DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/16/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Demir et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0031067).
As per claim 1, Demir et al. teach Network equipment [Demir, fig. 8], comprising: a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations [Demir, ¶ 0004, “In the O-RAN split option 7-2x, the physical (PHY) layer functions are distributed between the RU and DU, i.e., an O-RU based on the split option 7-2x architecture can perform the low PHY functionalities (e.g., FFT/IFFT and beamforming), and O-DUs perform the high PHY functionalities (e.g., channel estimation, equalization, demodulation, etc.). The O-RU is connected to the O-DU via the fronthaul (FH) interface”, The O-RU (see element 10) of Fig. 8 is considered to be network equipment. An O-RU is readily understood in the art as containing a processor and a memory, as the lower layer operations performed by the O-RU require this structure to operate.], the operations comprising:
obtaining received symbol data based on a communication with a user equipment [Demir, ¶ 0073, “block 102, for handling cyclic prefix (CP) removal and FFT”, Fig. 8 shows that the O-RU (see element 10) contains block 102. Block 102 receives a down converted, digital signal from O-RU (block 101). Block 102 removes the CP and performs FFT to produce received symbol data from a UL communication with the UE (see first sentence, ¶ 0073).];
extracting demodulation reference signal data representative of a demodulation reference signal from the received symbol data [Demir, ¶ 0074, “In the third step (identified by two instances of circled number 3) following the second step, the following are performed: a) block 110 transmits “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” to block 104; and b) block 305 transmits (as part of UL data processing signal flow) “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements” (e.g., RRM measurements) to block 104”, DMRS symbols are extracted from the output of block 102 by blocks 305 and 110 of the O-RU (see circled number 3).];
communicating the demodulation reference signal data to a distributed unit [Demir, ¶ 0074, “In the third step (identified by two instances of circled number 3) following the second step, the following are performed: a) block 110 transmits “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” to block 104; and b) block 305 transmits (as part of UL data processing signal flow) “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements” (e.g., RRM measurements) to block 104”, DMRS symbols are forwarded to block 104 of the O-DU (see circled number 3). Paragraph [0075] further discuses extraction of DMRS at the O-RU and using the O-DU for processing.];
obtaining, in response to the communicating of the demodulation reference signal data, beamforming weight data representative of beamforming coefficients [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). In other words, beamforming weights are calculated at the O-DU based on DMRS channel estimates obtained by the O-RU (see also ¶s 0017 and 0018).];
determining, based on the beamforming weight data, receive beamform data from the received symbol data [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). Block 105 further for handling combining/digital beamforming matrix application (see also ¶ 0073). The beamform data produced by block 105 is then passed for channel equalization (see block 307) followed by demodulation (see block 308).]; and
communicating the receive beamform data to the distributed unit [Demir, ¶ 0073, “the signal flow for UL data processing (involving blocks 101, 102, 305-308, and 104-109) is shown by solid lines”, Block 308 performs demodulation of the UL data. Block 308 then outputs the UL data to the UL MIMO receiver of the O-DU (see block 107).].
As per claim 2, Demir et al. teach the network equipment of claim 1. Demir et al. also teach wherein the beamforming weight data is for a current slot [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). In other words, beamforming weights are calculated at the O-DU based on DMRS channel estimates obtained by the O-RU (see also ¶s 0017 and 0018).], and wherein the determining of the receive beamform data comprises beamforming the received symbol data based on the beamforming weight data for the communication with the user equipment [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). Block 105 further for handling combining/digital beamforming matrix application (see also ¶ 0073). The beamform data produced by block 105 is then passed for channel equalization (see block 307) followed by demodulation (see block 308). The beamforming weights are derived from a prior (see slot n-M) slot for processing current slot (see UL slot n).].
As per claim 3, Demir et al. teach the network equipment of claim 1. Demir et al. also teach wherein the received symbol data comprises first received symbol data based on a first communication with the user equipment [Demir, ¶ 0073, “block 102, for handling cyclic prefix (CP) removal and FFT”, Fig. 8 shows that the O-RU (see element 10) contains block 102. Block 102 receives a down converted, digital signal from O-RU (block 101). Block 102 removes the CP and performs FFT to produce received symbol data from a UL communication with the UE (see first sentence, ¶ 0073).], wherein the beamforming weight data is for a future slot [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). In other words, beamforming weights are calculated at the O-DU based on DMRS channel estimates obtained by the O-RU (see also ¶s 0017 and 0018). Based on the flow of fig. 8, the dash (and dot-and-dash) lines are for slot n-M, whereas the solid line is for current slot-based UL processing. In other words, the beamforming weight data comes from a current slot (n-M) and is used for a future slot (n).], wherein the operations further comprise obtaining second received symbol data based on a second communication with the user equipment [Demir, ¶ 0073, “block 102, for handling cyclic prefix (CP) removal and FFT”, Fig. 8 shows that the O-RU (see element 10) contains block 102. Block 102 receives a down converted, digital signal from O-RU (block 101). Block 102 removes the CP and performs FFT to produce received symbol data from a UL communication with the UE (see first sentence, ¶ 0073).], and beamforming the second received symbol data based on the beamforming weight data [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). Block 105 further for handling combining/digital beamforming matrix application (see also ¶ 0073). The beamform data produced by block 105 is then passed for channel equalization (see block 307) followed by demodulation (see block 308).], and wherein the communicating of the receive beamform data to the distributed unit comprises communicating the second receive beamform data to the distributed unit [Demir, ¶ 0073, “the signal flow for UL data processing (involving blocks 101, 102, 305-308, and 104-109) is shown by solid lines”, Block 308 performs demodulation of the UL data. Block 308 then outputs the UL data to the UL MIMO receiver of the O-DU (see block 107).].
As per claim 4, Demir et al. teach the network equipment of claim 1. Demir et al. also teach wherein the obtaining of the received symbol data is performed by a radio unit of the network equipment [Demir, ¶ 0004, “In the O-RAN split option 7-2x, the physical (PHY) layer functions are distributed between the RU and DU, i.e., an O-RU based on the split option 7-2x architecture can perform the low PHY functionalities (e.g., FFT/IFFT and beamforming), and O-DUs perform the high PHY functionalities (e.g., channel estimation, equalization, demodulation, etc.). The O-RU is connected to the O-DU via the fronthaul (FH) interface”, The O-RU (see element 10) of Fig. 8 is considered to be network equipment.], and wherein the radio unit applies at least a fast Fourier transform function that outputs the received symbol data [Demir, ¶ 0073, “block 102, for handling cyclic prefix (CP) removal and FFT”, Fig. 8 shows that the O-RU (see element 10) contains block 102. Block 102 receives a down converted, digital signal from O-RU (block 101). Block 102 removes the CP and performs FFT to produce received symbol data from a UL communication with the UE (see first sentence, ¶ 0073).] for the extracting of the demodulation reference signal data [Demir, Block 102 is performed before block 305. In other words, the output of 102 is used for DM-RS extraction in block 305.], and for the determining of the receive beamform data [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). Block 105 further for handling combining/digital beamforming matrix application (see also ¶ 0073). The beamform data produced by block 105 is then passed for channel equalization (see block 307) followed by demodulation (see block 308).].
As per claim 8, Demir et al. teach the network equipment of claim 1. Demir et al. also teach wherein the communicating of the receive beamform data to the distributed unit comprises sending one or more spatial streams as beam candidate data to the distributed unit [Demir, ¶ 0073, “the signal flow for UL data processing (involving blocks 101, 102, 305-308, and 104-109) is shown by solid lines”, Block 308 performs demodulation of the UL data. Block 308 then outputs the UL data to the UL MIMO receiver of the O-DU (see block 107). Block 107 performs MIMO receiver functionality, which means it handles spatial streams.].
As per claim 9, Demir et al. teach the network equipment of claim 1. Demir et al. also teach wherein the beamforming weight data comprises predicted beamforming weight data for the second communication with the user equipment [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). In other words, beamforming weights are calculated at the O-DU based on DMRS channel estimates obtained by the O-RU (see also ¶s 0017 and 0018). Based on the flow of fig. 8, the dash (and dot-and-dash) lines are for slot n-M, whereas the solid line is for current slot-based UL processing. In other words, the beamforming weight data comes from a current slot (n-M) and is used for a future slot (n).].
As per claim 11, Demir et al. teach a method, comprising:
obtaining, by a distributed unit comprising at least one processor, demodulation reference signal data from a radio unit [Demir, ¶ 0074, “In the third step (identified by two instances of circled number 3) following the second step, the following are performed: a) block 110 transmits “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” to block 104; and b) block 305 transmits (as part of UL data processing signal flow) “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements” (e.g., RRM measurements) to block 104”, DMRS symbols are forwarded to block 104 of the O-DU (see circled number 3). Paragraph [0075] further discuses extraction of DMRS at the O-RU and using the O-DU for processing.];
determining, by the distributed unit based on the demodulation reference signal data, beamforming weight data [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). In other words, beamforming weights are calculated at the O-DU based on DMRS channel estimates obtained by the O-RU (see also ¶s 0017 and 0018).];
communicating, by the distributed unit, the beamforming weight data to the radio unit [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). In other words, beamforming weights are calculated at the O-DU based on DMRS channel estimates obtained by the O-RU (see also ¶s 0017 and 0018).]; and
obtaining, by the distributed unit from the radio unit in response to the communicating of the beamforming weight data, beamformed spatial stream data [Demir, ¶ 0073, “the signal flow for UL data processing (involving blocks 101, 102, 305-308, and 104-109) is shown by solid lines”, Block 308 performs demodulation of the UL data. Block 308 then outputs the UL data to the UL MIMO receiver of the O-DU (see block 107).].
As per claim 12, Demir et al. teach the method of claim 11. Demir et al. also teach wherein the communicating of the beamforming weight data to the radio unit comprises communicating beamforming coefficients to the radio unit [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). In other words, beamforming weights are calculated at the O-DU based on DMRS channel estimates obtained by the O-RU (see also ¶s 0017 and 0018).].
As per claim 13, Demir et al. teach the method of claim 11. Demir et al. also teach wherein the communicating of the beamforming weight data to the radio unit is for a current slot [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). Block 105 further for handling combining/digital beamforming matrix application (see also ¶ 0073). The beamform data produced by block 105 is then passed for channel equalization (see block 307) followed by demodulation (see block 308). The beamforming weights are derived from a prior (see slot n-M) slot for processing current slot (see UL slot n).], and wherein the beamformed spatial stream data corresponds to the current slot [Demir, ¶ 0073, “the signal flow for UL data processing (involving blocks 101, 102, 305-308, and 104-109) is shown by solid lines”, Block 308 performs demodulation of the UL data. Block 308 then outputs the UL data to the UL MIMO receiver of the O-DU (see block 107). Block 107 performs MIMO receiver functionality, which means it handles spatial streams.].
As per claim 14, Demir et al. teach the method of claim 11. Demir et al. also teach wherein the communicating of the beamforming weight data to the radio unit is for a future slot [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). Block 105 further for handling combining/digital beamforming matrix application (see also ¶ 0073). The beamform data produced by block 105 is then passed for channel equalization (see block 307) followed by demodulation (see block 308). The beamforming weights are derived from a prior (see slot n-M) slot for processing current slot (see UL slot n). Weights are not adjusted every slot, as SRS typically sent at intervals (whether periodic or aperiodic).], and wherein the beamformed spatial stream data corresponds to the future slot [Demir, ¶ 0073, “the signal flow for UL data processing (involving blocks 101, 102, 305-308, and 104-109) is shown by solid lines”, Block 308 performs demodulation of the UL data. Block 308 then outputs the UL data to the UL MIMO receiver of the O-DU (see block 107). Block 107 performs MIMO receiver functionality, which means it handles spatial streams.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demir et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0031067) in view of Abdoli et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0155864).
As per claim 5, Demir et al. teach the network equipment of claim 1. Demir et al. also teach wherein the beamforming weight data comprises first beamforming weight data [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). In other words, beamforming weights are calculated at the O-DU based on DMRS channel estimates obtained by the O-RU (see also ¶s 0017 and 0018).], and wherein the operations further comprise extracting sounding refence signal data from the received symbol data [Demir, ¶ 0073, “block 103, for handling SRS over all antennas”, The O-RU calculates SRS over all antennas.], communicating the sounding refence signal data to the distributed unit [Demir, fig. 8, “SRS” dashed line, The SRS is communicated from block 103 of the O-RU to block 104 of the O-DU.].
Demir et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise obtaining, in response to the communicating of the sounding refence signal data, second beamforming weight data based on the sounding refence signal data, and using the first beamforming weight data in conjunction with the second beamforming weight data as the beamforming weight data for the second communication with the user equipment.
However, in an analogous art, Abdoli et al. teach obtaining, in response to the communicating of the sounding refence signal data, second beamforming weight data based on the sounding refence signal data [Abdoli, fig. 5H, “Combining Digital Beamforming matrix enhancement information”, SRS is used at the O-DU to produce combined digital beamforming matrix enhancement information (see ¶s 0173 and 0176), which is combined at the O-RU, with DMRS beamforming matrix information (see fig. 5H), before the O-RU takes both SRS based on DMRS based information to implement the combining digital beamforming matrix application (see fig. 5H).], and using the first beamforming weight data in conjunction with the second beamforming weight data as the beamforming weight data for the second communication with the user equipment [Abdoli, fig. 5H, combining digital beamforming matrix application of the figure uses the SRS based and DMRS based input from the O-DU to perform its functionality. This functionality was further detailed in Demir.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the additional beamforming matrix calculation input as taught by Abdoli et al. into Demir et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting additional context from SRS (in addition to DMRS) into beamforming weights would increase MIMO reception reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 6, Demir et al. in view of Abdoli et al. teach the network equipment of claim 5. Demir et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the second beamforming weight data is determined by the distributed unit.
However, in an analogous art, Abdoli et al. teach wherein the second beamforming weight data is determined by the distributed unit [Abdoli, fig. 5H, “Combining Digital Beamforming matrix enhancement information”, SRS is used at the O-DU to produce combined digital beamforming matrix enhancement information (see ¶s 0173 and 0176), which is combined at the O-RU, with DMRS beamforming matrix information (see fig. 5H), before the O-RU takes both SRS based on DMRS based information to implement the combining digital beamforming matrix application (see fig. 5H).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the additional beamforming matrix calculation input as taught by Abdoli et al. into Demir et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting additional context from SRS (in addition to DMRS) into beamforming weights would increase MIMO reception reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, Demir et al. in view of Abdoli et al. teach the network equipment of claim 5. Demir et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the obtaining of the second beamforming weight data comprises obtaining channel information from the distributed unit, and processing the channel information into the second beamforming weight data.
However, in an analogous art, Abdoli et al. teach wherein the obtaining of the second beamforming weight data comprises obtaining channel information from the distributed unit [Abdoli, fig. 5H, “Combining Digital Beamforming matrix enhancement information”, SRS is used at the O-DU to produce combined digital beamforming matrix enhancement information (see ¶s 0173 and 0176), which is combined at the O-RU, with DMRS beamforming matrix information (see fig. 5H), before the O-RU takes both SRS based on DMRS based information to implement the combining digital beamforming matrix application (see fig. 5H).], and processing the channel information into the second beamforming weight data [Abdoli, fig. 5H, combining digital beamforming matrix application of the figure uses the SRS based and DMRS based input from the O-DU to perform its functionality. This functionality was further detailed in Demir.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the additional beamforming matrix calculation input as taught by Abdoli et al. into Demir et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting additional context from SRS (in addition to DMRS) into beamforming weights would increase MIMO reception reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 15, Demir et al. teach the method of claim 11. Demir et al. do not explicitly teach further comprising obtaining, by the distributed unit from the radio unit, sounding reference signal data, and communicating, by the distributed unit to the radio unit based on the sounding reference signal data, at least one of: channel information, sounding reference signal data-based beamforming weight data, demodulation reference signal data combined with sounding reference signal data-based beamforming weight data, or predicted beamforming weight data.
However, in an analogous art, Abdoli et al. teach further comprising obtaining, by the distributed unit from the radio unit, sounding reference signal data [Abdoli, fig. 5H, “Combining Digital Beamforming matrix enhancement information”, SRS is used at the O-DU to produce combined digital beamforming matrix enhancement information (see ¶s 0173 and 0176), which is combined at the O-RU, with DMRS beamforming matrix information (see fig. 5H), before the O-RU takes both SRS based on DMRS based information to implement the combining digital beamforming matrix application (see fig. 5H).], and communicating, by the distributed unit to the radio unit based on the sounding reference signal data, at least one of: channel information, sounding reference signal data-based beamforming weight data [Abdoli, fig. 5H, combining digital beamforming matrix application of the figure uses the SRS based and DMRS based input from the O-DU to perform its functionality. This functionality was further detailed in Demir.], demodulation reference signal data combined with sounding reference signal data-based beamforming weight data, or predicted beamforming weight data.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the additional beamforming matrix calculation input as taught by Abdoli et al. into Demir et al. One would have been motivated to do this because adopting additional context from SRS (in addition to DMRS) into beamforming weights would increase MIMO reception reliability with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demir et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0031067) in view of Akoun et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0344680).
As per claim 17, Demir et al. teach the method of claim 11. Demir et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the beamformed spatial stream data comprises a group of beamformed spatial stream data candidates, and further comprising combining, by the distributed unit, the spatial stream data candidates into the spatial stream data to determine a spatial stream that is more optimal relative to the spatial stream data candidates according to a defined criterion.
However, in an analogous art, Akoun et al. teach wherein the beamformed spatial stream data comprises a group of beamformed spatial stream data candidates, and further comprising combining, by the distributed unit, the spatial stream data candidates into the spatial stream data to determine a spatial stream that is more optimal relative to the spatial stream data candidates according to a defined criterion [Akoun, ¶ 0057, “FIG. 2C depicts a block diagram of an exemplary, non-limiting embodiment of a fronthaul split configuration 220 capable of judicially using the SRS and DMRS estimates that are transferred between the RU and the DU, depending on the user information and conditions, to optimize the use of the fronthaul in accordance with various aspects described herein. In various embodiments, DMRS and SRS channel estimates may be exchanged between a DU and an RU to facilitate generation of optimal or improved (or “good”) beams. In this way, DU 166a can leverage DMRS information 221 (which can include DMRS resource elements and/or DMRS channel estimates) to optimize or improve its SRS-based beam generation, and RU 168a can similarly leverage SRS information 222 (e.g., SRS channel estimates) to optimize or improve its DMRS-based beam generation”, Fig 2C shows an O-RU and O-DU fronthaul split. The split shown allows for optimal beams to be chosen for beam generation (see ¶s 0017, 0018, and 0048).].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the beam selection functionality on a resource element basis of Akoun et al. into Demir et al. One would have been motivated to do this because beam weight calculations and beam selection algorithms are commonly used techniques within MIMO and would improve communications with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 18, Demir et al. teach a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of network equipment, facilitate performance of operations [Demir, ¶ 0004, “In the O-RAN split option 7-2x, the physical (PHY) layer functions are distributed between the RU and DU, i.e., an O-RU based on the split option 7-2x architecture can perform the low PHY functionalities (e.g., FFT/IFFT and beamforming), and O-DUs perform the high PHY functionalities (e.g., channel estimation, equalization, demodulation, etc.). The O-RU is connected to the O-DU via the fronthaul (FH) interface”, The O-RU (see element 10) of Fig. 8 is considered to be network equipment. An O-RU is readily understood in the art as containing a processor and a memory containing instructions, as the lower layer operations performed by the O-RU require this structure to operate.], the operations comprising:
extracting demodulation reference signal data…based on a received user equipment communication [Demir, ¶ 0074, “In the third step (identified by two instances of circled number 3) following the second step, the following are performed: a) block 110 transmits “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” to block 104; and b) block 305 transmits (as part of UL data processing signal flow) “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements” (e.g., RRM measurements) to block 104”, DMRS symbols are extracted from the output of block 102 by blocks 305 and 110 of the O-RU (see circled number 3).];
communicating the demodulation reference signal data…to a distributed unit [Demir, ¶ 0074, “In the third step (identified by two instances of circled number 3) following the second step, the following are performed: a) block 110 transmits “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” to block 104; and b) block 305 transmits (as part of UL data processing signal flow) “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements” (e.g., RRM measurements) to block 104”, DMRS symbols are forwarded to block 104 of the O-DU (see circled number 3). Paragraph [0075] further discuses extraction of DMRS at the O-RU and using the O-DU for processing.], wherein none or part of the demodulation reference signal data or the resource element data are beamformed prior to the communicating [Demir, fig. 8, The communicating of the DMRS in block 305 occurs before the beamforming in block 105.];
obtaining, in response to the communicating of the demodulation reference signal data, beamforming weight data based on at least one of: channel estimation data, or beamforming coefficient data [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). In other words, beamforming weights are calculated at the O-DU based on DMRS channel estimates obtained by the O-RU (see also ¶s 0017 and 0018).];
beamforming spatial stream data based on the beamforming weight data [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). Block 105 further for handling combining/digital beamforming matrix application (see also ¶ 0073). The beamform data produced by block 105 is then passed for channel equalization (see block 307) followed by demodulation (see block 308).]; and
communicating the spatial stream data to the distributed unit [Demir, ¶ 0073, “the signal flow for UL data processing (involving blocks 101, 102, 305-308, and 104-109) is shown by solid lines”, Block 308 performs demodulation of the UL data. Block 308 then outputs the UL data to the UL MIMO receiver of the O-DU (see block 107).].
Demir et al. do not explicitly teach extracting…resource element data based on a received user equipment communication…communicating…the resource element data to a distributed unit.
However, in an analogous art, Akoun et al. teach extracting…resource element data based on a received user equipment communication [Akoun, ¶ 0057, “FIG. 2C depicts a block diagram of an exemplary, non-limiting embodiment of a fronthaul split configuration 220 capable of judicially using the SRS and DMRS estimates that are transferred between the RU and the DU, depending on the user information and conditions, to optimize the use of the fronthaul in accordance with various aspects described herein. In various embodiments, DMRS and SRS channel estimates may be exchanged between a DU and an RU to facilitate generation of optimal or improved (or “good”) beams. In this way, DU 166a can leverage DMRS information 221 (which can include DMRS resource elements and/or DMRS channel estimates) to optimize or improve its SRS-based beam generation, and RU 168a can similarly leverage SRS information 222 (e.g., SRS channel estimates) to optimize or improve its DMRS-based beam generation”, Fig 2C shows an O-RU and O-DU fronthaul split. 5G NR signals arrive logically as resource elements (REs) as part of physical resource blocks (PRBs). Element 221 of Fig. 2C shows that DMRS information may be used for processing DMRS resource elements are processed at the O-RU.]…communicating the…the resource element data to a distributed unit [Akoun, ¶ 0057, “FIG. 2C depicts a block diagram of an exemplary, non-limiting embodiment of a fronthaul split configuration 220 capable of judicially using the SRS and DMRS estimates that are transferred between the RU and the DU, depending on the user information and conditions, to optimize the use of the fronthaul in accordance with various aspects described herein. In various embodiments, DMRS and SRS channel estimates may be exchanged between a DU and an RU to facilitate generation of optimal or improved (or “good”) beams. In this way, DU 166a can leverage DMRS information 221 (which can include DMRS resource elements and/or DMRS channel estimates) to optimize or improve its SRS-based beam generation, and RU 168a can similarly leverage SRS information 222 (e.g., SRS channel estimates) to optimize or improve its DMRS-based beam generation”, Fig. 2C shows DMRS channel information being passed to from the O-RU to the O-DU (see line from DMRS channel estimation in RU to the scheduler in the DU).].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the beam selection functionality on a resource element basis of Akoun et al. into Demir et al. One would have been motivated to do this because beam weight calculations and beam selection algorithms are commonly used techniques within MIMO and would improve communications with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 19, Demir et al. in view of Akoun et al. teach the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18. Demir et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the beamforming of the spatial stream data comprises beamforming a group of spatial stream data candidates for the communicating of the spatial stream data to the distributed unit.
However, in an analogous art, Akoun et al. teach wherein the beamforming of the spatial stream data comprises beamforming a group of spatial stream data candidates for the communicating of the spatial stream data to the distributed unit [Akoun, ¶ 0057, “FIG. 2C depicts a block diagram of an exemplary, non-limiting embodiment of a fronthaul split configuration 220 capable of judicially using the SRS and DMRS estimates that are transferred between the RU and the DU, depending on the user information and conditions, to optimize the use of the fronthaul in accordance with various aspects described herein. In various embodiments, DMRS and SRS channel estimates may be exchanged between a DU and an RU to facilitate generation of optimal or improved (or “good”) beams. In this way, DU 166a can leverage DMRS information 221 (which can include DMRS resource elements and/or DMRS channel estimates) to optimize or improve its SRS-based beam generation, and RU 168a can similarly leverage SRS information 222 (e.g., SRS channel estimates) to optimize or improve its DMRS-based beam generation”, Fig 2C shows an O-RU and O-DU fronthaul split. The split shown allows for optimal beams to be chosen for beam generation (see ¶s 0017, 0018, and 0048).].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the beam selection functionality on a resource element basis of Akoun et al. into Demir et al. One would have been motivated to do this because beam weight calculations and beam selection algorithms are commonly used techniques within MIMO and would improve communications with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 20, Demir et al. in view of Akoun et al. teach the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18. Demir et al. also teach wherein the obtaining of the beamforming weight data is for a future slot [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). Block 105 further for handling combining/digital beamforming matrix application (see also ¶ 0073). The beamform data produced by block 105 is then passed for channel equalization (see block 307) followed by demodulation (see block 308). The beamforming weights are derived from a prior (see slot n-M) slot for processing current slot (see UL slot n).], and wherein the beamforming of the spatial stream data comprises beamforming the spatial stream data in response to receiving a user equipment communication in the future slot [Demir, ¶ 0070, “Block 104 can generate combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements based on i) the SRS from block 103 and/or ii) the received “Non-port Reduced DMRS Symbols” and/or the “Non-port Reduced DMRS Measurements”, and the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix elements are transferred to the block 105 for the combining and/or digital beamforming matrix application”, Block 105 of the O-RU receives digital beamforming matrix elements from block 104 of the O-DU (see ¶ 0073 for description of block 104 functions). Block 105 further for handling combining/digital beamforming matrix application (see also ¶ 0073). The beamform data produced by block 105 is then passed for channel equalization (see block 307) followed by demodulation (see block 308). The beamforming weights are derived from a prior (see slot n-M) slot for processing current slot (see UL slot n).].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Chivate et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0202553), teaches DMRS processing in two different O-RU/O-DU splits (see at least figs. 3A and 3B).
The reference, Yang et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0348398), teaches updating beamforming weights in a O-RU based on SRS and DMRS (see at least fig. 3).
The reference, Akoum et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0344483), teaches BF weight calculation in the O-RU based on DMRS based weights from the O-DU (see at least fig. 2B).
The reference, Akoum et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0204840), teaches BF weight calculation in the O-RU based on DMRS based weights from the O-DU (see at least fig. 2B).
The reference, Ahmed et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0021423), teaches a combining matrix application based on DMRS processing feedback (see at least fig. 5).
The reference, Pérez-Romero et al. (NPL), teaches low layer functional splits between the RU and DU (see at least fig. 3).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417