg circuit are on
a first current sensor that detects an AC current that flows between a first-phase coil of the first three-phase AC motor and the first leg circuit, the first current sensor being between the first-phase coil of the first three-phase AC motor and the first leg circuit
These limitations, when considered as a whole, are indicative of integration into a practical application because they apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (see MPEP 2106.05(b)). Here, the particular machine is the combination of a power storage device (i.e. a battery), a three-phase inverter, and a three-phase AC motor, with specific circuitry details given. The “structure” in these limitations is not generic; rather it is specifically detailed in such a manner that the structure serves as part of the “solution” of the invention. In addition, the applicant’s 07/27/26 claim amendments have specified the location of a first current sensor, which appears to structurally define the particular machine.
Claims 1-8 are therefore not directed to a judicial exception. They qualify as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al (JP2009240147A) in view of Kitano (CN103650332A).
With respect to claim 1, Goto et al discloses:
An estimation system (figure 1)
a power storage device (figures 1 and 8, reference 1)
a first three-phase inverter connected to the power storage device, the first three-phase inverter including a first leg circuit, a second leg circuit, and a third leg circuit (figures 1 and 8, reference 10; references U+X are broadly interpreted to serve as first leg circuit; references V+Y are broadly interpreted to serve as second leg circuit; references W+Z are broadly interpreted to serve as third leg circuit)
a first three-phase AC motor connected to the first three-phase inverter (figures 1 and 8, reference 11; paragraph 0003 discloses, “a sinusoidal AC current is output to the stator winding 4 that constitutes motor 11.”)
each of the first leg circuit, the second leg circuit, and the third leg circuit including an upper arm circuit and a lower arm circuit that is turned on and off in a manner complementary to the upper arm circuit (Paragraph 0003 states, “Regarding switching element 2, the upper arm switching elements are defined as U, V, and W, and the lower arm switching elements are defined as X, Y, and Z.”; figure 10A and paragraphs 0005-0007 describe turning arm switching elements ON and OFF.)
With respect to claim 1, Goto et al differs from the claimed invention in that is does not explicitly disclose:
a mode of the first three-phase inverter including a first mode in which the upper arm circuit of the first leg circuit, the lower arm circuit of the second leg circuit, and the lower arm circuit of the third leg circuit are on and a second mode in which the lower arm circuit of the first leg circuit, the upper arm circuit of the second leg circuit, and the upper arm circuit of the third leg circuit are on
a first current sensor that detects an AC current that flows between a first-phase coil of the first three-phase AC motor and the first leg circuit, the first current sensor being between the first-phase coil of the first three-phase AC motor and the first leg circuit; and
a processing device that performs estimation processing for estimating a current value of the power storage device, wherein
the estimation processing includes first processing for estimating the current value in accordance with a detection value from the first current sensor when the mode of the first three-phase inverter is set to the first mode or the second mode
With respect to claim 1, the following limitation(s) is/are obvious in view of the total teachings of Goto et al:
a mode of the first three-phase inverter including a first mode in which the upper arm circuit of the first leg circuit, the lower arm circuit of the second leg circuit, and the lower arm circuit of the third leg circuit are on and a second mode in which the lower arm circuit of the first leg circuit, the upper arm circuit of the second leg circuit, and the upper arm circuit of the third leg circuit are on (obvious in view of 0006, which states, “When there are no phases to turn ON in the upper arm switching element, no current flows (de-energized, downward circulation). When only one phase is ON, the current of that phase flows (energized). When two phases are ON, the current of the remaining phase flows (energized). When all three phases are ON, no current flows (de-energized, upward circulation …” Although Goto et al may not disclose the exact claimed configuration, Goto et al suggests a wide variety of different modes, comprising different combinations of ON/OFF phases, for different situations, which encompass the claimed situation.)
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of total teachings of Goto et al. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of increased operational versatility through switching between different modes.
With respect to claim 1, Kitano discloses:
a first current sensor that detects an AC current that flows between a first-phase coil of the first three-phase AC motor and the first leg circuit, the first current sensor being between the first-phase coil of the first three-phase AC motor and the first leg circuit (figure 1, reference 190 shows current sensor; abstract; paragraphs 0062 and 0077)
a processing device that performs estimation processing for estimating a current value of the power storage device (obvious in view of combination; As seen above, Kitano teaches sensing current with current sensor in the claimed position. Paragraphs 0002, 0009, and 0028 of Goto et al also discloses current calculation.)
the estimation processing includes first processing for estimating the current value in accordance with a detection value from the first current sensor when the mode of the first three-phase inverter is set to the first mode or the second mode (obvious in view of combination; Goto et al discloses various modes; Kitano teaches current sensor in the claimed positions.)
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kitano et al into the invention of Goto et al. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of detecting and calculating the values of electrical currents flowing in the electric motor for different phases.
With respect to claim 2, Goto et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein the first processing includes processing for estimating the current value in accordance with a peak value of the detection value from the first current sensor (obvious in view of combination; paragraph 0029 of Goto et al states, “any sensor capable of detecting instantaneous peak current … would suffice.”)
With respect to claim 3, Goto et al, as modified, discloses:
further comprising a second current sensor that detects an AC current that flows between a second-phase coil of the first three-phase AC motor and the second leg circuit (obvious in view of combination; current sensors 190 of Kitano each correspond to a leg circuit)
the mode of the first three-phase inverter includes a third mode in which the lower arm circuit of the first leg circuit, the upper arm circuit of the second leg circuit, and the lower arm circuit of the third leg circuit are on and a fourth mode in which the upper arm circuit of the first leg circuit, the lower arm circuit of the second leg circuit, and the upper arm circuit of the third leg circuit are on (obvious in view of combination; As discussed above, Goto et al discloses various on/off combinations for the various circuits. The claimed combination would be obvious amongst the different permissible combinations.)
the estimation processing further includes second processing for estimating the current value in accordance with a detection value from the second current sensor when the mode of the first three-phase inverter is set to the third mode or the fourth mode (obvious in view of combination; As discussed above, Goto et al discloses current calculation/processing, and Kitano et al discloses current sensors.)
With respect to claim 4, Goto et al, as modified, discloses:
wherein the second processing includes processing for estimating the current value in accordance with a peak value of the detection value from the second current sensor after the first current sensor detects the peak value (obvious in view of combination; paragraph 0029 of Goto et al discloses detecting peak current)
With respect to claim 5, Goto et al, as modified, discloses:
further comprising at least one electrical apparatus each configured to be activated by receiving electric power from the power storage device (figures 1 and 8 of Goto et al; Here, the “electrical apparatus” is not defined, but any of the circuits of the inverter can be broadly construed to serve as the claimed electrical apparatus.)
the processing device performs the first processing while the at least one electrical apparatus is inactive (Goto paragraph 0006 discloses various circumstances, including when at least one of the switching circuits is off. This implies at least one of the electrical apparatus being inactive. Processing during various modes (both when modes of individual circuits are ON or OFF) would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.)
With respect to claim 8, Goto et al, as modified, discloses:
further comprising a current detector that detects the current value of the power storage device (Goto et al paragraph 0001 states, “The present invention relates to an inverter device that detects phase current using a current sensor provided between it and a DC power supply.”)
the processing device is configured to further perform failure diagnosis processing for diagnosing whether the current detector has failed based on comparison between the detection value from the first current sensor and a detection value from the current detector (obvious in view of combination; Modified Goto et al detects current from both the battery (as taught by Goto above) and from the leg circuits of the inverter (as taught by Kitano above). Comparing these values to perform some level of failure diagnosis is within the skill and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Please note that Kitano also discloses consideration of failure (paragraphs 0011-0012, 0018-0022, 0027).)
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al (JP2009240147A) in view of Kitano (CN103650332A), as applied to claims 1-5 and 8 above, and further in view of Tanaka (WO2021019608A1).
With respect to claim 6, Goto et al, as modified, discloses:
The estimation system of claim 5 (as applied to claim 5 above)
With respect to claim 6, Goto et al, as modified, differs from the claimed invention in that is does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least one electrical apparatus includes
auxiliary machinery configured to be activated at an output voltage from the power storage device
a power converter configured to lower the output voltage
and a second three-phase inverter connected in parallel to the first three-phase inverter with respect to the power storage device
With respect to claim 6, Tanaka discloses:
wherein the at least one electrical apparatus includes
auxiliary machinery configured to be activated at an output voltage from the power storage device (paragraph 0076 states, “in order to transfer power from batteries 1 and 2 to the low-voltage auxiliary battery, the EV requires two isolated step-down DC-DC converters.”)
a power converter configured to lower the output voltage (paragraph 0076 states, “in order to transfer power from batteries 1 and 2 to the low-voltage auxiliary battery, the EV requires two isolated step-down DC-DC converters.”)
and a second three-phase inverter connected in parallel to the first three-phase inverter with respect to the power storage device (figure 1 shows dual inverter structure 200, with parallel three-phase inverters 30 and 40)
With respect to claim 6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka into the invention of modified Goto et al. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of circuit simplification and power consumption reduction.
With respect to claim 7, Goto et al, as modified, discloses:
The estimation system according to claim 1 (as applied to claim 1 above)
With respect to claim 7, Goto et al, as modified, differs from the claimed invention in that is does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising a boost chopper circuit connected between the power storage device and the first three-phase inverter, wherein
the boost chopper circuit includes an upper arm circuit and a lower arm circuit, and
the processing device performs the first processing while a conducting state of the upper arm circuit of the boost chopper circuit and a non-conducting state of the lower arm circuit of the boost chopper circuit are maintained and a load of the first three-phase AC motor is constant
With respect to claim 7, Tanaka discloses:
further comprising a boost chopper circuit connected between the power storage device and the first three-phase inverter (obvious in view of combination; see “boost chopper” teachings of Tanaka paragraphs 0009, 0015, 0038-0040, 0044, 0056, 0071)
the boost chopper circuit includes an upper arm circuit and a lower arm circuit (see boost chopper teachings of Tanaka)
the processing device performs the first processing while a conducting state of the upper arm circuit of the boost chopper circuit and a non-conducting state of the lower arm circuit of the boost chopper circuit are maintained and a load of the first three-phase AC motor is constant (obvious in view of combination; Modified Goto et al teaches processing, and Tanaka teaches boost chopper.)
With respect to claim 7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka into the invention of modified Goto et al. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of improved voltage control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hara et al (DE112020003534T5) discloses an engine control device, integrated electromechanical unit and electric vehicle system.
Yamashita (JPH09233709A) discloses a charger for electric car.
Omata et al (US PgPub 20170131379) discloses a diagnostic device for voltage sensors.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEONARD S LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2857 10/03/26