DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 16th and November 15th, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“Inspection Controller” in claims 1, 11, 12, 16.
“Welding Robot Controller” in claims 1, 8, 12, 16, 20.
“System Controller” in claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 12, 15, 16, 18, 20.
“Verification Controller” in claims 1, 10, 12.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The specifications define the use of “controller” in [0052] as being interchangeable with the definition of “circuit” however, it is unclear if the applicant is claiming the capabilities of the software or the hardware within the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As Recited in claims 1, 12 and 16 the claim limitation of “controller” is indefinite, as the overall system could be comprised of an individual computer executing multiple functions, or a combination of multiple computers communicating with each other.
For the sake of this examination the examiner has interpreted the various “controller” elements as one computer or “system controller” executing various functions using sensors and software.
Claims 2-11 and 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected based on the inherited deficiencies of the corresponding independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, US 20200276674 A1 in view of Wang, US 20210154773 A1 .
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses
A system for inspecting and revising welds (Abstract), the system comprising:
a weld inspection sensor (sensor 20, fig. 4)
configured to inspect weld parameters of the welds; (S19 fig. 4, [0038] “The sensor 20 may sense a welding defect occurring in the object”)
an inspection controller (control device 100, fig 4.)
configured to identify a group of the welds, (Abstract “sensing result data obtained by sensing the weldment from the sensor, to analyze the weldment based on the first sensing result data”)
and identify one or more of the welds of the group as an imperfect weld based on the weld parameters; (weld analysis, Abstract, [0008], S19 fig 4)
a system controller (control device 100, Fig 4.) configured to designate the imperfect weld for revision based on the weld parameters of the welds of the group and quantity of the welds of the group identified as imperfect by the inspection controller; (control device [0008], 100 fig 4)
a welding robot controller (control device 100, fig 4.) configured to operate a welding robot to perform a revision weld at the imperfect weld; (S27 fig. 4, [0010] "The control device may store weldment determination data obtained by mapping a plurality of weldment types and a weldment measurement waveform and a repair welding method corresponding to each of the plurality of weldment types.")
wherein the system controller is configured to verify the revision weld based on the revision location identified by the weld verification sensor. (Repair welding command [0012], [0127], [0118], [0122], S27 fig 4)
Lee does not explicitly disclose a weld verification sensor configured to identify a revision location of the revision weld.
Wang discloses, a weld verification sensor (Vision sensor 550, Fig. 7) configured to identify a revision location of the revision weld ([0064] weld module 1116 determines characteristics)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee by including a weld verification sensor as taught by Wang to identify a revised weld to verify that the revised weld meets quality standards set forth by the system.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the welds are on a battery support tray or floorpan of an electric vehicle. ([0136] "the welding system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure can be applied to laser welding of Al and Cu materials for electric vehicle batteries.")
In addition to structural limitations, claim 2 is directed to a material or article worked upon by an apparatus. The material or article work on is “electric vehicle batteries.” The courts have held that "Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also in re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935), In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967). MPEP § 2115.
Accordingly, the limitation of the welds being "on a battery support tray or floorpan of an electric vehicle" is afforded no patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses
the system of claim 1, wherein the weld inspection sensor (sensor 20, fig. 4)
includes at least one three-dimensional camera. ([0039] "The sensor 20 may include an optical sensor such as a photodiode, a vision sensor, a thermal image sensor, an ultra-high-speed camera, a displacement sensor, a pressure sensor, an acceleration sensor, an acoustic sensor, or the like.")
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the weld verification sensor (sensor 20, fig. 4) includes at least one two-dimensional camera. ([0039])
Regarding claim 5 Wang discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the weld parameters include weld location and at least one of weld surface concavity and weld length. (weld module characteristics [0064-0066])
While Lee does not explicitly recite a means for analyzing specific set parameters to determine weld quality, Lee fails to teach the explicit parameters used by the system to determine weld quality. ([0043] "A weld module determines one or more characteristics of a weld at a location based on a profile/topography of the weld bead at that location measured by the vision sensor and one or more other welding parameters.")
Regarding claim 6 Lee discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the system controller (control device 100, Fig. 4) is configured to designate the imperfect weld for revision when the quantity of the welds of the group identified as imperfect exceeds a predetermined limit. (Control device re-welding determination [109], [0118], S27 Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 7 Lee discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the system controller (control device 100, Fig. 4) is configured to designate the imperfect weld as acceptable when the quantity of the welds of the group identified as imperfect is below a predetermined limit. (Control device re-welding determination [109], [0118], S27 Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 8 Lee discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the system controller (100, Fig. 4) is configured to, based on the weld parameters of the imperfect weld (weld analyzation [0109]), formulate revision weld instructions for the revision weld and transmit the revision weld instructions to the welding robot controller, (S27, S30, S33 Fig. 4) and wherein the welding robot controller (100, Fig. 4) is configured to operate the welding robot (10, fig 4) to perform the revision weld at the imperfect weld based on the revision weld instructions. (S30, S33 Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 9 Lee discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the revision weld includes at least one of a metal inert gas weld and a laser weld. ([0002] "a method of heating and melting a metal material and bonding the metal material to a joining portion, there are arc welding, gas welding…")
Regarding Claim 10 Lee discloses
The system of claim 1, further comprising a verification controller (100, Fig. 4) configured to receive the revision location of the revision weld, (S27 Fig. 4)
to check the revision location for the revision weld (S13, S15 Fig. 4), and notify the system controller (100, Fig. 4) of presence of, or absence of, the revision weld at the revision location. (revision weld verification S27, S30, S33 Fig. 4)
Lee does not explicitly recite operating the weld verification sensor
Wang discloses operating the weld verification sensor (Vision sensor 550, Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee to include a weld verification sensor as taught by Wang to identify a revised weld to verify that the revised weld meets quality standards set forth by the system.
Regarding Claim 11 Lee discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the inspection controller (sensor 20, fig. 4) is configured to identify one or more of the welds as imperfect by comparing the weld parameters to predetermined parameters. (weld analyzation [0109], S19 fig. 4, [0038], [0043] "A weld module determines one or more characteristics of a weld at a location based on a profile/topography of the weld bead at that location measured by the vision sensor and one or more other welding parameters.")
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, US 20210154773 A1 in view of Lee, US 20200276674 A1
Regarding Claim 12, Wang discloses,
A system for inspecting and revising welds (Abstract), the system comprising: a weld inspection sensor (sensor 550) configured to inspect weld parameters (weld characteristic determination system Fig. 11) of the welds including at least one of weld surface concavity, weld length, and weld continuity; (Weld module [0043] "A weld module determines one or more characteristics of a weld at a location based on a profile/topography of the weld bead at that location measured by the vision sensor and one or more other welding parameters.")
an inspection controller (weld module neural network 1116, Fig 11, [0065]) configured to identify a group of the welds and identify one or more of the welds of the group as an imperfect weld based on the weld parameters. ([0047] “Based on the profile and one or more other parameters, strengths of the weld at locations along the weld bead are determined, such as in quasi real-time.”)
a system controller (weld control module 516, Fig. 5) configured to designate the imperfect weld for revision based on the weld parameters of the welds of the group and quantity of the welds of the group identified as imperfect by the inspection controller, (weld characteristic determination system, Fig. 11 [0064], [0065], [0071])
wherein based on the weld parameters of the imperfect weld, the system controller is further configured to formulate revision weld instructions for a revision weld; (weld characteristic determination system, Fig. 11 [0064], [0065], [0071])
a welding robot controller (the robot control module 512, weld control module 516, Fig. 5)
configured to receive the revision weld instructions from the system controller (Weld revision 1320 1328 Fig. 13, [0071], [0072])
and operate a welding robot to perform the revision weld at the imperfect weld designated for revision based on the revision weld instructions; (Weld revision 1320 1328 Fig. 13, [0071], [0072])
and a verification controller ([0064] “weld module 1116 determines characteristics”) configured to operate a weld verification sensor (Vision sensor 550, Fig. 7) wherein the system controller (weld control module 516, Fig. 5)
Wang does not explicitly disclose a verification controller configured to perform a verification to determine whether the revision weld is present at the imperfect weld designated for revision and transmit results of the verification to the system controller.
Lee discloses a verification controller configured to perform a verification to determine whether the revision weld is present at the imperfect weld designated for revision (S13, S15 Fig. 4), and transmit results of the verification (revision weld verification S27, S30, S33 Fig. 4) to the system controller (100, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the weld quality verification software as implemented by Lee with the sensor system disclosed by Wang to ensure that rewelded segments meet quality standards and are not needed to be rewelded.
Wang does not explicitly disclose is that the system controller is configured to verify the revision weld based on the results of the verification received from the system controller.
Lee discloses verifying the revision weld based on the results of the verification received from the system controller. (revision weld verification S27, S30, S31, S33 Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the system controller would be configured to interpret data collected by the various sensors and processes described by Wang to identify if welds are below a certain quality standard by using the decision chart in order to set aside groups of welds for revision as described by Lee to achieve consistent quality weldments.
Regarding claim 13 Wang discloses
The system of claim 12, wherein the weld inspection sensor includes at least one three-dimensional camera. (three-dimensional (3D) optic camera [0051])
Regarding Claim 14 Wang discloses
The system of claim 13, wherein the weld verification sensor includes at least one two-dimensional camera. (one or more sensors [0051])
Regarding claim 15 Wang discloses
The system of claim 12, wherein: the system controller (weld control module 516, Fig. 5) is configured to designate the imperfect weld for revision when the quantity of the welds of the group identified as imperfect exceeds a predetermined limit, (Weld revision Fig. 13 1320 1328, [0071], [0072])
and the system controller is configured to designate the imperfect weld as acceptable when the quantity of the welds of the group identified as imperfect is at or below the predetermined limit. (Weld revision Fig. 13 1320 1328, [0071], [0072])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the system controller would be configured to interpret data collected by the various sensors and processes described by Wang to identify if welds are below a certain quality standard by using the decision chart in order to set aside groups of welds for revision as described by Lee to achieve consistent quality weldments.
Regarding claim 16 Wang discloses
A method for inspecting and revising welds (Abstract) comprising: inspecting weld parameters of the welds with a weld inspection sensor; (weld module neural network 1116, Fig 11, [0065])
identifying with an inspection controller a group of the welds, ([0043] "A weld module determines one or more characteristics of a weld at a location based on a profile/topography of the weld bead at that location measured by the vision sensor and one or more other welding parameters.")
and one or more of the welds of the group as an imperfect weld based on the weld parameters; (weld characteristic determination system, Fig. 11, [0064], [0065], [0071])
Designating with a system controller the imperfect weld for revision based on the weld parameters of the welds of the group and quantity of the welds of the group identified as imperfect by the inspection controller; (Weld revision 1320 1328 Fig. 13, [0071], [0072])
identifying a revision location of the revision weld with a weld verification sensor; (Weld revision 1320 1328 Fig. 13, [0071], [0072])
and verifying the revision weld with the system controller based on the revision location identified ([0064] weld module 1116 determines characteristics) by the weld verification sensor (Vision sensor 550, Fig. 7).
Wang does not explicitly disclose operating a welding robot with a welding robot controller to perform a revision weld at the imperfect weld designated for revision.
Lee discloses operating a welding robot with a welding robot controller to perform a revision weld at the imperfect weld designated for revision; (revision weld verification S27, S30, S31, S33 Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the revision welding feedback loop with the welding robot controller as described by Lee with the weldment sensor and analyzation system as described by Wang to transmit revision weld instructions to the welding robot controller to create a seamless and effective feedback loop to detect and revise welds.
Regarding claim 17 Wang discloses
The method of claim 16, further comprising identifying the revision location with multiple two-dimensional cameras. (one or more sensors [0051])
Regarding claim 18 Wang discloses
The method of claim 16 when the quantity of the welds of the group identified as imperfect exceeds a predetermined limit. (weld control module 516, Fig. 5)
Wang does not explicitly disclose further comprising designating with the system controller the imperfect weld for revision.
Lee discloses further comprising designating with the system controller the imperfect weld for revision (Repair welding command [0012], [0127], [0118], [0122], S27 fig 4)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the system controller would be configured to interpret data collected by the various sensors and processes described by Wang to identify if welds are below a certain quality standard by using the decision chart in order to set aside groups of welds for revision as described by Lee to achieve consistent quality weldments.
Regarding claim 19 Wang discloses
The method of claim 16, further comprising designating the imperfect weld as acceptable with the quantity of the welds of the group identified as imperfect is below a predetermined limit. (weld control module 516, Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 20 Wang discloses
The method of claim 16, further comprising formulating revision weld instructions for the revision weld with the system controller based on the weld parameters of the imperfect weld designated for revision, (weld characteristic determination system, Fig. 11, [0064], [0065], [0071])
Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting the revision weld instructions to the welding robot controller.
Lee discloses disclose transmitting the revision weld instructions to the welding robot controller. (Repair welding command [0012], [0127], [0118], [0122], S27 fig 4)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the revision welding feedback loop with the welding robot controller as described by Lee with the weldment sensor and analyzation system as described by Wang to transmit revision weld instructions to the welding robot controller to create a seamless and effective feedback loop to detect and revise welds.
Lee Figure 4
Wang Figure 5
Wang Figure 11
Wang Figure 13
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schwarz, US 20210187657 A1 discloses a system of
Smart, GB 2616336A discloses a method of welding that uses sensor types to collect welding data to verify weld quality.
Okuma, US 20220297241 A1 disclosed a welding device configured to detect defective weld beads.
/A.T.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761